DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faley et al. (US20190081479), hereinafter referred to as ‘Faley’ and in further view of Cheng et al. (US20120212065), hereinafter referred to as ‘Cheng’ and Holveck et al. (US20160306372), hereinafter referred to as ‘Holveck’.
Regarding Claim 1, Faley discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: inputting, by a central controller, a set of instructions to a device under test, the set of instructions corresponding to a firmware version to be tested by a source electrically coupled to the device under test (The present invention may be embodied as a power supply system operatively connected to a grid, a load, and at least one auxiliary power node, the power supply system comprising at least one power control system. The at least one power control system comprises a device controller, a power integration system, a power management board, and a user interface device. The power integration system is operatively connected to the at least one auxiliary power node. The user interface device, i.e., device under test, is operatively connected to the device controller. The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]; Turning now to FIG. 3 of the drawing, an example power integration system 50 that may be used by the example power control system 40 will now be described in further detail. The example power integration system 50 depicted in FIG. 3 comprises an inverter 420, a DC bus 422, an AC bus 424, a first DC/DC converter 426, and a second DC/DC converter 428 [0191]); transmitting, by the central controller, a command signal to an inverter of the device under test (The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]), and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source (Additionally, if the local controller 142 of the master power control system 40 determines that the utility power signal on the AC bus 424 thereof is outside of predetermined parameters, the local controller 142 of that master power control system 40 directs the PMB controllers 140 and local controllers 142 of any slave power control systems 40 to direct the local controllers 142 of those slave power control systems 40 to switch to an operating mode in which the AC power signal is generated by one or more of the auxiliary power nodes 22 [0198]); accessing, by the central controller, test output data of the device under test from a measuring equipment, the test output data comprising information related to the response of the device under test corresponding to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms (The output controller 150 controls the output switch array 156 to connect the data output connector 154 to or disconnect the data output connector 154 from the data sub-system 144, the relay controller 140, the local controller 142, and the data input connector 152. In particular, when the local controller 142 determines that the output data connector 154 of a given power control system 40 is connected to the input data connector 152 of another of plurality of power control systems 40, the output switch array 156 is configured to be in a closed configuration… [0190]); and generating, by the central controller, a test report based at least on the responses of the device under test to the set of test waveforms (The example communications sub-system 56 allows communication among the master and slave power control systems 40 and, optionally, between any given power control systems 40 and the local status monitoring and control system 28 and/or the remote status monitoring and control system 32. The example communications sub-system 56 is configured to communicate status monitoring (i.e. test report) and control data with the power integration system 50 and device control data with the device control system 54. The status monitoring and control data is used to perform routine, non-time critical functions such as determining status of the power integration system 50 and any auxiliary power system 22 associated therewith. The device control data is used to perform time critical functions such as coordinating operating mode changes among the plurality of power control systems 40 [0186]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose a computer-implemented method, comprising: inputting, by a central controller, a set of instructions to a device under test, the set of instructions corresponding to a firmware version to be tested by a variable alternating current (AC) source electrically coupled to the device under test; transmitting, by the central controller, a command signal to an inverter redundant controller (IRC) of the device under test, the IRC configured to operate at least one direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverter, among a plurality of DC-AC inverters of the device under test, to attain a grid-tie state in response to receipt of the command signal, wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which the at least one DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage; upon operating the at least one DC-AC inverter in the grid-tie state, transmitting, by the central controller, a set of values to the variable AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the variable AC source configured to simulate an AC grid, the set of values derived based at least on a grid interconnection standard, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source; accessing, by the central controller, test output data of the device under test from a measuring equipment, the test output data comprising information related to the response of the device under test corresponding to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms; and generating, by the central controller, a test report based at least on the responses of the device under test to the set of test waveforms.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses a variable alternating current (AC) source (The subject of this patent relates to direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC) power inverters that invert DC power from single or multiple DC power sources to single-phase or three-phase AC power, where the DC power sources include but are not limited to photovoltaic (PV) solar modules, fuel cells, batteries, and other DC power generators [0002]); transmitting, a command signal to an inverter redundant controller (IRC) (A line sensing circuit 138 connected to the AC powerline 132 is used to detect the phase and zero-crossing point of the incoming AC power from the power grid. The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent (i.e. transmitting command signal) to the MFA microcontroller 136 for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter, i.e., inverter redundant controller, provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0065]), the IRC configured to operate at least one direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverter (During normal operating conditions, the power from DC source 162 is delivered to the DC-DC boost converter 164 and goes through a DC power combiner 166. Then, the DC power is inverted by the DC-AC inverter 168 to AC power. In the on-grid mode, the inverted AC voltage is higher than the incoming AC voltage from the electric grid [0065]), among a plurality of DC-AC inverters of the device under test, to attain a grid-tie state, wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which the at least one DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a scalable and redundant power inversion system where two or more 2-channel redundant Mini-inverters daisy chain, i.e., plurality of DC-AC inverters, each of which inverts the DC power from 2 DC sources to single-phase AC power, i.e., grid-tie-state [0025]); upon operating the at least one DC-AC inverter in the grid-tie state (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a scalable and redundant power inversion system where two or more 2-channel redundant Mini-inverters daisy chain, each of which inverts the DC power from 2 DC sources to single-phase AC power [0025]), transmitting, by the central controller, a set of values to the variable AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the variable AC source configured (A line sensing circuit 138 connected to the AC powerline 132 is used to detect the phase and zero-crossing point of the incoming AC power from the power grid. The phase and zero-crossing point signals, i.e., a set of values, are sent to the MFA microcontroller 136 for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0065]), the set of values derived based at least on a grid interconnection standard, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source (The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent to the MFA microcontroller 136 for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0066]); a test report based at least on the responses of the device under test to the set of test waveforms (At Block 328, the routine activates the next available backup converter from the Converter List. It then connects DC power to the selected converter by sending proper commands to the Input Channel Selector. At last, the routine saves and reports the converter redundancy status [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
