DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a high-voltage switch box” in claims 1-2, 6-8, 11-12 & 16-18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a high-voltage switch box” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Since the instant specification does not provide any guidance or scope for the voltage intended by “high voltage”, the above cited limitation is broadly read as “a switch box”.
Claims 7 & 17 each recite “the contactor” but does not provide adequate antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, “the contactor” is read as “the at least one contactor” as this appears to be applicant’s intent.
Claims 8 & 18 each recite “the shunt” but does not provide adequate antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, “the shunt” is read as “the at least one shunt” as this appears to be applicant’s intent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-16 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (CN 113036317 A, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2024/0079750 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 11, Xu teaches a battery rack (i.e battery cabinet) ([0053] & [0061]) comprising an energy storage device ([0075]) comprising: a plurality of battery clusters (fig. 9; [0075]); a high-voltage switch box (F2+K1), a positive input terminal of the high-voltage switch box is connected to positive electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters, a negative input terminal of the high-voltage switch box is connected to negative electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters, and an output terminal of the high-voltage switch box is configured to connect to an electrical device, wherein the high-voltage switch box is configured to control the plurality of battery clusters to be electrically connected and disconnected from an electrical device (fig. 9; [0044]-[0053] & [0075]).
Regarding claims 2 & 12, Xu teaches the high-voltage switch box comprising a short circuit/overload protection circuit; wherein short circuit/overload protection circuit is arranged in series between the plurality of battery clusters and the electrical device, and the short circuit/overload protection circuit is configured to control the plurality of battery clusters to be electrically disconnected from the electrical device in response to any one of battery clusters being in an overload state or in a short circuit state ([0064]).
Regarding claims 3-4 & 13-14, Xu teaches high-voltage switch box comprising: a first fuse (F2) arranged in series between the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters and a positive terminal of the electrical device; a first terminal of the first fuse is connected to the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters, and a second terminal of the first fuse is connected to the positive terminal of the electrical device (fig. 9); and a second fuse (F2) arranged in series between the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters and a negative terminal of the electrical device; a first terminal of the second fuse is connected to negative electrodes of the plurality of battery clusters, and a second terminal of the second fuse is connected to the negative terminal of the electrical device (fig. 9).
Regarding claims 5 & 15, Xu teaches the first fuse being GPV class fuse (i.e an overload protection fuse) and the second fuse being an AR class fuse (i.e a short-circuit protection fuse) ([0064]).
Regarding claims 6 & 16, Xu teaches the high voltage switch box further comprising a load switch (K1), a positive input terminal of the load switch is connected to the positive electrodes, and a negative input terminal of the load switch is connected to the negative electrodes, and an output terminal of the load switch is configured to connect the electrical device; and the load switch is configured to control the plurality of battery clusters to be electrically connected to/disconnected from the electrical device (fig. 9; [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claims 9 & 19, Xu teaches the battery clusters comprising a plurality of battery packs, and the plurality of battery pack are arranged in series (figs. 2 & 9; [0075]).
Regarding claims 10 & 20, Xu teaches at least one third fuse (F1) arranged in series between any two battery packs that are adjacently arranged in the battery cluster (figs. 2 & 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 113036317 A, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2024/0079750 A1) in view of Zhou (CN 112467839 A, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0166072 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8 & 17-18, Xu teaches the energy storage device of claim 1 and battery cabinet of claim 11, respectively, but is silent as to the high-voltage switch box further comprising contactors (claims 7 & 17) and shunts (claims 8 & 18), wherein each battery cluster is provided with at least one contactor (claims 7 & 17) and at least one shunt (claims 8 & 18), a first terminal of the at least one contactor (claims 7 & 17) and a first terminal of the at least one shunt (claims 8 & 18) being connected to the battery cluster, and a second terminal of the at least one contactor (claims 7 & 17) and a second terminal of the at least one shunt (claims 8 & 18) being configured to connect to the electrical device; and the at least one contactor being configured to control the battery cluster to be electrically connected to/disconnected from the electrical device (claims 7 & 17) and the at least one shunt being configured to detect an output current of the battery cluster (claims 8 & 18). Zhou teaches an energy storage device comprising a plurality of battery clusters (fig. 7) and a switch box (i.e battery cluster management device) comprising contactors (K11 & K12) and shunts (current collecting circuit), wherein each battery cluster is provided with at least one contactor (K11 & K12) and at least one shunt (current collecting circuit), a first terminal of the at least one contactor and a first terminal of the at least one shunt being connected to the battery cluster, and a second terminal of the at least one contactor and a second terminal of the least one shunt being configured to connect to the electrical device; and the at least one contactor being configured to control the battery cluster to be electrically connected to/disconnected from the electrical device and the at least one shunt being configured to detect an output current of the battery cluster (figs. 2-7; [0046]-[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use contactors, as described above, in order to control the electrical connection between the battery clusters and the electrical device based on a state of charge of the battery cluster and a charging/discharging condition as taught by Zhou ([0051]-[0052]) and to use shunts, as described above, in order to collect a direct current between the battery cluster and DC/AC circuit as taught by Zhou ([0048]).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727