DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. No Claim(s) have been amended; No Claims have been canceled; No Claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 1-30 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
The applicant argues in substance that YAHAGI does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 1, such as that (1) the same network entity is configured to perform (2) receiving first control information that schedules an energy transfer transmission from the first network entity to an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device and (3) transmitting first information including an indication that the first network entity will skip performance of at least a portion of the energy transfer transmission scheduled by the first control information. Rather, YAHAGI’s FIG. 19 and 21 are different network entities performing different steps.
The applicant further argues in substance that YAHAGI does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 15 regarding the EH-capable device nor the limitations of Claim 27 regarding the first network entity, second network entity, and EH-capable device.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. YAHAGI’s FIG. 19 and FIG. 21 are merely two different sequences of the same embodiment. In other words, the “Wireless Base Station (1, 2)” and “Wireless Power Transmitter 3” of FIG. 19 and FIG. 21, is the same the “Wireless Base Station (1, 2)” and “Wireless Power Transmitter 3” able to perform both the sequence of FIG. 19 and FIG. 21. Specifically, FIG. 19 is an illustration of control communication between a wireless base station, wireless power transmitter, and one wireless terminal apparatus; and FIG. 21 is a further, more specific, example of a case where control communication has already been established between a wireless base station, wireless power transmitter, and one wireless terminal apparatus and then, based on an indication to switch power transfer to another wireless terminal apparatus, control communication is established between a wireless base station, wireless power transmitter, and the another wireless terminal apparatus.
Regarding the limitation (1)-(3) of claim 1 in view of YAHAGI’s FIG. 21, the “Wireless Power Transmitter 3” is the network entity of (1) which is already performing wireless power transfer (S61) to the wireless terminal apparatus 41 (para 194 (“…wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus 41 is executed from the wireless power transmitter 3…on the basis of an existing schedule.”). YAHAGI’S FIG. 19 is an example of how this wireless power transfer (FIG. 21 S61) is established. YAHAGI’S FIG. 19 S27 shows the first network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 AND the EH-capable device/Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4 (2) receiving first control information from the wireless base station (1,2) that schedules an energy transfer transmission from the first network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 to an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device, such as Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4 in FIG. 19 or Wireless Terminal Apparatus 41 in FIG. 21. YAHAGI’S FIG. 21 S65 further shows the first network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 (3) transmitting first information including an indication that the first network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 will skip/stop performance of at least a portion of the energy transfer transmission scheduled by the first control information, wherein the first information is transmitted to the EH-capable device/Wireless Terminal Apparatus 41.
Regarding the limitation (1)-(3) of claim 15 in view of YAHAGI’s FIG. 21, the “Wireless Terminal Apparatus 41” is (1) the EH-capable device which is already receiving wireless power transfer from the first network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 (para 194 (“…wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus 41 is executed from the wireless power transmitter 3…on the basis of an existing schedule.”). See above relating to limitations (2) and (3).
Regarding limitations (1)-(3) of claim 27 in view of YAHAGI’s the “Wireless Terminal Apparatus 41” is the EH-capable device which is already receiving wireless power transfer from the second network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 (para 194 (“…wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus 41 is executed from the wireless power transmitter 3…on the basis of an existing schedule.”). YAHAGI’S FIG. 19 is an example of how this wireless power transfer (FIG. 21 S61) is established. While, FIG. 21 S76 is an example of how control information regarding scheduling can be sent between the entities, YAHAGI’S FIG. 19 S27 further shows the second network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 AND the EH-capable device/Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4 (2) receiving first control information from the first network entity/wireless base station (1,2) that schedules an energy transfer transmission from the second network entity/Wireless Power Transmitter 3 to an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device, such as Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4 in FIG. 19 or Wireless Terminal Apparatus 41 in FIG. 21. See above relating to limitations (2) and (3). For the purpose of examination, the arguments will be reformatted for clarity below.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those response above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 14-15, 23-24, 27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAHAGI et al. (US 20210167638 A1) (see 892 09/23/2025), hereby referred to as YAHAGI.
