Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 10 line 2 to page 14 line 2, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 14 line 3 to page 18 line 15, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 28, 31, and 34-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190165838 to Hor-Lao et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164697 to Kong et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 28 lines 12-17: “… the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link; the first communication link is for a radio access technology and via a first frequency band; and the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band...” are the same as claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al.
Referring to claim 1, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 a method of wireless communication by a wireless device (UE), comprising:
Obtaining a transmit power budget associated with a time interval (time interval). Sections 0019, 0020, 0031, 0035, and 0038: UE obtains a transmit power budget during a time interval. Also, Figure 6 discloses dynamically allocating an UL transmit power budget across multiple radio links in a time interval, so the UL transmit power budget applies to the transmit power budget allowed to be allocated to the multiple radio links in the time interval.
Determining (step 612), for each communication link of a plurality of communication links, a respective first transmit power (a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL) based at least in part on the transmit power budget (since all radio links share a common transmit power budget, there must be a fair allocation of transmit power among all radio links proportional to their respective requirements) and one or more properties (duty cycle and data throughput requirement) associated with the plurality of communication links in response to detecting a particular service associated with the plurality of communication links is active (Sections 0030, 0034, 0039, and 0041: a link is active when the link is actively transmitting data, such as application data, and consuming power; the claimed “service” reads on the link actively transmitting data and consuming power) ... Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039: Multiple radio links share a common transmit power budget, limited by a total transmit power level averaged over the averaging time period. The maximum transmit power level MTPL for each radio link is based on a fair allocation of transmit power among all the radio links proportional to their respective requirements. Figure 6 disclose dynamically allocating an UL transmit power budget across multiple radio links. For each radio link of multiple radio links used for UL transmission by UE, UE performs the following actions. At 602: UE determines a predicted duty cycle for active use of a radio link during a time interval based on observations of estimated duty cycles of the radio link for one or more previous time intervals. At 604: UE determines an initial MTPL for the radio link based on the predicted duty cycle. At 606: UE estimates a data throughput requirement for the radio link for the time interval. At 608, UE estimates a total data throughput requirement for all of the multiple radio links combined for the time interval. At 610, UE calculates an adjusted MTPL for the radio link based on: i) the initial MTPL for the radio link, ii) the estimated data throughput requirement for the radio link relative to the estimated total data throughput for the multiple radio links, and iii) a number of antenna ports used by the radio link. At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link.
Transmitting (step 612) a signal using at least one of the respective first transmit powers associated with the plurality of communication links in the time interval. At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al do not disclose … wherein the one or more properties include a dwell time …
Brisebois et al disclose in Figures 1-9, Abstract, and Sections 0007, 0037, 0039, 0043, 0046, 0050, and 0051 wherein a system monitors the location of UE to determine signaling activity metrics of UE, the signaling activity metrics including signaling failure rate, access control rejection rate, or dwell time. Using the signaling failure rate, access control rejection rate, or dwell time, a femto AP optimizes transmission power to ensure coverage maintenance and confinement, as well as mitigate unnecessary signaling. A dwell time is defined as the amount of time UE is in the coverage area of the femto AP. Long dwell times indicates stationary, confined femto traffic, and short dwell times indicates excessive femto AP coverage to areas with high mobility. As shown in Figure 5B: act 510: attachment signaling activity of UE is measured; act 520: the dwell time of UE is determined based on the measured attachment signaling activity; act 530: it is determined whether or not the dwell time of UE is above a threshold; and acts 540-550: if the dwell time of UE is above a threshold, the transmission power is increased. When transmission power decreases, it indicates that the dwell time of UE is below the threshold. So, the transmission power of UE is determined according to the dwell time of UE. Refer to Sections 0020-0073. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the one or more properties include a dwell time … One would have been motivated to do so to determine the transmission power based on the dwell time to optimize transmission power to ensure coverage maintenance and confinement, as well as mitigate unnecessary signaling (Abstract and Section 0007).
Referring to claim 2, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the one or more properties further include: a round-trip time (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a distance to another wireless device (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a signal strength (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a signal quality (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a data error rate (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a data error ratio (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a channel condition (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a duty cycle (Figure 6 and Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039), a physical layer characteristic (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), or any combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form). Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Referring to claim 11, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein:
Determining, for each communication link of the plurality of communication links, the first transmit power comprises determining a distribution of the transmit power budget among the plurality of communication links. Section 0038: Using adjusted MTPL estimates 518 can provide improved performance, as the total transmit power budget can be more fairly distributed among the UL radio links during an averaging time period and forestall one or more UL radio links consuming too much of the transmit power budget during a first portion of the averaging time period and leaving too little transmit power available in a second portion of the averaging time period.”. UE determines transmit powers of radio links so that the transmit power budget is fairly distributed among radio links.
