DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, and 17, and cancelled, without waiver or prejudice, Claims 7 and 11. Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-20 are now pending.
Claims 5 and 6 were objected to because of informalities. Applicant has amended consistent with the Examiner's suggestions, and Examiner withdraws the objections of claims 5 and 6.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 14, and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite, particularly for having limitations with the term “optionally”. Applicant has amended Claims 6, 9, 12, 14, and 15 to overcome the rejections. Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), and full allowance of Claims 6, 9, 12, 14, and 15.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 17 to further define a first candidate charge profile is used for charging the battery when the usage metric is below a first threshold and a second candidate charge profile is used when the usage metric is above the first threshold.
Regarding Joshi et al (US 20200169107 A1), applicant argues Joshi does not teach the amended feature wherein the first threshold is defined by a usage metric. Joshi discloses electronic device 101 which includes memory 130, and memory 130 stores the usage history in the charging pattern information 311. This is further supported in Joshi ¶0059 “ electronic device 101 may select a charging pattern that satisfies a predetermined condition among all types of charging patterns (e.g., (n−1).sup.m) associated with charging of the battery 189 and store the selected charging pattern in the memory 130 as charging pattern information 311”. Applicant further argues that this does not correspond to a usage metric, however Joshi ¶0058 discloses “charging pattern information 311 may configure operating voltage ranges (V.sub.min, V.sub.max) and operating current ranges (I.sub.min, I.sub.max) and include an operating current value corresponding to a specific operating voltage value”. As is indicated by the emphasized portions, the charging pattern information 311 uses the operating parameters for the battery. Thereby the voltage threshold would function as a usage metric threshold.
Applicant further argues “under Joshi, the charge rate limit is higher early in life and lower later in life. In contrast, the claimed invention does the opposite: it sets a lower (more conservative) allowable limit and/or target early in life (when the usage metric is below the first threshold) to prevent damage from unfinished cell formation”. The claims filed on 06/26/2023 define the charge profiles as being defined from a plurality of allowable limits including current, voltage, and/or charge rates; however, the claims do not indicate how the charge rate changes over time based on the charging profile. Amended claim 1 as written recites the limitation “each charge profile defines at least one allowable limit and/or target for a current, voltage, and/or charge rate for charging the battery”, where the charge profile can define the charge rate but due to the term “and/or” does not necessarily define the charge rate. Further Joshi FIG 4 particularly operation 405 described in ¶0095 “operation 405, the processor 120/320 may identify a first charging time and a first life expectancy of the battery 189 based on the first charging pattern and the obtained data (e.g., the data related to the charging of the battery 189)”, which functionally measures the charging rate in relation to the life expectancy of the battery. The amended limitation does not indicate how the charge profile is related to the charge rate, simply that the charging profile defines the charge rate.
Makes no further arguments regarding the content of the prior art of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joshi et al (US 20200169107 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Joshi teaches a method of controlling charging of a battery of a portable electronic device, (¶0064 "electronic device 100 may include a battery 110, an interface 120, and a battery management system 130")
the method comprising: obtaining a usage metric indicative of usage of the battery over its existing lifetime; (¶0077 "FIG. 2B, the charging current adaptation unit 132 may determine a charge rate of the battery 110. The charging current adaptation unit 132 may include a battery profile unit 132(a), a temperature profile unit 132(b), a state of health detector unit 132(c), and a charging current controller unit 132(d)", ¶0058 “charging pattern information 311 including a plurality of charging patterns related to charging of the battery 189 may be stored in the memory 130”)
determining a charge profile for the battery dependent on the usage metric; (¶0080 "battery profile may include a battery impedance factor with respect to temperature, battery capacity, and battery temperature profile during usage of the electronic device 100, a charging profile and a discharging profile. The battery profile may be stored in the memory 170", ¶0081 "The battery profile unit 132(a) may be configured to periodically receive the measured parameters of the battery parameter measurement unit 131 (during charging state of the electronic device 100) and create the charging profile for the battery 110")
and controlling charging of the battery based on the determined charge profile; (¶0084 "charging current controller unit 132(d) may be configured to determine a charge rate of the battery 110 based on the battery profile, the present state of the electronic device 100 and the present state of the battery 110")
wherein determining a charge profile for the battery comprises selecting a first candidate charge profile (¶0039 "the battery profile is at least one of a charging profile, a discharging profile and a temperature profile")
when the usage metric is below a first threshold (¶0112 "S422 that the battery 110 voltage goes below to voltage threshold (i.e., discharge voltage level) then the battery 110 of the electronic device 100 may start to be charged again (as detailed in S416)")
and selecting a second candidate charge profile (¶0039 "the battery profile is at least one of a charging profile, a discharging profile and a temperature profile")
when the usage metric is above the first threshold; (¶0112 "S422 that the battery 110 voltage goes below to voltage threshold (i.e., discharge voltage level) then the battery 110 of the electronic device 100 may start to be charged again (as detailed in S416)", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
each charge profile defines at least one allowable limit and/or target for a current, voltage, and/or charge rate for charging the battery; (¶0026 "battery profile which is generated by measuring at least one battery parameter and a battery temperature at which the at least one battery parameter is measured", ¶0065"characteristics of the battery 110 may include type of battery (e.g., Lithium), total capacity (mAh) of the battery 110, constant current rate, nominal voltage level. charge limit voltage, discharge limit voltage, maximum continuous charge current, maximum continuous discharge current.")