Claim 1:
YAHAGI teaches a first network entity for wireless communication (YAHAGI: FIG. 19 item 3 (“Wireless Power Transmitter”)), comprising: at least one communication interface (YAHAGI: FIG. 11 item 310 (“Communication Interface”)); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one communication interface (YAHAGI: FIG. 11 item 310 (“Processor”)), wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive first control information that schedules an energy transfer transmission from the first network entity to an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (YAHAGI: FIG. 19 item S27 (“Schedule Notification”) and S31 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein first control information/schedule notification schedules energy transfer from Wireless Power Transmitter 3/first network entity to Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4/EH-capable device); and transmit first information including an indication that that the first network entity will skip performance of at least a portion of the energy transfer transmission scheduled by the first control information (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S64 (“Stop Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein the first network entity can skip/stop a given energy transfer transmission and notify that it will be doing so to the network entity and the EH-capable device).
Claim 3:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, wherein the first control information schedules a plurality of energy transfer transmissions from the first network entity to the EH-capable device, wherein the plurality of energy transfer transmissions includes the energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 17, FIG. 21 S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) and para 194 (“…wireless power transfer…using the frequency F1…”) wherein scheduling of energy transfer includes scheduling of a plurality of energy transfer transmission until EH-capable device is fully powered).
Claim 4:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, wherein the first control information schedules the energy transfer transmission in a set of communication resources (YAHAGI: para 10 (“…the schedule information containing allocation of wireless resources to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer.”), and para 63 (“This scheduling determines allocation of a time, a frequency, and antennas…”) wherein first control info schedules a set of resources), and wherein the portion is a first subset of communication resources of the set of communication resources (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S64 (“Stop Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein abruptly stopping the scheduled transfer transmission means not fully using the scheduled set of communication resources).
Claim 8:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive second control information that schedules a second energy transfer transmission from the first network entity to the EH-capable device (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S76 (“Schedule Notification”) wherein first network entity can receive second control information for second energy transfer after a first energy transfer transmission is ended), wherein the second control information includes an indication for the first network entity to transmit second information if the first network entity will perform the second energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S77 (“Schedule Receipt Notification”) wherein the scheduling notification indicates that a receipt/second information is needed), wherein the second information indicates that the first network entity will transmit the second energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S77 (“Schedule Receipt Notification”) wherein the second information/receipt is a confirmation that first network entity will transmit the scheduled second energy transfer transmission), and wherein the first control information includes an indication for the first network entity to transmit the first information if the first network entity will skip performance of the energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S65 (“Stop Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein first information indicates network entity will skip the rest of the performance); transmit the second information (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S77 (“Schedule Receipt Notification”) wherein transmitting the second information depends on skipping the rest of the performance); and perform the second energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S79 (“Start Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein performing second energy transfer transmission depends on transmitting the second information).
Claim 14:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, wherein to transmit the first information, the first network entity is configured to: transmit the first information to the EH-capable device or a second network entity from which the first network entity received the first control information (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S64 (“Stop Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein first information is transmitted to the EH-capable device and the second network entity).
Claim 15:
YAHAGI teaches an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device for wireless communication (YAHAGI: FIG. 19 item 4 (“Wireless Terminal Apparatus”), comprising: at least one communication interface (YAHAGI: FIG. 11 item 310 (“Communication Interface”)); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one communication interface (YAHAGI: FIG. 11 item 310 (“Processor”)), wherein the EH-capable device is configured to: receive first control information that schedules an energy transfer transmission from a first network entity to the EH-capable device (YAHAGI: FIG. 19 item S27 (“Schedule Notification)); and receive, from the first network entity, first information including an indication that the first network entity will skip performance of at least a portion of the energy transfer transmission scheduled by the first control information (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 S64 (“Stop Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein the first network entity can skip/stop a given energy transfer transmission and notify that it will be doing so to the network entity and the EH-capable device).
