DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second body" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a second body".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 13-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a system (abstract), comprising: a busbar (connection busbars 12, Fig. 1, [0029]) to electrically couple with a battery pack between two groups of battery cells of the battery pack(modules 11, Fig. 1), the busbar to dispose at an opening (151, Fig. 1, [0046]) of a housing (upper casing 15 and lower casing 16, Fig. 1, [0030]) of the battery pack, wherein the busbar is to be exposed by an access cover(service cover 152, Fig. 1, [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the system comprises the busbar to include a body and a jumper, the jumper is bent relative to the body, the jumper to be located within the housing (see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. A.
Continuing with claim 2, Lim discloses the busbar be exposed by removal of the access cover([0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses the system comprises the busbar to include a body and a jumper(Fig. A), a cover disposed to cover a portion of the body(see cover over a portion of connection busbar 12 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses the system comprises the busbar to couple with the battery pack at a middle location between the two groups of battery cells(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses the system comprises a first body of the busbar electrically coupled with a first group of the two groups of battery cells (see connection busbar 12 electrically coupled with one battery module 111 in Fig. 1, [0032]) and a second body of the busbar electrically coupled with a second group of the two groups of battery cells(see connection busbar 12 electrically coupled with other battery module 112 in Fig. 1, [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses the system comprises a jumper connector (intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1, [0036]) electrically coupling a first jumper of a first body of the busbar coupled with a first group of the two groups of the battery cells with a second jumper of a second body of the busbar coupled with a second group of the two groups of the battery cells(see bent portions of connection busbars 12 coupled with one battery module 111 and other battery module 112 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses the system comprises a jumper connector (intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1) configured to electrically decouple a first group of the two groups of the battery cells from a second group of the two groups of the battery cells by removing the jumper connector from a jumper of a body of the busbar([0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses the system comprises a second busbar to electrically couple the battery pack with a second battery pack (battery system including a plurality of battery modules, connection busbars respectively connected to terminals of the battery modules [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses a method for electrically decoupling at least a portion of a battery pack([0010], [0045]), comprising: electrically coupling a busbar (connection busbars 12, Fig. 1, [0029]) with two groups of battery cells of a battery pack (modules 11, Fig. 1); disposing the busbar at an opening (151, Fig. 1, [0046]) of a housing (upper casing 15 and lower casing 16, Fig. 1, [0030]) of the battery pack; and exposing the busbar for access by an access cover via the opening (service cover 152, Fig. 1, [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses comprising: forming the busbar to include a body of the busbar and a jumper of the busbar bent relative to the body, the jumper to be located within the housing(see Fig. B as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. B.
Continuing with claim 14, Lim discloses exposing the jumper of the busbar by removal of the access cover([0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses comprising: providing the busbar having a body electrically coupled with a jumper(Fig. B); providing a cover disposed to cover a portion of the body(see cover over a portion of connection busbar 12 in Fig. 5); and electrically coupling the busbar with the battery pack at a middle location between the two groups of battery cells(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses comprising: providing a jumper connector (intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1, [0036]) electrically coupling a first jumper of a first body of the busbar coupled with a first group of the two groups of the battery cells with a second jumper of a second body of the busbar coupled with a second group of the two groups of the battery cells (see bent portions of connection busbars 12 coupled with one battery module 111 and other battery module 112 in Fig. 1), wherein the jumper connector is configured to electrically decouple the first group of the two groups of the battery cells from the second group of the two groups of the battery cells by removing the jumper connector via an access opening of the access cover ([0045]-[0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses the system comprises the busbar to dispose closer to the upper casing of the housing (Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose the busbar dispose at an end plate of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lim with the system comprises the busbar to dispose at an end plate of the housing for ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses the system comprises a jumper connector (intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1, [0010], [0029]) electrically coupling a first body of the busbar with a second body of the busbar(flat portions of connection busbars 12 in Fig. 1, [0036]), the jumper connector removable via an access opening of the access cover on an upper casing of the housing to cause a first group of the two groups of battery cells to electrically decouple from a second group of the two groups of the battery cells(Fig. 1, [0045]) but does not explicitly disclose the access cover on an end plate of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lim with the access cover on an end plate of the housing for ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
11. Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above.
