DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 23, 2024 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0015, “nose skirt portion 52” should read “nose skirt portion 53”
Paragraph 0018, “mask 70” should read “cover 70”
Paragraph 0020, “breathing tube 12” should read “breathing tube 10”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (US 20180319471 A1, hereinafter “Thomas”) in view of Shiue (US 20170334531 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Thomas discloses: A [double-lens] breathable mask (Paragraph 0062, FIG. 1 illustrates a combination full face mask and snorkel 100 for use during exploration of aquatic environments. The full face mask and snorkel 100 includes the components of a full face mask 105 and snorkel 110. The full face mask 105 includes a rigid mask support structure 115. The rigid mask support structure 115 defines a shape of the full face mask 105 and can include multiple subcomponents for an assembled full face mask 105)
Thomas does not explicitly disclose a double-lens breathable mask (Paragraph 0072,FIG. 2C illustrates a full face mask and snorkel 100 with improved lateral side-to-side circulation of fresh surface air through the first optical zone 125 of the mask 105 so as to improve clarity of vision through the lens 155 of the mask 105. For example, the first zone 125 can be disposed over the eyes of the user and the first zone 125 of the mask 105 can be encapsulated about the user's face by the lens 155 through which the user is allowed to have an underwater view).
However, Shiue does disclose double-lens breathable mask (Paragraph 0047, As shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, a diving and snorkeling mask structure 10 of the present invention is adapted to be worn on a user's head during a diving sport for performing underwater activities. The diving and snorkeling mask structure 10 may structurally comprise a full face mask 110, a frame 120, a lens 130), (Paragraph 0049, It shall be appreciated that, in the embodiment shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the lens 130 is a single lens, but it is not limited thereto. In other words, the lens 130 may also be two lenses; and in case of two lenses, a corrective lens may be used in combination with the lens 130 depending on the user's needs to satisfy special requirements of short-sighted or long-sighted users)
Both Thomas and Shiue disclose similar mask assemblies with breathing tubes and sealing elements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Shiue’s teachings of variations in lens design into the mask assembly taught by Thomas, so as to provide accommodations for the visual needs of different wearers.
Thomas in view of Shiue further discloses the mask comprising:
a breathing tube having an upper end portion and a lower end portion opposite the upper end portion (Paragraph 0063, The snorkel 110 can be defined as having a distal end 110A and a proximate end 110B, the distal end 110A being more distant from the full face mask 105 as opposed to the proximate end 110B being closer to the full face mask 105);
a body (Figure 1, full face mask 105) connected to the lower end portion of the breathing tube, and the body having an interior being in fluid communication with an outside through the upper end portion of the breathing tube (Paragraph 0063, The proximate end 110B of the snorkel 110 can be connectable to the full face mask 105 or made integral therewith. And, the distal end 110A of the snorkel 110 is selectively open by a float valve for accessing surface air and allowing for the surface air to be drawn into the distal end 110A of the snorkel 110); the body includes:
a lens frame assembly (Paragraph 0072, FIG. 2C illustrates a full face mask and snorkel 100 with improved lateral side-to-side circulation of fresh surface air through the first optical zone 125 of the mask 105 so as to improve clarity of vision through the lens 155 of the mask 105. For example, the first zone 125 can be disposed over the eyes of the user and the first zone 125 of the mask 105 can be encapsulated about the user's face by the lens 155 through which the user is allowed to have an underwater view);
two lenses (Shiue, Paragraph 0049, It shall be appreciated that, in the embodiment shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the lens 130 is a single lens, but it is not limited thereto. In other words, the lens 130 may also be two lenses);
a waterproof sealing skirt, being suitable for fitting on a face of a user along a rear edge thereof (Paragraph 0015, The full face mask includes a main full face peripheral seal coupled to the mask's rigid support structure. The full face seal can be made of a flexible resilient material for creating a seal between the full face mask and a face of a user when worn by the user); the waterproof sealing skirt including:
an eye skirt portion, a mouth skirt portion, and a nose skirt portion formed between the eye skirt portion and the mouth skirt portion (Paragraph 0015, The full face mask can further include a separation seal dividing the full face mask into at least an upper chamber sealed from a lower chamber by the separation seal. The upper chamber can encapsulate the eyes of the snorkeler and the lower chamber can encapsulate the nose and mouth of the snorkeler), (Paragraph 0070, As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the nose and mouth of the user are contained in the second lower zone 130 of the mask 105 creating an air tight pocket of breathable air for the user. And, the eyes of the user are contained in the first upper zone 125 of the mask 105. Thus, the second lower respiratory zone 130 creates a breathable air pocket defined by the main seal 115 and the separation seal 145 separating the respiratory zone 130 from the optical zone 125),