Claim 23:
YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 15. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 24:
YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 15. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 4 above.
Claim 27:
YAHAGI teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one communication interface (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item 1 and 2 (“Wireless Base Station”) the first network entity communicating with an interface); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one communication interface wherein the first network entity is configured to: transmit, to a second network entity, first control information that schedules an energy transfer transmission from the second network entity to an energy harvesting (EH)-capable device (YAHAGI: FIG. 19 item S27 (“Schedule Notification”) and S31 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) wherein first control information/schedule notification schedules energy transfer from Wireless Power Transmitter 3/first network entity to Wireless Terminal Apparatus 4/EH-capable device) (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S76 (“Schedule Notification”) control information ); and receive, from the second network entity, first information including an indication that the second network entity will skip performance of at least a portion of the energy transfer transmission scheduled by the first control information (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S65 (“Stop Wireless Transfer”) wherein the second network entity can skip/stop a given energy transfer transmission and notify that it will be doing so to the first network entity).
Claim 29:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 27, wherein the first control information schedules a plurality of energy transfer transmissions from the second network entity to the EH-capable device, wherein the plurality of energy transfer transmissions includes the energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 17, FIG. 21 S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) and para 194 (“…wireless power transfer…using the frequency F1…”) wherein scheduling of energy transfer includes scheduling of a plurality of energy transfer transmission until EH-capable device is fully powered).
Claim 30:
YAHAGI teaches a method for wireless communication at a first network entity. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI in view of VANNUCCI et al. (US 20190181683 A1) (see 892 09/23/2025), hereby referred to as VANNUCCI.
Claim 2:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive second control information indicative of a communication resource for transmission of the first information.
VANNUCCI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive second control information indicative of a communication resource for transmission of the first information (VANNUCCI: para 379 (”The macro base station optionally directs the micro base stations as to which mobile and/or stationary device they are to communicate with, and which carrier frequency, spectral segment(s) and/or time/slot schedule of such spectral segment(s) are to be used by the micro base station when communication with certain mobile or stationary devices.”) wherein it is known for a first network entity to receive control information containing resources to send a transmission, such as to a terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the FIG. 1 system, including a wide-area base station, power transmitter, and EH-capable wireless terminal, of YAHAGI with the scheduling of resources of VANNUCI for the benefit of reduced power consumption (VANNUCI: para 379).
Claim 28:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 27, wherein the first network entity is configured to: transmit, to the second network entity, second control information indicative of a communication resource for transmission of the first information, wherein the first information is received via the communication resource (VANNUCCI: para 379 (”The macro base station optionally directs the micro base stations as to which mobile and/or stationary device they are to communicate with, and which carrier frequency, spectral segment(s) and/or time/slot schedule of such spectral segment(s) are to be used by the micro base station when communication with certain mobile or stationary devices.”) wherein it is known for a first network entity send control information containing resources to a second network entity for sending a transmission, such as to a terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the FIG. 1 system, including a first network entity, power transmitter as the second network entity, and EH-capable wireless terminal, of YAHAGI with the scheduling of resources of VANNUCI for the benefit of reduced power consumption (VANNUCI: para 379).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI in view of BERGGREN et al. (US 20240429742 A1) (see 892 09/23/2025), hereby referred to as BERGGREN.
Claim 5:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first network entity is configured to: perform the energy transfer transmission via a second subset of the set of communication resource.
BERGGREN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first network entity is configured to: perform the energy transfer transmission via a second subset of the set of communication resources (BERGGREN: FIG. 4 item 910 (“Adjusted configuration”) and item 914 (“Communication using adjusted configuration”); and para 102 (“When the indicated present energy harvesting efficiency being equal to or above a predetermined second energy harvesting efficiency threshold, the configuration may be adjusted by reducing the time-gaps…”) wherein energy transfer is performed on a second set of resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with BERGGREN for the benefit of avoiding communication interruption (BERGGREN: para 11).