The method further comprises updating the distribution in response to detecting a change from transmitting via a first communication link to transmitting via a second communication link. Section 0031: a first radio link transmits at a higher power level than a second radio link consumes a significant amount of the total transmit power budget available for both radio links. If UE further limits the maximum transmit power levels for each of the radio links to lower levels, the allowed maximum transmit power level of the second radio link will be reduced because of the high amount of power consumption of the combined transmit power budget by the first radio link. This power reduction can negatively impact performance for transmission via the second radio link, when an application using the second radio link uses a high duty cycle, due to the first radio link. To fix this, the MTPL for each of the radio links can be adjusted according to data throughput requirements for all of the radio links considered together. So, if there is a change in transmitting from the first radio link to the second radio link, the distribution of the transmit power budget is adjusted to account for the data throughput requirements of the second radio link, since the second radio link has an application that uses a high duty cycle. The second radio link will be allocated more transmit power from the transmit power budget to accommodate the high duty cycle. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20060184686 to M. Kolavi et al.
Referring to claim 6, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link … , and the first communication link … communicate in the time interval. Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039: At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link. So, Bertizzolo et al only disclose a first radio link communicating UL data to BS in the time interval. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al and Briseboise et al do not disclose wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, and the first communication link and the second communication link communicate in the time interval.
M. Kolavi et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Section 0012-0014, 0030, 0032, 0035, 0037, 0042, 053, and 0057 wherein an active first link and an active second link establish data communication. Refer to Sections 0026-0063. By applying M. Kolavi et al to Bertizzolo et al: in the time interval, the radio link of Bertizzolo can communicate data to a second radio link in an active service, as disclosed by M. Kolavi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, and the first communication link and the second communication link communicate in the time interval. One would have been motivated to do so since in an active communication, an active first link is communicating data to an active second link.
Referring to claim 9, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service comprises an XPAN service (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), an augmented reality service (Section 0027), a virtual reality service (Section 0027), a gaming service (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (Section 0027: augmented reality service and virtual reality service). Services include applications such as live streaming, video connections, augmented reality streams, and virtual reality streams. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220337294 to Sethi et al.
Referring to claim 7, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link (Section 0031: first UL radio link) and a second communication link (Section 0031: second UL radio link), the first communication link is for a radio access technology (Section 0031: first RAT) and via a first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands), and the second communication link is for … radio access technology (Section 0031: second RAT) and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands). Section 0031: “initial MTPL values are determined for each of two UL radio links that may use different radio access technologies (RATs), a first UL radio link (RL-1) using a first RAT, and a second UL radio link (RL-2) using a second RAT …”. Also, Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027 disclose that multiple radio links use a different frequency bands, so the first UL radio link and the second UL radio link can use different frequency bands. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al and Brisebois et al do not disclose wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, the first communication link is for a radio access technology and via a first frequency band, and the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band.
Sethi et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein UE includes a first radio link and a second radio link. Sections 0014, 0036, 0056, and 0070: The first radio link operates on a first frequency band, and the second radio link operates on a second frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band. Sections 0031, 0034, 0038, and 0040: The first radio link is for WLAN and the second radio link is for WLAN, both radio links operate in a WLAN. Refer to Sections 0030-0111. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, the first communication link is for a radio access technology and via a first frequency band, and the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band. One would have been motivated to do so so that the first link and second link can use the same RAT, thereby simplifying the system.
Referring to claim 8, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the radio access technology is WLAN (Sections 0043-0044: the RAT can be a WLAN). Refer to Sections 0017-0048. Sethi et al also disclose in Sections 0031, 0034, 0038, and 0040: The first radio link is for WLAN and the second radio link is for WLAN, both radio links operate in a WLAN.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240365247 to Hart et al.
Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a latency specification, a bit rate specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0030, 0034, 0039, and 0041: a link is active when the link is actively transmitting data, such as application data, and consuming power; the service corresponds to the application. Section 0024: “The applications processing circuitry can monitor application requirements and usage to determine recommendations about communication connection properties, such as bandwidth, latency (claimed “latency specification”), and/or data throughput requirements, and provide information to the communications control circuitry to determine suitable wireless connections for use by particular applications.”. So, a service can correspond to the latency requirements of an application. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al and Brisebois et al do not disclose wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, a bit rate specification, or a combination thereof.