and at least one allowable limit and/or target defined by the first candidate charge profile is lower than a corresponding allowable limit and/or target of the second candidate charge profile. (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a computer-implemented method of determining a charge profile for a battery of a portable electronic device. (¶0072 " the elements of the battery management system 130 may be included in the battery 110 or the processor 160, or a part of the battery 110 or the processor 160")
Regarding claim 3, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi further teaches wherein obtaining the usage metric comprises: tracking the charging and/or discharging of the battery; (¶0080 "battery profile may include a battery impedance factor with respect to temperature, battery capacity, and battery temperature profile during usage of the electronic device 100, a charging profile and a discharging profile. The battery profile may be stored in the memory 170")
and determining the usage metric based on the tracked charging and/or discharging. (¶0080 "battery profile may include a battery impedance factor with respect to temperature, battery capacity, and battery temperature profile during usage of the electronic device 100, a charging profile and a discharging profile. The battery profile may be stored in the memory 170", ¶0081 "The battery profile unit 132(a) may be configured to periodically receive the measured parameters of the battery parameter measurement unit 131 (during charging state of the electronic device 100) and create the charging profile for the battery 110")
Regarding claim 4, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi further teaches wherein: each charge profile defines a plurality of allowable limits and/or targets for a current, voltage, and/or charge rate for charging the battery, said limits and/or targets for use at different stages in the charging. (¶0123 "At S606, the method may include determining whether there exists any data (e.g., data tabulated as the battery profile)")
The battery profile is defined by the battery characteristics, further described in 124 for step S606 "find battery profile for current temperature with battery cycle data" and 0125 for step S610 "read average capacity from battery profile and unusable capacity from the characteristics of the battery". Characteristics of the battery, including charge and discharge limits, are defined in 1065 as quoted above.
Regarding claim 5, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 4. Joshi wherein each charge profile defines said at least one allowable limit and/or target in relation to: a time spent charging for the charging cycle concerned, (¶0026 "battery profile which is generated by measuring at least one battery parameter and a battery temperature at which the at least one battery parameter is measured", 15151 "user may input time to charge the battery 110 or may set the minimum charging speed mode (MIN) or the maximum charging speed mode (MAX)")
and/or a charge capacity C of the battery, (¶0065 "characteristics of the battery 110 may include. total capacity (mAh) of the battery 110. preset charge capacity, rated capacity of the battery 110")
and/or a temperature T of the battery. (¶0068 " battery management system 130 may be configured to communicate with the interface 120 to extract the plurality of battery parameters and the corresponding battery temperature at which the plurality of battery parameters are measured (as detailed in conjunction with FIG. 2B)")
Regarding claim 6, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 4. Joshi further teaches wherein selecting the first charge profile or selecting the second charge profile comprises: obtaining the selected charge profile from storage, or adjusting a given charge profile to become the selected one of the candidate charge profile, or generating the selected one of the candidate charge profile, or adjusting a given charge profile based on the usage metric. (¶0039 "the battery profile is at least one of a charging profile, a discharging profile and a temperature profile", ¶0080 "battery profile may include a battery impedance factor with respect to temperature, battery capacity, and battery temperature profile during usage of the electronic device 100, a charging profile and a discharging profile. The battery profile may be stored in the memory 170")
Regarding claim 8, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi further teaches wherein: each allowable limit and/or target defined by the first candidate charge profile is lower than a corresponding allowable limit. (¶0112 "S422 that the battery 110 voltage goes below to voltage threshold (i.e., discharge voltage level) then the battery 110 of the electronic device 100 may start to be charged again (as detailed in S416)", ¶0117 "S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
Regarding claim 10, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi further teaches wherein comprising: selecting the second candidate charge profile when the usage metric above the first threshold and below a second threshold higher than the first threshold. (¶0112 "S422 that the battery 110 voltage goes below to voltage threshold (i.e., discharge voltage level) then the battery 110 of the electronic device 100 may start to be charged again (as detailed in S416)", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile’s allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile’s allowable limit)
Regarding claim 13, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 10. Joshi further teaches wherein: the method comprises selecting a further candidate charge profile when the usage metric is above the second threshold; (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
