DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Reply filed on October 23, 2025.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-22 are pending in the application. Claims 20-22 have been newly added. Claims 10 and 17 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 20, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 12, 13, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2022/0182130 (hereinafter “Abedini”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0142106 (newly cited, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Abedini discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 1, 8, 12, and 19, a method and an apparatus (see at least Fig. 4, repeater 204) comprising:
at least one processor (see at least Fig. 10, and paragraphs 112 and 394, processor); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (see at least Fig. 10, and paragraphs 113 and 396, computer-readable media/memory used to carry program code means that can be accessed by the processor):
receive first information, wherein the first information indicates to turn on an amplify-and- forward function on a first time domain resource unit in a first time domain resource set, the first time domain resource set comprises one or more time domain resource units, and the first time domain resource unit is any time domain resource unit in the first time domain resource set (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 80, 82, 84, 129, and 131, the repeater 204 may receive control information and/or TDD pattern for providing repeater function to/from the multiple cells of upstream node, where the repeater function includes an amplify-and-forward function, where the control information may include scheduling information indicating resources for operating the repeater, a communication direction for one or more periods, etc.); and
perform relay forwarding based on the first information (see at least paragraphs 129 and 131, the repeater function can be provided between the two or more wireless nodes based on the control information).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose that an uplink forwarding timing advance of the relay device is the same as an uplink timing advance of a control link between the relay device and the access network device.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses or suggests that an uplink forwarding timing advance of the relay device is the same as an uplink timing advance of a control link between the relay device and the access network device, where an uplink forwarding timing of the apparatus is the same as an uplink timing of a control link of the apparatus (see at least paragraphs 3 and 71-74, determining a timing advance of uplink transmission of the backhaul link according to the uplink timing adjustment command and adjusts the uplink transmission timing of the backhaul link according to the timing advance, where the link between the relay node and the eNB is referred to as a backhaul link corresponding to a control link between the relay device and the access network device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the timing advance technique as taught by Zhang in to the invention of Abedini in order to synchronize the uplink transmission of the backhaul link with the uplink reception of the backhaul link (see at least paragraph 146 of Zhang).
Abedini discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 2 and 13, the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to:
if the first time domain resource unit is configured for uplink transmission, turn on an uplink amplify-and-forward function on the first time domain resource unit; or if the first time domain resource unit is configured for downlink transmission, turn on a downlink amplify-and-forward function on the first time domain resource unit (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 129 and 131, repeater may receive control information indicating scheduling information, which indicates a communication direction for one or more time periods (e.g., uplink, downlink, flexible, etc.), where RU unit can provide the repeater function between the two or more wireless nodes including at least one of (1) receiving downlink signals from an upstream node, optionally amplifying the downlink signals, and forwarding the downlink signals to a downstream node, or (2) receiving uplink signals from a downstream node, optionally amplifying the uplink signals, and forwarding the uplink signals to an upstream node);
regarding claims 4 and 15, the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to determine, based on the common TDD configuration or the dedicated TDD configuration, a time domain resource used for uplink forwarding and a time domain resource used for downlink forwarding in the first time domain resource set (see at least paragraphs 80, 82, 84, and 149, the repeater 204 may receive one or multiple TDD patterns for providing repeater function (e.g., amplify and forward a signal), where the TDD pattern may be an aligned TDD common or dedicated configuration);
regarding claim 6, the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to:
receive second information, wherein the second information indicates at least one of a start position of uplink transmission in a first periodicity, an end position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity, or an end position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity (see at least paragraph 149, the TDD pattern for N slots/symbols may indicate [D U F F F D U], which indicates at least one of a start position of uplink transmission in a first periodicity, an end position of uplink transmission in the first periodicity, a start position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity, or an end position of downlink transmission in the first periodicity); and
determine, based on the second information, a time domain resource used for uplink forwarding and a time domain resource used for downlink forwarding in the first time domain resource set, wherein the first time domain resource set comprises one or more time domain resources in the first periodicity (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 80, 82, 84, 129, and 131, the repeater 204 may receive control information and/or TDD pattern for providing repeater function to/from the multiple cells of upstream node, where the repeater function includes an amplify-and-forward function, where the control information may include scheduling information indicating resources for operating the repeater, a communication direction for one or more periods, etc.);
regarding claims 7 and 18, a downlink forwarding timing of the apparatus is the same as a downlink reception timing of the apparatus (see at least paragraph 131, RU unit can provide the repeater function between the two or more wireless nodes including receiving downlink signals from an upstream node, optionally amplifying the downlink signals, and forwarding the downlink signals to a downstream node,).
