DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 6-8, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dangi et al. (US 2022/0133273 (provided in the IDS)) and in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2006/0008745).
Addressing claims 1, Dangi discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a light source system including a light-emitting component (see [0065] and Fig. 1C; element 85);
a receiver system including an array of receiver elements and receiver system circuitry, wherein at least a portion of the array of receiver elements is transparent, the receiver system being configured to detect acoustic waves corresponding to a photoacoustic response of a blood vessel to light emitted by the light source system (see Fig. 1C, [0009], [0012], [0065], [0103]; element 80; light pass through optically transparent portion of the transducer/receiver);
a transparent substrate positioned in between the array of receiver elements and the light source system and wherein the apparatus is configured to transmit light from the light source system through the transparent substrate, and through the transparent portion of the array of receiver elements to a target object on an outer surface of the apparatus, the blood vessel residing within the target object (see Figs. 1A-2D, 10, 12, 14-15, 17 and [0035]; monitoring hemodynamic activity through vasculature imaging; imaging blood vessel within the mouse head).
Dangi however, he does not disclose a substrate with an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield configured to allow light transmission therethrough. Sasaki discloses a substrate with an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield configured to allow light transmission therethrough (see abstract, [0002], [0008], [0018], [0022] and [0184]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dangi to have a substrate with an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield configured to allow light transmission therethrough as taught by Sasaki because this provides electromagnetic shielding and provide satisfactory optical transmission (see [0018]).
4. Addressing claims 4, 6-8, 13-14 and 16, Dangi discloses:
addressing claim 4, wherein the array of receiver elements comprises a transparent electrode layer (see claim 4).
addressing claim 6, a transparent matching layer positioned in between the receiver elements and the blood vessel (see [0097-0098]; transparent matching layer between receiver element/transducer and tissue; tissue include blood vessel; the device is capable of using to image blood vessel; image simulated blood vessel).
addressing claim 7, a first transparent backing layer positioned in between the array of receiver elements and the light source system (see Fig. 1A, 2A-D and [0064]; transparent backing layer 44 is between light source 30, 110-140 and transducer element 20).
addressing claim 8, wherein the first transparent backing layer comprises at least one of glass or epoxy (see [0064]).
addressing claim 13, a light guide positioned in between the array of receiver elements and the light source system (see [0010] and Figs. 2A-D; lens on top of light source 120-140 is a light guide; lens guide to focus laser on the tissue; lens on top of light source 120-140 and between receiver 100 and light source).
addressing claim 14. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a lens positioned in between the array of receiver elements and the light source system (see [0010] and Figs. 2A-D; lens on top of light source 120-140).
addressing claim 16, wherein the receiver system comprises at least one of: lithium niobate, lead magnesium niobate-lead titanate (PMN-PT), polyvinylidene fluoride tetrafluoroethylene (PVDF), or a copolymer film with an indium tin oxide coating (see [0009]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dangi et al. (US 2022/0133273 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2006/0008745) and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2013/0042688 (provided in the IDS)).
Addressing claims 2-3, Dangi does not disclose a platen having a transparent platen portion, wherein the platen is positioned in between the receiver system and where the blood vessel is presented and wherein a thickness of the platen ranges from 200 um to 400 um. In the same field of endeavor, Luo discloses wherein the platen is positioned in between the receiver system and where the blood vessel is presented and wherein a thickness of the platen 0.1 micrometer (see [0027] and [0029]; the protection layer 370 is the platen; the protection layer is between receiver and where the tissue is presented; the tissue could include blood vessel; Dangi explicitly disclose phantom tissue is simulated blood vessel; In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.); In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dangi to have a platen layer because this help protect the device (see [0027]). Also see section below the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Platen thickness of a designer choice of wide range.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dangi et al. (US 2022/0133273 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2006/0008745) and Lukacs et al. (US 2005/0272183).
Addressing claims 5 and 15, Dangi does not explicitly disclose patterned electrode layer and a lens positioned in between the array of receiver elements and where the blood vessel is presented. Dangi discloses transparent electrode on both sides, but does not explicitly disclose the electrode is patterned. Patterned electrode is well-known and only require routine skill in the art. Lukacs explicitly disclose patterned electrode (see [0049-0050]) and a lens positioned in between the array of receiver elements and where the blood vessel is presented (see Fig. 4, [0002] and [0013-0014]; the lens 302 is between receiver element/piezoelectric 106 and imaging tissue; the imaging tissue could include blood vessel; the device is capable of imaging blood vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dangi to have patterned electrode layer and a lens positioned in between the array of receiver elements and where the blood vessel is presented as taught by Lukacs because the lens help focus energy (see [0063]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dangi et al. (US 2022/0133273 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2006/0008745) and further in view of Song (US 2015/0190116).
Addressing claims 9-11, Dangi discloses transparent backing layer. Dangi does not explicitly disclose a second backing layer proximate the first backing layer; wherein the first and second backing layers have different material compositions and wherein a first material composition of the second backing layer is selected to affect at least one of an acoustic impedance or an attenuation based on a second material composition of the first backing layer. However, this is only designer choice and only require routine skill in the art. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.). Using different material for backing layer and having multiple back layers only require routine skill in the art. Song explicitly discloses a second backing layer proximate the first backing layer; wherein the first and second backing layers have different material compositions and wherein a first material composition of the second transparent backing layer is selected to affect at least one of an acoustic impedance or an attenuation based on a second material composition of the first transparent backing layer (see abstract and [0098]; Song explicitly discloses first and second backing layers with different material; when the backing layers stack together the first backing layer in a dual-backing ultrasound transducer affects the acoustic impedance and attenuation of the second backing layer or vice versa by influencing the acoustic environment and how the overall transducer functions; the material use in these layers affect each other; this is inherent characteristic and function of backing layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dangi to have a second backing layer proximate the first backing layer; wherein the first and second backing layers have different material compositions and wherein a first material composition of the second backing layer is selected to affect at least one of an acoustic impedance or an attenuation based on a second material composition of the first backing layer as taught by Song because this help prevent image distortion (see [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2015/0241393 (see [0089]; transparent platen with thickness of 100 to 500 micrometer or thicker; sapphire material is transparent); US 2019/0197281 (see Figs. 5-15, [0017], [0107], [0195-0196] and [0266-0267]; substrate with light/EMI shield layers 162, 170 position between ultrasound sensor/receiver 140 and light source 122); US 2016/0330835 (see [0003]; transparent shield); US 2004/0033384 (see [0002]; transparent EMI shield) and US 2008/0013299 (see [0061-0062]).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797