DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II (figures 2-4) in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the apparatus claims 1-7 of species II recite the same invention as the method claims 8-14 of species III because they both contain same inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because structural arrangements of motor circuits as shown in figures 2-4 are not necessary for the distinct methods of determining motor terminal disconnection and adjusting motor disconnection timer, respectively, as shown in figures 5-6; and the methods of determining motor disconnection and adjusting motor time counter of Species III and IV, respectively, are useable without the disclosed motor circuits of Species II (figures 2-4).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species I and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (US 2018/0321322 A1) and in view of Weber (US 4,403,177 A).
In regards to claim 1, Morita discloses a system for detecting motor disconnection at motor terminals (diagnosing motor disconnection, see paragraph 24) while the motor is switched off (controller 12 capable of performing diagnosis while the motor is off, see figs. 1-4), comprising: a motor (motor 16) configured to operate (see figs. 1-5), wherein the motor has three terminals (three phase terminals 17a, 17b and 17c of motor, see paragraph 22) communicatively coupled to the motor-driven circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22), wherein the motor is associated with a motor drive circuit (motor driving device 14, see fig. 1) that supplies power to the motor (via power supply 36, see fig. 2); and a processor (controller 12 and motor drive circuit 14) communicatively coupled to the motor drive circuit (see fig. 1), and configured to:
determine whether a pulse signal that powers the motor is enabled (command signal Vec from controller 12 to motor drive circuit 14, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 20-21);
in response to determining that the motor is being aligned with the at least one winding (based on rotation speed value sensed by sensor 18, see paragraphs 22, 27), communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal (Ved signal to motor drive circuit 30, see fig. 2); wherein
the control signal (signal to calculate and generate voltage signal Vc1, Vec and signal Ved) indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22) to a first terminal from among the terminals at the motor (Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where one of the currents is for the first terminal of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-32);
determine a first current value at the first terminal of the motor (determines and establish phase current value Iu, see paragraphs 22 and 29-32);
compare the first current value with a first threshold current value (see comparison of current Iu with threshold at step S3, fig. 4);
determine that the first current value is less than the first threshold current value (see proceeding toward step S4, S5 and S11 after comparison of current Iu with threshold of current, where Iu is less than threshold value, fig. 4); and
in response to determining that the first current value is less than the first threshold current value (see response ‘Yes’ at step S3, fig. 4), determine that the first terminal of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (see determination at steps S10-S11, where abnormal motor state is established, see fig. 4, and paragraphs 62-64, where the abnormal state of the motor indicate disconnected motor, see paragraphs 24, 36-39 and 64).
However, Morita does not explicitly teach that the motor operates a motor-driven component; and the controller determines whether a permanent magnet is being aligned with one winding.
Weber discloses a system for detecting synchronous motor connection at motor terminals (see abstract) while the motor is switched off (see motor start mode, see figs. 2-3), comprising: a motor (motor, see abstract and col. 2, lines 47-65) configured to operate a motor-driven component (fuel pump or an engine, see col. 2, lines 47-65), wherein the motor has three terminals (see terminals 12, 14, 16, fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the motor-driven component (see col. 2, lines 47-65 and fig. 1), wherein the motor is associated with a motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) that supplies power to the motor (transistors 18, 20, 22 to rotate motor, see col. 2, lines 47-65); and a processor (control circuit 10) communicatively coupled to the motor drive circuit (see figs. 1 and 4), and configured to:
in response to determining that the pulse signal is enabled (pulse signal via lead 94, see col. 5, lines 30-43; Also see switching signal producing current drive, see col. 2, line 55 - col. 3, line 16; col. 6, lines 21-38), determine whether a permanent magnet associated with the motor is being aligned with at least one winding associated with the motor (permanent magnet rotor rotated to align with at least one winding, see col. 5, lines 60-68);
in response to determining that the permanent magnet is being aligned with the at least one winding (permanent magnet rotated to align with the winding, see col. 5, lines 60-68 and col. 6, lines 39-51), communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal that indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal to a first terminal from among the terminals at the motor (EMF voltage induced to transmit starting voltage to a first terminal of the motor, see col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 17; Also see input signal after rotor speed change, col. 6, lines 39-59; supplying signals and current to the output terminals 12, 14, 16, see fig. 1; col. 2, lines 47-61 and col. 4, lines 1-10); determine a first current value at the first terminal of the motor (current supplied to winding 24 of the motor, see fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 51-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor disconnection detection system of Morita by providing a motor-driven component communicatively coupled to the terminals of the motor as taught by Weber to control the operation of the fan, compressor or an engine by adjusting current supply to the motor coupled to the component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Morita to determine whether a pulse signal that powers the motor is enabled; in response to determining that the pulse signal is enabled, determine whether a permanent magnet associated with the motor is being aligned, by rotation, with at least one winding associated with the motor; in response to determining that the permanent magnet is being aligned with the at least one winding, communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal that indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal to a first terminal of the motor based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a confirmed synchronized electrical connection from the power source to the permanent magnet rotor to ensure that motor always starts (see col. 2, lines 6-19, Weber).