or the method comprises selecting the first candidate charge profile when the usage metric is above the second threshold. (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
Regarding claim 14, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 13. Joshi further teaches wherein at least one allowable limit and/or target defined by the selected further candidate charge profile is lower than a corresponding allowable limit and/or target of said second candidate charge profile. (¶0112 "S422 that the battery 110 voltage goes below to voltage threshold (i.e., discharge voltage level) then the battery 110 of the electronic device 100 may start to be charged again (as detailed in S416)")
Regarding claim 15, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 6. Joshi further teaches comprising adjusting the given charge profile based on the usage metric so that at least one allowable limit and/or target defined by the given charge profile is: lower than a first amount when the usage metric is below a first threshold; (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
and/or higher than the first amount when the usage metric is above the first threshold; and/or higher than the first amount when the usage metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold higher than the first threshold; (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
and/or lower than the first amount, and lower than a second amount lower than the first amount, when the usage metric is above the second threshold. (¶0117 "[FIG 4] S510, the method may include determining whether the battery voltage meets a threshold. For example, when the battery 110 is in the charging mode or the discharging mode, the battery parameter determination unit 131 may determine whether the battery voltage meets the threshold voltage "N" mV", wherein the lower voltage threshold is lower than the charging profile's allowable limit and the upper voltage threshold is higher than the discharging profile's allowable limit)
Regarding claim 16, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi comprising carrying out said obtaining the usage metric, determining the charge profile and controlling charging of the battery based on the determined charge profile for each charging cycle of the battery, or for each of a plurality of charging cycles of the battery. (¶0048 "the battery profile is dynamically updated when a state of at least one of the battery parameters and the battery temperature is changed", ¶0065 "The characteristics of the battery 110 may include type of battery (e.g., Lithium), total capacity (mAh) of the battery 110, constant current rate, nominal voltage level, allowable charge capacity, preset charge capacity, rated capacity of the battery 110, charge limit voltage, discharge limit voltage, maximum continuous charge current, maximum continuous discharge current, initial impedance, charging/discharging life cycles, etc")
Regarding claim 18, Joshi further teaches charging apparatus for use by a portable electronic device to control charging of a battery of the portable electronic device, (¶0063 "electronic device 100 may be, for example, a laptop, a desktop computer, a mobile phone, a smart phone, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a tablet, a phablet, a consumer electronic device, a dual display device, edge display, or any other electronic device", FIG 2B Battery Management System 130)
the charging apparatus configured to carry out the method of claim 1. (Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1 as detailed above to reject claim 1)
Regarding claim 19, Joshi teaches the charging apparatus of claim 18. Joshi teaches a portable electronic device, comprising a charging apparatus. (¶0064 "electronic device 100 may include a battery 110, an interface 120, and a battery management system 130")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi modified by Srinivasan et al (US 20220034974 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi wherein the usage metric is based on, or comprises, one or more of: a measure of charging and/or discharging of the battery, [or cumulative charging and/or discharging of the battery]; (¶0083 "The state of health detecting unit 132(c) may utilize a battery discharging capacity profile data, an impedance data and the temperature profile in order to calculate the present battery capacity with respect to the temperature")
a measure of charging and/or discharging of the battery over part or all of its existing lifetime; (¶0083 "The state of health detecting unit 132(c) may utilize a battery discharging capacity profile data, an impedance data and the temperature profile in order to calculate the present battery capacity with respect to the temperature", 048 "battery profile is dynamically updated when a state of at least one of the battery parameters and the battery temperature is changed")
the number of charging cycles undergone by the battery, the cumulative charge amount passed into the cell during charging in the life of the battery; (¶0065 "characteristics of the battery 110 may include type of battery (e.g., Lithium), total capacity (mAh) of the battery 110, constant current rate, nominal voltage level, allowable charge capacity, preset charge capacity, rated capacity of the battery 110, charge limit voltage, discharge limit voltage, maximum continuous charge current, maximum continuous discharge current, initial impedance, charging/discharging life cycles, etc")
Joshi does not teach or cumulative charging and/or discharging of the battery the cumulative charge amount passed out of the cell during discharging in the life of the battery; the cumulative length of time spent charging in the life of the battery; and the cumulative length of time spent discharging in the life of the battery.
