Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejection have been carefully considered and are moot because they do not apply to the new references used in the current office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowser (US 20110280170) in view of Desai (US 20210235325) further in view of Zhang (US 20230239784).
Regarding claim 1, Bowser discloses a device, comprising:
a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; a network interface controller configured to be in communication with a network switch via an ethernet connection ([0066-67]);
a plurality of transceivers configured to provide wireless network access to a plurality of clients wherein each of the plurality of clients has an associated throughput ([0042-44][0123], the data may include the number of associated clients, as well as throughput, data rate), and
a dynamic power saving logic ([0042-44]), configured to:
determine an ethernet connection speed; adjust the plurality of device transceivers in response to the determined ethernet connection speed ([0111], Ethernet PHY 3202 may renegotiate/adjust a lower power link speed with the controller (after determining the current Ethernet speed));
inspect the client throughput for each of the plurality of clients ([0123][0130], data may include the number of associated clients, as well as throughput for each associated client);
Bowser do not explicitly disclose adjust the plurality of device transceivers on a wireless side of the device by powering down one or more of the plurality of device transceivers in response to the determined ethernet connection speed only supplying a certain throughput that is less than a total wireless throughput capacity speed capable by the plurality of device transceivers operating in a full power state, thereby matching between the wired side of the device and the wireless side of the device;
Desai discloses adjust the plurality of device transceivers on a wireless side of the device by powering down one or more of the plurality of device transceivers in response to the determined ethernet connection speed only supplying a certain throughput that is less than a total wireless throughput capacity speed capable by the plurality of device transceivers operating in a full power state, thereby matching between the wired side of the device and the wireless side of the device (Desai, [0026], fig. 1, the switch is limited if, for example, ten APs are each connected to a 1 Gbps port on a switch that has one 5 Gbps link out to a router and, all traffic to and from the APs, needs to go through the one 5 Gbps link. If each AP is trying to push 1 Gbps up through the switch link to the router, the APs can be bottlenecked by the 5 Gbps link at the egress port. [0033], total capacity of the radio is determined by each SS's capacity multiplied by total number of spatial streams supported. When backend capacity (or Ethernet link speed) is reduced, a wireless radio can reduce the number of spatial streams supported to further reduce overall bandwidth consumption (that is matching between the wired side of the device and the wireless side of the device). Spatial streams are radio chains that carry unique set of data to one or many stations. Reducing the number of spatial streams (on the wireless side of the device) is shutting down some of the radio chains corresponding to the spatial streams; [0021-22][003][0092]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of power saving in communication networks as given by Bowser with the teachings of shutting power based on network conditions given by Desai. The motivation for doing so would have been to save energy.
Bowser and Desai do not explicitly disclose compare the inspected client throughput against a first predetermined threshold; and shut down a transceiver, in response to the inspected client throughput being below the first predetermined threshold.
Zhang discloses compare the inspected client throughput against a first predetermined threshold; and shut down a transceiver, in response to the inspected client throughput being below the first predetermined threshold (Zhang, [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period (for example, during the night of a working day), part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of power saving in communication networks as given by Bowser with the teachings of adjusting power based on threshold given by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to save energy.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected similarly noting that Bowser discloses operating in the 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz frequency bands.
Regarding claim 2, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the ethernet connection speed is a negotiated ethernet link speed between the device and the network switch (Bowser, [0111], Ethernet PHY 3202 may renegotiate/adjust a lower power link speed with the controller or the network switch. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 2, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to: access a total speed of the plurality of transceivers; and compare the negotiated ethernet link speed against the total speed of the plurality of transceivers (Bowser, [0111][0130], Ethernet PHY 3202 may renegotiate/adjust a lower power link speed with the controller (after determining the current ethernet speed). Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 3, wherein the adjustment of the plurality of device transceivers comprises powering down one or more of the transceivers in response to the negotiated ethernet link speed being less than the total speed of the plurality of transceivers (Bowser, [0111][0130], Ethernet PHY 3202 may renegotiate/adjust a lower power link speed with the controller (after determining the current ethernet speed; Zhang, [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period (for example, during the night of a working day), part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 4, wherein the adjustment of the plurality of device transceivers is also based on client preference data (Bowser, [0100], a user interface may be provided at the controller to enable a network administrator to select thresholds. Thresholds may be selected to balance desired network performance with power savings, [0094], it is usually desirable for a client to link to a closer AP where SNR will be lower and, consequently, data rates and throughput will be higher).
