DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see "Remarks", page 5, filed 12/09/2025, with respect to objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification of 08/12/2025 has been withdrawn.
3. Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, on pages 7-8 Applicant argues that Zhang (CN 208269762 U; cited in prior PTO-892) does not teach the following claim limitation of claim 1:
a lower interior plate [separating plate 5] attached to and covering only a bottom of the tapeline wheel [tape wheel 32] and forming a lower part of a tapeline cavity [shown in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6]; and wherein no portion of the upper interior plate [shielding plate 6] extends into the tapeline cavity and no portion of the lower interior plate extends into an upper part of the tapeline cavity [shown in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6]. (Emphasis copied from Applicant’s “Remarks” on page 7).
Applicant utilized Zhang’s Fig. 7 to illustrate their point. However, Examine would draw Applicant’s attention to Image 1 (an annotated Fig. 7) below. As seen below, Zhang’s separating plate 5 only covers the bottom of the tape wheel 32, as shown in Figs. 5-6. Further, Figs. 3-6 show that no portion of the shielding plate 6 extends into the tapeline cavity, and that no portion of the separating plate 5 extends into the an upper part of the tapeline cavity. As such, these claim limitations are fully met by Zhang.
Image 1 – Zhang Fig. 7, Annotated
As stated, Examiner is unpersuaded by Applicant’s arguments that Zhang does not teach the original claim limitations as recited in the Non-Final Rejection of 08/12/2025. As such, Zhang fully discloses original claims 1 and 3, and therefore provides the requisite basis for the rejections of claims 2 and 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Li (AU 2016427468 A1; cited in prior PTO-892), and the arguments of pages 9-10 are therefore unpersuasive.
Examiner has addressed the newly added claim limitations in the updated claim rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to read:
“…and a lower interior plate attached to and covering only a bottom of the tapeline wheel and forming a lower part of a tapeline cavity; and wherein no portion of the upper interior plate extends into the tapeline cavity, and no portion of the lower interior plate extends into the cavity for the laser ranging device, extends into an upper part of the tapeline cavity or forms a part thereof.” (Emphasis added.)
As currently written, it is unclear if the Applicant intends that the lower plate, which forms a lower part of a tapeline cavity, cannot form an upper part of the tapeline cavity – or if the Applicant intends that said lower plate cannot form any part of the tapeline cavity, (which would contradict the original claim limitation). As such, it is unclear whether the newly amended claim limitations contradict the original claim limitation, thus rendering claim 1 indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the amendments to claim 1 to mean that the lower plate cannot form an upper part of the tapeline cavity.
Since claims 2-5 are dependent on independent claim 1, they inherit the above deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang.
In regard to claim 1, Zhang discloses a laser tape measure device [tape measure with laser distance-measuring function], comprising a casing [shell 10] comprised of a first housing [rear shell 2] and a second housing [front shell 1]; a laser ranging device [laser-distance measuring component 4] arranged toward and attached to the first housing [shown in Fig. 7]; an upper interior plate [shielding plate 6] arranged between the first housing and the second housing [shown in Fig. 7], and being attached to the second housing to form a chamber for the laser ranging device [shown in Fig. 3]; a tapeline structure [tape assembly 3] arranged toward and fastened to the second housing [shown in Fig. 7] and including a tapeline wheel [tape wheel 32] upon which a measuring tape [tape 31] is wound [shown in Fig. 7]; and a lower interior plate [separating plate 5] attached to and covering only a bottom of the tapeline wheel and forming a lower part of a tapeline cavity [shown in Image 2 below]; and wherein no portion of the upper interior plate extends into the cavity for the laser ranging device, extends into an upper part of the tapeline cavity or forms a part thereof [shown in Image 2, the plate 5 only forms the lower part of the tapeline cavity, and does not extend into the laser ranging device or upper part of the tapeline cavity].
Image 2 – Zhang Image 6, Annotated
In regard to claim 3, Zhang discloses the laser tape measure device of claim 1 wherein the first housing comprises a first housing bottom face and a first housing side wall [shown in Fig. 4]; the second housing comprises a second housing bottom face and a second housing side wall [shown in Fig. 3]; and the second housing side wall and the first housing side wall are connected to each other, forming a side wall of the casing [shown in Fig. 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Li.
In regard to claim 2, Zhang teaches the laser tape measure device of claim 1.
Zhang does not teach the tape measure including a sheath covering at least a portion of the first and second housings, and wherein the sheath is made of elastic material or soft material.
However, Li also teaches a laser tape measure device [distance measuring device], as well as a sheath [shell outer casing 6] covering at least a portion of the first and second housings [shown in Fig. 7], and wherein the sheath is made of elastic material or soft material [page 30 para. 4 describes using an elastic material such as rubber].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Li’s rubber shell outer casing with Zhang’s laser tape measure device in order to better prevent the two housings from separating, as taught by Li [page 30 para. 4].
In regard to claim 4, Zhang teaches the laser tape measure device of claim 1, a display means [display screen 43], a display mounting bracket holding the display means [fixing seat 23], and a viewing panel [panel 431] located in the upper surface of the casing.
Zhang does not teach the display means connected to a processor so as to show distance measurements from the laser range finder, mounting the display means parallel to the bottom of the casing between the first and second housing, or the viewing panel being mounted in a similar parallel fashion.
However, Li also teaches a display means [display means 24], a display mounting bracket holding the display means [fixed mounting plate described on page 18 para. 4], and a viewing panel [display screen of the display means page 25 para. 2], as well as the display means connected to a processor [processor 231] in the laser ranging device so as to display distance measuring information from the laser ranging device [page 17 para. 2]; the display mounting bracket holding the display means parallel to a bottom of the casing between the first and second housings towards an upper surface of the casing [shown in Fig. 7]; and the viewing panel parallel to the bottom of the casing, said viewing panel permitting a direct view of the display means [shown in Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Li’s use of a processor to display distance measuring information with Zhang’s laser tape measure device display means in order to better store and display the measurement data, thus enabling a user to check the measurement again if the user forgets the reading as described by Li [page 13 para. 4] and to have also combined Li’s orientation of display and viewing panel parallel to a bottom of a casing between two housings with Zhang’s laser tape measure device, display means, display mounting bracket, and viewing panel in order for the user to better read the measured distance while operating the device by simply looking down as described by Li [page 23 para. 4].
In regard to claim 5, Zhang further teaches the laser tape measure device of claim 4 wherein the viewing panel is recessed from the upper surface of the casing [shown in Fig. 6].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855