However, Faley and Cheng does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the central controller, a set of values to the variable AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the variable AC source configured to simulate an AC grid, the set of values derived based at least on a grid interconnection standard, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses to simulate an AC grid, the set of values derived based at least on a grid interconnection standard (FIG. 2 illustrates a control system that can implement the simulated generator-based control scheme in accordance with an embodiment. The control system 200 can comprise a controller 210, a plurality of sensors 220, and a power inverter 230. The controller 210 can interface with the power inverter 230 through the plurality of sensors 220. The plurality of sensors 220 can measure electrical signals that are indicative of output voltages and output currents of the power inverter 230. The electrical signals may include DC input voltage, DC input current, DC inductor current, DC central bus capacitor voltage, AC filter inductor currents, AC filter capacitor voltages, grid AC currents, or the like [0026]), and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source (The AC power can follow the variable P.sub.m because the rotor of simulated generator can settle to a frequency equal to that of the grid/microgrid and to a phase angle offset from the grid phase angle that can result in the measured AC power being equal to P.sub.m. If the measured AC power were greater than P.sub.m, for instance, the simulated generator would see that the net power flow to/from the rotor was negative and would slow the rotor down [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
Regarding Claim 2, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Faley discloses generating the test report comprises: extracting, by the central controller, one or more variables determining the responses of the device under test to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms from the test output data, the one or more variables comprising at least one of voltage, frequency, and time measurement (The example communications sub-system 56 is configured to communicate status monitoring and control data with the power integration system 50 and device control data with the device control system 54. The status monitoring and control data is used to perform routine, non-time critical functions such as determining status of the power integration system 50 and any auxiliary power system 22 associated therewith [0186]; In any configuration, the local controller 142 is capable of sensing a DC voltage on the DC bus 422 and an AC voltage on the AC bus 424. Voltage data representing these DC and AC voltages can be stored in the local memory 146 and used for control of the example integration system 50. This voltage data, along with data representing other status information such as the state of the first, second, and third mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 (e.g., power management switches 130 and 132), can also be stored in the local memory 146 by the local controller 142 as status data. [0196]); and generating, by the central controller, the test report by analyzing the one or more variables determining the response of the device under test to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms (The example communications sub-system 56 is configured to communicate status monitoring and control data with the power integration system 50 and device control data with the device control system 54. The status monitoring and control data is used to perform routine, non-time critical functions such as determining status of the power integration system 50 and any auxiliary power system 22 associated therewith [0186]; In any configuration, the local controller 142 is capable of sensing a DC voltage on the DC bus 422 and an AC voltage on the AC bus 424. Voltage data representing these DC and AC voltages can be stored in the local memory 146 and used for control of the example integration system 50. This voltage data, along with data representing other status information such as the state of the first, second, and third mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 (e.g., power management switches 130 and 132), can also be stored in the local memory 146 by the local controller 142 as status data. [0196]).
Regarding Claim 3, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Faley discloses monitoring, by the central controller, each test waveform of the set of test waveforms by the variable AC source to detect a change in magnitude of an electrical parameter of the test waveform at one or more time instances (as discussed above), facilitating, by the central controller, transmission a signal from the variable AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting the change in magnitude of the electrical parameters, wherein the signal facilitates the measuring equipment (…In at least one operating mode, at least one input power signal is input to the power integration system 50 through at least one power node 22. For any given power integration system 50, the input power signal may be a utility power signal from the grid 24 or an auxiliary power signal from the auxiliary power system 22 associated with the given power integration system 50. Further, each power integration system 50 generates an output power signal based on one or more input power signals. The output power signal may be applied to the grid 24, to the load 26, and/or to an energy storage device forming the auxiliary power system 22 associated with that given power integration system 50 [0183]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose monitoring, by the central controller, each test waveform of the set of test waveforms being simulated by the variable AC source to detect a change in magnitude of an electrical parameter of the test waveform at one or more time instances; and facilitating, by the central controller, transmission of a pulse signal from the variable AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting the change in magnitude of the electrical parameters at the one or more test instances, wherein the pulse signal facilitates the measuring equipment to mark the one or more time instances in the test output data.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses test waveform of the set of test waveforms being simulated by the variable AC source (as discussed above), facilitating, by the central controller, transmission of a pulse signal and the pulse signal facilitates the measuring equipment to mark the one or more time instances (A line sensing circuit 178 connected to the internal AC powerline 172 is used to detect the phase and zero-crossing point of the incoming AC power from the power grid. The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent to the microcontroller 176 for AC power synchronization to assure that the power inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to a current pulse in its output signal so that a pulse-related disturbance will manifest on the node.
