DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Regarding an obviousness type double patenting, applicant amended independent claims and requested to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance (Remarks, page 8).
By comparing the amended independent claims with claims of its parent patent, the examiner believed that the independent claims are broader than a claim of the parent patent. The obviousness type double patenting rejection has been maintained.
Regarding a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103, applicant amended independent claims 1 and 11 by adding a few new limitations. These limitations were presented during an interview (see an interview summary mailed on 12/29/2025). The added limitations are related to sharing context information between applications. The added feature is known in prior art references. For example, a reference submitted by the applicant in an IDS (Busayapongchai, US PG Pub. 2005/0288936, paragraph [30]) disclosed the added claim limitations.
In the Remarks (Remarks, page 9), applicant generally alleged the previously cited references fail to teach the newly added limitations to independent claims 1 and 11. In the following rejection, the examiner combines Busayapongchai (submitted by the applicant in an IDS filed on 09/12/2023) with the previously cited prior art references to reject the amended claims. Applicant’s arguments are considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combined teaching being used in the following rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 or 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,688,402. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant independent claims are broader than a dependent claim of its parent ‘402 patent. In other words, a claim in its parent ‘402 patent anticipates the instant independent claims. Anticipation is “the ultimate or epitome of obviousness” (In re Kalm, 154 USPQ 10 (CCPA 1967), also In re Dailey, 178 USPQ 293 (CCPA 1973) and In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-11, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalns et al. (US PG Pub. 2014/0310001, submitted in an IDS, referred to as Kalns) in view of in view of Busayapongchai et al. (US PG Pub. 2005/0288936, referred to as Busayapongchai), and further in view of Nash (US PG Pub. 2013/0159377, referred to as Nash).
Kalns was cited before for rejecting original claims of its parent patents. Kalns discloses a user could conversate with a virtual personal assistant (VPA). The VPA maintains a dialog context so that the user could continue / resume a previous dialog session in a later time ([0108], Fig. 9). Kalns further discloses the VPA provides response in text or speech format (claimed “a first modality”) and also output images (claimed “a second modality”). Kalns further discloses VPA could deduce higher level or implicit / unstated information about user ([0019], [0060]).
Busayapongchai discloses in a conversational environment a dialog context is stored and shared between different applications (Busayapongchai, [0030], the context may be transferred across applications. For example, if a user who asked for "Chinese in Atlanta", then switched to weather, the system may ask the user if the user in interested in Atlanta weather. Additionally, the chance of recognizing "Atlanta" compared to other cities may be increased; also see [0034-0035])
Nash discloses an automated personal assistant (APA) proactively provides suggestions to a user by considering context information and user’s schedule ([0035], An agent 104 may generate suggestions for delivery to a user 106. An agent 104 may provide information for deliver to a user 106 or to another agent 104 of the user 106. An agent 104 may provide information that may be used by the platform 102 to calculate context variables. An agent 104 may automate tasks for a user 106 without requiring the user 106 to initiate the task). Nash discloses APA proactively provides information such as coupons, ads or offers (Abstract, [0080-0084])
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Kalns discloses a computer-implemented system and method ([0092], Fig. 1, a computer implemented virtual personal assistant, VPA, for conducting spoken dialogs with a user), comprising:
under control of a computing system comprising one or more processors configured with specific computer-executable instructions (Fig. 1 and Fig. 11),
receiving audio data representing at least one utterance ([0018], Fig. 5, a user has a spoken dialog with a VPA);
generating, using natural language understanding ("NLU") processing based at least partly on the audio data, command data that represents the at least one utterance ([0017-0018], conversation in natural language between VPA and a user; Fig. 9);
sending the command data to a first application resulting in first output content being presented in an audio modality during a first period of time in response to receiving the command data ([0058-059], a user performs online shopping by speaks voice requests to a VPA, the VPA presents search results in both text format, voice format and image format, see Fig. 9; Note the outputted text or voice format corresponds to a claimed “a first modality”);
receiving second output content in a second modality different from the first modality, wherein the second output content is associated with the audio output content and a second application, ([0108], the VPA also an image associated with the text / voice search results as shown in Fig. 9, #926; Note, the displayed image is claimed “a second modality”, the claimed “a second application” is interpreted as software programs for displaying images), wherein the second output content comprises content not included in the first output content, and wherein the second output content is received without a request for output content in the second modality (Kalns, [0020-0021], [0108], Fig. 9, VPA presents promotion product and pictures without user’s request); and
causing presentation of the second output content in the second modality during a second period of time beginning subsequent to a beginning of the first period of time (Fig. 9, the image #926 is displayed after displaying text / outputting voice #924, which is claimed “a second period of time beginning subsequent to a beginning of the first period of time”).
Kalns discloses in response to a user’s voice command, outputting text and image responses (Fig. 9). Kalns further discloses the system may also generate / output synthesized speech ([0057]). In addition, Kalns further discloses a dialog context builder extract contexts from user’s input. The context are used when processing user’s requests (Kalns, [0062-0070], processing newly received user input based on the stored context; if a user asks “search movie”, the context intent extractor may search the dialog context for other instances of the “search movie” intents). Although Kalns implicitly discloses sharing / reuse context information, the examiner further cites Busayapongchai to explicitly discloses the newly added: storage of context data associated with the first output content; determine, during a second period of time subsequent to the first period oftime, that a second application is to use the context data; send the context data to the second application.. (Busayapongchai, [0030], [0034-0035]).
