DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 02/24/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quan et al (US 12526877 B2) (hereinafter “Quan”).
Regarding claim 1, Quan discloses a communication method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), applied to a terminal device or a chip thereof (see column 8 lines (22-28) discloses chip coupled with a memory in a device), the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) release message (see column 11, lines (53-65) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE), wherein the RRC release message comprises reference signal configuration information and information about an area that are configured for the terminal device (see column 4, (lines 1-10; 17-21); column 11, lines (53-65); column 12 lines (1-20) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE, RRC connection release message includes a valid positioning area; RRC message includes configuration information carries SRS for location configured for the SRS resource), and
the information about the area is received from an access network device based on area information in a positioning information request from a location management function (LMF) network element (see column 2, lines (12-17; 33-41), column 4 (11-41) discloses LMF transmits SRS resource to a measurement base station according to SRS resource); and
sending, in the area, a reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 12, lines 7-13) discloses RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information, and the SRS resource configuration information carries a channel sounding reference signal (SRS) resource that is configured for the UE).
Regarding claim 2, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the information about the area comprises an identifier of the area (see column 2 lines (42-52) discloses valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list) or information about at least one cell within the area (see column 2 lines (42-52); column 3 lines (35-43); column 5 lines (40-48); column 17 lines (20-28) discloses valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list or radio access network notification area (RNA)).
Regarding claim 3, Quan discloses method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the sending, in the area (see column 2 lines (48-51); column 3 lines (40-3); column 5 lines (45-48), column 18 lines (40-45) discloses valid positioning area configure for SRS resource), the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information comprises:
determining whether a cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area, sending the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 17 lines (36-39); column 18 lines (53-57) discloses the UE enters idle state and transmits an SRS on a specified SRS resource according to the resource configuration information).
Regarding claim 5, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the sending, in the area (see column 2 lines (48-51); column 3 lines (40-3); column 5 lines (45-48), column 18 lines (40-45) discloses valid positioning area configure for SRS resource), the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information comprises:
determining whether a cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is not in the area (see column 15 lines (61-67) discloses the UE in inactive state if RNA is configured, will execute RNA update when the UE leaves the area to obtain new configuration),
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a fourth access network device on which the terminal device camps (see column 19 lines (11-20) discloses the UE when moving beyond the valid position area, may enter connected state (RRC connection resume process),
where the RRC message is usable to request the fourth access network device to update sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information or the information about the area (see column 19 lines (11-20) discloses the UE when moving beyond the valid position area, may enter connected state (RRC connection resume process, if the base station has new SRS resource to be configured for the UE, may use the new SRS resource to transmit SRS).
Regarding claim 6, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the RRC message comprises a cause (see column 20, lines (1-8) discloses RRC connection release message includes connection resume indication information when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS), wherein the cause is usable to request to update the SRS configuration information or the information about the area (see column 20, lines (1-8) discloses RRC connection release message includes connection resume indication information, indicating whether the UE obtains a new SRS resource for location, when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS).
Regarding claim 7, Quan discloses a communication method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), applied to a location management function (LMF) network element or a chip thereof (see column 8 lines (22-28) discloses chip coupled with a memory in a device), the method comprising:
sending a positioning information request to an access network device (see column 9 lines (52-58) discloses bases station serving UE configures time and frequency resources of uplink SRS used for positioning and notifies LMF, LMF transmits the configuration information of the SRS-Pos to TRPs around the UE),
wherein the positioning information request is usable to request the access network device to determine reference signal configuration information for a terminal device (see column 9 lines (52-58) discloses bases station serving UE configures time and frequency resources of uplink SRS used for positioning and notifies LMF, LMF transmits the configuration information of the SRS-Pos to TRPs around the UE), or
is usable to request reference signal configuration information of a terminal device (see column 4, (lines 1-10; 17-21); column 11, lines (53-65); column 12 lines (1-20) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE, RRC connection release message includes a valid positioning area; RRC message includes configuration information carries SRS for location configured for the SRS resource); and
the positioning information request comprises information about an area (see column 4, (lines 1-10; 17-21); column 11, lines (53-65); column 12 lines (1-20) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE, RRC connection release message includes a valid positioning area; RRC message includes configuration information carries SRS for location configured for the SRS resource),
wherein the information about the area is usable by the access network device to configure the terminal device using a radio resource control (RRC) release message (see column 4, (lines 1-10; 17-21); column 11, lines (53-65); column 12 lines (1-20) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE, RRC connection release message includes a valid positioning area; RRC message includes configuration information carries SRS for location configured for the SRS resource), and
the area is an area indicated by a reference signal received from the terminal device (see column 2, lines (43-52) discloses SRS resource configuration information includes valid positioning area such as cell or cell list, tracking area (TA) or tracking area list, or radio access network notification (RNA)).