Srinivasan teaches or cumulative charging and/or discharging of the battery the cumulative charge amount passed out of the cell during discharging in the life of the battery; (¶0039 "Each battery 305 can be described by a set of battery properties The properties can be static (e.g., fixed such as determined at the time of installation or manufacture) and/or variable (e.g., change during operation of the battery, change over time as the battery ages, change depending on the number of battery operation cycles, etc.). Exemplary battery properties include: energy (e.g., energy delivered since last charge or discharge, total energy delivered for a given period of time, etc.)", wherein the period of time is the life time of the battery)
the cumulative length of time spent charging in the life of the battery; and the cumulative length of time spent discharging in the life of the battery. (¶0039 "Each battery 305 can be described by a set of battery properties. The properties can be static (e.g., fixed such as determined at the time of installation or manufacture) and/or variable (e.g., change during operation of the battery, change over time as the battery ages, change depending on the number of battery operation cycles, etc.)
Exemplary battery properties include: energy (e.g., energy delivered since last charge or discharge, total energy delivered for a given period of time, etc.), time (e.g., time since last charge or discharge, age, remaining lifetime, etc.)", wherein the time since the prior charge/discharge correlates to the time discharging/charging the battery respectively)
The battery properties described by Srinivasan measure the cumulative time the battery is charging/discharging and the cumulative amount of charge which is provided to and from the battery itself. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Joshi to measure the cumulative charge amount passed out of the cell during charging or discharging in the life of the battery and the cumulative length of time spent charging or discharging in the life of the battery as taught by Srinivasan. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more efficiently control fast-charging to minimize degradation and improve battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 9, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 1. Joshi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first threshold is set such that the usage metric for the battery will be: below the threshold for a beginning portion of its lifetime, wherein the beginning portion is less than 25% or less than 10% of its estimated or designed lifetime; and/or above the first threshold for a majority or more than 50% or 75% or 80% or 90% of its estimated or designed lifetime.
Srinivasan teaches that it is known that battery properties can be variable and change over time, including energy delivered in a period of time, time since last charge/discharge, remaining lifetime, etc.. as detailed in ¶0039. Battery properties are computed and stored on computing system 100, containing a memory executing the method depicted in FIG 2 which updates the battery model based on the current battery state including if the battery is above or below a threshold with respect to a usage metric.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to sum the total amount of time the battery spends below or above a threshold before changing charging profiles as taught by Srinivasan, since such a modification would give more accurate usage metrics for updating the state of health of the battery to improve the charging profile for more efficiently control fast-charging to minimize degradation and improve battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 12, Joshi teaches the method according to claim 10. Joshi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first and second thresholds are set such that the usage metric for the battery will be: between the first and second thresholds for a majority or more than 50% or 80% of its estimated or designed lifetime; and/or above the second threshold for an end portion of its lifetime, wherein the end portion is less than 25% or less than 10% of its estimated or designed lifetime.
Srinivasan teaches that it is known that battery properties can be variable and change over time, including energy delivered in a period of time, time since last charge/discharge, remaining lifetime, etc.. as detailed in ¶0039. Battery properties are computed and stored on computing system 100, containing a memory executing the method depicted in FIG 2 which updates the battery model based on the current battery state including if the battery is above or below a threshold with respect to a usage metric.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to sum the total amount of time the battery spends below or above a threshold before changing charging profiles as taught by Srinivasan, since such a modification would give more accurate usage metrics for updating the state of health of the battery to improve the charging profile for more efficiently control fast-charging to minimize degradation and improve battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 20, Joshi teaches the charging apparatus of claim 18. Joshi teaches a charging system comprising a portable electronic device (¶0064 "electronic device 100 may include a battery 110, an interface 120, and a battery management system 130")
Joshi does not teach a server communicatively connected to the portable electronic device, the portable electronic device and the server in combination comprising a charging apparatus.
Srinivasan teaches a server communicatively connected to the portable electronic device, the portable electronic device and the server in combination comprising a charging apparatus. (¶0042 "remote computing system 110 (e.g., a server, cloud computing system, a computing system of an operations center, etc.)")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate a server communicatively connected to a portable electronic device as taught by Srinivasan into the charging system as taught by Joshi. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to enhance the charge profiles by increasing the dataset across multiple electronic devices to more efficiently control fast-charging to minimize degradation and improve battery lifespan.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Lee et al (US 20240113544 A1) discloses an electronic device which uses battery use data to configure a first and a second charging pattern.
Fujita et al (US 20180076633 A1) discloses a charge control apparatus which determines a charge pattern based on the inner state of a battery to be charged and it’s historical use.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859