wherein the eye skirt portion and the two lenses are jointly embedded in the lens frame assembly (Paragraph 0072, FIG. 2C illustrates a full face mask and snorkel 100 with improved lateral side-to-side circulation of fresh surface air through the first optical zone 125 of the mask 105 so as to improve clarity of vision through the lens 155 of the mask 105), (Shiue, Paragraph 0048, The frame 120 is combined with the first soft material region 111 of the full face mask 110. The lens 130 may be made of a transparent thermoplastic, or glass, or glass overmolded by a thermoplastic, and it is disposed in the frame 120 by assembling or overmolding. The lens 130 is surrounded by the frame 120 in appearance);
the mouth skirt portion has a drain hole, and a drain valve formed on the drain hole (Paragraph 0066, The full face mask 105 can further include a drain valve (e.g. see 403 in FIG. 4A) and drain valve cover 127 for purging the mask 105 of water by rapid exhalation as is known in the art);
and the nose skirt portion protrudes forward from a lower portion of the lens frame assembly and is placed between the two lenses (Paragraph 0052, The separation seal can extend over a relatively central portion of a snorkeler's face and include a nose seal portion that extends over a bridge of the snorkeler's nose. The separation seal can extend over the nose of the snorkeler as well as over opposing right and left cheeks of the snorkeler. The portions extending over the cheeks of the snorkeler can be described as cheek seals. Thus the separation seal can include the nose seal and two cheek seals on opposing sides of the nose seal. The cheek seals extending from the nose seal to the main seal disposed around a periphery of the mask);
a fastening device fixed to two outer sides of the lens frame assembly or of the eye skirt portion for fastening the body to a head of the user (Paragraph 0067, The full face mask 105 includes straps (not shown) connected to the full face mask 105 by strap connectors 170 disposed about a periphery of the full face mask 105 so as to hold the full face mask 105 securely against the face of a snorkeler during exploration of the aquatic environments);
when the user puts on the double-lens breathable mask, the two lenses are located to only correspond to two eyes of the user, respectively (Paragraph 0068, An airtight seal between the first and second zone and the snorkeler's face and spanning the bridge of the snorkeler's nose is created by the separation seal 145), (Paragraph 0024, The rigid support structure defining a shape of the full face mask surrounds the eyes, nose, and mouth of the wearer), whereas the nose skirt portion and the mouth skirt portion corresponds to a nose and a mouth of the user, respectively (Paragraph 0070, As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the nose and mouth of the user are contained in the second lower zone 130 of the mask 105 creating an air tight pocket of breathable air for the user. And, the eyes of the user are contained in the first upper zone 125 of the mask 105).
Regarding Claim 7, Thomas in view of Shiue discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Thomas further discloses: comprising a cover, which is fixed on an outside of the drain valve, and a plurality of small holes are formed on the cover to provide dirty air or accumulated water in the body to be discharged therethrough from the drain valve (Paragraph 0066, The full face mask 105 can further include a drain valve (e.g. see 403 in FIG. 4A) and drain valve cover 127 for purging the mask 105 of water by rapid exhalation as is known in the art).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 20180319471 A1 in view of Shiue (US 20170334531 A1), further in view of Sang (CN 111846162 A)
Regarding Claim 8, Thomas in view of Shiue discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7. However, Thomas in view of Shiue does not explicitly disclose the structure of the cover.
Sang more explicitly discloses: wherein the cover (Paragraphs 0028-0029, Preferably, the outer cover is provided with drainage holes, and the dual-circulation snorkeling mask further includes: A one-way drain valve, wherein the one-way drain valve is disposed within the drain hole) has two brackets, each arranged on an outer side of an area where the nose skirt portion and the mouth skirt portion are located (Paragraph 0026, Preferably, the mouth and nose cover is provided with a hook, and the face cover is provided with a fastener, which is disposed in the hook to fix the cover to the face cover), and are connected to the lens frame assembly (Paragraph 0011, A breathing mask is provided inside an outer cover and has a breathing chamber. An exhalation one-way valve is provided on the wall of the breathing chamber and is connected to the exhaust port. An air intake channel is formed between the edge of the outer cover and the edge of the breathing mask and is connected to the breathing chamber).
Similar to Thomas in view of Shiue, Sang also discloses a full face snorkeling mask with distinct valving and integrated air channels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sang’s hook and fastener structure with the overall mask assembly disclosed by Thomas in view of Shiue, so as to allow for ease in attachment and detachment of the drain valve cover, in accordance with a user’s needs.