Regarding claim 8, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the information about the area comprises an identifier of the area (see column 2, lines (43-52) discloses SRS resource configuration information includes valid positioning area such as cell or cell list, tracking area (TA) or tracking area list, or radio access network notification (RNA)).
or information about at least one cell in the area (see column 2, lines (43-52) discloses SRS resource configuration information includes valid positioning area such as cell or cell list, tracking area (TA) or tracking area list, or radio access network notification (RNA)).
Regarding claim 9, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the positioning information request further comprises indication information (see column 6 lines (26-33) discloses RRC connection release message includes at least valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource), and
the indication information indicates to configure a reference signal received from the terminal device in a non- connected state (see column 6 lines (34-40) discloses RRC connection release includes connection resume indication information configured for indicating whether the UE obtains a new SRS resource for location by resuming the RRC connection when the UE is in the inactive state), or
the indication information indicates that the terminal device has a capability of sending a reference signal in a non-connected state (see column 14, lines (5-17), column 20 lines (8-17) discloses UE capability information message reported by the UE, determines whether the UE supports to transmit SRS in the idle or inactive state).
Regarding claim 10, Quan discloses a method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the method further comprises:
receiving reference signal configuration information of the terminal device (see column 9 lines (53-57) discloses base station serving a UE configures SRS-Pos for the UE and notifies LMF of the configuration); and
sending the reference signal configuration information of the terminal device to a second access network device in the area (see column 9 lines (59-61) discloses the LMF transmits SRRS-Pos to the TRPs around the UE).
Regarding claim 11, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), being a terminal device or a chip in the terminal device (see column 8 lines (22-28) discloses chip coupled with a memory in a device), the communication apparatus comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 11 (1102-processor) column 23 lines 29-35 discloses processor responsible for general processing); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the processor (see column 8 lines (22-28) discloses chip coupled with a memory in a device, the chip is coupled with a memory in a device, and the chip, when running, calls program instructions stored in the memory, to implement the above embodiments and any possible methods), the program including instructions to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) release message (see column 11, lines (53-65) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE),
wherein the RRC release message comprises reference signal configuration information and information about an area that are configured for the terminal device (see column 4, (lines 1-10; 17-21); column 11, lines (53-65); column 12 lines (1-20) discloses RRC connection release message to the UE, RRC connection release message includes a valid positioning area; RRC message includes configuration information carries SRS for location configured for the SRS resource), and
the information about the area is from an access network device based on area information in a positioning information request from a location management function (LMF) network element (see column 2, lines (12-17; 33-41), column 4 (11-41) discloses LMF transmits SRS resource to a measurement base station according to SRS resource); and
send, in the area, a reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 12, lines 7-13) discloses RRC connection release message carries the SRS resource configuration information, and the SRS resource configuration information carries a channel sounding reference signal (SRS) resource that is configured for the UE).
Regarding claim 12, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the information about the area comprises an identifier of the area (see column 2 lines (42-52) discloses valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list) or information about at least one cell in the area (see column 2 lines (42-52) discloses valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list).
Regarding claim 13, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the program including instructions to:
determine whether a cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area, send the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 17 lines (36-39); column 18 lines (53-57) discloses the UE enters idle state and transmits an SRS on a specified SRS resource according to the resource configuration information).
Regarding claim 15, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the program including instructions to:
determine whether the cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is not in the area (see column 15 lines (61-67) discloses the UE in inactive state if RNA is configured, will execute RNA update when the UE leaves the area to obtain new configuration),
send a radio resource control (RRC) message to a fourth access network device on which the terminal device camps (see column 19 lines (11-20) discloses the UE when moving beyond the valid position area, may enter connected state (RRC connection resume process),
where the RRC message is usable to request the fourth access network device to update sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information or the information about the area (see column 19 lines (11-20) discloses the UE when moving beyond the valid position area, may enter connected state (RRC connection resume process, if the base station has new SRS resource to be configured for the UE, may use the new SRS resource to transmit SRS).
Regarding claim 16, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the RRC message comprises a cause (see column 20, lines (1-8) discloses RRC connection release message includes connection resume indication information when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS),
wherein the cause is usable to request to update the SRS configuration information or the information about the area (see column 20, lines (1-8) discloses RRC connection release message includes connection resume indication information, indicating whether the UE obtains a new SRS resource for location, when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS).