Regarding Claim 4, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Faley discloses determining, by the central controller, the response of the device under test at the one or more time instances based at least on a mark indicated for each of the one or more time instances in a test output data and the one or more variables at each mark (The example communications sub-system 56 is configured to communicate status monitoring and control data with the power integration system 50 and device control data with the device control system 54. The status monitoring and control data is used to perform routine, non-time critical functions such as determining status of the power integration system 50 and any auxiliary power system 22 associated therewith [0186]).
Regarding Claim 5, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1
Faley discloses the command signal is transmitted to the IRC upon determining that the device under test is in an active mode (as discussed above).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which a DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses the grid-tie state is a state in which a DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to synchronize output of frequency, voltage, and phase to the utility grid, allowing the electricity to be fed into the grid and minimize error.
Regarding Claim 6, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Faley discloses monitoring, by the central controller, one or more parameters determining an operating condition of the variable AC source, the one or more parameters comprising a voltage, frequency, and phase of a test waveform generated by the variable AC source (The local controller 142 of the example power supply system 40 depicted in FIG. 3 is operatively connected to the inverter 420, the DC bus 422, and the AC bus 424 to sense a status of the inverter 420 and voltages on the buses 422 and 424. The example local controller 142 is further arranged to control operation of the inverter 420 and mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 to control the operating mode of the power supply system 40 and power integration system 50 forming a part thereof [0194]); and operating, by the central controller, a switch that is electrically coupled between the device under test and the variable AC source in a closed state, when values of the one or more parameters are within a threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per grid interconnection standards (In particular, when the local controller 142 determines that the output data connector 154 of a given power control system 40 is connected to the input data connector 152 of another of plurality of power control systems 40, the output switch array 156 is configured to be in a closed configuration. When a given power control system 40 is the only power control system 40 of the power supply system 30 or is the last power control system 40 of a plurality of power control systems 40, the output controller 150 is controlled to open the switches forming the switch array 156 to disconnect the data output connector 154 from the data sub-system 144, the relay controller 140, the local controller 142, and the data input connector 152 [0190]), wherein the switch operated in the state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters to the variable AC source (The example power integration system 50 additionally comprises a first mode control switch 440, a second mode control switch 442, and a third mode control switch 444. The first mode control switch 440 is connected between the inverter 420 and the AC bus 424. The relays forming a part of the power management board 52 form the second mode control switch 442. The third mode control switch 444 is connected between the generator 434 and the AC bus 424 [0193]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose operating, by the central controller, a switch that is electrically coupled between the device under test and the variable AC source in a closed state, when values of the one or more parameters are within a threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per grid interconnection standards, wherein the switch operated in the closed state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters to the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses operating, by the central controller, a switch that is electrically coupled between the device under test and the variable AC source in a closed state, when values of the one or more parameters are within a threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per grid interconnection standards, wherein the switch operated in the closed state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters to the variable AC source (As a case example in the following, we assume the inverter is selected in the auto position. During the start-up period, the inverter is not generating power, and both electric relays 174 and 188 are open. The microcontroller 176 first detects if there is grid power from the line sensing circuit 178 connected to the external on-grid AC powerline 190. If there is grid power, the microcontroller 176 will switch the inverter to the on-grid mode [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
However, Faley and Cheng do not explicitly disclose wherein the switch operated in the closed state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters to the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters to the variable AC source (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to complete the circuit and allow the flow of this newly created AC power to the destination, such as a variable AC source.
Regarding Claim 7, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 6.