Hart et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0036 wherein a traffic type may include traffic from a specific application on the requesting device, such as traffic with a given QOS or latency specification (claimed “particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, … , or a combination thereof”). Refer to Sections 0012-0068. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, a bit rate specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure the application meets the QOS and latency specifications.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20090280853 to Brisebois et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070149145 to Chang et al.
Bertizzolo et al and Brisebois et al do not disclose further comprising providing an indication that the particular service is active, wherein obtaining the transmit power budget comprises obtaining the transmit power budget in response to the indication.
Chang et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0009, 0021, and 0026-0036 wherein a link budget is transmitted to active links, wherein the links are active for a service such as half-duplex service. So, when a link becomes active as determined by a controller, the system in notified and a link budget is transmitted to the active link. Sections 0002, 0009, and 0034: A link budget is the amount of transmission power needed to establish a communication a link between BS and UE. Refer to Sections 0009-0045. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising providing an indication that the particular service is active, wherein obtaining the transmit power budget comprises obtaining the transmit power budget in response to the indication. One would have been motivated to do so to receive a transmit power budget when links are active, thereby ensuring that there is a transmit power budget for active links that are currently in use.
Claims 28, 31, 35-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190165838 to Hor-Lao et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164697 to Kong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220337294 to Sethi et al.
Referring to claim 28, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 an apparatus (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (memory 106, 720, 722, 740).
One or more processors (processor 104, 702) coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the apparatus to:
Obtain a transmit power budget associated with a time interval (time interval). Sections 0019, 0020, 0031, 0035, and 0038: UE obtains a transmit power budget during a time interval. Also, Figure 6 discloses dynamically allocating an UL transmit power budget across multiple radio links in a time interval, so the UL transmit power budget applies to the transmit power budget allowed to be allocated to the multiple radio links in the time interval.
Determining (step 612), for each communication link of a plurality of communication links, a first transmit power (a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL) based at least in part on the transmit power budget (since all radio links share a common transmit power budget, there must be a fair allocation of transmit power among all radio links proportional to their respective requirements) and one or more properties (duty cycle and data throughput requirement) associated with the plurality of communication links in response to detecting a particular service associated with the plurality of communication links is active (Sections 0030, 0034, 0039, and 0041: a link is active when the link is actively transmitting data, such as application data, and consuming power; the claimed “service” reads on the link actively transmitting data and consuming power) … Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039: Multiple radio links share a common transmit power budget, limited by a total transmit power level averaged over the averaging time period. The maximum transmit power level MTPL for each radio link is based on a fair allocation of transmit power among all the radio links proportional to their respective requirements. Figure 6 disclose dynamically allocating an UL transmit power budget across multiple radio links. For each radio link of multiple radio links used for UL transmission by UE, UE performs the following actions. At 602: UE determines a predicted duty cycle for active use of a radio link during a time interval based on observations of estimated duty cycles of the radio link for one or more previous time intervals. At 604: UE determines an initial MTPL for the radio link based on the predicted duty cycle. At 606: UE estimates a data throughput requirement for the radio link for the time interval. At 608, UE estimates a total data throughput requirement for all of the multiple radio links combined for the time interval. At 610, UE calculates an adjusted MTPL for the radio link based on: i) the initial MTPL for the radio link, ii) the estimated data throughput requirement for the radio link relative to the estimated total data throughput for the multiple radio links, and iii) a number of antenna ports used by the radio link. At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link.
…
The particular service comprises a first communication link (Section 0031: first UL radio link) and a second communication link (Section 0031: second UL radio link).
The first communication link is for a radio access technology (Section 0031: first RAT) and via a first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands).
The second communication link is for … radio access technology (Section 0031: second RAT) and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands). Section 0031: “initial MTPL values are determined for each of two UL radio links that may use different radio access technologies (RATs), a first UL radio link (RL-1) using a first RAT, and a second UL radio link (RL-2) using a second RAT …”. Also, Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027 disclose that multiple radio links use a different frequency bands, so the first UL radio link and the second UL radio link can use different frequency bands.
Control (step 612) transmission of a signal using at least one of the respective first transmit powers associated with the plurality of communication links in the time interval. At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al do not disclose … wherein the one or more properties include a round-trip time …
Hor-Lao et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0053, 0056, 0066, and 0069 wherein various parameters are used to determine transmission parameters includes signal strength, RTT, etc. RTT is used to define the range and transmission power of signals which reduces the interference and/or noise. The determination of a transmission level via RTT analysis also helps conserve the network battery by only transmitting at a power level corresponding to a range analysis, rather than transmitting at a power that goes past the determined range. So, a transmit power transmission configuration is based on parameters such as the average distance of historically connected devices, RTT, etc. Refer to Sections 0013-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the one or more properties include a round-trip time … One would have been motivated to do so so reduce interference and noise and to conserve network battery by ensuring the network is transmitting at a power within a defined range.