In regards to claim 2, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the processor is further configured to:
determine a second current value (Iv) at a second terminal of the motor (determines and establish phase current value Iv, see paragraphs 22 and 29-32);
compare the second current value with a second threshold current value (see comparison of current Iv with threshold at step S6, fig. 4);
wherein the second threshold current value is different from the first threshold current value (choosing a variable threshold value TH for varying rotational speed, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 76-77);
determine that the second current value is less than the second threshold current value (see proceeding toward step S7, S5 and S11 after comparison of current Iv with threshold of current, where Iv is less than threshold value, fig. 4); and
in response to determining that the second current value is less than the second threshold current value (see response ‘Yes’ at step S3, fig. 4), determine that the second terminal of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (see determination at steps S10-S11, where abnormal motor state is established, see fig. 4, and paragraphs 62-64, where the abnormal state of the motor indicates disconnected motor terminal, see paragraphs 24, 36-37 and 64, wherein the disconnected motor terminal is associated with the second winding connector as represented by the current value Iv, see paragraphs 22, 37 and 39).
In regards to claim 3, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is further configured to transmit the DC voltage signal (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22) to the three terminals (Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39) at the motor in response to receiving the control signal from the processor (signal to calculate and generate voltage signal Vec, Vc1 and signal Ved, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 29-30).
In regards to claim 4, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22, wherein Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39). In addition, Weber teaches that the motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) comprises at least one complementary stage (switching circuit 32 with transistors, fig. 1); a first complementary stage of the at least one complementary stage comprises a first transistor (at least one of transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114) and a second transistor (at least one of the other transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114); and the motor drive circuit is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor (via transistors 18-22, 110-114 to stator windings 24, 26, 28 and terminals 12, 14 and 16, respectively, see fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 50-58) when the first transistor is switched on when the second transistor is switched off (see sequential supply of current through transistors, figs. 1-3 and col. 5, lines 37-58, col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor disconnection detection system of Morita as modified by providing a first complementary stage to the motor drive circuit, where the first complementary stage comprises a first transistor and a second transistor; and the motor drive circuit is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor when the first transistor is switched on when the second transistor is switched off based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a synchronized current supply to maintain operation of the motor while establishing current drive to the proper stator winding of the three phase motor (see col. 2, lines 6-19 and col. 3, lines 1-14, Weber).
In regards to claim 5, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is configured to receive a second DC voltage signal from a second terminal of the motor (motor driving device 14 receiving single voltage signal Ved, Vc1, see paragraphs 29-31 and 22-23, wherein Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39). In addition, Weber teaches that the motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) comprises a second complementary stage (switching circuit 32 with additional transistors 110-114 and 18-22, fig. 1); the second complementary stage of the at least one complementary stage comprises a third transistor (at least one of transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114) and a fourth transistor (at least one of the other transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114); and the motor drive circuit is further configured to receive a second DC voltage signal from a second terminal of the motor (feedback signal received via circuit 34 from one of the other terminals 14, 16 or 12) when the third transistor is switched on when the fourth transistor is switched off (motor drive circuit 32 capable of receiving feedback when one of the third and fourth transistors 18-22 are turned on and off respectively, see fig. 1; Also see sequential supply of current through transistors, figs. 1-3 and col. 5, lines 37-58, col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor disconnection detection system of Morita as modified by providing a second complementary stage to the motor drive circuit, where the second complementary stage comprises a third transistor and a fourth transistor; and the motor drive circuit is configured to receive a DC voltage signal from the second terminal of the motor when the third transistor is switched on when the fourth transistor is switched off based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a feedback path for each of the stator windings of the motor to correct the sequential timing of operation of the succeeding stator windings with respect to the first or third terminals (see claim 1 and col. 4, lines 11-32, Weber).