Regarding claim 17, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the reference signal configuration information further includes information about a time (see column 2 lines 18-25) discloses RRC connection release message includes a valid duration for SRS resource or quantity of using times configured for the SRS resource).
Regarding claim 18, Quan discloses a communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the sending, in the area (see column 2 lines (42-52) discloses a UE starts to transmit and SRS, valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list), the reference signal in the area based on the reference signal configuration information comprises:
determining whether a condition associated with the time is satisfied (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes a cycle and an offset of the SRS, and valid duration time is absolute time or duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS); and
in response to a determination that the condition is satisfied, sending the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes a cycle and an offset of the SRS, and valid duration time is absolute time or duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS).
Regarding claim 19, Quan discloses a communication method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the reference signal configuration information further includes information about a time (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes a cycle and an offset of the SRS, and valid duration time is absolute time or duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS).
Regarding claim 20, The communication method according (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station),
wherein the sending, in the area (see column 2 lines (42-52) discloses a UE starts to transmit and SRS, valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list), the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information comprises:
determining whether a condition associated with the time is satisfied (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes a cycle and an offset of the SRS, and valid duration time is absolute time or duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS).; and
in response to a determination that the condition is satisfied (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS).,
sending the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information (see column 3 lines (35-43), column 4 lines (42-51) discloses SRS configuration information includes a cycle and an offset of the SRS, and valid duration time is absolute time or duration relative to a moment when UE starts to transmit SRS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quan et al (US 12526877 B2) (hereinafter “Quan”) in view of Rao et al (US 20230379860 A1) (hereinafter “Rao”).
Regarding claim 4, Quan discloses method (see column 1 lines (60-67), column 2 lines (1-11) discloses method for UL signal location involving UE, base station), wherein the sending, in the area (see column 2 lines (48-51); column 3 lines (40-3); column 5 lines (45-48), column 18 lines (40-45) discloses valid positioning area configure for SRS resource), the reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information comprises:
determining whether a cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is not in the area (see column 15 lines (61-67) discloses the UE in inactive state if RNA is configured, will execute RNA update when the UE leaves the area to obtain new configuration),
Quan does not explicitly disclose but Rao teaches sending a second message to the LMF, wherein the second message is usable to notify the LMF that the terminal device is out of the area (see para. [0160] discloses UE (WTRU) in idle/inactive mode, positioning operation, where SRS configuration is in the cell area list (bounds), otherwise (not in area or bounds) UE may send an indication message to the LMF/RAN requesting SRS configuration), or
the second message is usable to request to update the reference signal configuration information (see para. [0160] discloses UE (WTRU) in idle/inactive mode, positioning operation, where SRS configuration is in the cell area list (bounds), otherwise (not in area or bounds) UE may send an indication message to the LMF/RAN requesting SRS configuration).
Quan and Rao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Quan to include the message as described by Rao.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient location of the UE.
Regarding claim 14, Quan discloses communication apparatus (see Fig. 11 (schematic of UE)), wherein the program including instructions to:
determine whether the cell on which the terminal device camps is in the area (see column 18, lines (49-52) discloses SRS resource configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state); and
in response to a determination that the cell on which the terminal device camps is not in the area (see column 15 lines (61-67) discloses the UE in inactive state if RNA is configured, will execute RNA update when the UE leaves the area to obtain new configuration),
Quan does not explicitly disclose but Rao teaches sending a second message to the LMF, wherein the second message is usable to notify the LMF that the terminal device is out of the area (see para. [0160] discloses UE (WTRU) in idle/inactive mode, positioning operation, where SRS configuration is in the cell area list (bounds), otherwise (not in area or bounds) UE may send an indication message to the LMF/RAN requesting SRS configuration), or
the second message is usable to request to update the reference signal configuration information (see para. [0160] discloses UE (WTRU) in idle/inactive mode, positioning operation, where SRS configuration is in the cell area list (bounds), otherwise (not in area or bounds) UE may send an indication message to the LMF/RAN requesting SRS configuration).
Quan and Rao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Quan to include the message as described by Rao.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving efficient location of the UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 02/24/2026, with respect to the objection of claim 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed on 02/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-7, 11-17 and 19, under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Quan et al (US 12526877 B2) and Rao (US 20230379860 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed on 02/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 3, 7, 9 and its dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Quan et al (US 12526877 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419