Bertizzolo et al and Hor-Lao et al do not disclose … wherein the one or more properties include a round-trip time and a distance to another wireless device …
Kong et al disclose in Figures 1-29 and Sections 0200, 0202, 0206, and 0255 wherein the system determines a transmission power of a UE based on a distance of the UE to another UE to ensure there is enough transmission power for data communication between the two UEs and to also reduce battery consumption. For example in Figures 19-20: the system determines the maximum transmission distance between the two UEs to determine the transmission power for each UE. Section 0146 also discloses a delay budget. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the one or more properties include a round-trip time and a distance to another wireless device … One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that there is enough transmission power for data communication between two devices and to reduce battery consumption based on the distance between the two devices.
Bertizzolo et al, Hor-Lao et al, and Kong et al do not disclose … the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band …
Sethi et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein UE includes a first radio link and a second radio link. Sections 0014, 0036, 0056, and 0070: The first radio link operates on a first frequency band, and the second radio link operates on a second frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band. Sections 0031, 0034, 0038, and 0040: The first radio link is for WLAN and the second radio link is for WLAN, both radio links operate in a WLAN. Refer to Sections 0030-0111. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band … One would have been motivated to do so so that the first link and second link can use the same RAT, thereby simplifying the system.
Referring to claim 31, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the one or more properties further include: a dwell time (not in reference; claim is in “one or more form”), a signal strength (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a signal quality (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a data error rate (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a data error ratio (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a channel condition (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), a duty cycle (Figure 6 and Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039), a physical layer characteristic (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form), or any combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “one or more” form). Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Referring to claim 35, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein:
The particular service comprises a first communication link (Section 0031: first UL radio link) and a second communication link (Section 0031: second UL radio link).
The first communication link is for a radio access technology (Section 0031: first RAT) and via a first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands).
The second communication link is for … radio access technology (Section 0031: second RAT) and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027: multiple radio links use a different frequency bands). Section 0031: “initial MTPL values are determined for each of two UL radio links that may use different radio access technologies (RATs), a first UL radio link (RL-1) using a first RAT, and a second UL radio link (RL-2) using a second RAT …”. Also, Sections 0004, 0018, and 0027 disclose that multiple radio links use a different frequency bands, so the first UL radio link and the second UL radio link can use different frequency bands. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al, Hor-Lao et al, and Kong et al do not disclose … the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band …
Sethi et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein UE includes a first radio link and a second radio link. Sections 0014, 0036, 0056, and 0070: The first radio link operates on a first frequency band, and the second radio link operates on a second frequency band, wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band. Sections 0031, 0034, 0038, and 0040: The first radio link is for WLAN and the second radio link is for WLAN, both radio links operate in a WLAN. Refer to Sections 0030-0111. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the second communication link is for the radio access technology and via a second frequency band different from the first frequency band … One would have been motivated to do so so that the first link and second link can use the same RAT, thereby simplifying the system.
Referring to claim 36, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the radio access technology is WLAN (Sections 0043-0044: the RAT can be a WLAN). Refer to Sections 0017-0048. Sethi et al also disclose in Sections 0031, 0034, 0038, and 0040: The first radio link is for WLAN and the second radio link is for WLAN, both radio links operate in a WLAN.
Referring to claim 37, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service comprises an XPAN service (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), an augmented reality service (Section 0027), a virtual reality service (Section 0027), a gaming service (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (Section 0027: augmented reality service and virtual reality service). Services include applications such as live streaming, video connections, augmented reality streams, and virtual reality streams. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Referring to claim 39, Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein:
To determine, for each communication link of the plurality of communication links, the first transmit power comprises determining a distribution of the transmit power budget among the plurality of communication links. Section 0038: Using adjusted MTPL estimates 518 can provide improved performance, as the total transmit power budget can be more fairly distributed among the UL radio links during an averaging time period and forestall one or more UL radio links consuming too much of the transmit power budget during a first portion of the averaging time period and leaving too little transmit power available in a second portion of the averaging time period.”. UE determines transmit powers of radio links so that the transmit power budget is fairly distributed among radio links.
