DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 4/6/26 have been received. Claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 12, and 17 have been amended. Claims 5, 13 and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-23 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17-19, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010).
Regarding claim 1, Gray discloses an apparatus(battery header 30, Figs. 1-7, [0025]), comprising: a plate (frame 34 with wall portion 43, Fig. 3) to couple with a non-conductive header (body 32, Fig. 3, [0028]) of a battery pack (battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024]); and the plate to form a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037]) but does not explicitly disclose a plate including a protrusion extending from the plate; the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate.
Smith teaches multi-contact electrical connector assembly (title). Smith teaches a plate (cap 90, Fig. 3) including a protrusion extending from the plate(snaps 91, Fig. 3); the header (insulative housing 30, Fig. 3) including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate (protrusions 43, Fig. 3, p. 5, lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Gray with a plate including a protrusion extending from the plate; the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate as taught by Smith as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(Gray, fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path(Gray, [0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 3, modified Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (Gray, 28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (Gray, 52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 6, modified Gray discloses comprising: the header to couple with a front wall of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Gray discloses a battery pack([0024], Fig. 1), comprising: an apparatus(battery header 30, Figs. 1-7, [0025]), comprising: a plate (frame 34 with wall portion 43, Fig. 3) to couple with a non-conductive header (body 32, Fig. 3, [0028]) of a battery pack (battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024])); and the plate to form a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037])) but does not explicitly disclose a plate including a protrusion extending from the plate; the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate.
Smith teaches multi-contact electrical connector assembly (title). Smith teaches a plate (cap 90, Fig. 3) including a protrusion extending from the plate(snaps 91, Fig. 3); the header (insulative housing 30, Fig. 3) including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate (protrusions 43, Fig. 3, p. 5, lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Gray with a plate including a protrusion extending from the plate; the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate as taught by Smith as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 10, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(Gray, fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path(Gray, [0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 11, modified Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (Gray, 28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (Gray, 52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 14, modified Gray discloses comprising: the header to couple with a front wall of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Gray discloses a method ([0009]) comprising: coupling a plate(frame 34 with wall portion 43, Figs. 3 and 4) with a non-conductive header(body 32, Figs. 3 and 4, [0028]) of a battery pack(battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024]); and forming, by the plate, a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037])). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Continuing with claim 17, Gray does not explicitly disclose the plate including a protrusion extending from the plate and the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate.
Smith teaches multi-contact electrical connector assembly (title). Smith teaches a plate (cap 90, Fig. 3) including a protrusion extending from the plate(snaps 91, Fig. 3); the header (insulative housing 30, Fig. 3) including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate (protrusions 43, Fig. 3, p. 5, lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Gray with a plate including a protrusion extending from the plate; the header including a spring feature biased to engage with the protrusion of the plate as taught by Smith as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 18, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(Gray, fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path(Gray, [0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 19, modified Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (Gray, 28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (Gray, 52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(Gray, battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 22, modified Gray discloses comprising: the battery pack coupled with a vehicle(Gray, Fig. 1, [0024]); and at least a portion of the plate to directly contact a chassis of the vehicle to form a conductive path with the chassis(Gray [0024]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate including a piercing element integrally formed with the plate(Gray, seal 50, Figs. 3 & 6); and the piercing element to cut into a coating of the battery pack(Gray, Fig 6).
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiang et al. (US 6,554,642).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising an aperture configured to receive the header (Gray, openings 44, Figs. 3 and 4), but does not explicitly disclose the protrusion of the plate disposed adjacent to the aperture.
Xiang teaches an electrical connector(title). Xiang teaches the plate (base plate 56, Fig. 1) comprising an aperture (opening 32, Fig. 1) configured to receive the header(housing 1, Fig. 1), the protrusion of the plate (tabs 33, Fig. 1) disposed adjacent to the aperture(Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of modified Gray with the protrusion of the plate disposed adjacent to the aperture as taught by Xiang as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
7. Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, modified Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of modified Gray with comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of modified Gray with comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
8. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Xiang et al. (US 6,554,642).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising an aperture configured to receive the header (Gray, openings 44, Figs. 3 and 4), but does not explicitly disclose the protrusion of the plate disposed adjacent to the aperture.
Xiang teaches an electrical connector(title). Xiang teaches the plate (base plate 56, Fig. 1) comprising an aperture (opening 32, Fig. 1) configured to receive the header(housing 1, Fig. 1), the protrusion of the plate (tabs 33, Fig. 1) disposed adjacent to the aperture(Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of modified Gray with the protrusion of the plate disposed adjacent to the aperture as taught by Xiang as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
9. Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010) as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 15, modified Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery pack of modified Gray with comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 16, modified Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery pack of modified Gray with comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
10. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) in view of Smith (EP0420010) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Volpone et al. (US 2021/0143574).
Regarding claim 21, modified Gray discloses comprising: the header including an aperture, the aperture to receive a fastener (Gray, see body 32 with fasteners 37 in Figs. 2 & 3); the fastener to cut into a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Gray, Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose the aperture including a conductive material extending within a portion of the aperture to provide support for the aperture; the conductive material to couple the fastener with the conductive path between the header and the battery pack.
Volpone teaches electrical connector header with mounting flange (title). Volpone teaches electrical connectors with mounting flanges typically use metal bushings 14, e.g. aluminum or brass bushings, that surround the mounting holes 16 as compression limiters to prevent fasteners from damaging the mounting flange 12([0003], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of modified Gray with the aperture including a conductive material extending within a portion of the aperture to provide support for the aperture as taught by Volpone as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 21, modified Gray discloses the conductive material to couple the fastener with the conductive path between the header and the battery pack (Gray [0037]-[0038]).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724