In regards to claim 15, Morita discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium (CPU with memory storage, see paragraph 33 and fig. 1) storing instructions that when executed by a processor (controller 12), cause the processor to:
determine whether a pulse signal that powers the motor is enabled (command signal Vec from controller 12 to motor drive circuit 14, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 20-21);
in response to determining that the motor is being aligned with the at least one winding (based on rotation speed value sensed by sensor 18, see paragraphs 22, 27), communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal (Ved signal to motor drive circuit 30, see fig. 2); wherein
the control signal (signal to calculate and generate voltage signal Vc1, Vec and signal Ved) indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22) to a first terminal from among the terminals at the motor (Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where one of the currents is for the first terminal of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-32);
determine a first current value at the first terminal of the motor (determines and establish phase current value Iu, see paragraphs 22 and 29-32);
compare the first current value with a first threshold current value (see comparison of current Iu with threshold at step S3, fig. 4);
determine that the first current value is less than the first threshold current value (see proceeding toward step S4, S5 and S11 after comparison of current Iu with threshold of current, where Iu is less than threshold value, fig. 4); and
in response to determining that the first current value is less than the first threshold current value (see response ‘Yes’ at step S3, fig. 4), determine that the first terminal of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (see determination at steps S10-S11, where abnormal motor state is established, see fig. 4, and paragraphs 62-64, where the abnormal state of the motor indicate disconnected motor, see paragraphs 24, 36-39 and 64).
However, Morita does not explicitly teach that the processor determines whether a permanent magnet is being aligned with one winding.
Weber discloses a system for detecting synchronous motor connection at motor terminals (see abstract) while the motor is switched off (see motor start mode, see figs. 2-3), comprising: a motor (motor, see abstract and col. 2, lines 47-65) configured to operate a motor-driven component (fuel pump or an engine, see col. 2, lines 47-65), wherein the motor has three terminals (see terminals 12, 14, 16, fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the motor-driven component (see col. 2, lines 47-65 and fig. 1), wherein the motor is associated with a motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) that supplies power to the motor (transistors 18, 20, 22 to rotate motor, see col. 2, lines 47-65); and a processor (control circuit 10) communicatively coupled to the motor drive circuit (see figs. 1 and 4), and configured to:
in response to determining that the pulse signal is enabled (pulse signal via lead 94, see col. 5, lines 30-43; Also see switching signal producing current drive, see col. 2, line 55 - col. 3, line 16; col. 6, lines 21-38), determine whether a permanent magnet associated with the motor is being aligned with at least one winding associated with the motor (permanent magnet rotor rotated to align with at least one winding, see col. 5, lines 60-68);
in response to determining that the permanent magnet is being aligned with the at least one winding (permanent magnet rotated to align with the winding, see col. 5, lines 60-68 and col. 6, lines 39-51), communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal that indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal to a first terminal from among the terminals at the motor (EMF voltage induced to transmit starting voltage to a first terminal of the motor, see col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 17; Also see input signal after rotor speed change, col. 6, lines 39-59; supplying signals and current to the output terminals 12, 14, 16, see fig. 1; col. 2, lines 47-61 and col. 4, lines 1-10); determine a first current value at the first terminal of the motor (current supplied to winding 24 of the motor, see fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 51-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the processor of Morita to determine whether a pulse signal that powers the motor is enabled; in response to determining that the pulse signal is enabled, determine whether a permanent magnet associated with the motor is being aligned, by rotation, with at least one winding associated with the motor; in response to determining that the permanent magnet is being aligned with the at least one winding, communicate, to the motor drive circuit, a control signal that indicates to transmit a DC voltage signal to a first terminal of the motor based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a confirmed synchronized electrical connection from the power source to the permanent magnet rotor to ensure that motor always starts (see col. 2, lines 6-19, Weber).
