DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342).
Regarding claim 1, Gray discloses an apparatus(battery header 30, Figs. 1-7, [0025]), comprising: a plate (frame 34 with wall portion 43, Fig. 3) to couple with a non-conductive header (body 32, Fig. 3, [0028]) of a battery pack (battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024]); and the plate to form a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path([0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 3, Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 4, Gray discloses comprising: the header comprising a feature having at least one conductive material(fastener 52, Figs. 2, 4, and 5, [0036]); and the plate comprising an aperture configured to receive the header (openings 44, Figs. 3 and 4) and a protrusion (connection port 42, Fig. 3) to at least partially contact the feature to facilitate forming the conductive path(Fig. 2, [0031], [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Gray discloses comprising: the header comprising a feature having at least one conductive material(fastener 52, Figs. 2, 4, and 5, [0036]); and the plate configured to at least partially contact the feature to facilitate forming the conductive path([0031], [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Gray discloses comprising: the header to couple with a front wall of the battery pack(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Gray discloses a battery pack([0024], Fig. 1), comprising: an apparatus(battery header 30, Figs. 1-7, [0025]), comprising: a plate (frame 34 with wall portion 43, Fig. 3) to couple with a non-conductive header (body 32, Fig. 3, [0028]) of a battery pack (battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024])); and the plate to form a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037])).
Regarding claim 10, Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path([0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 11, Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 12, Gray discloses comprising: the header comprising a feature having at least one conductive material(fastener 52, Figs. 2, 4, and 5, [0036]); and the plate comprising an aperture configured to receive the header (openings 44, Figs. 3 and 4) and a protrusion (connection port 42, Fig. 3) to at least partially contact the feature to facilitate forming the conductive path(Fig. 2, [0031], [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Gray discloses comprising: the header comprising a feature having at least one conductive material(fastener 52, Figs. 2, 4, and 5, [0036]); and the plate configured to at least partially contact the feature to facilitate forming the conductive path([0031], [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Gray discloses comprising: the header to couple with a front wall of the battery pack(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Gray discloses a method ([0009]) comprising: coupling a plate(frame 34 with wall portion 43, Figs. 3 and 4) with a non-conductive header(body 32, Figs. 3 and 4, [0028]) of a battery pack(battery assembly 24 includes a battery tub 26 and a battery pack within the battery tub 26, Fig. 1, [0024]); and forming, by the plate, a conductive path between the header and the battery pack([0008], [0010], [0029], [0036]-[0037])). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 18, Gray discloses comprising: the plate comprising a piercing element that at least partially protrudes from the plate(fasteners 37, Fig. 5); and the piercing element to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack (battery tub 26, Fig. 5) to form the conductive path([0036]-[0037]). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 19, Gray discloses comprising: the conductive path comprising a wire (28, Fig. 6) configured to couple with a fastener (52, Fig. 6) coupled with the battery pack(battery tub 26, Fig. 6); and the fastener to at least partially extend beyond a non-conductive coating of the battery pack(Fig. 6). The examiner notes battery packs especially those used in electric vehicles are treated with non-conductive coatings and materials to ensure electrical isolation and prevent short circuits.
Regarding claim 20, Gray discloses comprising: the header comprising a feature having at least one conductive material(fastener 52, Figs. 2, 4, and 5, [0036]); and the plate configured to at least partially contact the feature to facilitate forming the conductive path([0031], [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Gray with comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 8, Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Gray with comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
8. Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray et al. (US 2024/0072342) as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 15, Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Gray with comprising: the plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the plate to form the conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 16, Gray does not explicitly disclose comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Gray with comprising: a second plate to couple with a second header of the battery pack; and the second plate to form a conductive path between the second header and the battery pack in order to provide the battery pack with more connections to external devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724