Faley discloses operating, by the central controller, the switch in an open state, when the values of the one or more parameters exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (Additionally, if the local controller 142 of the master power control system 40 determines that the utility power signal on the AC bus 424 thereof is outside of predetermined parameters, the local controller 142 of that master power control system 40 directs the PMB controllers 140 and local controllers 142 of any slave power control systems 40 to direct the local controllers 142 of those slave power control systems 40 to switch to an operating mode in which the AC power signal is generated by one or more of the auxiliary power nodes 22 [0198]), wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source (Additionally, if the local controller 142 of the master power control system 40 determines that the utility power signal on the AC bus 424 thereof is outside of predetermined parameters, the local controller 142 of that master power control system 40 directs the PMB controllers 140 and local controllers 142 of any slave power control systems 40 to direct the local controllers 142 of those slave power control systems 40 to switch to an operating mode in which the AC power signal is generated by one or more of the auxiliary power nodes 22 [0198]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose operating, by the central controller, the switch in an open state, when the values of the one or more parameters exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards and wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses when the values of the one or more parameters exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (as discussed above) and wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
However, Faley and Cheng do not explicitly disclose operating, by the central controller, the switch in an open state, when the values of the one or more parameters exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards and wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses operating, by the central controller, the switch in an open state, when the values of the one or more parameters exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (The controller, coupled to the power inverter, can be configured to: if the power inverter is in a voltage source mode, determine a target power based on real power frequency droop information and a first frequency; if the power inverter is in a current source mode, determine a target power based on a power limit and a predetermined power command [0003]) and wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source (The controller 210 can read the electrical signals from the plurality of sensors 220 and determine a switching pattern for the power transistors to control the output power of the power inverter 230. For example, the controller 210 performs real power calculation 211 and reactive power calculation 212 using the electrical signals measured at the sensor 220 [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to complete the circuit and allow the flow of this newly created AC power to the destination, such as a variable AC source.
Regarding Claim 9, Faley discloses a system for testing a device under test, the system comprising: a variable AC source electrically coupled to the device under test (The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]) a computer-implemented method, comprising: inputting, by a central controller, a set of instructions to a device under test, the set of instructions corresponding to a firmware version to be tested electrically coupled to the device under test (The present invention may be embodied as a power supply system operatively connected to a grid, a load, and at least one auxiliary power node, the power supply system comprising at least one power control system. The at least one power control system comprises a device controller, a power integration system, a power management board, and a user interface device. The power integration system is operatively connected to the at least one auxiliary power node. The user interface device, i.e., device under test, is operatively connected to the device controller. The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]; Turning now to FIG. 3 of the drawing, an example power integration system 50 that may be used by the example power control system 40 will now be described in further detail. The example power integration system 50 depicted in FIG. 3 comprises an inverter 420, a DC bus 422, an AC bus 424, a first DC/DC converter 426, and a second DC/DC converter 428 [0191]); a measuring equipment coupled to the device under test and the AC source; and a central controller communicably coupled to the device under test, the AC source, and the measuring equipment (The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]), the central controller configured to: input a set of instructions to the device under test; wherein the set of instructions corresponds to a firmware version to be tested by the AC source; transmit a command signal to the … of the device under test (The present invention may be embodied as a power supply system operatively connected to a grid, a load, and at least one auxiliary power node, the power supply system comprising at least one power control system. The at least one power control system comprises a device controller, a power integration system, a power management board, and a user interface device. The power integration system is operatively connected to the at least one auxiliary power node. The user interface device, i.e., device under test, is operatively connected to the device controller. The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]; Turning now to FIG. 3 of the drawing, an example power integration system 50 that may be used by the example power control system 40 will now be described in further detail. The example power integration system 50 depicted in FIG. 3 comprises an inverter 420, a DC bus 422, an AC bus 424, a first DC/DC converter 426, and a second DC/DC converter 428 [0191]), transmit a set of values to the AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the AC source (The device controller, i.e., central controller, is configured to run software, i.e., firmware version, that displays a user interface on the user interface device that allows entry of configuration data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least one auxiliary power node and access to status data associated with at least one of the grid, the load, and the at least on auxiliary power node. The device controller controls operation of the power integration system and power management board using the configuration data [0007]), wherein the set of values is derived based at least on the grid interconnection standards, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the AC source (Additionally, if the local controller 142 of the master power control system 40 determines that the utility power signal on the AC bus 424 thereof is outside of predetermined parameters, the local controller 142 of that master power control system 40 directs the PMB controllers 140 and local controllers 142 of any slave power control systems 40 to direct the local controllers 142 of those slave power control systems 40 to switch to an operating mode in which the AC power signal is generated by one or more of the auxiliary power nodes 22 [0198]); access test output data of the device under test from the measuring equipment, the test output data comprising information related to the response of the device under test