DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 07/10/2026 claims 1 and 3-20 are pending. Independent claims 1, 14, and 16 have been amended by incorporating the limitations of cancelled claim 2. Furthermore, independent claim 16 has been amended to correct claim objections.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to independent claims 1, 14, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the applicant argues in pages 10-13 of the Remarks dated 07/10/2026 that the limitations from cancelled claim 2 are not taught by Choi. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In the original independent claims, applicant claims use "and/or" to describe coverage of certain limitations. Applicant further limited the coverage in Claim 2 to address the AND option. However, applicants have amended Claim 1 to incorporate the more limiting subject matter of Claim 2. Now, applicants have a broad limitation, followed by a narrow limitation in the same claim making it indefinite. Specifically, the amendment no longer allows for the alternate interpretation of “or” in the “and/or” limitation.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The drawing objections are withdrawn in part. The drawing amendments are ok to enter, however, new drawing objections are made below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “preset display interaction function” and “wherein the screen comprises a first display control region and a second display control region; and the body structure covers one of the first display control region and the second display control region, and the other one of the first display control region and the second display control region is exposed out of the mobile charging apparatus” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: applicant claims “the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body”, thus for examination purposes below, “the first portion covers at least part of the middle frame circumferentially” will be considered for examination purposes and “the second portion covers part of the screen” will not be considered for examination purposes because of the and/or conjunction. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: delete “the body structure comprises a first portion fitted to the middle frame and a second portion fitted to the screen” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below will be considered as deleted, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, independent claims 1, 14, and 16 recite the broad recitation “the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body”, and the claims also recite “wherein the body structure comprises a first portion and a second portion; and the first portion covers at least part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Note: if applicant amends the claim to remove “and/or” to just “and” this would correct the 112(b) rejection for the independent claims. However, applicant is reminded to review the other dependent claims to ensure there is no indefiniteness with the “and” limitation.
Dependent claims 3-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected based on dependency of independent claims 1, 14, and 16, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (Korean Patent KR-20210158472-A; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the European Search Opinion).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 14, Choi teaches a mobile charging apparatus (Figs. 1-2, wireless charging module 200), used in cooperation with a wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2, body of smartwatch 1; ¶[01], “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”).
Choi teaches comprising a body structure (Fig. 1; cradle 100) and a charging source arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100. One of ordinary skill understands a coil is a charging source).
Choi teaches wherein when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; the wireless charging module 200 is fitted to the smartwatch 1).
Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is detachably assembled to the wearable apparatus body by means of the body structure (Fig. 2; the wireless charging module 200 is detachably assembled to the body of the smartwatch 1 by means of the cradle 100).
Choi teaches the charging source is electrically connected to a power source of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; coil 211 is electrically connected to a battery (not shown) of the smartwatch).
Choi teaches the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; a watch holder part 110 covers part of the middle frame and part of the screen).
Choi teaches that at least part of the screen exposed out of the body structure serves as a display control interaction region (Figs. 1-2; ¶[38]; part of the display is exposed out of the cradle 100 serves as a display control interaction region).
Choi teaches wherein the display control interaction region is at least configured to implement a preset display interaction function (¶[38]; “display element for outputting numbers, characters, images, etc.”).
Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises a first portion and a second portion, and the first portion covers at least part of the middle frame circumferentially (See annotated Fig. 1 below. The first portion covers part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen).
With respect to claim 8, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Choi teaches wherein the charging source comprises a wireless charging coil arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100. One of ordinary skill understands that a coil can be a charging source as well).
Choi teaches the power source comprises a wireless power supply coil arranged on the wearable apparatus body, when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body, the wireless charging coil is fitted to the wireless power supply coil in an alignment manner (¶[55]; the smartwatch’s coil (i.e, arranged in the smartwatch) and wireless charging module 200 is assembled and fitted to the smartwatch, the coil 211 is aligned to the smartwatch’s coil).
With respect to claim 9, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Choi teaches wherein the wireless charging coil is arranged in a third portion of the body structure corresponding to a rear housing of the wearable apparatus body in position (See annotated Fig. 3 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and further in view of You et al. (USPGPN 20170201108; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the European Search Opinion).
With respect to claim 3, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Choi teaches that the charging source is arranged on an inner surface of the first portion, and the charging source is arranged corresponding to a connection arranged on the middle frame (Figs. 1-4; the charging coil 211 is arranged on an inner surface of the first portion, and the charging coil 211 transfers power to the smartwatch via the smartwatches coil (not shown) within the smartwatches middle frame).
However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source; and a connection contact.
You teaches a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source (Fig. 11; a charging connection terminal 260 connected to external battery 235).
You teaches a connection contact (Fig. 11; charging terminal 360).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency.
With respect to claim 4, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises an accommodating structure protruding from an outer surface of the first portion; and the charging source is assembled in an accommodating cavity defined by the accommodating structure, the inner surface comprises an alignment region corresponding to the accommodating cavity in position, and the charging source is arranged in the alignment region (See annotated Figs. 3-4 below).
Choi fails to explicitly teach the charging contact.
You teaches a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source (Fig. 11; a charging connection terminal 260).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency.
With respect to claim 5, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; ¶[01]; “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”).
However, Choi fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 5.
You teaches wherein the body structure comprises a preset region adjacent to the charging contact, and the preset region is provided with a first magnetic attraction member (Fig. 11; magnet 266 within a region adjacent to the charging connection terminal 260).
You teaches the first magnetic attraction member is fixed to the wearable apparatus body in an attracted manner (Fig. 11; magnet 266 attracts to the mobile terminal 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency.
With respect to claim 6, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Choi fails to explicitly teach wherein the charging contact comprises a first contact and a second contact, and the preset region is arranged between the first contact and the second contact.
