DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 and 10/21/2024 have been considered by the examiner and been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-29 and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-16, 18, 23, 26-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2004/0237017 A1) in view of Siriwongpairat et al. (US 2022/0212700 A1).
Claim 1. Chen discloses A method of wireless communication by a wireless device (read as A method and apparatus provides for efficient use of communication resources in a CDMA communication system [0007] … a transmitter 300 transmits a packet of data over a data frame at a first data rate and at a power level from a transmitting source such as mobile station 102 [0022]. FIG. 1-5), comprising:
determining a transmit power associated with a first signal (read as a transmitter 300 transmits a packet of data over a data frame at a first data rate … at the initial power level [0022]);
determining a first information transfer rate (read as receiving destination transmits a negative acknowledgment to the transmitting source. The transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]) associated with the first signal in response to a change in the determined transmit power (read as retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]) … FIG. 5, a graph 500 illustrates the selection of the second data rate based on the power level of the transmission … [0025]); and
transmitting the first signal at the transmit power based at least in part on the first information transfer rate (read as transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]).
Although Chen discloses the idea of relating transmit power to data rate as shown in FIG. 5, they do not explicitly disclose: determining a first information transfer rate signal in response to a change in the determined transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Siriwongpairat et al. disclose: … in connection with FIG. 5. As indicated by steps 902 and 904 of FIG. 9, if the estimated the determined data rate at step 508 (FIG. 5) is less than highest data rate, the transmit power for the remote radio is set to the default transmit power at step 904 [0089]. FIG. 9 all steps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Siriwongpairat et al. in order to established and maintain wireless communication links with locomotives, service vehicles, and wayside devices and systems operating within the coverage area for the base station (Siriwongpairat et al. [0004]).
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining the first information transfer rate in response to detecting a change in state associated with a radio (Chen: read as When the receiving destination fails to decode the received packet of data, the receiving destination transmits a negative acknowledgment to the transmitting source. The transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]. The term “detecting a change in state associated with a radio” is not clearly defined.).
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein:
determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining one or more parameters associated with the first information transfer rate (Chen: read as If the power level of the initial transmission is closer to, for example, power level 506, the second data rate on the retransmission is selected at one half of the data rate of the initial transmission. The retransmission is also at the same power level as the initial transmission… [0026]. FIG. 5); and
transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting the first signal based on the one or more parameters associated with the first information transfer rate (Chen: read as If the power level of the initial transmission is closer to, for example, power level 506, the second data rate on the retransmission is selected at one half of the data rate of the initial transmission. The retransmission is also at the same power level as the initial transmission… [0026]. FIG. 5).
Claim 8. The method of claim 7, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more parameters associated with the first information transfer rate comprise a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Chen: read as The modulation may be according to any of the commonly known modulation techniques such as QAM, PSK or BPSK. The data is encoded at a data rate in modulator 301. The data rate may be selected by a data rate and power level selector 303 [0021]), a code rate, a guard interval, a channel width, or a combination thereof.
Claim 13. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining the first information transfer rate based at least in part on the determined transmit power in response to determining one or more criteria are satisfied (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027]. The term “criteria” is not explicitly defined.).
Claim 14. The method of claim 13, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more criteria comprise:
a first criterion associated with a signal quality, a second criterion associated with a path loss, a third criterion associated with a data error rate, a fourth criterion associated with a data error ratio (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027].), or any combination thereof.
Claim 15. The method of claim 13, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more criteria are satisfied when a signal quality associated with one or more transmissions is less than or equal to a threshold (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027].).
Claim 16. The method of claim 15, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein the threshold is configurable (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027]. FIG. 5).
Claim 18. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
further comprising:
determining a second information transfer rate associated with a second signal in response to determining one or more criteria are satisfied (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027]. The term “criteria” is not explicitly defined.); and
transmitting the second signal based at least in part on the second information transfer rate (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027]. The term “criteria” is not explicitly defined.).
