The claims received 3/4/2026 are entered. Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“separating component” includes the generic/nonce term “component” coupled with the function of “separating”. A return to the specification provides for a membrane. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
“movement mechanism” includes the generic/nonce term “mechanism” coupled with the function of “increase a pressure of the purge gas”. A return to the specification provides a compressor. Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujak et al (US 2013/0283832) in view of Heiden et al (US 6,564,564).
Regarding claim 1, Kujak discloses a refrigeration system comprising:
a vapor compression loop (10);
a purge system (20) in communication with the vapor compression loop, the purge system comprising at least one separator (shown in figure 3) for separating contaminants from a purge gas provided from the vapor compression loop to the separator, wherein the at least one separator includes an elongated separating component (68) having a first end, a second, opposite end, and including a longitudinal axis extending between the first end and the second end and arranged radially inward from an outer periphery of the separating component ([0051] and as shown in figure 3 the separating component 68 is radially inward of the separating component in order to create volume 74), the separating component being arranged such that the longitudinal axis is in a vertical orientation.
Kujak discloses a compressor (42) but lacks that it is upstream of the separator. Heiden discloses a refrigeration system (13) including a purge system (10) including a compressor (52) arranged upstream from a separator (60) relative to a flow of the purge gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kujak with the upstream compressor as taught by Heiden in order to provide a motivating force for removal of non-condensable gases.
Regarding claim 2, Kujak further discloses a manifold (20a and 20b), an end of the at least one separator being fluidly connected to the manifold and extending at an angle to the manifold.
Regarding claim 3, Kujak discloses the at least one separator further comprises: a housing (32) having a hollow interio
Regarding claim 6, Kujak and Heiden disclose the compressor (52 provided by Heiden upstream of the separator) operable to increase a pressure of the purge gas, wherein the pressure of the purge gas at an outlet of the compressor moves the contaminants through the separator.
Regarding claim 8, Kujak discloses the separator has a refrigerant outlet, the refrigeration system further comprising a valve (38) arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with the refrigerant outlet.
Regarding claim 15, Kujak discloses a method of operating a purge system comprising:
circulating a refrigerant through a vapor compression loop (10);
receiving a purge gas from the vapor compression loop at the purge system (20), the purge gas including the refrigerant and contaminants and flowing in a first direction; and separating the contaminants from the purge gas within a separator (32), the separator having a separating component (68) defining an internal flow path extending in a second direction arranged at an angle relative to the first direction, wherein the separating component has a first end, a second end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first end and the second end (longitudinal axis of figures 3 and 4 and is generally in the vertical direction) and arranged radially inward from an outer periphery of the separating component (radial separation shown in figures 3 and 4 provides for space 74), the longitudinal axis having a vertical orientation, and separating the contaminants from the purge gas further comprises separating the purge gas into a liquid and a vapor within the separator (liquid line 84 separates liquid and gas components).
Kujak discloses a compressor (42) but lacks that it is upstream of the separator. Heiden discloses a refrigeration system (13) including a purge system (10) including a compressor (52) arranged upstream from a separator (60) relative to a flow of the purge gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kujak with the upstream compressor as taught by Heiden in order to provide a motivating force for removal of non-condensable gases.
Regarding claim 16, Kujak discloses pressurizing at least a portion of the refrigerant within the purge gas upstream from the separator (refrigerant system is pressurized by compressor 18 upstream of the condenser 12 to which the separator is attached).
Regarding claim 17, Kujak discloses pressurizing at least the portion of the refrigerant within the purge gas occurs as the purge gas moves through a conduit coupling a movement mechanism to the separator (refrigerant system is pressurized by compressor 18 upstream of the condenser 12 to which the separator is attached).
Regarding claim 18, Kujak discloses pressurizing the purge gas via a movement mechanism to form a pressurized purge gas (refrigerant system is pressurized by compressor 18 upstream of the condenser 12 to which the separator is attached).
Regarding claim 19, Kujak discloses returning the refrigerant of the purge gas to the vapor compression loop (via 62 and 20b).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujak et al (US 2013/0283832), in view of Heiden et al (US 6,564,564), and in view of Oka et al (US 2024/0125527) or Stark et al (US 9,987,568).
Regarding claim 4, Kujak discloses the refrigeration system of claim 3, wherein the purge gas further comprises a refrigerant and the separating component includes a separator tube having at least one membrane including a porous surface (68).
