DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 18/341,238, filed on 6/26/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of second sections independent from and coupled with the body” in claims 7 and 17, line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It appears that all of the drawings show first and second sections integrally molded sharing an adjoining wall and not independent or coupled. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 19, lines 6-7, “…and and the first wall…” should read “and the first wall…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grace et al (US Patent No. 10,720,620).
Regarding claim 1, Grace et al discloses an apparatus, comprising a body (44, Fig. 5-8 & 17) having a plurality of walls dividing the body into a plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45) along a height of the body (H1, H2, Fig. 6); a first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and an opposing second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) defining a section of the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5), a middle portion (at 64, Fig. 6-8 & 17) of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) disposed closer to the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) in a first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) than an end portion of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17); and the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) to move towards each other (60A and 60B will plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24) in the first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) in response to a force (see annotated figure below) applied on the body in a second direction (D2, LE2, Fig. 16; direction of the 1st force/lateral impact, perpendicular to the first direction/height; column 4, lines 53-57 & column 8, lines 27-36).
Regarding claim 2, Grace et al further discloses the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) comprising a first protrusion (notch 64 on 60A protrudes inward, Fig. 6) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) comprising a second protrusion (notch 64 on 60B protrudes inward, Fig. 6); and the first protrusion to contact the second protrusion in response to the force (force from a vehicle impact loading event will cause 60A and 60B to plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24).
Regarding claim 3, Grace et al further discloses the section further comprising a third wall (see annotated figure above) connected to the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17), the third wall to receive a first force (lateral impact) as the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) move toward each other (60A and 60B will plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24) and a second force (load absorption force from the first wall impacting the second wall upon buckling) after a first protrusion (notch 64 on 60A protrudes inward, Fig. 6) of the first wall contacts a second protrusion (notch 64 on 60B protrudes inward, Fig. 6) of the second wall; and the first force (lateral impact from collision) differing from the second force (load absorption force).
Regarding claim 4, Grace et al further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); the body (44, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above); and each of the plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above) having an adjoining wall (see annotated figure above) of the plurality of walls with one of the plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Grace et al further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); the body comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above), each of the plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above) comprising a plurality of parallel walls; a first parallel wall of the plurality of parallel walls joined at an end of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) of the section; and a second parallel wall of the plurality of parallel walls joined at an end of the second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) of the section. (See annotated figure above.)
Regarding claim 6, Grace et al further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); and the body comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above) monolithically formed (the sections are formed with one another via an adjoining wall) with the plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Grace et al further discloses the body (44, Fig. 5-6) comprising an extrusion (column 6, lines 26-32).
Regarding claim 9, Grace et al further discloses the body (44, Fig. 2 & 15-16) comprising a frame rail (48, Fig. 2 & 15-16; column 6, lines 1-15) positioned adjacent (near) a battery (18, Fig. 2, 4 & 15-16; column 6, lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 11, Grace et al discloses a vehicle (10, Fig. 1; column 3, lines 54-67), comprising an apparatus, comprising a body (44, Fig. 5-8 & 17) having a plurality of walls dividing the body into a plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45) along a height of the body (H1, H2, Fig. 6); a first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and an opposing second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) defining a section of the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5), a middle portion (at 64, Fig. 6-8 & 17) of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) disposed closer to the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) in a first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) than an end portion of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17); and the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) to move towards each other (60A and 60B will plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24) in the first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) in response to a force (see annotated figure above) applied on the body in a second direction (D2, LE2, Fig. 16; direction of the 1st force/lateral impact, perpendicular to the first direction/height; column 4, lines 53-57 & column 8, lines 27-36).
Regarding claim 12, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) comprising a first protrusion (notch 64 on 60A protrudes inward, Fig. 6) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) comprising a second protrusion (notch 64 on 60B protrudes inward, Fig. 6); and the first protrusion to contact the second protrusion in response to the force (force from a vehicle impact loading event will cause 60A and 60B to plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24).
Regarding claim 13, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the section further comprising a third wall (see annotated figure above) connected to the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17), the third wall to receive a first force (lateral impact) as the first wall (60A, Fig. 6-8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6-8 & 17) move toward each other (60A and 60B will plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24) and a second force (load absorption force from the first wall impacting the second wall upon buckling) after a first protrusion (notch 64 on 60A protrudes inward, Fig. 6) of the first wall contacts a second protrusion (notch 64 on 60B protrudes inward, Fig. 6) of the second wall; and the first force (lateral impact from collision) differing from the second force (load absorption force).
