DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I at least claims 1 – 14 in the reply filed on 5/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the same” should read “a same” in line 2; and “the thickness” should read “a thickness”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites that the active region comprises the first cladding layer. However, claim 1 of which claim 8 depends upon via claim 7, recites that the passive region comprises a first cladding layer. Thus the bounds of the claims cannot be ascertained.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claim recites that the passive region comprises the second portion. However the specification recites that the second portion is part of the active region (pars. 0047, 0068, figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baek et al. (U.S. Patent # 6,692,980 B2).
In Re claim 1, ‘980 teaches a semiconductor structure for a photonic integrated circuit, comprising: a substrate (100); a waveguide (120b and 130a) on the substrate; a passive region comprising a first cladding layer (135a or 170) in contact with a first portion (130a) of the waveguide; and an active region comprising a second cladding layer (125b) different to the first cladding layer, the second cladding layer in contact with a second portion of the waveguide (120b) and the first cladding layer (fig. 2k).
In Re claim 2, ‘980 teaches a third cladding layer (170) different to the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer (fig. 4), and in contact with the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer, the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer between the waveguide and the third cladding layer (fig. 2k).
In Re claim 3, ‘980 teaches wherein at least one of: the first cladding layer has substantially the same thickness as the second cladding layer (fig. 3D); or the thickness of each of the first cladding layer and the second cladding layer is greater than or equal to 4 x 10-7 m and/or less than or equal to 2 x 10-6m (since or statement the thickness is greater than 0.4 microns, col. 3, lines 59 – 61).
In Re claim 4, ’980 teaches wherein: the waveguide comprises a single waveguide layer comprising the first portion of the waveguide and the second portion of the waveguide (fig. 2k).
In Re claim 5, ‘980 teaches wherein: the waveguide comprises a first waveguide layer (130a) in the passive region; and the waveguide comprises a second waveguide layer (120b) in the active region, the second waveguide layer different to the first waveguide layer, the first waveguide layer in contact with the second waveguide layer.
In Re claim 6, ‘980 teaches a surface of the first cladding layer (170) in contact with the second cladding layer is offset (at 170 - 125b interface) from a surface of the first waveguide layer in contact with the second waveguide layer (along the side of 120b and 130a).
In Re claim 7, ‘980 teaches wherein: the active region comprises an electrical contact (180) for injecting charge carriers into the active region.
In Re claim 11, ‘980 teaches wherein: the first cladding layer (135) is substantially dopant free (col. 3, lines 39 – 40); and the second cladding layer has a dopant concentration of at least 1 x 1014cm-3 (col. 5, lines 16 – 19).
In Re claim 13, ‘980 teaches wherein: the active region corresponds to an optical amplifier (col. 5, lines 2 – 6) for the photonic integrated circuit; or the first cladding layer is of a first material (p doped InP, col. 5, lines 5 – 9) and the second cladding layer is of a second material (non-doped InP, col. 3, lines 40 – 41) different to the first material.
In Re claim 14, ‘980 teaches a photonic integrated circuit comprising a semiconductor structure, the semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (100); a waveguide (120b and 130a) on the substrate; a passive region comprising a first cladding layer (135a) in contact with a first portion (130a) of the waveguide; and an active region comprising a second cladding layer (125b) different to the first cladding layer, the second cladding layer in contact with a second portion of the waveguide (120b) and the first cladding layer (fig. 2k).
Alternatively, In Re claims 1 and 10, ‘980 teaches a semiconductor structure for a photonic integrated circuit, comprising: a substrate (100); a waveguide (120b and 130a) on the substrate; a passive region comprising a first cladding layer (115a is n-doped , col. 5, lines 14 – 16) in contact with a first portion (130a) of the waveguide; and an active region comprising a second cladding layer (170, col. 6, lines 48 – 49) different to the first cladding layer, the second cladding layer in contact with a second portion of the waveguide and the first cladding layer (fig. 4).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamatoya (U.S. PG Pub. # 2011/0235960 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘960 teaches a semiconductor structure for a photonic integrated circuit, comprising: a substrate (20); a waveguide (24) on the substrate; a passive region comprising a first cladding layer (26) in contact with a first portion of the waveguide; and an active region comprising a second cladding layer (28) different to the first cladding layer, the second cladding layer in contact with a second portion of the waveguide and the first cladding layer (fig. 2).
In Re claim 11, ‘960 teaches wherein: the first cladding layer is substantially dopant free (par. 0029); and the second cladding layer has a dopant concentration of at least 1 x 1014cm-3 (par. 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamatoya (U.S. PG Pub. # 2011/0235960 A1).
‘980 teaches the structure of claim 1, and the wherein first cladding layer comprises Indium Phosphide (par. 0029), and the second cladding layer comprises Indium Phosphide (par. 0027), but is silent to the second cladding doped with one of Zinc, Magnesium and Beryllium.
It is well known to dope InP with Zinc, Magnesium or Beryllium to make the InP p -doped.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one of Zinc, Magnesium or Beryllium as a dopant to make the InP p – doped as they are readily available material yielding predictable results.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874