Claim 23. Chen discloses An apparatus for wireless communication (read as A method and apparatus provides for efficient use of communication resources in a CDMA communication system [0007] … a transmitter 300 transmits a packet of data over a data frame at a first data rate and at a power level from a transmitting source such as mobile station 102 [0022]. FIG. 1-5), comprising:
a memory (read as RAM memory…or any other form of storage medium known in the art [0030]); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory (read as storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor [0030]), the one or more processors being configured to:
determine a transmit power associated with a first signal (read as receiving destination transmits a negative acknowledgment to the transmitting source. The transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]),
determine a first information transfer rate associated with the first signal in response to a change in the determined transmit power(read as retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]) … FIG. 5, a graph 500 illustrates the selection of the second data rate based on the power level of the transmission … [0025]), and
control transmission of the first signal at the transmit power based at least in part on the first information transfer rate (read as transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]).
Although Chen discloses the idea of relating transmit power to data rate as shown in FIG. 5, they do not explicitly disclose: determining a first information transfer rate signal in response to a change in the determined transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Siriwongpairat et al. disclose: … in connection with FIG. 5. As indicated by steps 902 and 904 of FIG. 9, if the estimated the determined data rate at step 508 (FIG. 5) is less than highest data rate, the transmit power for the remote radio is set to the default transmit power at step 904 [0089]. FIG. 9 all steps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Siriwongpairat et al. in order to established and maintain wireless communication links with locomotives, service vehicles, and wayside devices and systems operating within the coverage area for the base station (Siriwongpairat et al. [0004]).
Claim 26. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein to determine the first information transfer rate (Chen: read as a transmitter 300 transmits a packet of data over a data frame at a first data rate … at the initial power level [0022]), the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first information transfer rate in response to detecting a change in state associated with a radio (Chen: read as When the receiving destination fails to decode the received packet of data, the receiving destination transmits a negative acknowledgment to the transmitting source. The transmitting source retransmits the packet of data at a second data rate over at least two frames of data at the initial power level [0022]. The term “detecting a change in state associated with a radio” is not clearly defined.).
Claim 27. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine one or more parameters associated with the first information transfer rate (Chen: read as The modulation may be according to any of the commonly known modulation techniques such as QAM, PSK or BPSK. The data is encoded at a data rate in modulator 301. The data rate may be selected by a data rate and power level selector 303 [0021]), and control transmission of the first signal based on the one or more parameters associated with the first information transfer rate (Chen: read as The modulation may be according to any of the commonly known modulation techniques such as QAM, PSK or BPSK. The data is encoded at a data rate in modulator 301. The data rate may be selected by a data rate and power level selector 303 [0021]).
Claim 29. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein to determine the first information transfer rate, the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first information transfer rate based at least in part on the determined transmit power in response to determining one or more criteria are satisfied (Chen: read as the FER2 may be determined. From FER2, the total energy per bit may be determined for the combined initial and retransmission of the packet of data [0027]. The term “criteria” is not explicitly defined.).
Claims 2-4 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Chen (US 2004/0237017 A1) and Siriwongpairat et al. (US 2022/0212700 A1) view of Bertizzolo et al. (US 2023/0337151 A1).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not ex[licitly disclose
wherein determining the transmit power comprises determining the transmit power based at least in part on a radio frequency (RF) exposure limit.
However, in the related field of endeavor Bertizzolo et al. disclose: dynamically setting maximum transmission power may be used to manage transmission power to meet regulatory requirements (e.g., specific absorption rate) for human exposure [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Bertizzolo et al. in order to determine an average transmission power limit (e.g., Plimit,avg) for a time period to meet exposure requirements as promulgated by entities such as the Federal Communication Commission (Bertizzolo et al. [0025]).
Claim 3. The method of claim 2, the combination of Chen, Siriwongpairat et al. and Bertizzolo et al. teaches,
wherein the RF exposure limit comprises a time-averaged RF exposure limit (Bertizzolo et al.: read as an average transmission power during an averaging time window [0040]).
