DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the response and amendment filed on 10/20/25.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are elected for examination and claims 11-17 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyono et al (US20100230690 and Kyono hereinafter).
As to claim 1, Kyono discloses a semiconductor device (11a, Fig. 1), comprising:
a light-emitting unit, wherein the unit comprise a substrate (13), an n-type layer (15) disposed on the substrate, a multiple quantum well layer (29) disposed on the n-type layer, and a p-type ion doping layer (19) disposed on the multiple quantum well layer, the p-type ion doping layer comprises an activation region (27) and a passivation region (25), and the activation region is an oxygen doping region ([0075]); a first electrode (33), electrically connected to the p-type ion doping layer; and a second electrode (35), electrically connected to the n-type layer.
Although Kyono does not teach the device comprises a plurality of light-emitting unit, nonetheless, multiple units of light-emitting unit with in a semiconductor device is conventional and well known in the art and duplication of device is within the skill of the ordinary artisan in the art. Examiner herein takes Official notice on this claimed limitation, for support of the Official notice, see MPEP 2144.03 and In re Zurko, 258 F.3d 1379, 1385, 59 USPQ2d 1693, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Ahlert, 424 F.2d at 1092, 165 USPQ at 421.
As to claim 2, Kyono teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises an activation region (25), and activation regions of the plurality of light-emitting units are spaced on a plane parallel to the substrate (Fig. 1).
As to claim 3, Kyono teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the passivation region comprises a first passivation region (left side of 27) and a second passivation region (right side of 27).
As to claim 6, Kyono teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein p-type ions of the p- type ion doping layer comprise magnesium ions ([0111]).
As to claim 8, Kyono teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping content of oxygen element in the activation region is less than 1E21/cm3([0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EVA Y MONTALVO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818