DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21, filed 6/26/23, are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/12/23 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because non-patent literature document 2 does not have a date listed on the IDS. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a feedback control mechanism…” in claims 2 and 10 (corresponding structure is in [0132] “one or more sensors and provided to the controller”).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “At” in lines 4 and 5 that should not be capitalized.
Claim 14 recites “a chest compression or constriction cycles” which is suggested to be changed to --chest compression or constriction cycles-- for grammatical reasons.
Claim 21 recites “based on measurement” suggested to be changed to --based on a measurement-- for grammatical reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6-8, 10-13, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12 and 13 recite “the compressor” however it is unclear which compressor applicant is referring back to.
Claim 4 recites “the abdominal constriction,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15 and 21 recite “the constrictor” however it is unclear which constrictor applicant is referring back to.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “the timing” in line 1, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites “the CPR cycle,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 21 recites “the location,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 12 recites “a pneumatic bladder positioned under the patient, wherein the pneumatic bladder under the patient is adapted to inflate simultaneously with the compression of the compressor, thereby applying force on the patient upwards into the compressor” which appears to positively recite the patient.
Claim 14 recites “the airway occluder provides temporary synchronized full or partial obstruction of an airway” which appears to positively recite the airway of a user.
Claim 15 recites “at least one of the at least one compressors is a pneumatic sternal bladder over the sternal area of the anterior chest” which appears to positively recite the anterior chest of a patient.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karve et al. (2014/0155792).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 9 and 11c Karve discloses a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device to improve hemodynamics and clinical outcomes of patients suffering cardiac arrest, or other low-flow states, the CPR device comprising: At least one compressor (120 and 118 [0085], or 120 [0085] or 112, 118 and 1104” [0085], [0091]]) adapted to compress a chest of a patient; and At least one constrictor (112 [0085]) adapted to constrict a chest of the patient.
Regarding claim 3, Karve discloses that the at least one compressor is further adapted to forcefully decompress the chest of the patient (via 118 [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Karve discloses that the at least one constrictor 112 is also the at least one compressor 112 adapted to compress the chest of the patient (112 both compresses and constricts the chest of the patient [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Karve discloses that the at least one constrictor is selected from the group consisting of a constricting belt (112 [0041]), an inflatable pneumatic device, a series of inflatable pneumatic chambers (or 1104 fig. 11c [0091]), and a band that has inflatable pneumatic chambers on all or a portion of the inner circumference of the band (band 112 with inflatable pneumatic chambers 1104, fig. 11c [0091]).
Regarding claim 11, Karve discloses that the constrictor is adapted to provide non-uniform constriction that provides greater constriction to one area of the chest than another ([0091]).
Regarding claim 12, Karve discloses a pneumatic bladder positioned under the patient (1104” Fig. 11c [0091]), wherein the pneumatic bladder under the patient is adapted to inflate simultaneously with the compression of the compressor ([0063]), thereby applying force on the patient upwards into the compressor ([0091]).
Regarding claim 13, Karve discloses a removable outer structure (118 [0060]) adapted to provide support for the compressor and the constrictor to exert force on the patient (118 provides support to the compressor 120 and constrictor 112 since it is attached to the compressor and constrictor and exerts a decompression force on the patient [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Karve discloses that at least one of the at least one compressors is a pneumatic sternal bladder (Fig. 11c, anterior bladder 1104” over the sternum) over the sternal area of the anterior chest, and wherein the sternal bladder can be inflated and deflated separately to apply force to the sternal area separately from the force of the constrictor ([0091]).
Regarding claim 16, Karve discloses the sternal bladder is adapted to provide forceful decompression at the sternal area (in combination with 118 [0043-0044]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Halperin et al. (4,928,674).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-2 Halperin discloses a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) device to improve hemodynamics and clinical outcomes of patients suffering cardiac arrest, or other low-flow states, the CPR device comprising: At least one compressor (14, Col. 3, ll. 37-40) adapted to compress a chest of a patient; and At least one constrictor (12, Col. 3, ll. 37-40) adapted to constrict a chest of the patient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karve, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Itnati (2010/0198118).
Regarding claim 2, Karve is silent regarding a feedback control mechanism adapted to utilize feedback from the patient to automatically control parameters of the at least one compressor or the at least one constrictor.
However, Itnati teaches a feedback control mechanism adapted to utilize feedback from the patient to automatically control parameters of the at least one compressor or the at least one constrictor ([0129], [0198]-[0206], [0237]-[0260]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karve’s device with the addition of a feedback control mechanism, as taught by Itnati, for the purpose of providing enhanced CPR to a user.