Claim 4. The method of claim 2, the combination of Chen, Siriwongpairat et al. and Bertizzolo et al. teaches,
wherein determining the transmit power comprises:
determining a time-averaged transmit power for one or more transmissions over a time window (Bertizzolo et al.: read as the electronic device 10 may receive and/or determine an average transmission power limit for a time period to meet exposure requirements [0041]), wherein the one or more transmissions include at least a portion of the first signal being transmitted at the transmit power (Bertizzolo et al.: read as the electronic device 10 may receive and/or determine an average transmission power limit for a time period to meet exposure requirements [0041]); and
determining the time-averaged transmit power is less than or equal to a maximum time-averaged transmit power corresponding to the RF exposure limit (Bertizzolo et al.: read as In particular, the wireless communication device may receive and/or determine an average transmission power limit (e.g., Plimit,avg) for a time period to meet exposure requirements as promulgated by entities such as the Federal Communication Commission [0025]).
Claim 24. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
further comprising one or more transmitters coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more transmitters being configured to transmit the first signal at the transmit power, wherein to determine the transmit power, the one or more processors are further configured to determine the transmit power based at least in part on a radio frequency (RF) exposure limit.
However, in the related field of endeavor Bertizzolo et al. disclose: In particular, the wireless communication device may receive and/or determine an average transmission power limit (e.g., Plimit,avg) for a time period to meet exposure requirements as promulgated by entities such as the Federal Communication Commission [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Bertizzolo et al. in order to determine an average transmission power limit (e.g., Plimit,avg) for a time period to meet exposure requirements as promulgated by entities such as the Federal Communication Commission (Bertizzolo et al. [0025]).
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Chen (US 2004/0237017 A1) and Siriwongpairat et al. (US 2022/0212700 A1) in view of Koshy et al. (US 2019/0036563 A1).
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining the first information transfer rate in response to detecting a change in a maximum allowed transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Koshy et al. disclose: dynamic wireless power control system 135 disclosed herein for monitoring wireless link activity states, monitoring data transmission levels or data priority, and dynamically adjusting wireless power among simultaneously operating antenna systems [0017]. The transmit power is dynamically controlled at the same time the transfer rate is monitored. So, the power level and the associated transfer rate are both dynamically modified.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Koshy et al. in order to have maximum SAR power levels adjusted dynamically according to the orientation mode detected as the convertible information handling system is changed between modes (Koshy et al. [0016]).
Claim 25. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. teaches,
wherein to determine the first information transfer rate (read as a transmitter 300 transmits a packet of data over a data frame at a first data rate … at the initial power level [0022]),
the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first information transfer rate in response to detecting a change in a maximum allowed transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Koshy et al. disclose:
read as the modular dynamic wireless power control system may provide a corresponding increase in power level of the WLAN operation, but not to exceed the maximum combined transmit power level 715. In this way, the transmitting antenna with the higher detected data transmission level may benefit from a higher transmission power level that is closer to a level it could operate at if no co-located antenna systems were present [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Koshy et al. in order to have maximum SAR power levels adjusted dynamically according to the orientation mode detected as the convertible information handling system is changed between modes (Koshy et al. [0016]).
Claims 9-12, 17, 19-22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Chen (US 2004/0237017 A1) and Siriwongpairat et al. (US 2022/0212700 A1) in view of Zeng (CN105392162A).
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining the first information transfer rate based on a table mapping a plurality of transfer rates to transmit powers or mapping the plurality of transfer rates to values of a parameter associated with the transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose:
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises determining the first information transfer rate based on a table mapping a plurality of transfer rates to transmit powers (read as the corresponding WIFI signal transmission rate in the
rate and transmission power correspondence table [0025]) or mapping the plurality of transfer rates to values of a parameter associated with the transmit power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 10. The method of claim 9, the combination of Chen, Siriwongpairat et al. and Zeng teaches,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate comprises selecting the first information transfer rate among the plurality of transfer rates mapped to ranges of the transmit powers, including the transmit power (Zeng: read as the rate and transmission power correspondence table, wherein the rate and transmission power correspondence table includes the value range of RSSI value and the corresponding information transmission rate, [0028]), or mapped to ranges of the values of the parameter.
