DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/19/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-9, 11-20, and 22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 12/19/2025 have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Jakka et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0279852), referred to as Jakka herein [previously cited].
Golomb (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0192620), referred to as Golomb herein [previously cited].
Capone et al. (US Patent Number 10,311,521), referred to as Capone herein [previously cited].
Home Inventory Product Manual Document version 1.0 retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20200513121127/https://theblueplum.com/mac/homeinventory/homeinventory_manual.pdf, retrieved 8/15/2025, referred to as Home Inventory herein [previously cited].
Milne et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0238497), referred to as Milne herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakka in view of Golomb in further view of Capone in further view of Home Inventory in further view of Milne.
Regarding claim 1, Jakka discloses a device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Jakka, ¶0006, ¶0347-¶0348 – processors executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
process, using at least one image analysis technique, image data to determine identification information for an object associated with the user (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090 – assessing item cost based on AI recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc.);
process the estimated exchange information to determine estimated assessment information for the object to determine whether the estimated assessment information
However, Jakka appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Golomb discloses managing assets, including estimating trade values (Golomb, Abstract with ¶0024), including
determine whether the estimated assessment information is within a threshold degree of similarity to a particular assessment amount categorization group (Golomb, ¶0047 – value estimation is based on similar items determined according to a threshold number of shared attributes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object similarity determination and price estimation of Jakka to include threshold degree of similarity based on the teachings of Golomb. The motivation for doing so would have been improve value estimation accuracy and confidence.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Capone discloses maintaining an inventory of items for insurance (Capone, Abstract) and calculating item replacement value (Capone, 19:7-46), including,
generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company based on the estimated assessment information (Capone, 5:19-62 and 12:14-36 – the system automatically generates and submits an insurance claim when a loss occurs. Item coverage under the insurance policy is identified and underinsurance situations are used to suggest policies to the user to cover items. See also 18:23-44. See also 19:61-20:26 – insurance company).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the value estimation of Jakka to include automatically generating and submitting an insurance claim based on the teachings of Capone. The motivation for doing so would have been improve the insurance claims process, decrease frustration for the user, and improve coverage of the user’s items (Capone, 1:13-38 and 20:64-67).
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user. However, in the same field of endeavor, Home Inventory discloses a property inventory catalog for purposes of assessing insurance coverage and filing insurance claims (Home Inventory Page 10), including
obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user (Home Inventory, Pages 24, 43, 50-51 - receipts and other purchase information for item purchases are available to the user to browse and sort within item inventory displays. The receipts are documented in the inventory listing for the item. Page 13 - item value can be based on purchase price. Pages 16-17 – user credentials required to access the inventory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory of Jakka to include requiring credentials and accessing purchase item information based on the teachings of Home Inventory. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in organizing and assessing item value and corresponding documentation while providing for access control and security for private financial information.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose communicate, using the at least one authentication credential, with a data structure to access. However, in the same field of endeavor, Milne discloses an interface including purchased inventory and exchange history (Milne, Fig. 14 with ¶0078, , ¶0095, and ¶0127), including
communicate, using the at least one authentication credential, with a data structure to access at least one exchange log of the user (Milne, Fig. 2B with ¶0078-¶0079, ¶0116 – database/data structure storing identification records of users including user credentials. Credentials are provided by the user at login, and compared against database records to uniquely identify and authenticate the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory authentication of Jakka as modified to include comparing credentials against a server database structure based on the teachings of Milne. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve data and physical security as well as manageability by using efficient and centralized data storage systems (Milne, ¶0040).
Regarding claim 2, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the estimated exchange information for the object indicates an estimated time of exchange associated with the object (Jakka, ¶0063, ¶0191 – date of purchase. ¶0208, ¶0217, ¶0229, ¶0232 – object age. ¶0163, ¶0232 – sales or offers for sale of similar objects in the marketplace).
Regarding claim 3, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the estimated exchange information for the object indicates an estimated exchange amount associated with the object (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 4, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: obtain image data for the object from a user device; and wherein the one or more processors to determine the estimated exchange information for the object are to: determine the estimated exchange information for the object based on the image data (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 5, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors, when determining the estimated exchange information for the object, are to: identify an exchange event that is associated with the object; determine exchange event information associated with the exchange event; and determine, based on the exchange event information, the estimated exchange information for the object (Jakka, ¶0063, ¶0191 – date of purchase. ¶0208, ¶0217, ¶0229, ¶0232 – object age. ¶0231 – damage event. ¶0163, ¶0232 – sales or offers for sale of similar objects in the marketplace. ¶0295 – value estimate events for similar items).
Regarding claim 6, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: process, using an image analysis technique, image data that depicts a subject of the object to determine identification information for the object; and wherein the one or more processors to determine the estimated exchange information for the object are to: determine the estimated exchange information for the object based on the identification information (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090, ¶0104, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, type, category, location, etc. Location, for example, can be used as object context. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content. See also ¶0123 – purpose of the object (furniture, appliance), or relationship with other objects (dish in a set of dishes), or importance (single copy, heirloom)).