Regarding claim 14, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); the body (44, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above); and each of the plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above) having an adjoining wall (see annotated figure above) of the plurality of walls with one of the plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 15, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); the body comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above), each of the plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above) comprising a plurality of parallel walls; a first parallel wall of the plurality of parallel walls joined at an end of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) of the section; and a second parallel wall of the plurality of parallel walls joined at an end of the second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) of the section. (See annotated figure above.)
Regarding claim 16, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above); and the body comprising a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above) monolithically formed (the sections are formed with one another via an adjoining wall) with the plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 18, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further discloses the body (44, Fig. 5-6) comprising an extrusion (column 6, lines 26-32).
Regarding claim 19, Grace et al discloses an apparatus, comprising a body (44, Fig. 5-8 & 17) having a plurality of walls dividing the body into a plurality of first sections and a plurality of second sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45; see annotated figure above); a first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) and an opposing second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) defining a section of the plurality of first sections (60, Fig. 5; see annotated figure above), a middle portion (at 64, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) disposed closer to the second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) in a first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) than an end portion of the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17); and the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) to move towards each other (60A and 60B will plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24) in the first direction (height direction H1, H2, Fig. 6) in response to a force (see annotated figure above) applied on the body in a second direction (D2, LE2, Fig. 16; direction of the 1st force/lateral impact, perpendicular to the first direction/height; column 4, lines 53-57 & column 8, lines 27-36).
Regarding claim 20, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 19 above, and further discloses the first wall (60A, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) comprising a first protrusion (notch 64 on 60A protrudes inward, Fig. 6) and the second wall (60B, Fig. 6, 8 & 17) comprising a second protrusion (notch 64 on 60B protrudes inward, Fig. 6); and the first protrusion to contact the second protrusion in response to the force (force from a vehicle impact loading event will cause 60A and 60B to plastically deform toward each other at notch 64; column 7, lines 12-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grace et al (US Patent No. 10,720,620) in view of Nagai et al (US 2007/0246956).
Regarding claim 7, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above) and a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above). However, Grace et al does not expressly disclose the plurality of second sections independent from and coupled with the body.
Regarding claim 17, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above) and a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above). However, Grace et al does not expressly disclose the plurality of second sections independent from and coupled with the body.
Nagai et al teaches a body (30, Fig. 4) having a plurality of first sections (71-76, Fig. 4; 34, Fig. 2) and a plurality of second sections (51-55, Fig. 4; 33, Fig. 2) independent from and coupled with the body (30, Fig. 2 & 4) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of impact absorbing vehicle frame structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of sections of Grace et al by including the type of section configuration as taught by Nagai et al. Doing so would enhance options of manufacturing and materials used to construct the impact absorbing body.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grace et al (US Patent No. 10,720,620) in view of Ignes et al (US 2024/0351636).
Regarding claim 10, Grace et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and the plurality of sections (60, Fig. 5; column 6, lines 38-45) comprising a plurality of first sections (see annotated figure above) and a plurality of second sections (see annotated figure above) coupled with the body (44, Fig. 5). However, Grace et al does not expressly disclose the plurality of second sections comprising a different material than the plurality of first sections.
Ignes et al teaches a body (70, Fig. 5E) having a plurality of first sections (60’, Fig. 5E; [0093]) and a plurality of second sections (60, Fig. 5E; [0093]) coupled with the body (70, Fig. 5E); and the plurality of second sections (60, Fig. 5E; [0093]) comprising a different material (M1, [0093]) than the plurality of first sections (M2, 60’, Fig. 5E; [0093]) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of impact absorbing vehicle frame structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sections of Grace et al by including the type of materials as taught by Ignes et al. Doing so would accommodate a range of desired cost and energy characteristics to enhance the properties of the body such as improve tensile strength, improve flexural strength, or distribute energy within the reinforcement (paragraph [0059]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kaneko et al (US 2015/0176673) et al discloses sections having a middle portion of the first wall disposed closer to the second wall (Fig. 2). Yaita et al (US Patent No. 11,801,742) discloses an impact absorbing region (Fig. 12) for a vehicle mounted battery. Jeong (US 2024/0375501) discloses first and second sections (150, 160, Fig. 5) that are independent since they do not share a common wall. Ikeda et al (US 2016/0311301) discloses an energy absorbing member having first and second sections (72, 76) with a plurality of second sections (72) independent from and coupled with the body (70). Ayukawa (US 2018/0148106) discloses walls bending towards each other (Fig. 5-6). Holl (US 2007/0039282) discloses a wall with a thickened protrusion area (30, Fig. 4). Shynn et al (US Patent No. 12,115,847), Noh et al (US Patent No. 11,634,002) and Maier (US 2018/0065667) disclose energy absorbing body frame regions for a vehicle mounted battery.
/DLE/
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612