Claim 11. The method of claim 10, the combination of Chen, Siriwongpairat et al. and Zeng teaches,
wherein the parameter includes a path loss associated with the first signal, a signal quality associated with the first signal, or a combination thereof (Zeng: read as the signal quality received by all devices connected to the WIFI hotspot is obtained at predetermined intervals [0015]), or a combination thereof.
Claim 12. The method of claim 10, the combination of Chen, Siriwongpairat et al. and Zeng teaches,
wherein determining the first information transfer rate further comprises:
determining a predicted value of the parameter based at least in part on the transmit power (Zeng: read as According to the RSSI value, query the corresponding WIFI signal transmission rate in the rate and transmission power correspondence table [0025]);
identifying the predicted value is in one of the ranges of the values (Zeng: read as the rate and transmission power correspondence table includes the value range of RSSI value and the corresponding information transmission rate [0028]); and
identifying the first information transfer rate corresponding to the respective range (Zeng: read as When the mobile terminal is set as a WIFI hotspot, the signal quality received by all devices connected to the WIFI hotspot is obtained at predetermined intervals. Performing transmission rate negotiation based on the signal quality received by the device connected to the WIFI hotspot to determine the information transmission rate between the devices [0015-0016]).
Claim 17. The method of claim 13, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein the one or more criteria are satisfied when a path loss associated with one or more transmissions is more than or equal to a threshold.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose:
wherein the one or more criteria are satisfied when a path loss associated with one or more transmissions is more than or equal to a threshold (read as the rate and transmission power correspondence table includes the value range of RSSI value [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 19. The method of claim 18, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. des not explicitly disclose,
wherein determining the second information transfer rate comprises determining the second information transfer rate based at least in part on one or more parameters including a signal quality, a path loss, a data error rate, data error ratio, or any combination thereof.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose: the rate and transmission power correspondence table includes the value range of RSSI value [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 20. The method of claim 18, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein the one or more criteria are satisfied when a signal quality associated with one or more transmissions is greater than a threshold.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose: the rate and transmission power correspondence table includes the value range of RSSI value [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 21. The method of claim 18, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein the one or more criteria are satisfied when a path loss associated with one or more transmissions is less than a threshold.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose: Furthermore, the performance indicators of the signal quality include RSSI received signal strength indication and data bit error rate [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 22. The method of claim 1, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
wherein transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting the first signal via a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio access technology.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose:
wherein transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting the first signal via a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio access technology (read as WIFI protocol 802.11 [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 28. The apparatus of claim 23, the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. does not explicitly disclose,
does not explicitly disclose,
wherein to determine the first information transfer rate, the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first information transfer rate based on a table mapping a plurality of transfer rates to transmit powers or mapping the plurality of transfer rates to values of a parameter associated with the transmit power.
However, in the related field of endeavor Zeng disclose:
wherein to determine the first information transfer rate, the one or more processors are further configured to determine the first information transfer rate based on a table mapping a plurality of transfer rates to transmit powers (read as the corresponding WIFI signal transmission rate in the rate and transmission power correspondence table [0025]) or mapping the plurality of transfer rates to values of a parameter associated with the transmit power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of the combination of Chen and Siriwongpairat et al. with the teaching of Zeng in order to determine whether the transmission power level can be reduced. After the determination is completed, an optimized transmission power is finally obtained, and this power is used for transmission in subsequent use (Zeng [0013]).
Claim 30 canceled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
The additional prior art included inPTO-892 discloses ideas related to the claimed invention. In this regard, Lee et al. (US 2022/0338128 A) disclose the idea of adjusting the transmit power to achieve a data rate as in: “during the controlling, the method may also include calculating, based on the coupling loss change, a transmit power level to achieve a current data rate in the uplink transmission, adjusting transmit power in the uplink transmission based on the calculated transmit power level to maintain the current data rate, [0054]”.
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646