Regarding claim 7, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors, are further configured to: generate, based on the estimated assessment information, a recommendation for display via a graphical user interface. (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content. Fig. 9-12 with ¶0189, ¶0191-¶0195 – interface including objects and cost shown as well as recommended services. See also ¶0225).
Regarding claim 8, Jakka discloses a method, comprising: processing, by a device and using at least one image analysis technique, image data to determine identification information an the object associated with a user (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090 – assessing item cost based on AI recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. ¶0006, ¶0347-¶0348 – processors executing instructions stored in hardware memory);
selling price of similar objects. Fig. 37 with ¶0300-¶0301, ¶0306 – client communication with server systems and database. ¶0331 – cost information in the database);
determining, by the device and based on the estimated exchange information, estimated assessment information for the object to determine whether the estimated assessment information is
However, Jakka appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Golomb discloses managing assets, including estimating trade values (Golomb, Abstract with ¶0024), including
determine whether the estimated assessment information is within a threshold degree of similarity to a particular assessment amount categorization group (Golomb, ¶0047 – value estimation is based on similar items determined according to a threshold number of shared attributes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object similarity determination and price estimation of Jakka to include threshold degree of similarity based on the teachings of Golomb. The motivation for doing so would have been improve value estimation accuracy and confidence.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Capone discloses maintaining an inventory of items for insurance (Capone, Abstract) and calculating item replacement value (Capone, 19:7-46), including
generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company based on the estimated assessment information (Capone, 5:19-62 and 12:14-36 – the system automatically generates and submits an insurance claim when a loss occurs. Item coverage under the insurance policy is identified and underinsurance situations are used to suggest policies to the user to cover items. See also 18:23-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the value estimation of Jakka to include automatically generating and submitting an insurance claim based on the teachings of Capone. The motivation for doing so would have been improve the insurance claims process, decrease frustration for the user, and improve coverage of the user’s items (Capone, 1:13-38 and 20:64-67).
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user. However, in the same field of endeavor, Home Inventory discloses a property inventory catalog for purposes of assessing insurance coverage and filing insurance claims (Home Inventory Page 10), including
obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user (Home Inventory, Pages 24, 43, 50-51 - receipts and other purchase information for item purchases are available to the user to browse and sort within item inventory displays. The receipts are documented in the inventory listing for the item. Page 13 - item value can be based on purchase price. Pages 16-17 – user credentials required to access the inventory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory of Jakka to include requiring credentials and accessing purchase item information based on the teachings of Home Inventory. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in organizing and assessing item value and corresponding documentation while providing for access control and security for private financial information.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose communicate, using the at least one authentication credential, with a data structure to access. However, in the same field of endeavor, Milne discloses an interface including purchased inventory and exchange history (Milne, Fig. 14 with ¶0078, , ¶0095, and ¶0127), including
obtaining, by the device, at least one authentication credential; communicating, by the device and using the at least one authentication credential, with a database to access at least one exchange log of the user (Milne, Fig. 2B with ¶0078-¶0079, ¶0116 – database/data structure storing identification records of users including user credentials. Credentials are provided by the user at login, and compared against database records to uniquely identify and authenticate the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory authentication of Jakka as modified to include comparing credentials against a server database structure based on the teachings of Milne. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve data and physical security as well as manageability by using efficient and centralized data storage systems (Milne, ¶0040).
Regarding claim 9, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein determining the estimated exchange information for the object comprises: determining the estimated exchange information based on image data (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 11, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the estimated exchange information indicates an estimated exchange amount associated with the object and an estimated time of exchange associated with the object (Jakka, ¶0063, ¶0191 – date of purchase. ¶0208, ¶0217, ¶0229, ¶0232 – object age. ¶0163, ¶0232 – sales or offers for sale of similar objects in the marketplace).
Regarding claim 12, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the estimated exchange information is based on one or more of: a product name of the object, or a product model of the object (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 13, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses processing, using an image analysis technique, image data that depicts a subject of the object to determine identification information for the object; and wherein determining the estimated exchange information for the object comprises: determining the estimated exchange information for the object based on the identification information (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090, ¶0104, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, type, category, location, etc. Location, for example, can be used as object context. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content. See also ¶0123 – purpose of the object (furniture, appliance), or relationship with other objects (dish in a set of dishes), or importance (single copy, heirloom)).
Regarding claim 14, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses generating, based on the estimated assessment information for the object, a recommendation for display via a graphical user interface (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content. Fig. 9-12 with ¶0189, ¶0191-¶0195 – interface including objects and cost shown as well as recommended services. See also ¶0225).