Claim 2-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 20180319471 A1) in view of Shiue (US 20170334531 A1), further in view of Hutter et al. (US 20050051164 A1, hereinafter “Hutter”)
Regarding Claim 2, Thomas in view of Shiue discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Shiue further discloses: wherein the lens frame assembly is hard (Paragraph 0057, In other words, both the hardness and thickness of the soft materials of the full face mask 110 in the present invention can be adjusted depending on practical needs so as to make the face-contacting first soft material region 111 soft and the second soft material region 112 at the mouth and nose areas harder for purpose of support, or thickness of a same material is varied to make the full face mask 110 tightly fit against the user's face profile) and includes two lens frames and a bridge connecting the two lens frames (Paragraphs 0048-0049, The frame 120 is combined with the first soft material region 111 of the full face mask 110. The lens 130 may be made of a transparent thermoplastic, or glass, or glass overmolded by a thermoplastic, and it is disposed in the frame 120 by assembling or overmolding. The lens 130 is surrounded by the frame 120 in appearance […] the lens 130 may also be two lenses)
the eye skirt portion is soft (Paragraph 0054, The first soft material region 111 is the region that makes contact with the user's face when the diving and snorkeling mask structure 10 is being worn, and the second soft-material region 112 is disposed on the other side opposite to the user's cheek where structures such as the frame 120, the lens 130, and the securing belt 160 are to be installed. In this embodiment, a soft material used for the first soft-material region 111 is relatively softer, while a soft material used for the second soft-material region 112 is relatively harder. Preferably, the soft material of the first soft material region 111 has a hardness of Shore A 30˜60, while the soft material of the second soft material region 112 has a hardness of Shore A 60˜90) and includes two eye rims which are embedded in the two lens frames together with the two lenses, respectively (Paragraph 0048, The first soft material region 111 is a part of the full face mask 110 that makes contact with the user's face when the mask is being worn, and the second soft material region 112 is the remaining part of the full face mask 110 that does not make contact with the user's face. The frame 120 is combined with the first soft material region 111 of the full face mask 110. The lens 130 may be made of a transparent thermoplastic, or glass, or glass overmolded by a thermoplastic, and it is disposed in the frame 120 by assembling or overmolding. The lens 130 is surrounded by the frame 120 in appearance).
Shiue does not explicitly disclose what material the frame 120 is composed of, only that it is “combined with the first soft material region” and that the hardness can be “adjusted depending on practical needs”.
Hutter more explicitly discloses: wherein the lens frame assembly is hard and includes two lens frames and a bridge connecting the two lens frames (Paragraph 0023, The eye cover device 12 has a rigid frame 16 holding substantially transparent eye covers 18 and 19 with a central portion 20 between the eye covers 18 and 19. The eye cover device 12 can optionally include a portion that covers a user's nose as is common in scuba masks. The frame 16 is made of a substantially rigid material such as synthetic thermoplastic such as glassed filled nylon and can be formed by injection molding. The lenses 18 and 19 can be held in the frame 16 by placement in a recess)
the eye skirt portion is soft and includes two eye rims which are embedded in the two lens frames together with the two lenses, respectively (Paragraph 0024, At the inner side of the frame 16 there is provided a sealing assembly 21 which includes a seal member 22 which in use is applied in water right relationship against the surface of a user's face. The seal member 22 has a generally curvilinear configuration corresponding to that of the lense 18 and 19 and is formed as figure "8" so as to be supported by the temple, cheeks and the nasal septum of a user over the user's eyes. The sealing member 22 can be made of elastomer material such as rubber, silicone, urethane or polyvinyl chloride, or of a foam material. The sealing member 22 is held in place by a seal holder 24)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the structure disclosed by Hutter with the mask assembly disclosed by Thomas in view of Shiue, so as to provide art-recognized materials for effectively sealed eye-wear intended underwater usage.
Regarding Claim 3, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Thomas further discloses: wherein the bridge protrudes forward relative to the two lens frames (Figure 2B, Paragraph 0068, An airtight seal between the first and second zone and the snorkeler's face and spanning the bridge of the snorkeler's nose is created by the separation seal 145).
Regarding Claim 4, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Thomas further discloses: wherein the waterproof sealing skirt has a top end which is integrally formed with a head (Paragraph 0062, The full face mask 105 includes a main full face seal 120 coupled to the mask's 105 rigid support structure 115. The main full face seal 120 is made of a flexible resilient material for creating a seal between the full face mask 105 and the face of a person wearing the full face mask and snorkel 100), which communicates with the lower end portion of the breathing tube (Paragraph 0063, The proximate end 110B of the snorkel 110 can be connectable to the full face mask 105 or made integral therewith. And, the distal end 110A of the snorkel 110 is selectively open by a float valve for accessing surface air and allowing for the surface air to be drawn into the distal end 110A of the snorkel 110).
