DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2023/0097447 A1) in view of Qin et al. (US 2022/0413342 A1) and Kamada et al. (US 2018/0046031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. teaches a display device comprising:
a backlight assembly with a mini light emitting diode (LED) (see paragraph [0020] where mini-LED is disclosed) that emit blue light (see paragraph [0020] where blue light is disclosed); and
a mold frame (16; figures 4A and 4B) having a yellow phosphor powder (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.) mixed with a material used to manufacture the mold frame (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 is made of a yellow quantum dot material.) and enclosing the backlight assembly (12, [0018] “a backlight light source”),
wherein an inner portion of the mold frame (16; see figure 4A and 4B) is disposed proximate to an inner portion of the backlight assembly (12), such that a portion of the blue light emitted by the mini-LED (12, [0020] “the backlight light source 12 may be a millimeter light-emitting diode (Mini LED)”) strikes the inner portion of the mold frame (16, see Fig. 4B & Fig. 3 where light emitted from 12 may obviously strike or reach 16), and wherein an outer portion of the mold frame (16) is coupled with an inside portion (1112) of a back cover (11) of the display device.
Zhao et al. teaches a mini-LED but does not explicitly teach a plurality of mini LEDs.
Qin et al. (US 2022/0413342 A1) teaches a plurality of mini light emitting diodes (light emitting units 202; paragraph [0051] where mini light emitting diodes are disclosed.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include a plurality of mini LEDs as taught by Qin et al. as an alternative and obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the mold frame is configured to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet.
Kamada et al. teaches a frame (frame 16 and frame portion 161; figure 8; see paragraph [0155] where optical member 15 is supported by the frame portion 161) that is configured to affix a position of an optical film (middle optical member 15 in at least figure 8; paragraph [0160]) between a diffuser (top optical member 15 can be a diffuser; paragraph [0160]) and a quantum dot sheet (phosphor sheet 150; see figure 8 and at least paragraph [0162] where quantum dot phosphors are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhao et al. to configure the frame to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet as taught by Kamada et al. in order to reduce color unevenness and achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0074] of Kamada et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device wherein an entire outer surface of the mold frame (plastic frame 16; figure 4B) is coated with yellow phosphor (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.)
Regarding claim 4, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device wherein the mold frame (plastic frame 16; figure 4B) encloses the backlight assembly (backlight light source 12; figure 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device wherein a white light (see paragraph [0046 and [0047] where white light is disclosed) is reflected through a gap between the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) and the backlight assembly (12).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device wherein the blue light (see paragraph [0047] where the backlight light source is a blue light source) strikes the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) that is proximate to the backlight assembly (12; figure 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao et al. teaches a backlight assembly, comprising:
a light plate (13; figure 4A and 4B); and
a mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) that is proximate to the light plate (13) enclosing the backlight assembly (see figure 4A and 4B), wherein the mold frame includes a yellow phosphor powder material mixed with a material used to manufacture the mold frame (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.), wherein an inner portion of the mold frame (16) is proximate to an inner portion of the backlight assembly (light source 12), such that a portion of blue light emitted by a mini light emitting diode (12; see paragraph [0020] where mini-LED is disclosed) of the backlight assembly strikes the inner portion of the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B), and wherein an outer portion of the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) is coupled with an inside portion of a back cover (11) of a display device associated with the backlight assembly (see figure 4A and 4B).
Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach more than one [mini LED].
Qin et al. teaches a plurality of mini light emitting diodes (light emitting units 202; paragraph [0051] where mini light emitting diodes are disclosed.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include a plurality of mini LEDs as taught by Qin et al. as an alternative and obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the mold frame is configured to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet.
Kamada et al. teaches a frame (frame 16 and frame portion 161; figure 8; see paragraph [0155] where optical member 15 is supported by the frame portion 161) that is configured to affix a position of an optical film (middle optical member 15 in at least figure 8; paragraph [0160]) between a diffuser (top optical member 15 can be a diffuser; paragraph [0160]) and a quantum dot sheet (phosphor sheet 150; see figure 8 and at least paragraph [0162] where quantum dot phosphors are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhao et al. to configure the frame to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet as taught by Kamada et al. in order to reduce color unevenness and achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0074] of Kamada et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao et al. further teaches the backlight assembly wherein a white light (see paragraph [0046 and [0047] where white light is disclosed) is reflected from the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao et al. further teaches the backlight assembly wherein the mold frame (plastic frame 16; figure 4B) encloses the backlight assembly (backlight light source 12; figure 4B).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao et al. modified by Q in et al. teaches the backlight assembly of claim 7, and Zhao et al. teaches a mini LED (12) but does not explicitly teach wherein the backlight assembly includes a plurality of mini-LEDs.