Regarding claim 15, Jakka discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Jakka, ¶0006, ¶0347-¶0348 – processors executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
process, using at least one image analysis technique, image data to determine identification information for an object, associated with a user, in the image data (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, Fig. 2 with ¶0090 – assessing item cost based on AI recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc.);
determine estimated assessment information for the object based on using a machine learning model to determine whether the estimated assessment information is
However, Jakka appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Golomb discloses managing assets, including estimating trade values (Golomb, Abstract with ¶0024), including
determine whether the estimated assessment information is within a threshold degree of similarity to a particular assessment amount categorization group (Golomb, ¶0047 – value estimation is based on similar items determined according to a threshold number of shared attributes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object similarity determination and price estimation of Jakka to include threshold degree of similarity based on the teachings of Golomb. The motivation for doing so would have been improve value estimation accuracy and confidence.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Capone discloses maintaining an inventory of items for insurance (Capone, Abstract) and calculating item replacement value (Capone, 19:7-46), including
generate and submit an insurance claim document to an insurance company based on the estimated assessment information (Capone, 5:19-62 and 12:14-36 – the system automatically generates and submits an insurance claim when a loss occurs. Item coverage under the insurance policy is identified and underinsurance situations are used to suggest policies to the user to cover items. See also 18:23-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the value estimation of Jakka to include automatically generating and submitting an insurance claim based on the teachings of Capone. The motivation for doing so would have been improve the insurance claims process, decrease frustration for the user, and improve coverage of the user’s items (Capone, 1:13-38 and 20:64-67).
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user. However, in the same field of endeavor, Home Inventory discloses a property inventory catalog for purposes of assessing insurance coverage and filing insurance claims (Home Inventory Page 10), including
obtain at least one authentication credential to access at least one exchange log of the user (Home Inventory, Pages 24, 43, 50-51 - receipts and other purchase information for item purchases are available to the user to browse and sort within item inventory displays. The receipts are documented in the inventory listing for the item. Page 13 - item value can be based on purchase price. Pages 16-17 – user credentials required to access the inventory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory of Jakka to include requiring credentials and accessing purchase item information based on the teachings of Home Inventory. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in organizing and assessing item value and corresponding documentation while providing for access control and security for private financial information.
However, Jakka as modified appears not to expressly disclose communicate, using the at least one authentication credential, with a data structure to access. However, in the same field of endeavor, Milne discloses an interface including purchased inventory and exchange history (Milne, Fig. 14 with ¶0078, , ¶0095, and ¶0127), including
obtain at least one authentication credential; communicate, using the at least one authentication credential, with an electronic file to access at least one exchange log of the user (Milne, Fig. 2B with ¶0078-¶0079, ¶0116 – database/data structure storing identification records of users including user credentials. Credentials are provided by the user at login, and compared against database records to uniquely identify and authenticate the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the inventory authentication of Jakka as modified to include comparing credentials against a server database structure based on the teachings of Milne. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve data and physical security as well as manageability by using efficient and centralized data storage systems (Milne, ¶0040).
Regarding claim 16, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the estimated exchange information is based on one or more of: a product name of the object, or a product model of the object (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 17, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: obtain exchange data related to an exchange log; and determine, based on the exchange data, the estimated exchange information for the object (Jakka, ¶0063, ¶0191 – date of purchase. ¶0232 – sales or offers for sale of similar objects in the marketplace. ¶0295 – value estimate events for similar items).
Regarding claim 18, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: generate, based on the estimated assessment information, a recommendation for display via a graphical user interface (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content. Fig. 9-12 with ¶0189, ¶0191-¶0195 – interface including objects and cost shown as well as recommended services. See also ¶0225).
Regarding claim 19, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to: obtain image data for the object from a user device; and wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the one or more processors to determine the estimated exchange information for the object, cause the one or more processors to: determine the estimated exchange information for the object based on the image data (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 20, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 19 above, and further discloses wherein identification information associated with the image data for the object indicates at least one of: an identifier of the object, a classification of the object, a product name associated with the object, a product model associated the object, or at least one imaging location associated with the object (Jakka, ¶0064-¶0066, ¶0132-¶0133, ¶0137, ¶0172 – assessing item cost based on machine learning recognition of objects within the image based in part on identified features of the object, including size, weight, brand, location, etc. ¶0104 – context, class. Figs. 15 and 34 E3404 E3405 with ¶0211, ¶0219, ¶0287-¶0289 – estimating fair market value for content).
Regarding claim 22, Jakka as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: identify an insurance policy that covers the object (Jakka, ¶0200 – generating an insurance quote, determining covered/not covered objects in response to a claim. ¶0212 – underwriting analysis is presented for claim processing. Capone, 5:19-62 and 12:14-36 – the system automatically generates and submits an insurance claim when a loss occurs. Item coverage under the insurance policy is identified and underinsurance situations are used to suggest policies to the user to cover items. See also 18:23-44).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174