corresponding to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms (The output controller 150 controls the output switch array 156 to connect the data output connector 154 to or disconnect the data output connector 154 from the data sub-system 144, the relay controller 140, the local controller 142, and the data input connector 152. In particular, when the local controller 142 determines that the output data connector 154 of a given power control system 40 is connected to the input data connector 152 of another of plurality of power control systems 40, the output switch array 156 is configured to be in a closed configuration… [0190]); and generate a test report based at least on the responses of the device under test to the set of test waveforms (The example communications sub-system 56 allows communication among the master and slave power control systems 40 and, optionally, between any given power control systems 40 and the local status monitoring and control system 28 and/or the remote status monitoring and control system 32. The example communications sub-system 56 is configured to communicate status monitoring and control data with the power integration system 50 and device control data with the device control system 54. The status monitoring and control data is used to perform routine, non-time critical functions such as determining status of the power integration system 50 and any auxiliary power system 22 associated therewith. The device control data is used to perform time critical functions such as coordinating operating mode changes among the plurality of power control systems 40 [0186]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose a system for testing a device under test comprising a plurality of direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverters and an inverter redundant controller (IRC), the system comprising: a variable AC source electrically coupled to the device under test, the variable AC source configured to simulate an AC grid to test the device under test; and a central controller communicably coupled to the device under test, the variable AC source, and the measuring equipment, wherein the set of instructions corresponds to a firmware version to be tested by the variable AC source; transmit a command signal to the IRC of the device under test, wherein the IRC operates at least one DC-AC inverter, among the plurality of DC-AC inverters, to attain a grid-tie state in response to receipt of the command signal, wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which the at least one DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage; upon operation of the at least one DC-AC inverter in the grid-tie state, transmit a set of values to the variable AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the variable AC source, wherein the set of values is derived based at least on the grid interconnection standards, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses a plurality of direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverters and an inverter redundant controller (IRC), (The subject of this patent relates to direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC) power inverters that invert DC power from single or multiple DC power sources to single-phase or three-phase AC power, where the DC power sources include but are not limited to photovoltaic (PV) solar modules, fuel cells, batteries, and other DC power generators [0002]); transmit a command signal to the IRC , wherein the IRC operates at least one DC-AC inverter, among the plurality of DC-AC inverters, to attain a grid-tie state in response to receipt of the command signal (A line sensing circuit 138 connected to the AC powerline 132 is used to detect the phase and zero-crossing point of the incoming AC power from the power grid. The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent to the MFA microcontroller 136 i.e., inverter redundant controller, for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0065]), the IRC configured to operate at least one direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverter (During normal operating conditions, the power from DC source 162 is delivered to the DC-DC boost converter 164 and goes through a DC power combiner 166. Then, the DC power is inverted by the DC-AC inverter 168 to AC power. In the on-grid mode, the inverted AC voltage is higher than the incoming AC voltage from the electric grid [0065]), among a plurality of DC-AC inverters, to attain a grid-tie state in response to receipt of the command signal, wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which the at least one DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a scalable and redundant power inversion system where two or more 2-channel redundant Mini-inverters daisy chain, each of which inverts the DC power from 2 DC sources to single-phase AC power [0025]); upon operating the at least one DC-AC inverter in the grid-tie state (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a scalable and redundant power inversion system where two or more 2-channel redundant Mini-inverters daisy chain, each of which inverts the DC power from 2 DC sources to single-phase AC power [0025]), transmitting, by the central controller, a set of values to the AC source, (A line sensing circuit 138 connected to the AC powerline 132 is used to detect the phase and zero-crossing point of the incoming AC power from the power grid. The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent to the MFA microcontroller 136 for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0065]), wherein the grid-tie state is a state in which the at least one DC-AC inverter of the device under test converts DC voltage from a DC source to an AC voltage (FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a scalable and redundant power inversion system where two or more 2-channel redundant Mini-inverters daisy chain, each of which inverts the DC power from 2 DC sources to single-phase AC power [0025]); upon operation of the at least one DC-AC inverter in the grid-tie state, transmit a set of values to the variable AC source, the set of values corresponding to parameters of the variable AC source, wherein the set of values is derived based at least on the grid interconnection standards, and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source (The phase and zero-crossing point signals are sent to the MFA microcontroller 136 for AC power synchronization to assure that the Mini-inverter provides high quality synchronized power to the grid [0066]); a test report (At Block 328, the routine activates the next available backup converter from the Converter List. It then connects DC power to the selected converter by sending proper commands to the Input Channel Selector. At last, the routine saves and reports the converter redundancy status [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
However, Faley and Cheng does not explicitly disclose a system for testing a device under test comprising a plurality of direct current-to alternating current (DC-AC) inverters and an inverter redundant controller (IRC), the system comprising: a variable AC source electrically coupled to the device under test, the variable AC source configured to simulate an AC grid to test the device under test; and a central controller communicably coupled to the device under test, the variable AC source, and the measuring equipment; transmit a command signal to the IRC of the device under test, wherein the IRC operates at least one DC-AC inverter, among the plurality of DC-AC inverters and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source..