In regards to claim 16, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the instructions further cause the processor to:
determine a second current value (Iv) at a second terminal of the motor (determines and establish phase current value Iv, see paragraphs 22 and 29-32);
compare the second current value with a second threshold current value (see comparison of current Iv with threshold at step S6, fig. 4);
wherein the second threshold current value is different from the first threshold current value (choosing a variable threshold value TH for varying rotational speed, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 76-77);
determine that the second current value is less than the second threshold current value (see proceeding toward step S7, S5 and S11 after comparison of current Iv with threshold of current, where Iv is less than threshold value, fig. 4); and
in response to determining that the second current value is less than the second threshold current value (see response ‘Yes’ at step S3, fig. 4), determine that the second terminal of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (see determination at steps S10-S11, where abnormal motor state is established, see fig. 4, and paragraphs 62-64, where the abnormal state of the motor indicates disconnected motor terminal, see paragraphs 24, 36-37 and 64, wherein the disconnected motor terminal is associated with the second winding connector as represented by the current value Iv, see paragraphs 22, 37 and 39).
In regards to claim 17, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is further configured to transmit the DC voltage signal (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22) to the three terminals (Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39) at the motor in response to receiving the control signal from the processor (signal to calculate and generate voltage signal Vec, Vc1 and signal Ved, see fig. 5 and paragraphs 29-30).
In regards to claim 18, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor (single command voltage Vc1, Ved, see paragraphs 31 and 22, wherein Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39). In addition, Weber teaches that the motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) comprises at least one complementary stage (switching circuit 32 with transistors, fig. 1); a first complementary stage of the at least one complementary stage comprises a first transistor (at least one of transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114) and a second transistor (at least one of the other transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114); and the motor drive circuit is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor (via transistors 18-22, 110-114 to stator windings 24, 26, 28 and terminals 12, 14 and 16, respectively, see fig. 1 and col. 5, lines 50-58) when the first transistor is switched on when the second transistor is switched off (see sequential supply of current through transistors, figs. 1-3 and col. 5, lines 37-58, col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor disconnection detection system of Morita as modified by providing a first complementary stage to the motor drive circuit, where the first complementary stage comprises a first transistor and a second transistor; and the motor drive circuit is configured to transmit the DC voltage signal to the first terminal of the motor when the first transistor is switched on when the second transistor is switched off based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a synchronized current supply to maintain operation of the motor while establishing current drive to the proper stator winding of the three phase motor (see col. 2, lines 6-19 and col. 3, lines 1-14, Weber).
In regards to claim 19, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18 and further discloses that the motor drive circuit (see conductive wires L connecting motor 16 to motor driving devices 14, fig. 1 and paragraph 22) is configured to receive a second DC voltage signal from a second terminal of the motor (motor driving device 14 receiving single voltage signal Ved, Vc1, see paragraphs 29-31 and 22-23, wherein Vc1 includes current Iu, Iv and Iw, where the currents are for three terminals of the motor, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 29-39). In addition, Weber teaches that the motor drive circuit (motor logic drive circuits 30, 40, see figs. 1 and 4) comprises a second complementary stage (switching circuit 32 with additional transistors 110-114 and 18-22, fig. 1); the second complementary stage of the at least one complementary stage comprises a third transistor (at least one of transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114) and a fourth transistor (at least one of the other transistors 18, 20, 22, 110, 112 and 114); and the motor drive circuit is further configured to receive a second DC voltage signal from a second terminal of the motor (feedback signal received via circuit 34 from one of the other terminals 14, 16 or 12) when the third transistor is switched on when the fourth transistor is switched off (motor drive circuit 32 capable of receiving feedback when one of the third and fourth transistors 18-22 are turned on and off respectively, see fig. 1; Also see sequential supply of current through transistors, figs. 1-3 and col. 5, lines 37-58, col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor disconnection detection system of Morita as modified by providing a second complementary stage to the motor drive circuit, where the second complementary stage comprises a third transistor and a fourth transistor; and the motor drive circuit is configured to receive a DC voltage signal from the second terminal of the motor when the third transistor is switched on when the fourth transistor is switched off based on the teachings of Weber in order to establish a feedback path for each of the stator windings of the motor to correct the sequential timing of operation of the succeeding stator windings with respect to the first or third terminals (see claim 1 and col. 4, lines 11-32, Weber).
In regards to claim 20, Morita as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the processor communicates an alert message (notifying alarm to the operator, see paragraphs 62-63 and step S11, fig. 4) that indicates at least one of terminals of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (abnormal state of the motor is identified and notification regarding the abnormality is issued, see paragraphs 62-64 and fig. 4) in response to determining that the at least one of terminals of the motor is disconnected from the motor drive circuit (wherein the abnormality determination that causes the alarm, is based on disconnection of at least one terminal of the motor from the motor circuit, see paragraph 24, 36-40 and 64).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763