Regarding claim 6, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 5, wherein the client preference data comprises at least one preferred energy band of wireless network connection (Bowser, [0068], the user can choose 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz band).
Regarding claim 7, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 1, wherein determining the ethernet connection speed is based on at least a number of associated clients or the client throughput (Bowser, [0100], load threshold (or related to connection speed) can be triggered by the number of clients; Zhang, [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold, part of network-side resources may be turned off or the connection speed is reduced to zero to save energy. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to shut down a processor, in response to the inspected client throughput being below the first predetermined threshold (Zhang, [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period (for example, during the night of a working day), part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 8, wherein the first predetermined threshold is determined by accessing a look-up table (This is considered as minor implementation details: determining the threshold using values in a searchable look-up table is within the scope of the skilled person's customary practice. For example, one can modify Table 4, taught by Zhang, the first column being the predetermined threshold).
Regarding claim 10, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 9, wherein the look-up table contains a plurality of entries associated with the inspected client throughput (This is considered as minor implementation details: including the inspected threshold in a searchable look-up table is within the scope of the skilled person's customary practice. For example, one can modify Table 4, taught by Zhang, the second column being the inspected client throughput).
Regarding claim 11, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of entries within the look-up table has an associated number of processors to operate (This is considered as minor implementation details: including the number of processors in a searchable look-up table is within the scope of the skilled person's customary practice. For example, one can modify Table 4, taught by Zhang, the third column being the number of processors available. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to:
monitor the plurality of clients being provided wireless network access; compare the monitored plurality of clients against a second predetermined threshold; and power on a transceiver, in response to the monitored plurality of clients exceeding the second predetermined threshold (Bowser, [0099], monitor clients; [0125-26], if the load on a first access point exceeds a predefined threshold, an adjacent access point may be activated; adjacent access points are activated to determine if the client can receive better throughput with one of the adjacent access points; Zhang, [0032], the energy-consumption influencing factor data may be used for the subsequent decision-making on the energy-saving strategy and includes factors such as the number of users, throughput. Desai, [0026][0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 14, wherein the adjustment of the plurality of transceivers includes powering off the frequency band in response to each of the inspected plurality of clients not utilizing the frequency band (Bowser, [0049][0068][0092], a lightly loaded controller will enter a power save mode; Zhang, [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period, part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy. Desai, [0026][0033]). .
Regarding claim 16, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 15, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to: access client preference data associated with the frequency band; and retain power to the frequency band based on the accessed client preference data (Bowser, [0100], a user interface may be provided at the controller to enable a network administrator to select thresholds. Thresholds may be selected to balance desired network performance with power savings, [0094], it is usually desirable for a client to link to a closer AP where SNR will be lower and, consequently, data rates and throughput will be higher).
Regarding claim 17, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 14, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to: steer one or more clients associated with the frequency band toward a different frequency band; and power off the frequency band in response to the steering of the associated clients being completed (Zhang, [0043], handover from one cell (using one frequency band) to another cell (using a different frequency band; [0032], if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period, part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy).
Regarding claim 18, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 17, wherein the dynamic power saving logic is further configured to: access client preference data associated with the frequency band; and retain power to the frequency band based on the accessed client preference data (Bowser, [0100], a user interface may be provided at the controller to enable a network administrator to select thresholds. Thresholds may be selected to balance desired network performance with power savings, [0094], it is usually desirable for a client to link to a closer AP where SNR will be lower and, consequently, data rates and throughput will be higher).
Regarding claim 19, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 18, wherein the steering of the one or more clients associated with the frequency band occurs in response to a number of clients associated with the frequency band is below a third predetermined threshold (Zhang, [0043], handover from one cell (using one frequency band) to another cell (using a different frequency band; [0032], the energy-consumption influencing factor data may be used for the subsequent decision-making on the energy-saving strategy and includes factors such as the number of users, throughput; if throughput is below a certain threshold in a time period, part of network-side resources may be turned off in this time period to save energy).
Regarding claim 20, Bowser, Desai and Zhang disclose the device of claim 19, wherein the steering of the one or more clients occurs across a second device, such that the frequency band of the one or more clients is retained when steered to the second device (Zhang, [0043], handover from one cell to another cell. Note, it is a common procedure to retain the current connection using the frequency band during handover (or before the handover is completed)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474