Claim 6:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, wherein the first control information schedules the energy transfer transmission in a first set of communication resources (YAHAGI: para 10 (“…the schedule information containing allocation of wireless resources to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer.”), and para 63 (“This scheduling determines allocation of a time, a frequency, and antennas…”) wherein first control info schedules a set of resources), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information includes an indication of a second set of communication resources in which the first network entity is capable of a second energy transfer transmission from the first network entity to the EH-capable device.
BERGGREN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first information includes an indication of a second set of communication resources in which the first network entity is capable of a second energy transfer transmission from the first network entity to the EH-capable device (BERGGREN: FIG. 4 item 910 (“Adjusted Configuration”) the first information indicating that it will skip performing on current resources; FIG. 4 item 914 (“Communication using adjusted configuration”) a second energy transfer transmission on the adjusted configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with BERGGREN for the benefit of avoiding communication interruption (BERGGREN: para 11).
Claim 25:
YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 24. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 5 above.
Claim 26:
YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 15. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI in view of DAI et al. (US 20250105878 A1) (see 892 09/23/2025), hereby referred to as DAI.
Claim 7:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information includes an indication of a set of network entities capable of energy transfer transmissions to the EH-capable device.
DAI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first information includes an indication of a set of network entities capable of energy transfer transmissions to the EH-capable device (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1020 (“Receive, from the base station, an energy supply re-selection response message, or an energy supply release response message and an energy supply re-request response message.”) and para 167 (“The energy supply re-selection response message includes at least one of…a list of energy supply cells.”) wherein first information can include list of energy supply cells/a set of network entities for energy transfer transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
Claim 9:
YAHAGI teaches the first network entity of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive, from the EH-capable device, second information including a first indication to skip performance of the energy transfer transmission, wherein, to transmit the first information, the first network entity is configured to transmit, based on the second information, the first information.
DAI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive, from the EH-capable device, second information including a first indication to skip performance of the energy transfer transmission (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”) wherein the message tells the first network entity to skip performance of the rest of the energy transfer transmission), wherein, to transmit the first information, the first network entity is configured to transmit, based on the second information, the first information (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1020 (“Receive, from the base station, an energy supply re-selection response message, or an energy supply release response message and an energy supply re-request response message”) wherein the response message is the first information in response to the second information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI, the combination hereby referred to as YAHAGI-DAI, for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
Claim 10:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the first network entity of claim 9, wherein the first network entity is configured to: perform a second energy transfer transmission a period of time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a first wireless power transfer and item S80 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a second wireless power transfer at a time after the first wireless power transfer), wherein the second information includes a request for performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”) wherein the message tells the first network entity to perform a second energy transfer transmission after/some time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI, the combination hereby referred to as YAHAGI-DAI, for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
Claim 16:
YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the EH-capable device is configured to: transmit, to the first network entity, second information including a first indication to skip the energy transfer transmission, wherein the first information is responsive to the second information.
DAI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the EH-capable device is configured to: transmit, to the first network entity, second information including a first indication to skip performance of the energy transfer transmission (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”) wherein the message tells the first network entity to skip performance of the rest of the energy transfer transmission), wherein the first information is responsive to the second information (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1020 (“Receive, from the base station, an energy supply re-selection response message, or an energy supply release response message and an energy supply re-request response message”) wherein the response message is the first information in response to the second information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI, the combination hereby referred to as YAHAGI-DAI, for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
Claim 17:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 16, wherein YAHAGI teaches the EH-capable device is configured to: identify that an energy level of the EH-capable device satisfies a threshold (YAHAGI: para 86 (“…where a charging state value…of the battery…is equal to or less than a threshold value, it is determined that priority is high, and the wireless power transfer is first executed…if larger than the threshold value, it is determined that priority is low, and the wireless power transfer is executed later…”) wherein an energy level is determined in order to determine when to perform wireless power transfer), but does not explicitly disclose wherein to transmit the second information, the EH-capable device is configured to transmit, based on the identification, the second information.