Kujak lacks that the contaminants, but not the refrigerant passes through the membrane. As explained at [0056] the “environmentally-suitable chiller refrigerant” also diffuses through the cores 68. Oka discloses an air purging device for a refrigerant circuit which allows contaminants but not refrigerant to pass through the membrane (as shown in at least figures 2 and 3, air, which is the contaminant, is able passes through the membrane but the refrigerant gas is not able to pass). Stark discloses an air purging device for a refrigerant circuit which allows contaminants but not refrigerant to pass through the membrane (2:32-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kujak with the membrane of Oka or Stark in order to prevent, or at least reduce, refrigerant from exiting the system during purge. Such a modification provides the advantage of using the purging arrangement in refrigerant systems having less environmentally suitable refrigerants which may not be purgeable to the environment.
Regarding claim 5, Kujak discloses a first end of the separator tube is sealed (with plate 72) and a second, opposite end of the separator tube, is open (plurality of openings including at least 76/62).
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujak et al (US 2013/0283832) in view of Oka et al (US 2024/0125527) or Stark et al (US 9,987,568).
Regarding claim 9, Kujak discloses a separator system for removing contamination from a fluid of a heat pump (10), the separator comprising:
a manifold (20a and 20b) having an inlet and an outlet defining a first flow path;
at least one separator (20) fluidly connected to the manifold, the at least one separator including a cylindrical separating component (32) having a hollow interior arranged at a center thereof, wherein the hollow interior of the separating component defines a second flow path (shown in figure 4) extending at an angle (extension is at some angle) to the first flow path, between a first end of the separating component and a fluid outlet (connected to 38) arranged at an opposite, second end of the separating component, contaminants, can flow through the separating component to the second flow path ([0045]);
wherein the second flow path has a vertical orientation (figures 3 and 4 show vertical orientation) and the first end of the separating component is vertically offset from the first flow path such that only a portion of the purge gas provided to the inlet of the manifold contacts a surface of the separating component (as shown in figure 1 the separating component within 20 is vertically offset from the flow path within 12).
Kujak lacks that the contaminants, but not the refrigerant passes through the membrane. As explained at [0056] the “environmentally-suitable chiller refrigerant” also diffuses through the cores 68. Oka discloses an air purging device for a refrigerant circuit which allows contaminants but not refrigerant to pass through the membrane (as shown in at least figures 2 and 3, air, which is the contaminant, is able passes through the membrane but the refrigerant gas is not able to pass). Stark discloses an air purging device for a refrigerant circuit which allows contaminants but not refrigerant to pass through the membrane (2:32-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Kujak with the membrane of Oka or Stark in order to prevent, or at least reduce, refrigerant from exiting the system during purge. Such a modification provides the advantage of using the purging arrangement in refrigerant systems having less environmentally suitable refrigerants which may not be purgeable to the environment.
Regarding claim 10, Kujak discloses the at least one separator further comprises: a housing (32) having a hollow interior, a first end, and a second end, the first end of the housing is fluidly coupled to the manifold (20a and 20b) and the fluid outlet being formed at the second end of the housing (connected to solenoid 38); and the at least one separating component (68) being mounted within the hollow interior, wherein the at least one separating component is fluidly coupled to the fluid outlet.
Regarding claim 11, Kujak discloses the first end of the separating component is sealed (with sealing gasket 54) and the second opposite end of the separating component is open (open due to opening of 38).
Regarding claims 12-14, Kujak as modified by Oka or Stark discloses the separating component includes:
at least one membrane including a porous surface through which gas, but not refrigerant passes (2:50-53 of Stark);
a separator tube (tube shape provided by Kujak and Oka); and
a sieving material (the materials of Oka and Stark act as sieves and thus their material is a sieve material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or rendered moot by the new grounds of rejection.
The examiner agrees that Stark lacks the compressor arranged upstream of the separator. Heiden has been provided above to teach this feature. US5664424 and US5062273 have been added to the record, both references teach providing a purge compressor upstream of a separator for a refrigeration system.
Applicant argues at page 9, in regard to claim 9, that the membrane of Kujak is not arranged to separate refrigerant vapor. However this is the feature for which Oka and/or Stark are relied upon.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Furthermore, per MPEP 2141.03, a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, thus would be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oka et al (US 2024/0125527) air purge device with manifold and parallel separators.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799