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses simulate an AC grid (FIG. 2 illustrates a control system that can implement the simulated generator-based control scheme in accordance with an embodiment. The control system 200 can comprise a controller 210, a plurality of sensors 220, and a power inverter 230. The controller 210 can interface with the power inverter 230 through the plurality of sensors 220. The plurality of sensors 220 can measure electrical signals that are indicative of output voltages and output currents of the power inverter 230. The electrical signals may include DC input voltage, DC input current, DC inductor current, DC central bus capacitor voltage, AC filter inductor currents, AC filter capacitor voltages, grid AC currents, or the like [0026]), transmit a command signal to the IRC, wherein the IRC operates at least one DC-AC inverter (FIG. 2 illustrates a control system that can implement the simulated generator-based control scheme in accordance with an embodiment. The control system 200 can comprise a controller 210, a plurality of sensors 220, and a power inverter 230. The controller 210 can interface with the power inverter 230 through the plurality of sensors 220. The plurality of sensors 220 can measure electrical signals that are indicative of output voltages and output currents of the power inverter 230. The electrical signals may include DC input voltage, DC input current, DC inductor current, DC central bus capacitor voltage, AC filter inductor currents, AC filter capacitor voltages, grid AC currents, or the like [0026]), and wherein the set of values facilitates generation of a set of test waveforms by the variable AC source (The AC power can follow the variable P.sub.m because the rotor of simulated generator can settle to a frequency equal to that of the grid/microgrid and to a phase angle offset from the grid phase angle that can result in the measured AC power being equal to P.sub.m. If the measured AC power were greater than P.sub.m, for instance, the simulated generator would see that the net power flow to/from the rotor was negative and would slow the rotor down [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
Regarding Claim 10, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
However, Faley and Cheng do not explicitly disclose the variable AC source comprises one or more DC-AC inverters for simulating the AC grid based on the grid interconnection standards.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses one or more DC-AC inverters for simulating the AC grid based on the grid interconnection standards (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to accurately simulate the behavior and requirements of the electrical grid for testing and integration purposes and minimize error.
Regarding Claim 12, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Faley discloses the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: extract one or more variables determining the responses of the device under test to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms from the test output data (as discussed above), the one or more variables comprising at least one of voltage, frequency, and time measurement (as discussed above); and generate the test report by analyzing the one or more variables determining the response of the device under test to each test waveform of the set of test waveforms (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 13, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 12.
Faley discloses the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: facilitate a transmission of a signal from the AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting a change in magnitude of electrical parameters at one or more test instances (as discussed above), wherein the measuring equipment is configured to capture a mark each of the one or more test instances based on receipt of the signal (as discussed above); and determine the response of the device under test at the one or more test instances based at least on the marks indicated for each of the one or more test instances in the test output data and the one or more variables at each mark (as discussed above).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: facilitate a transmission of a pulse signal from the variable AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting a change in magnitude of electrical parameters at one or more test instances, wherein the measuring equipment is configured to capture a mark each of the one or more test instances based on receipt of the pulse signal.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses facilitate a transmission of a pulse signal from the AC source to the measuring equipment (as discussed above), wherein the measuring equipment is configured to capture a mark each of the one or more test instances based on receipt of the pulse signal (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to synchronize data acquisition corresponding to a specific repeatable series of tests to minimize error and improve accuracy.
However, Faley and Cheng do not explicitly disclose the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: facilitate a transmission of a pulse signal from the variable AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting a change in magnitude of electrical parameters at one or more test instances.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: facilitate a transmission of a pulse signal from the variable AC source to the measuring equipment based on detecting a change in magnitude of electrical parameters at one or more test instances (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to accurately simulate the behavior and requirements of the electrical grid for testing and integration purposes and minimize error.
Regarding Claim 14, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Faley discloses the central controller transmits the command signal to the IRC upon determining that the device under test is operated in an active mode (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 15, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Faley discloses the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: monitor one or more parameters determining an operating condition of the AC source, the one or more parameters comprising a voltage amplitude, frequency, and phase angle of the variable AC source (The local controller 142 of the example power supply system 40 depicted in FIG. 3 is operatively connected to the inverter 420, the DC bus 422, and the AC bus 424 to sense a status of the inverter 420 and voltages on the buses 422 and 424. The example local controller 142 is further arranged to control operation of the inverter 420 and mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 to control the operating mode of the power supply system 40 and power integration system 50 forming a part thereof [0194]; The current operating frequency reading of the generator [1295]); and operate a switch between the device under test and the AC source in a closed state, if the one or more parameters determining the operating condition of the AC source are within a value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (The local controller 142 of the example power supply system 40 depicted in FIG. 3 is operatively connected to the inverter 420, the DC bus 422, and the AC bus 424 to sense a status of the inverter 420 and voltages on the buses 422 and 424. The example local controller 142 is further arranged to control operation of the inverter 420 and mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 to control the operating mode of the power supply system 40 and power integration system 50 forming a part thereof. [0194]).