You teaches wherein the charging contact comprises a first contact and a second contact, and the preset region is arranged between the first contact and the second contact (Fig. 5C; magnets 267 are arranged between contacts 260 in the preset region (e.g., a magnet is arranged between two contacts)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency.
With respect to claim 7, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches wherein the preset region is provided with a first clamping portion; and when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body, the first clamping portion is fixed to the wearable apparatus body in a clamping manner (See annotated Figs. 3-4 below. Figs. 1-2; show how the smartwatch is clamped to the charging device).
With respect to claim 13, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. Further, Choi teaches the third portion, the rear housing, and the mobile charging apparatus is assembled to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-4 as cited above).
However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a third magnetic attraction member, a fourth magnetic attraction member corresponding to the third magnetic attraction member in position, and the third magnetic attraction member is fixed to the fourth magnetic attraction member in an attracted manner.
You teaches a third magnetic attraction member, a fourth magnetic attraction member corresponding to the third magnetic attraction member in position, and the third magnetic attraction member is fixed to the fourth magnetic attraction member in an attracted manner (Fig. 12; magnetic element 250 in the charger 200 and metal member 375 in the mobile terminal 300 are magnetically attracted so that they are fixed to each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (Korean Patent KR-20210158472-A; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the European Search Opinion).
With respect to claim 10, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the third portion such that the side facing the wearable apparatus body is provided with a metal layer, while the opposite side includes a leather layer, with the wireless charging coil arranged between the metal layer and the leather layer, as this represents a straightforward and predictable design variation. This arrangement provides the benefit of supporting effective wireless charging performance via the metal layer while presenting a leather exterior that improves comfort and appearance.
With respect to dependent claims 11 and 12, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the third portion to have a thickness less than or equal to that of each of the first portion and the second portion, as this reflects a routine and predictable dimensional design choice. This arrangement provides the benefit of reducing overall bulk while improving flexibility and comfort, especially in areas intended to be closest to the wearer.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20150348495).
With respect to independent claim 16, Choi teaches an apparatus control method (Figs. 1-2; ¶[01]; “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”), applied to a wearable apparatus comprising a wearable apparatus body (Fig. 1; body of smartwatch 1) and a mobile charging apparatus (Fig. 1; wireless charging module 200).
Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus comprising a body structure (Fig. 1; cradle 100) and a charging source arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100).
Choi teaches wherein when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; the wireless charging module 200 is fitted to the smartwatch 1).
Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is detachably assembled to the wearable apparatus body by means of the body structure (Fig. 2; the wireless charging module 200 is detachably assembled to the body of the smartwatch 1 by means of the cradle 100).
Choi teaches the charging source is electrically connected to a power source of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; coil 211 is electrically connected to a battery (not shown) of the smartwatch).
Choi teaches the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; a watch holder part 110 covers part of the middle frame and part of the screen).
Choi teaches that at least part of the screen exposed out of the body structure serves as a display control interaction region (Figs. 1-2; ¶[38]; part of the display is exposed out of the cradle 100 serves as a display control interaction region).
Choi teaches wherein the display control interaction region is at least configured to implement a preset display interaction function (¶[38]; “display element for outputting numbers, characters, images, etc.”).
Choi teaches wherein the apparatus control method comprises receiving a control signal that the power source is connected to or disconnected from the charging source (¶[55]; one of ordinary skill understands that upon connection or disconnection of the smartwatch’s battery to the charging modules coil, a corresponding control signal is generated, and that when the primary coil is energized, a magnetic field is produced that inductively couples with the coil of the smartwatch to transfer power for charging).
Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises a first portion and a second portion, and the first portion covers at least part of the middle frame circumferentially (See annotated Fig. 1 below. The first portion covers part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen).
However, Choi fails to explicitly teach sending a mode switching instruction according to the control signal, wherein the mode switching instruction comprises switching of a display control region and/or switching of on and off of at least one function module of the wearable apparatus.
Kim teaches sending a mode switching instruction according to the control signal, wherein the mode switching instruction comprises switching of a display control region and/or switching of on and off of at least one function module of the wearable apparatus (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752 which are switched on/off based on a region control display instruction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim).
With respect to dependent claims 15 and 17, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 14 and 16, respectively. Further, Choi teaches the screen, the body structure, and the mobile charging apparatus (Figs. 1-4; as cited above).
However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a first display control region and a second display control region; and the body structure covers one of the first display control region and the second display control region, and the other one of the first display control region and the second display control region is exposed out of the mobile charging apparatus.
Kim teaches a first display control region and a second display control region (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752).
Kim teaches the body structure covers one of the first display control region and the second display control region, and the other one of the first display control region and the second display control region is exposed out of the mobile charging apparatus (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752 which are switched off based on a body covering the region without direct line of sight with the user and the regions that have direct line of sight with the user are switched on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim).
With respect to dependent claims 18-19, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 16 and 17, respectively. However, Choi fails to explicitly teach the limitations of 18-19.
Kim teaches adjusting display content according to the mode switching instruction, wherein the display content is associated with a display region and a started function module (Figs. 7-11; based on the instruction, the display unit 151 displays content within a region and a function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim).
With respect to claim 20, Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Choi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer instruction, wherein the computer instruction implements the apparatus control method when executed by a processor (One of ordinary skill understands the instructions implemented are stored in a memory and executed by a processor).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chae (USPGPN 20180259914) is about a watch-type mobile terminal, such as a smartwatch, that can be wirelessly charged while still being worn on a user’s wrist. The device has a main body, a band, a battery, and one or more wireless charging coils placed on the side, front, or band rather than only on the back. The idea is to let a charger couple to the watch from the outside while the watch remains on the wrist. The specification explains that this can avoid the inconvenience of removing the watch each time it needs charging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859