Regarding Claim 5, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Thomas further discloses: further comprising a connector and a collar,
wherein the connector is coupled between the head and the lower end portion of the breathing tube (Paragraph 0085, The full face mask includes a rigid support structure including a mask back body 410. The mask back body 410 defining a mask rigid connector 423 for connection to a snorkel rigid connector 425 of a snorkel 424 […] The mask back body 410 can further include one or more attachment features 422 for attaching an underwater accessory such as an underwater camera for recording the underwater environment)
and the collar extends from a top end of the lens frame assembly to hold the head (Annotated Figure 4, Paragraph 0086, The full face mask and snorkel 400 further includes the snorkel 424 and the snorkel connector 425 for rigid connection of the snorkel 424 to the rigid mask connector 423 of the mask back body 410 of the full face snorkel. The snorkel 424 further includes a distal end 409 to which a float valve assembly is assembled. The float valve assembly includes a float 407, a float seal gasket 406 and snorkel float cover 405).
Regarding Claim 6, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5. Shiue further discloses: wherein the connector has two sides each provided with a hold-down, which is suitable for fastening on the collar to strengthen a connection among the breathing tube, the lens frame assembly and the waterproof sealing skirts (Paragraph 0062, As shown in FIG. 7, the diving and snorkeling mask structure 10 of the present invention is further provided with a latching device 210. In the aspect shown in the figure, the latching device 210 has a latch 211 and a groove 212, the latch 211 is disposed at two sides of the joint 140, and the groove 212 is disposed at two sides of the frame 120 so that the latch 211 can be engaged with the groove 212. Therefore, when the latch 211 at the two sides of the joint 140 is engaged with the groove 212 at the two sides of the frame 120, the latching device 210 is in a latched status to stabilize the joining of the joint 140, the respiratory tube 150 and the full face mask 110, thereby preventing the respiratory tube 150 from being damaged due to factors such as collision, accidental push, diving pressure or the like)
Thomas, Annotated Figure 4
Regarding Claim 9, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Thomas further discloses: wherein the nose skirt portion is formed with a partition (Paragraph 0052, the valved separation seal creating a selectably occluding gaseous partition between the upper and lower zones of the mask) extending backward between the two lens frames and dividing the interior of the body into an upper chamber corresponding to the eye skirt portion and a lower portion corresponding to the nose skirt portion and the mouth skirt portion (Paragraph 0068, An airtight seal between the first and second zone and the snorkeler's face and spanning the bridge of the snorkeler's nose is created by the separation seal 145), thereby when the user wears the breathable mask, an upper portion of the partition rests on the nose of the user, whilst the eyes of the user are accommodated in the upper chamber, and the nose and the mouth the user are accommodated in the lower chamber (Paragraph 0070, As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the nose and mouth of the user are contained in the second lower zone 130 of the mask 105 creating an air tight pocket of breathable air for the user. And, the eyes of the user are contained in the first upper zone 125 of the mask 105)
Regarding Claim 10, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9. Thomas further discloses: wherein the body includes:
an intake passage (Paragraph 0064, The air channels include a first intake channel 112 for intake of surface air under negative pressure during inhalation […] Thus the first channel 112 of the snorkel 110 can be referred to as an intake, aspiration, or inhalation channel) and an intake one-way valve (Paragraph 0068, The separation seal valves 150 can be disposed on one or both sides of a nosepiece of the separation seal 145 and may include two separation seal valves 150 disposed on each side of the nosepiece of the separation seal 145 so as to provide increased one-way fluidic flow of inhaled air from the first optical zone 125 to the second respiratory zone 130), both formed between the lower end portion of the breathing tube and the lower chamber (Paragraph 0049, The separation seal of the mask creating a sealed gaseous separation barrier extending over the cheeks and nose bridge of the snorkeler when worn. This separation seal laterally extends from opposing sides of the main facial seal of the mask. The separation seal can include a one-way valve allowing for surface air to be drawn from the inhalation channel into the first zone and through the one way valve to the second lower zone during inhalation);
whereby inhaled fresh air is capable of unidirectionally flowing from the breathing tube into the lower chamber (Figures 2B-2C);