Qin et al. teaches a plurality of mini light emitting diodes (light emitting units 202; paragraph [0051] where mini light emitting diodes are disclosed.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include a plurality of mini LEDs as taught by Qin et al. as an alternative and obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao et al. further teaches the backlight assembly wherein an outer surface area of the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) with yellow phosphor (see paragraph [0047]) is disposed proximate to the backlight assembly (light source 12; figure 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao et al. further teaches the backlight assembly wherein a white light (see paragraph [0046 and [0047] where white light is disclosed) is reflected through a gap between the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) and the backlight assembly (12).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao et al. further teaches the backlight assembly wherein the blue light that struck the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) was leaked from the backlight assembly (light source 12; figure 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao et al. teaches a display device:
a backlight assembly with a micro light emitting diode (LED) that emit blue light see paragraph [0020] where mini-LED is disclosed) that emit blue light (see paragraph [0020] where blue light is disclosed); and
a mold frame with yellow phosphor powder mixed with a material used to the mold frame ( see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.) and enclosing the backlight assembly (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 is made of a yellow quantum dot material.) and enclosing the backlight assembly (light source 12; see figure 4A and 4B),
wherein an inner portion of the mold frame (16; see figure 4A and 4B) is disposed proximate to an inner portion of the backlight assembly (light source 12; see at least figure 4A and 4B), such that the blue light emitted by the micro-LED (12, [0020] “the backlight light source 12 may be a millimeter light-emitting diode (Mini LED)”) strikes the inner portion of the mold frame (16; see figure 4A and 4B) and wherein an outer portion of the mold frame (16; see figure 4A and 4B) is coupled with an inside portion of a back cover (11; see figure 4A and 4B) of the display device.
Zhao et al. teaches a micro-LED but does not explicitly teach a plurality of micro-LEDs.
Qin et al. teaches a plurality of mini light emitting diodes (light emitting units 202; paragraph [0051] where mini light emitting diodes are disclosed.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include a plurality of mini LEDs as taught by Qin et al. as an alternative and obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the mold frame is configured to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet.
Kamada et al. teaches a frame (frame 16 and frame portion 161; figure 8; see paragraph [0155] where optical member 15 is supported by the frame portion 161) that is configured to affix a position of an optical film (middle optical member 15 in at least figure 8; paragraph [0160]) between a diffuser (top optical member 15 can be a diffuser; paragraph [0160]) and a quantum dot sheet (phosphor sheet 150; see figure 8 and at least paragraph [0162] where quantum dot phosphors are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhao et al. to configure the frame to affix a position of an optical film between a diffuser and a quantum dot sheet as taught by Kamada et al. in order to reduce color unevenness and achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0074] of Kamada et al.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device wherein a surface of the mold frame (16) is coated with yellow phosphor (see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.) .
Regarding claim 18, Zhao et al. teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein a white light is reflected from an outer surface area of the mold frame (see paragraph [0046 and [0047] where white light is disclosed) that is coated with yellow phosphor(16; see paragraph [0047] where plastic frame 16 may be polycarbonate material made of yellow quantum dot material. In this way, the entire plastic frame 16 can be yellow.).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao et al. further teaches the display device a white light (see paragraph [0046 and [0047] where white light is disclosed) is reflected through a gap between the mold frame (16; figure 4A and 4B) and the backlight assembly (12).
Claim(s) 2, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2023/0097447 A1) in view of Qin et al. (US 2022/0413342 A1) and Kamada et al. (US 2018/0046031 A1) as applied to claims 1, 7 and 15, respectively, above and further in view of Vampola et al. (US 2015/0048395 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vampola’395.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. and Kamada et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, but Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the yellow phosphor is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor. Vampola’395 teaches a yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor (see paragraph [0026] where YAG phosphor may be used in the wavelength converting material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor as taught by Vampola’395 as an obvious substitution to convert the emitting light to achieve desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 8 Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. and Kamada et al. teaches the display device of claim 7, but Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the yellow phosphor is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor.
Vampola’395 teaches a yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor (see paragraph [0026] where YAG phosphor may be used in the wavelength converting material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor as taught by Vampola’395 as an obvious substitution to convert the emitting light to achieve desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 17, Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. and Kamada et al. teaches the display device of claim 15, but Zhao et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the yellow phosphor is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor.
Vampola’395 teaches a yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor (see paragraph [0026] where YAG phosphor may be used in the wavelength converting material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include yellow phosphor that is a yttrium aluminum garnet phosphor as taught by Vampola’395 as an obvious substitution to convert the emitting light to achieve desired illumination output. Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2023/0097447 A1) in view of Qin et al. (US 2022/0413342 A1) and Kamada et al. (US 2018/0046031 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (US 2013/0329442 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao et al. modified by Qin et al. and Kamada et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, but Zhao et al. does explicitly teach wherein the [yellow phosphor powder] is mixed with an amorphous thermoplastic polymer material.
Kishimoto et al. teaches a yellow phosphor powder (see paragraph [0078] where YAG:Ce fluorescent substance is disclosed) is mixed with an amorphous thermoplastic polymer material (see paragraph [0078] discloses an amorphous material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Zhao et al. to include a yellow phosphor powder mixed with an amorphous thermoplastic polymer material as taught by Kishimoto et al. to rapidly release heat, which is generated when the fluorescent substance is excited from the YAG phosphor power to the outside and to prevent sealing material from being notably deteriorated (see paragraph [0078] of Kishimoto et al).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claims 1, 7 and 15. New reference, Kamada et al. (US 2018/0046031 A1), teaches the limitations of the amended claim independent claims. See rejection above.
Claims 2-6, 8-14 and 16-20 remain rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875