DAI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein to transmit the second information, the EH-capable device is configured to transmit, based on the identification, the second information (DAI: para 143-145 (“The energy supply release message…may include at least one of energy harvesting status…completion…duration…efficiency…charging state, for example, 100%, 80%, 60%, 50%, etc.…”) and para 164 (“…the terminal device…has not completed energy harvesting and needs to continue energy harvesting…”) wherein based on identifying an energy level, sending second information to indicate that the current energy transfer needs to be skipped (ended or re-scheduled)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the identifying of an energy level threshold of YAHAGI with second information based on identifying the energy level of DAI for the benefit of stopping the energy supply in a timely manner to reduce useless energy consumption (DAI: para 147).
Claim 19:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 16, wherein the EH-capable device is configured to: receive a second energy transfer transmission after a period of time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a first wireless power transfer and item S80 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a second wireless power transfer at a time after the first wireless power transfer), wherein the second information includes a request for performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”) wherein the message tells the first network entity to perform a second energy transfer transmission after/some time after the scheduled energy transfer transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
Claim(s) 11, 13, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI in view of DAI, and in further view of HE (US 20250247837 A1) (see 892 09/23/2025).
Claim 11:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the first network entity of claim 10, wherein the second information indicates performance of the second energy transfer transmission (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”)), wherein the first control information schedules the energy transfer transmission in a first set of communication resources (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) the scheduled energy transfer transmission in a first set of resources), and wherein the second set of communication resources is subsequent to the first set of communication resources by the period of time (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) the scheduled energy transfer transmission in a first set of resources and item S80 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a second energy transfer transmission in a second set of resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
However, YAHAGI-DAI does not explicitly disclose wherein the second information indicates a second set of communication resources.
HE, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second information indicates a second set of communication resources (HE: para 6 (“…transmitting, by a second device, first request information to a first device, where the first request information is used for requesting the first device to transmit a target signal, and the target signal is used for the second device to perform power harvesting…”) and para 194-195 (“…the first request information includes at least one of: a time length of the target signal…a strength of the target signal…spatial information of the target signal…”) wherein second information from the EH-capable device indicates an energy harvesting configuration related to energy transfer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI-DAI with HE for the benefit of improved efficiency (HE: para 344).
Claim 13:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the first network entity of claim 10, wherein the second information indicates a performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time (DAI: FIG. 10 item S1010 (“Send an energy supply re-selection message, or an energy supply release message and an energy supply re-request message to the base station”) and (YAHAGI: FIG. 21 item S61 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) the scheduled energy transfer transmission in a first set of resources and item S80 (“Wireless Power Transfer”) a second energy transfer transmission in a second set of resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI with DAI, the combination hereby referred to as YAHAGI-DAI, for the benefit of continuing energy harvesting in the case the EH-capable device leaves a coverage range (DAI: para 164).
However, YAHAGI-DAI does not explicitly disclose wherein the second information indicates a component carrier for performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time, a frequency band for performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time, a transmission configuration indicator state for performance of the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time, a source network entity to perform the second energy transfer transmission after the period of time, an energy harvesting configuration associated with the second energy transfer transmission, or a combination thereof.
HE, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second information indicates an energy harvesting configuration associated with the second energy transfer transmission (HE: para 6 (“…transmitting, by a second device, first request information to a first device, where the first request information is used for requesting the first device to transmit a target signal, and the target signal is used for the second device to perform power harvesting…”) and para 194-195 (“…the first request information includes at least one of: a time length of the target signal…a strength of the target signal…spatial information of the target signal…”) wherein second information from the EH-capable device indicates an energy harvesting configuration related to energy transfer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified YAHAGI-DAI with HE for the benefit of improved efficiency (HE: para 344).
Claim 20:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 19. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 11 above.
Claim 22:
YAHAGI-DAI teaches the EH-capable device of claim 19. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 13 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 18, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416