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a battery system, including: a plurality of battery modules provided in a space formed between an upper casing and a lower casing; connection busbars respectively connected to terminals of the battery modules; an intermediate busbar connected to the connection busbars such that the connection busbars are electrically connected to each other ([0010]) but does not explicitly disclose the system comprises a second jumper connector electrically coupling a first jumper of a first body of the second busbar coupled with the battery pack with a second jumper of a second body of the second busbar coupled with the second battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Lim with the system comprises a second jumper connector electrically coupling a first jumper of a first body of the second busbar coupled with the battery pack with a second jumper of a second body of the second busbar coupled with the second battery pack in order to have more power, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses a battery system, including: a plurality of battery modules provided in a space formed between an upper casing and a lower casing; connection busbars respectively connected to terminals of the battery modules; an intermediate busbar connected to the connection busbars such that the connection busbars are electrically connected to each other ([0010]) but does not explicitly disclose the system comprises a second jumper connector configured to electrically decouple the battery pack from the second battery pack by removing the second jumper connector from a jumper of a body of the second busbar via an access opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of Lim with a second jumper connector configured to electrically decouple the battery pack from the second battery pack by removing the second jumper connector from a jumper of a body of the second busbar via an access opening in order to have ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
12. Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062) as applied to claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses comprising: providing a first body of the busbar electrically coupled with a first group of the two groups of battery cells(see connection busbar 12 electrically coupled with one battery module 111 in Fig. 1, [0032]); providing a second body of the busbar electrically coupled with a second group of the two groups of battery cells(see connection busbar 12 electrically coupled with other battery module 112 in Fig. 1, [0032]); and
disposing the busbar for access via an access opening of the access cover at an upper casing of the housing( see connection busbars 12 accessible via opening 151 of service cover 152 at upper casing 15 in Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose the access cover at an end plate of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lim with the access cover at an end plate of the housing in order for ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses comprising: providing a first body of the busbar having a first jumper exposed for access via the access cover(Fig. B); providing a second body of the busbar having a second jumper exposed for access via the access cover(Fig. B); electrically coupling, by a jumper connector(intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1, [0010], [0029]), the first body via the first jumper with the second body via the second jumper to cause a first group of the two groups of battery cells electrically coupled with the first body to electrically couple with a second group of the two groups of the battery cells electrically coupled with the second body (Fig. 1, [0036]), the jumper connector removable via the access cover on an upper casing of the housing(Fig. 1, [0045]-[0047]) but does not explicitly disclose the access cover on an end plate of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lim with the access cover on an end plate of the housing in order for ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
13. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062) as applied to claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses a battery system, including: a plurality of battery modules provided in a space formed between an upper casing and a lower casing; connection busbars respectively connected to terminals of the battery modules; an intermediate busbar connected to the connection busbars such that the connection busbars are electrically connected to each other ([0010]) but does not explicitly disclose comprising: electrically coupling, by a second busbar, the battery pack with a second battery pack; electrically coupling, by a second jumper connector, a first jumper of a first body of the second busbar coupled with the battery pack with a second jumper of a second body of the second busbar coupled with the second battery pack, wherein the second jumper connector is configured to electrically decouple the battery pack from the second battery pack by removing the second jumper connector from a jumper of a body of the second busbar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Lim with electrically coupling, by a second busbar, the battery pack with a second battery pack; electrically coupling, by a second jumper connector, a first jumper of a first body of the second busbar coupled with the battery pack with a second jumper of a second body of the second busbar coupled with the second battery pack, in order to have more power, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Lim with the second jumper connector is configured to electrically decouple the battery pack from the second battery pack by removing the second jumper connector from a jumper of a body of the second busbar in order to have ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
14. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0067062).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses a battery system of an electric vehicle([0018], [0027], [0030]), the battery system comprising: a busbar(connection busbars 12, Fig. 1, [0029]) to electrically couple with a battery pack between two groups of battery cells of the battery pack(modules 11, Fig. 1), the busbar to dispose at an opening (151, Fig. 1, [0046]) of a housing(upper casing 15 and lower casing 16, Fig. 1, [0030]) of the battery pack, wherein the busbar is to be exposed by an access cover(service cover 152, Fig. 1, [0046]); and a jumper connector (intermediate busbar 13, Fig. 1, [0010], [0029]) to electrically couple a first body of the busbar with the second body of the busbar(see flat portions of connection busbars 12 in Fig. 1, [0036]), the jumper connector removable via the access cover on an upper casing of the housing to cause a first group of the two groups of battery cells electrically coupled with the first body to electrically decouple from a second group of the two groups of the battery cells electrically coupled with the second body (Fig. 1, [0045]-[0047]) but does not explicitly disclose the access cover on an end plate of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery system of Lim with the access cover on an end plate of the housing for ease of access in connections/repair, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724