However, Faley and Cheng does not explicitly disclose monitoring one or more parameters determining an operating condition of the variable AC source, the one or more parameters comprising a voltage amplitude, frequency, and phase angle of the variable AC source; and operate a switch between the device under test and the variable AC source in a closed state, if the one or more parameters determining the operating condition of the variable AC source are within a threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards, wherein the switch operated in the closed state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters of the device under test to the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses the central controller is further configured, at least in part, to: monitor one or more parameters determining an operating condition of the variable AC source, the one or more parameters comprising a voltage amplitude, frequency, and phase angle of the variable AC source (The present invention provides control methods for power inverters. For example, a control method comprises: receiving an operation mode of the power inverter; if the operation mode of the power inverter is a voltage source mode, determining a target power based on real power frequency droop information and a first frequency; if the operation mode of the power inverter is a current source mode, determining a target power based on a power limit and a predetermined power command; and generating a second frequency based on the target power, a measured power, and a latency estimate of a simulated generator [0004]); and operate a switch between the device under test and the variable AC source in a closed state, if the one or more parameters determining the operating condition of the variable AC source are within a threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (The controller 210 can read the electrical signals from the plurality of sensors 220 and determine a switching pattern for the power transistors to control the output power of the power inverter 230. For example, the controller 210 performs real power calculation 211 and reactive power calculation 212 using the electrical signals measured at the sensor 220. Once the real (P.sub.measured) and reactive powers (Q.sub.measured) are calculated, the controller 210 can perform real power control 213 to determine the frequency command (second frequency) [0027]; When the power inverter 230 is operating in current source mode, the controller 210 can determine the target power based on the power limits and a predetermined power command. The power limits can comprise a minimum power and a maximum power at a certain frequency [0030]), wherein the switch operated in the closed state facilitates transmission of AC power generated by the plurality of DC-AC inverters of the device under test to the variable AC source (The controller 210 can read the electrical signals from the plurality of sensors 220 and determine a switching pattern for the power transistors to control the output power of the power inverter 230. For example, the controller 210 performs real power calculation 211 and reactive power calculation 212 using the electrical signals measured at the sensor 220. Once the real (P.sub.measured) and reactive powers (Q.sub.measured) are calculated, the controller 210 can perform real power control 213 to determine the frequency command (second frequency) [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to connect a device within threshold values and to minimize error and improve accuracy.
Regarding Claim 16, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Faley discloses the central controller is further configured to operate the switch in a state (The example power integration system 50 additionally comprises a first mode control switch 440, a second mode control switch 442, and a third mode control switch 444. The first mode control switch 440 is connected between the inverter 420 and the AC bus 424 [0193]), wherein the switch operated in the open state facilitates disconnection of the device under test from the variable AC source (Generator voltage high limit to trigger a disconnect from the generator [1328]).
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose the central controller is further configured to operate the switch in an open state, if the one or more parameters determining the operating condition of the variable AC source exceed the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses the threshold value defined for each of the one or more parameters as per the grid interconnection standards (The minimum and maximum power can be determined based on the real power frequency droop information illustrated in FIG. 4B. The real power frequency droop information in FIG. 4B can include a low limit line 420 and a high limit line 430 within which the power inverter 230 can operate in current source mode. Outside the low 420 and high limit lines 430, the power inverter 230 can operate in voltage source mode. These power limits can stabilize the microgrid 100 in case of excessive or deficient power in the microgrid 100 [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to ensure safety and reliability when the AC power is synchronized with the grid and to minimize error and improve accuracy.
Regarding Claim 19, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose the variable AC source is configured to: generate a pulse signal upon reception of the set of values from the central controller; and send the pulse signal to the measuring equipment to mark one or more time instances in the test output data.
Nevertheless, Cheng discloses generate a pulse signal upon reception of the set of values from the central controller (as discussed above); and send the pulse signal to the measuring equipment to mark one or more time instances in the test output data (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley with the teachings of Cheng to include a current pulse in its output signal so that a pulse-related disturbance will manifest on the node.
However, Faley and Cheng do not explicitly disclose the variable AC source.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses the variable AC source (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley and Cheng with the teachings of Holveck to ensure safety and reliability when the AC power is synchronized with the grid and to minimize error and improve accuracy.
Claims 8, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faley, Cheng, and Holveck, and further in view of Tang et al. (US20080304189) hereinafter referred to as ‘Tang’.
Regarding Claim 8, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Faley discloses the device under test is tested for at least one of under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, over-frequency, and reverse or minimum import power test (In any configuration, the local controller 142 is capable of sensing a DC voltage on the DC bus 422 and an AC voltage on the AC bus 424. Voltage data representing these DC and AC voltages can be stored in the local memory 146 and used for control of the example integration system 50. This voltage data, along with data representing other status information such as the state of the first, second, and third mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 (e.g., power management switches 130 and 132), can also be stored in the local memory 146 by the local controller 142 as status data [0196]).
However, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck do not explicitly disclose the device under test is tested for at least one of under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, over-frequency, and reverse or minimum import power test.
Nevertheless, Tang discloses the device under test is tested for at least one of under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, over-frequency, and reverse or minimum import power test (During normal inverter 110 operation, the motor control processor sends PWM signals to the PWM input 156 of the protection controller 150. As shown on the left hand side of the timing diagram 300, when not in a fault condition, the protection controller 150 passes the PWM signals 312 to the gate drive circuit 170. At time 314, however, the inverter 110 is disabled by a serious fault, such as IGBT desaturation fault, loss of bias power, microcontroller malfunction, DC bus 115 over-voltage, or over-current, and inverter 110 operation stops. If the motor 105 is at sufficiently high speed 302 at the time 314 of the inverter fault, UCG mode ensues and the DC bus voltage 304 increases [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley, Cheng, and Holveck with the teachings of Tang to maintain safety and reliability standards and detect abnormal conditions and initiate the disconnection of faulty sections to prevent damage and ensure system stability.