Kalns discloses when VPA interacts with a user, the VPA prompts a product with 20% discount. The output (product picture) was not requested by a user. Although Kalns meets the newly added limitations, the examiner further cites Nash, which discloses an automated personal assistant (APA) proactively provides suggestions based on context information and user’s schedule without user’s request (Nash, [0035], [0080-0084]). Nash meets the added limitations “wherein the second output …” in claims 2 and 11.
Kalns, Busayapongchai and Nash are related to a user interacting with a computer. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kalns teaching with Busayapongchai[‘s to share context information between applications. It would also have been obvious to modify Kalns to implement proactive functions so that a virtual assistant provides information without explicitly requesting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the remote computer has a high-resolution display and is easy to read. In addition, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. “A combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR, 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses first output content comprises an audio presentation, and wherein the second output content comprises a visual presentation (Kalns, [0108], VPA outputs speech and images showing products as shown in Fig. 9, #924, #926).
Regarding claim 5, Kalns further discloses the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to manage a multi-turn dialog comprising the at least one utterance, at least a second utterance, and at least one system-generated response (Kalns, Fig. 5, Fig. 9 showing multi-turn dialog between a user and VPA).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to send the command data to the first application based at least partly on a subject of the at least one utterance (Kalns, [0059], Fig. 5, Fig. 9, a user performs online shopping by having a dialog with VPA).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to:
generate, using automatic speech recognition ("ASR") processing and the audio data, utterance data representing the at least one utterance (Kalns, [0041], recognizing user’s speech using ASR),
wherein the command data being generated using NLU processing based at least partly on the audio data comprises the command data being generated using NLU processing and the utterance data (Kalns, [0035], [0039-0041], Fig. 5, the VPA understands user’s voice request in natural language).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to:
store context data, wherein the context data is generated by the first application ([0018], [0020], [0024], Fig. 2, #212);
generate, using second NLU processing based at least partly on second audio data, second command data ([0098], continuation of a dialog session based on context, Fig. 5 and Fig. 9);
determine that a second application is to use the context data ([0036], fig. 2, Fig. 7); and
send the second command data and the context data to the second application ([0018], [0036], [0057], Fig. 9, displaying image of a suggested product).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to:
generate context data during the NLU processing, wherein the context data is based on at least one of: named entity data associated with the at least one utterance, or utterance data representing a plurality of previously processed utterances ([0036], [0084-0085], [0087], Fig. 7, #710, # Fig.9, continue shopping for gift based on context);
store the context data (Fig. 7, #710); and
generate second command data using second NLU processing based at least partly on second audio data and the context data ([0107-0109], Fig. 9, continuing previous dialog for shopping gift based on dialog context and user’s intent).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses further comprising:
an audio input device configured to generate the audio data based on the at least one utterance ([0107-0108], using a microphone to receive user’s speech); and
an audio output device configured to present at least one of the first output content or the second output content ([0057], [0115], Fig. 9, generating synthesized speech and output using a speaker).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses sending the command data to the first application is performed by a dialog manager application, and wherein causing presentation of the second output content in the second modality comprises sending, by the dialog manager application, the second output content to the second application configured to present content in the second modality ([0018-0020], [0050], Fig. 9 and fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses causing presentation of the second output content in the second modality comprises causing presentation of the second output content in the second modality using a different output device than an output device used by the first application to cause presentation of the first output content in the first modality ([0057], output synthesized speech using a speaker, output images on a display screen, which is a different output device that speaker used for outputting TTS speech).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses storing context data associated with the at least one utterance, wherein the context data comprises the second output content ([0036], Fig. 2, #212, #216; Fig. 8, #826).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses:
receiving second audio data representing a second utterance (Fig. 7, Fig. 9 and Fig. 10; continuing dialog based on previous contexts);
determining that the second utterance is part of a conversation including the at least one utterance ([0018], Fig. 7, Fig. 9); and
determining, based at least partly on the context data, to cause presentation of the second output content in the second modality in response to receiving the second audio data ([0107-1008], Fig. 9, continuation previous dialog based on contexts and presenting text and image outputs).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses:
determining to send the command data to the first application based at least partly on a subject of the at least one utterance ([0047-0048], based on topic or subject to output search results).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses:
generating context data during the NLU processing (Fig. 3, #210);
storing the context data (Fig. 3, #212); and
generating second command data using second NLU processing based at least partly on second audio data and the context data ([0036], [0061-0066], Fig. 7, #712, #716).
Regarding claim 21, the combined teaching of Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash further discloses:
the receiving the audio data comprises receiving the audio data over a network connection to a computing device ([0112], Fig. 11, #1130).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalns in view of Busayapongchai and Nash, and further in view of Jacobsen et al. (US PG Pub. 2009/0099836, referred to as Jacobsen).
Regarding claim 22, Kalns discloses a user could interact with a VPA using voice or using text input (Kalns, [0028], Fig. 9, display screen; [0057], output machine generated speech using a speaker). Although Kalns implicitly discloses outputting to a second device. The examiner further cites Jacobsen to show “the second output content to a second output device different from a first output device through which the first output content was presented, wherein the second output content is presented using the second output device (Jacobsen, [0042-0043], if content could not be displayed on a device #100, transmitting the content to a remote computer #with high resolution display #125; See fig. 1, a wearable device #100, a wireless connected computer #125).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kalns teaching with Jacobsen’s teaching to transmit certain contents to a remote computer for displaying after outputting audio. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the remote computer has a high-resolution display and is easy to read. In addition, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. “A combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR, 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIALONG HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659