DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the limitation “a predicted oxidation potential Vox of 2.0<Vox<4.5” renders the claims indefinite because the claims do not specify the prediction methodology, reference electrode, solvent system, or computational level that governs Vox. Without an objective standard, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain whether a candidate additive falls within or outside the claimed range. See MPEP 2173.02 and 2173.05(a) (terms requiring a standard for measurement) and In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (reasonable clarity).
Applicant should provide, in the claims or by explicit incorporation from the specification, the method of predicting Vox (e.g., DFT level/basis set, solvent model, reference electrode), or amend to an experimentally measurable oxidation potential with defined test conditions (electrolyte composition, scan rate, electrode materials).
In claim 14, the limitation “further” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how it adds to the claim. The examiner suggests removing “further” from the claim.
Claim 15 is indefinite for the following: Claim 7 recites “one or more additives, each additive having … and each atom selected from the group consisting of: C; H; O; N; S and Si.” Claim 15 then recites “the one or more additive is selected…” (singular/plural mismatch) which creates a grammatical ambiguity. See MPEP 2173.05(n) (grammar/antecedent basis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al. (“Ou”, EP 4,160,775 A1) in view of Dahn et al. (“Dahn”, WO 2006/124738 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, and 14, Ou discloses an additive suitable for an electrolyte of a lithium ion battery ([0006]). Ou teaches the negative electrode material can be artificial graphite, natural graphite, silicon carbon composite material and silicon oxide, inter alia ([0025]), which reads on the anode active material. Ou teaches the positive electrode material is nickel cobalt manganese oxide ([0023]). Ou teaches carbonate solvents ([0021], LiPF6 [[0019]), and vinylene carbonate [0022].
Ou teaches an additive that has less than or equal to nine carbons, at least one unsaturated bond, and a five membered ring with a silicon heteroatom ([0015]; Compounds 1, 2, 3, 4).
Ou does not expressly teach the predicted oxidation potential Vox of 2.0<Vox<4.5. A 112 rejection has been applied above with regard to this limitation.
Furthermore, since Ou teaches compounds with a substantially similar structure (<=9 carbons, at least one unsaturated bond, five membered ring with a silicon heteroatom), there would be a reasonable expectation that the predicted oxidation potential would fall within the same range.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2144.09(I).
Still further, Dahn discloses redox shuttles for rechargeable lithium-ion cells (title) and teaches oxidation potentials in the range of 3.1 to 4.5V ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use an additive with an oxidation potential in the range taught by Dahn to prevent irreversible cell damage and excessive cell heating or outgassing, as taught by Dahn ([0034]).
As to claims 2 and 10, Ou teaches the chemical formula of the nickel cobalt manganese oxide is LiNix-CoyMn(1-x-y)MzO2, where 0.6<=x<0.9, x+y<1, 0<=z<0.08, and M is at least one of Al, Mg, Zr, and Ti ([0024]), which is considered to read on claims 2 and 10, since Applicant uses a similar convention in Applicant’s PgPub US 2025/0006979A1 ([0016]).
As to claims 3, 4, 12, and 13, Ou teaches the negative electrode material can be artificial graphite, natural graphite, silicon carbon composite material and silicon oxide, inter alia ([0025]).
As to claim 8, Ou teaches including ethylene carbonate ([0021]), diethyl carbonate ([0021]), and fluoroethylene carbonate ([0022]). Ou also teaches the lithium salt may be LiPF6 ([0019]).
As to claim 9, Ou teaches dioxolane (claim 8) and also teaches the lithium salt may be LiFSI and LiTFSI ([0019]).
As to claim 11, Ou teaches including VC (vinylene carbonate, [0022]) at 0.5g per 100g (Table 1, Ex. 9), which reads on 0.5 wt.%.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is allowed.
The additive in claims 6 and 15 are not taught or suggested in the prior art. However, claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 above.
Conclusion
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746