Regarding Claim 17, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Faley discloses the device under test is tested (In any configuration, the local controller 142 is capable of sensing a DC voltage on the DC bus 422 and an AC voltage on the AC bus 424. Voltage data representing these DC and AC voltages can be stored in the local memory 146 and used for control of the example integration system 50. This voltage data, along with data representing other status information such as the state of the first, second, and third mode control switches 440, 442, and 444 (e.g., power management switches 130 and 132), can also be stored in the local memory 146 by the local controller 142 as status data [0196]).
However, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck do not explicitly disclose the device under test is tested for at least one of under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, over-frequency, and reverse or minimum import power test.
Nevertheless, Tang discloses the device under test is tested for at least one of under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, over-frequency, and reverse or minimum import power test (During normal inverter 110 operation, the motor control processor sends PWM signals to the PWM input 156 of the protection controller 150. As shown on the left hand side of the timing diagram 300, when not in a fault condition, the protection controller 150 passes the PWM signals 312 to the gate drive circuit 170. At time 314, however, the inverter 110 is disabled by a serious fault, such as IGBT desaturation fault, loss of bias power, microcontroller malfunction, DC bus 115 over-voltage, or over-current, and inverter 110 operation stops. If the motor 105 is at sufficiently high speed 302 at the time 314 of the inverter fault, UCG mode ensues and the DC bus voltage 304 increases [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley, Cheng, and Holveck with the teachings of Tang to maintain safety and reliability standards and detect abnormal conditions and initiate the disconnection of faulty sections to prevent damage and ensure system stability.
Regarding Claim 18, Faley, Cheng, Holveck, and Tang disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
Faley discloses the set of values corresponding to the parameters of the variable AC source is determined by the central controller (as discussed above).
However, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck does not explicitly disclose the set of values corresponding to the parameters of the variable AC source is determined by the central controller based at least on the grid interconnection standards and a type of test.
Nevertheless, Holveck discloses the set of values corresponding to the parameters of the variable AC source is determined by the central controller based at least on the grid interconnection standards and a type of test (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley, Cheng, and Holveck with the teachings of Tang to ensure the AC power is synchronized with the grid and to minimize error and improve accuracy.
Regarding Claim 20, Faley, Cheng, Holveck, and Tang disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
Faley discloses a parameter under test (PUT) at the device under test includes one of voltage, frequency, power, and reactive power (In any configuration, the local controller 142 is capable of sensing a DC voltage on the DC bus 422 and an AC voltage on the AC bus 424. Voltage data representing these DC and AC voltages, i.e., parameter under test, can be stored in the local memory 146 and used for control of the example integration system 50 [0196]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faley, Cheng, and Holveck, and further in view of Wells et al. (US20160156190) hereinafter referred to as ‘Wells’.
Regarding Claim 11, Faley, Cheng, and Holveck disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 10.
However, Faley does not explicitly disclose the variable AC source is a four-quadrant AC source, and wherein the four-quadrant AC source is configured to operate instantaneously based on the set of values received from the central controller.
Nevertheless, Wells discloses the variable AC source is a four-quadrant AC source, and wherein the four-quadrant AC source is configured to operate based on the set of values received from the central controller (The battery 152 can be charged or discharged via a four quadrant inverter 150 from the controller 146 using data from the PMU 148 [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Faley, Cheng, and Holveck with the teachings of Wells to provide a measurement equipment used to simulate diverse power conditions and improve precision.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Faley, Cheng, and Holveck.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
George Cheng (US20140265595) discloses a method and apparatus is disclosed for solar power generation when irradiance is low and unstable due to sunrise, sunset, clouding, partial shading, warped solar module surfaces, moving solar modules, and other low or varying irradiance conditions. A multi-channel solar power inverter connected to multiple solar modules can work in a "Lunar Power Mode", inverting DC power induced from the sky, street lights, or surrounding environment to AC power by using a unique rotating power pulling technology.
Steven Mulkey (US20130002031) discloses an enclosure design is disclosed to accommodate and support the unique features and capabilities of the Smart and Scalable Power Inverters or Mini-Inverters that have multiple input channels to easily connect to multiple solar PV panels, invert the DC power to AC power, and daisy chain together to generate AC power to feed the power grid or supply power to electrical devices
Douglas Schatz (US20100308662) discloses a solar energy system (55) has aspects that can allow individualized control and analysis for overall field power control that can be used while harvesting maximum power from a solar energy source (1) and a string of solar panels (11) for a power grid (10).
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857