DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 ends with a semicolon (“;”) rather than a period (“.”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frederick et al. (US 10,800,313 B2), hereafter referred to as Frederick.
Consider claim 1. Frederick teaches an apparatus, comprising: a mechanism (160) configured to couple with an electric vehicle; and the mechanism configured to move an arm (150) to stow a device inside the electric vehicle and to deploy the device external to the electric vehicle.
Consider claim 2. Frederick teaches that the mechanism is configured to provide access to the device from a position external to the electric vehicle (via 290) and wherein the mechanism is at least one of a hinge, a joint or a swivel (see fig. 4).
Consider claim 3. Frederick teaches a data processing system, comprising at least one processor (110), coupled with memory (120). Frederick’s data processing system is capable of performing the recited functional language: determine, via a graphical user interface, a first indication to stow the device in a first position; and stow, responsive to the first indication, the device in the first position (see column 4, lines 28-47 and column 5, lines 35-40). Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 4. Frederick’s data processing system is capable of performing the recited functional language: determine, via the graphical user interface, a second indication to deploy the device to a second position; and deploy, responsive to the second indication, the device to the second position; wherein the first position is a position within the electric vehicle and the second position is a position external to the electric vehicle (see column 4, lines 28-47 and column 5, lines 35-40). Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 5. Frederick teaches a supporting module (300) coupled with the arm, the supporting module configured to support the device; and an assisting device (161) coupled with the supporting module, the assisting device configured to assist the arm in at least one of stowing the device or deploying the device.
Consider claim 6. Frederick teaches a locking mechanism (controller of actuator 160) coupled with the mechanism, the locking mechanism configured to lock the arm in at least one of a first position or a second position, wherein the first position is a position within the electric vehicle and the second position is a position external to at least a portion of the electric vehicle.
Consider claim 7. Frederick teaches that the arm is configured to deploy the device to a position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle and wherein the device is accessible from outside the electric vehicle with the device in the position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle (see fig. 4 or fig. 6).
Consider claim 8. Frederick’s apparatus is capable of stowing a device which includes a vehicle jack; and the arm configured to deploy the vehicle jack from within the electric vehicle to a position that is accessible from outside the electric vehicle, and the arm configured to stow the vehicle jack within the electric vehicle. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding article worked upon in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 17. Frederick teaches a method, comprising: connecting a mechanism (160) with an arm (150), the mechanism configured to couple with an electric vehicle, and the mechanism configured to move the arm to stow a device inside the electric vehicle and to deploy the device external to the electric vehicle (see figs. 2-8).
Consider claim 18. Frederick teaches that the mechanism is configured to provide access to the device from a position external to the electric vehicle (via 290).
Consider claim 19. Frederick teaches coupling a supporting module (300) with the arm, the supporting module configured to support the device; and coupling an assisting device (161) with the supporting module, the assisting device configured to assist the arm in at least one of stowing the device or deploying the device.
Consider claim 20. Frederick teaches that the arm is configured to deploy the device to a position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle and wherein the device is accessible from outside the electric vehicle with the device in the position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle (see fig. 4 or fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick (US 10,800,313 B2) in view of Rocholl et al. (US 2020/0346856 A1), hereafter referred to as Rocholl.
Consider claim 9. Frederick teaches a vehicle, comprising: an apparatus, including: a mechanism (160) coupled with the vehicle, the mechanism configured to move an arm (150) to stow a device inside the vehicle and to deploy the device external to the vehicle; a storage compartment (210) configured to hold a component, wherein a portion of the storage compartment is located between a body (245) of the electric vehicle and a ground surface (unnumbered; below wheels of the vehicle); and a track (linear track of 160; see fig. 6) configured to couple an object (contents of 300) with the vehicle and the track configured to adjust the object from a first position to a second position.
Frederick does not explicitly teach that the vehicle is an electric vehicle (the limitation “electric vehicle” is interpreted here as a term of art meaning “a vehicle that uses one or more electric motors for propulsion”). Rocholl teaches that electric vehicles are well-known in the art (see paragraph [0037]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Frederick’s vehicle to be an electric vehicle as taught by Rocholl in order to reduce emissions.
Consider claim 10. Frederick teaches that the mechanism is configured to provide access to the device from a position external to the electric vehicle (via 290).
Consider claim 11. Frederick teaches that the apparatus comprises: a supporting module (300) coupled with the arm, the supporting module configured to support the device; and an assisting device (161) coupled with the supporting module, the assisting device configured to assist the arm in at least one of stowing the device or deploying the device.
Consider claim 12. Frederick teaches that the apparatus comprises: a locking mechanism (controller of actuator 160) coupled with the mechanism, the locking mechanism configured to lock the arm in at least one of a first position or a second position, wherein the first position is a position within the electric vehicle and the second position is a position external to at least a portion of the electric vehicle.
Consider claim 13. Frederick teaches that the arm is configured to deploy the device to a position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle and wherein the device is accessible from outside the electric vehicle with the device in the position that is at least partially external to the electric vehicle (see fig. 6).
Consider claim 14. Frederick teaches that the apparatus comprises: a data processing system, comprising at least one processor (110), coupled with memory (120). Frederick’s data processing system is capable of performing the recited functional language: determine, via a graphical user interface, a first indication to stow the device in a first position; and stow, responsive to the first indication, the device in the first position (see column 4, lines 28-47 and column 5, lines 35-40). Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 15. Frederick teaches that the track comprises: an opening (280 or 290) configured to decouple the object with the electric vehicle; and the opening configured to couple the object with the electric vehicle in a third position, wherein the third position includes a first orientation that is different than a second orientation of at least one of the first position or the second position (see column 10, lines 28-30).
Consider claim 16. Frederick teaches that the storage compartment comprises: a housing (walls and floor of 210) configured to support the component; and a lid (205) configured to enclose the component within the housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various stowable loading devices for vehicles.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652