and an exhaust conduit (Paragraph 0064, a second channel 113 for exhaust of respirated air under positive pressure created by exhalation by the person wearing the full face mask and snorkel 100 […] the second channel 113 of the snorkel 110 can be described as an exhaust, expiration, or exhalation of respirated air channel) and an exhaust one-way valve (Paragraph 0082, Referring to FIGS. 3C and 3D, an example of an exhalation valve insert 360 is illustrated and may be provided according to certain embodiments. In this example, the exhalation valve insert 360 is inserted between the snorkel connector 160 of the full face mask 105 and the snorkel (not shown). The exhalation valve insert 360 includes a one-way exhalation valve 365 disposed in the exhalation channel. The exhalation valve 365 allows for exhaled air to exit the snorkel, but prevents the exhaled air that passes the exhalation valve 365 but is still within the snorkel to be re-inhaled. Thus, during inhalation, the exhalation valve 365 blocks the exhaled air within the exhalation channel from being drawn back into the respiration chamber of the full face mask), in which the exhaust conduit extends upward from one outer side of the eye skirt portion and is in fluid communication with the lower chamber (Paragraph 0020, The direct access of the snorkel to the upper and lower chambers of the mask promotes a reduced distance of exhaust air channel length to surface air. Reduction in exhaust air channel length reduces fluidic friction during exhaust of respirated air thereby lowering the positive pressure of exhalation required to exhaust the respirated air by a snorkeler), (Paragraph 0076, the connector 160 of the mask 105 spans the intake port 135 and exhaust port 140 for direct fluidic access thereto),
and the exhaust one-way valve is arranged on a top portion of the exhaust conduit, whereby a part of dirty air exhaled from the user is capable of discharging outside unidirectionally from the lower chamber, through the exhaust conduit and the exhaust one-way valve (Paragraph 0050, In some embodiments, a one-way exhalation valve is provided in the exhalation channel of the snorkel. The exhalation valve may be disposed proximate to the mask or at a distal end of the exhaust channel of the snorkel. As such, the inhalation of “dead” air having a reduced amount of oxygen due to respiration is reduced).
Regarding Claim 11, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Thomas further discloses: wherein the intake one-way valve lies on an outer side of the partition (Paragraph 0068, The separation seal valves 150 can be disposed on one or both sides of a nosepiece of the separation seal 145 and may include two separation seal valves 150 disposed on each side of the nosepiece of the separation seal 145 so as to provide increased one-way fluidic flow of inhaled air from the first optical zone 125 to the second respiratory zone 130), (Paragraph 0076, separation seal 145 defines a sealed air partition between the first zone 125 and the second zone 130 and the first intake port 135 is disposed directly above and adjacent to the separation seal 145 and the second exhalation port 140 is disposed directly below and adjacent to the separation seal 145).
Regarding Claim 12, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 11. Thomas further discloses: wherein a lower, outer side of the eye skirt portion, and a peripheral inner surface of one of the lenses jointly form an exhaust tunnel (Paragraph 0032, FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C illustrate the circulation of air through internal channels of the snorkel and full face mask of the full face mask and snorkel including means for introducing side-to-side horizontal circulation of fresh surface air over an internal lens surface of the full face mask) which, along one of the eye rims, is located between and communicates the lower chamber and the exhaust conduit (Paragraph 0064, the second channel 113 of the snorkel 110 can be described as an exhaust, expiration, or exhalation of respirated air channel. Circulation of the intake air through the first channel 112 and second channel 113 of the snorkel 110 and through the full face mask is illustrated by arrows 112 and 113 illustrating intake surface air flow and exhaust respirated air flow respectively in FIG. 2B), (Paragraph 0071, With continued cross reference FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, the second zone 130 can have unobstructed air passage to the second port 140 of the mask 105. The second port 140 is in direct gaseous communication with the second exhaust channel 113 of the snorkel 110).
Regarding Claim 13, Thomas in view of Shiue and Hutter discloses all of the limitations of Claim 12. Thomas further discloses: wherein the exhaust conduit extends upward from the outer side of the eye skirt portion and then extends backward (Paragraph 0064, the second channel 113 of the snorkel 110 can be described as an exhaust, expiration, or exhalation of respirated air channel. Circulation of the intake air through the first channel 112 and second channel 113 of the snorkel 110 and through the full face mask is illustrated by arrows 112 and 113 illustrating intake surface air flow and exhaust respirated air flow respectively in FIG. 2B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu (US 6668823 B1) discloses a diving mask with separate eye lenses
Morgan et al. (US 20020129818 A1) discloses a modular, flexible full face mask
Lo et al. (US 20160271454 A1) discloses a manufacturing process for a scuba mask
Shiue (US 20190358496 A1) discloses goggle mask with an embodiment that utilizes separate lenses
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785