Abedini discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 9, a method comprising:
determining, by an access network device, first information, wherein the first information indicates to turn on an amplify-and-forward function on a first time domain resource unit in a first time domain resource set, the first time domain resource set comprises one or more time domain resource units, and the first time domain resource unit is any time domain resource unit in the first time domain resource set (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 80, 82, 84, 129, and 131, one or more of at least a first node and a second node may determine and send control information and/or TDD pattern to a repeater 204, where the repeater 204 may receive control information and/or TDD pattern for providing repeater function to/from the multiple cells of upstream node, where the repeater function includes an amplify-and-forward function, where the control information may include scheduling information indicating resources for operating the repeater, a communication direction for one or more periods, etc., where the TDD pattern may be a pattern specifically created for the repeater 204); and
sending, by the access network device, the first information to a relay device (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 80, 82, 84, 129, and 131, one or more of at least a first node and a second node may determine and send control information and/or TDD pattern to a repeater 204, where the repeater 204 may receive control information and/or TDD pattern for providing repeater function to/from the multiple cells of upstream node).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose that an uplink forwarding timing advance of the relay device is the same as an uplink timing advance of a control link between the relay device and the access network device.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang discloses or suggests that an uplink forwarding timing advance of the relay device is the same as an uplink timing advance of a control link between the relay device and the access network device (see at least paragraphs 3 and 71-74, determining a timing advance of uplink transmission of the backhaul link according to the uplink timing adjustment command and adjusts the uplink transmission timing of the backhaul link according to the timing advance, where the link between the relay node and the eNB is referred to as a backhaul link corresponding to a control link between the relay device and the access network device).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the timing advance technique as taught by Zhang in to the invention of Abedini in order to synchronize the uplink transmission of the backhaul link with the uplink reception of the backhaul link (see at least paragraph 146 of Zhang).
Claims 3, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Zhang, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0360585 (newly cited, hereinafter “Abedini_2”).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 14, Abedini discloses or suggests the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to receive a common time division duplex (TDD) configuration or receive a dedicated TDD configuration (see at least paragraph 84, TDD common or dedicated configuration) but Abedini does not explicitly disclose using broadcast information or using unicast signaling.
However, in an analogous art, Abedini_2 discloses or suggests receiving an SIB1 broadcast message including a TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon data structure (see at least paragraphs 77 and 81).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Abedini_2 in to the invention of Abedini in order to conform to the 3GPP specifications.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Zhang, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2020/0100276 (hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Abedini discloses or suggests that an uplink slot/symbol in the first time domain resource set is a slot/symbol used for uplink forwarding (see at least paragraphs 82 and 149, a pattern of communication direction (e.g., UL, DL, F direction) over the multiple time period including multiple symbols or multiple slots); and a downlink slot/symbol in the first time domain resource set is a slot/symbol used for downlink forwarding (see at least paragraphs 82 and 149, a pattern of communication direction (e.g., UL, DL, F direction) over the multiple time period including multiple symbols or multiple slots) but Abedini, as modified by Zhang, does not explicitly disclose that a flexible slot/symbol in the first time domain resource set is a slot/symbol not used for uplink forwarding and downlink forwarding.
However, in an analogous art, Oh discloses or suggests that a flexible slot/symbol in the first time domain resource set is a slot/symbol not used for uplink forwarding and downlink forwarding (see at least paragraph 131, a flexible symbol may be neither a downlink symbol nor an uplink symbol and may include a gap guard for use in the process of switching from the downlink to the uplink).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Oh above in to the invention of Abedini, as modified by Zhang, in order to prevent or reduce the interference between the downlink and the uplink.
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Zhang, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2024/0049151 (newly cited, hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding claims 20-22, Abedini, as modified by Zhang, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1, 9, and 12 as described above but does not explicitly disclose the first time domain resource unit corresponding to a subcarrier spacing which is configured by the access network device.
However, in an analogous art, Oh discloses or suggests a symbol, which corresponds to a time domain resource unit, corresponding to a subcarrier spacing, which is configured by the access network device (see at least paragraphs 81-86, the number of slots per subframe may vary according configuration value for the subcarrier spacing, which may be configured via higher layer signaling from the base station).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Oh in to the invention of Abedini, as modified by Zhang, in order to establish a frame structure for communications between the base station and the user equipment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 04/27/2026