Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 4,498,721 (“van Dijk”).
Regarding claim 13, van Dijk discloses a processor socket assembly, comprising: a compliant lid (7) configured to press a processor (100) against a socket along a vertical direction (see Fig. 7), wherein the lid comprises:
a top surface and a bottom surface opposite the top surface (see Fig. 5), wherein the top surface is planar (the top surface of the portions 9 is planar) and is configured to face away from the processor, and wherein the bottom surface is configured to face the processor (bottom surface of 9 is planar); and
first, second, third and fourth segments (segments A, B, C, D, see below) surrounding a central opening (see above) so that the first segment is opposite the third segment (A is opposite C) and the second segment is opposite the fourth segment (B is opposite D), wherein the central opening is configured to expose at least a portion of the processor (see Fig. 6) and wherein the first segment (A) joins a first corner (bottom right corner) of the compliant lid to a second corner (bottom left corner) of the compliant lid (the corner portions are part of a monolithically formed body and are joined by portion A), wherein the first, second, third, and fourth segments define a continuous outer perimeter of the compliant lid (the segments are monolithically formed and a continuous outer perimeter defined by the outer edge of the segments is thereby defined).
Regarding claim 14, van Dijk discloses a first opening defined through a first portion of the first segment (L shaped opening at the bottom right, see above).
Regarding claim 15, van Dijk discloses wherein the first opening is further defined through a first portion of the second segment (the L shaped opening at the bottom right extends into a portion of segment B, see above).
Regarding claim 16, van Dijk discloses a second opening defined through a second portion of the second segment (L shaped opening at the top right, see above).
Regarding claim 17, van Dijk discloses wherein the second opening is further defined through a first portion of the third segment (the top right opening extends into a right side of segment C, see above).
Regarding claim 18, van Dijk discloses a third opening defined through a second portion of the third segment and a first portion of the fourth segment, and a fourth opening defined through a second portion of the fourth segment and a second portion of the first segment (L shaped opening at the top left, see above).
Regarding claim 19, van Dijk discloses wherein the compliant lid further comprises a fastener opening defined in the first corner, the fastener opening being shaped to permit passage of a fastener therethrough (see space accepting 12).
Regarding claim 20, van Dijk discloses a method for engaging a processor (100) to a socket (1) using a compliant lid (7) comprising top and bottom surfaces (see Fig. 5), first, second, third and fourth corners (see Fig. 5), and first, second, third and fourth segments surrounding a central opening (see segments A, B, C, D around an opening, see above), the first segment joining the first corner to the second corner (see above), the second segment joining the second corner to the third corner (see above), the third segment joining the third corner to the fourth corner (see above) and the fourth segment joining the fourth corner to the first corner (see above), the method comprising:
placing the processor on the socket (see Fig. 7 and col. 3, lns. 1 – 3);
placing the compliant lid on the processor (col. 3, lns. 4 – 6) so that:
the processor is sandwiched between the socket and the compliant lid (Fig. 7),
the bottom surface of the compliant lid faces the processor (see Fig. 7), and
the top surface of the compliant lid faces away from the processor (see Fig. 7), wherein the top surface is planar (the top surface of the portions 9 is planar);
causing the bottom surface of the compliant lid to press against the processor (see Fig. 7), and wherein causing the bottom surface of the compliant lid to press against the processor comprises applying force on the top surface of the compliant lid (see 12 applying force to the top surface of 7 which causes the bottom surface to press 100, Fig. 7), and wherein the first, second, third and fourth segments define a continuous outer perimeter of the compliant lid (the segments are monolithically formed and a continuous outer perimeter defined by the outer edge of the segments is thereby defined).
Furthermore, insofar as the present structure meets the claim requirements that the force applied at a midpoint of the first segment is larger than force applied at the first corner, the van Dijk reference also meets these requirements because the force applying structure is the same.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, insofar as the present structure meets the claim requirements of claims 21 and 22, the van Dijk reference also meets these requirements because the force applying structure is the same.
Regarding claim 23, van Dijk discloses applying force on the top surface of the compliant lid comprises pressing a heat sink (12, which conducts heat from the processor through 7 and which radiates heat into the air) on the top surface of the compliant lid (12 is on a top surface of 7).
Regarding claim 24, van Dijk discloses securing the compliant lid to a printed circuit board (PCB) on which the socket is mounted using a plurality of fasteners (12, and see the socket mounted to a printed circuit board as shown in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 25, van Dijk discloses securing the compliant lid to the PCB comprises engaging the fasteners (12) with the first, second, third and fourth corners of the compliant lid (see Figs. 6 – 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 7 and 10 – 12 are allowed. The reasons for allowance for then pending claim 9, found in the action mailed 09/17/2025, are applicable to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that portions 11 are provided at an angle, therefore van Dijk does not disclose a planar top surface as required by the claims. Examiner cannot concur. The flat and plate shaped top surface of portions 9 provide a planar surface, satisfying the claims. Although portions 11 project away from 9 at an angle, this does not nullify the planar characteristics presented by the top surface of portions 9.
Applicant argues that the identified portions do not provide a continuous outer perimeter, and that gaps between portions 11 mean the perimeter is broken. Examiner cannot concur. The outer perimeter of van Dijk, which includes the entirety of the outer edges of segments A, B, C, and D, may have a convoluted perimeter due to the positioning of portions 10/11 of the segments, but the lid is still a singular and monolithic member and a perimeter can be continuously traced all around the exterior edge of the lid.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833