The one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to update the distribution in response to detecting a change from transmitting via a first communication link to transmitting via a second communication link. Section 0031: a first radio link transmits at a higher power level than a second radio link consumes a significant amount of the total transmit power budget available for both radio links. If UE further limits the maximum transmit power levels for each of the radio links to lower levels, the allowed maximum transmit power level of the second radio link will be reduced because of the high amount of power consumption of the combined transmit power budget by the first radio link. This power reduction can negatively impact performance for transmission via the second radio link, when an application using the second radio link uses a high duty cycle, due to the first radio link. To fix this, the MTPL for each of the radio links can be adjusted according to data throughput requirements for all of the radio links considered together. So, if there is a change in transmitting from the first radio link to the second radio link, the distribution of the transmit power budget is adjusted to account for the data throughput requirements of the second radio link, since the second radio link has an application that uses a high duty cycle. The second radio link will be allocated more transmit power from the transmit power budget to accommodate the high duty cycle. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190165838 to Hor-Lao et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164697 to Kong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220337294 to Sethi et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20060184686 to M. Kolavi et al.
Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link … , and the first communication link … communicate in the time interval. Sections 0019, 0020, 0027, 0028, 0031, 0035, and 0037-0039: At 612, UE transmits UL data via the radio link during the time interval using a transmission power level not exceeding the adjusted MTPL calculated for the radio link. So, Bertizzolo et al only disclose a first radio link communicating UL data to BS in the time interval. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al, Hor-Lao et al, Kong et al, and Sethi et al do not disclose wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, and the first communication link and the second communication link communicate in the time interval.
M. Kolavi et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Section 0012-0014, 0030, 0032, 0035, 0037, 0042, 053, and 0057 wherein an active first link and an active second link establish data communication. Refer to Sections 0026-0063. By applying M. Kolavi et al to Bertizzolo et al: in the time interval, the radio link of Bertizzolo can communicate data to a second radio link in an active service, as disclosed by M. Kolavi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular service comprises a first communication link and a second communication link, and the first communication link and the second communication link communicate in the time interval. One would have been motivated to do so since in an active communication, an active first link is communicating data to an active second link.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190165838 to Hor-Lao et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164697 to Kong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220337294 to Sethi et al., and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240365247 to Hart et al.
Bertizzolo et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a latency specification, a bit rate specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0030, 0034, 0039, and 0041: a link is active when the link is actively transmitting data, such as application data, and consuming power; the service corresponds to the application. Section 0024: “The applications processing circuitry can monitor application requirements and usage to determine recommendations about communication connection properties, such as bandwidth, latency (claimed “latency specification”), and/or data throughput requirements, and provide information to the communications control circuitry to determine suitable wireless connections for use by particular applications.”. So, a service can correspond to the latency requirements of an application. Refer to Sections 0017-0048.
Bertizzolo et al, Hor-Lao et al, Kong et al, and Sethi et al do not disclose wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, a bit rate specification, or a combination thereof.
Hart et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0036 wherein a traffic type may include traffic from a specific application on the requesting device, such as traffic with a given QOS or latency specification (claimed “particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, … , or a combination thereof”). Refer to Sections 0012-0068. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular service corresponds to a quality of service specification, a latency specification, a bit rate specification (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a combination thereof. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure the application meets the QOS and latency specifications.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240098654 to Bertizzolo et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190165838 to Hor-Lao et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164697 to Kong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220337294 to Sethi et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070149145 to Chang et al.
Bertizzolo et al, Hor-Lao et al, Kong et al, and Sethi et al do not disclose the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to provide an indication that the particular service is active, wherein to obtain the transmit power budget, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain the transmit power budget in response to the indication.
Chang et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0009, 0021, and 0026-0036 wherein a link budget is transmitted to active links, wherein the links are active for a service such as half-duplex service. So, when a link becomes active as determined by a controller, the system in notified and a link budget is transmitted to the active link. Sections 0002, 0009, and 0034: A link budget is the amount of transmission power needed to establish a communication a link between BS and UE. Refer to Sections 0009-0045. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to provide an indication that the particular service is active, wherein to obtain the transmit power budget, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain the transmit power budget in response to the indication. One would have been motivated to do so to receive a transmit power budget when links are active, thereby ensuring that there is a transmit power budget for active links that are currently in use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 29, 32, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 8738093 to Gopalakrishnan et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 15 line 16 to Column 19 line 6 a method for transmitting data at a specified transmit power level according to calculated amounts of data to not exceed a transmit power budget of a user device; the amount of data to be transmitted at a specified power level is adjusted to ensure that the transmit power budget is not exceeded. Refer to Column 2 line 26 to Column 24 line 31.
U.S. Publication No. 20220279463 to Schanko et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0027, 0053, and 0061 wherein a system uses a transmission power budget associated with a time interval. Refer to Sections 0023-0099.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
June 29, 2026