Regarding claim 10, Karve is silent regarding a feedback control mechanism adapted to incorporate feedback from the patient and automatically control individual force contributions of the compressor and the constrictor.
However, Itnati teaches a feedback control mechanism adapted to incorporate feedback from the patient and automatically control individual force contributions of the compressor ([0129], [0198]-[0206], [0237]-[0250] from life-signs sensors 714) and the constrictor ([0129], [0253]-[0260] from life-signs sensors 814). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karve’s device with the addition of a feedback control mechanism, as taught by Itnati, for the purpose of providing enhanced CPR to a user. The modified device would used the feedback control mechanism to control all forces applied by the device, including the individual force contributions of both the at least one compressor and the at least one constrictor.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karve, as applied to claims 3 and 1 above, respectively, in further view of Petelenz et al. (2006/0047228).
Regarding claim 4, Karve is silent regarding that the compressor is adapted to provide compression and decompression in phase with the abdominal constriction of the constrictor.
However, in fig. 3B Petelenz teaches a compressor that is adapted to provide compression and decompression in phase with the abdominal constriction of the constrictor ([0011] 20a and 20 allow for synchronized compression and decompression of a thorax compressor and abdominal constrictor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karve’s device with the addition of an abdominal constrictor, as taught by Petelenz, for the purpose of providing enhanced CPR to a user.
Regarding claim 20, Karve discloses that the at least one constrictor further comprises a thoracic constrictor 112 adapted to constrict the thorax of the patient, but is silent regarding at least one abdominal constrictor adapted to constrict an abdomen of the patient, and wherein the CPR device further comprises a controller adapted to synchronize the thoracic constrictor, the abdominal constrictor, and at least one of the at least one compressors.
However, in fig. 3-3B Petelenz teaches a thoracic constrictor 36 adapted to constrict the thorax of the patient, an abdominal constrictor 36a adapted to constrict an abdomen of the patient. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karve’s device with the addition of an abdominal constrictor, as taught by Petelenz, for the purpose of providing enhanced CPR to a user. The modified Karve discloses synchronizing the thoracic constrictor ([0011] Petelenz, [0063] Karve), the abdominal constrictor ([0011] Petelenz), and at least one of the at least one compressors ([0063] Karve). The modified Karve discloses that the thoracic constrictor and the at least one of the compressors are synchronized by a controller ([0080][0095] Karve), but is silent regarding that the abdominal constrictor is synchronized by a controller. However, Karve teaches a constrictor controlled by a controller [0095]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Karve’s abdominal constrictor with a controller controlled constrictor, as taught by Karve, for the purpose of providing less work for a CPR provider.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karve, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hampton et al. (2004/0162587).
Regarding claim 14, Karve is silent regarding an airway occluder, wherein the airway occluder provides temporary synchronized full or partial obstruction of an airway during a portion of a chest compression or constriction cycles.
However, Hampton teaches an airway occlude (valve [0064]), wherein the airway occluder provides temporary synchronized full or partial obstruction of an airway during a portion of a chest compression or constriction cycles [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karve’s device with the addition of an airway occluder, as taught by Hampton, for the purpose of providing enhanced CPR to a user.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halperin, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ideker et al. (2005/0119706).
Regarding claim 17, Halperin is silent regarding pneumatic shoulder bladders adapted to encompass the region between the supraclavicular sulcas in the front over the shoulders to the suprascapular region in the back and provide compression during a portion of the CPR cycle.
However, in fig. 9 Ideker teaches pneumatic shoulder bladders adapted to encompass the region between the supraclavicular sulcas in the front over the shoulders to the suprascapular region in the back and provide compression during a portion of the CPR cycle (the shoulder bladders of vest 40v [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Halperin’s bladders with vests including shoulder bladders, as taught by Ideker, for the purpose of providing further compression to the user.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karve, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hanson (2014/0213942).
Regarding claim 18, Karve discloses a decompression element 118 on a patient side of a compressor 120 (abstract, fig. 1b), but is silent regarding wherein at least one of the at least one compressors has a flexible diaphragm within a hardened bell structure on a patient side of the compressor, and wherein application of positive pressure above the diaphragm augments compression, and application of negative pressure above the diaphragm augments sternal decompression.
However, Hanson teaches a compressor having a flexible diaphragm (66 [0035]) within a hardened (has a solid structure) bell structure (22 and 18) on a patient side of the compressor, and wherein application of positive pressure above the diaphragm augments compression [0032-0033][0054], and application of negative pressure above the diaphragm augments sternal decompression ([0032-0033][0054-0055] due to the adhesive maintaining the device’s location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Karve's compressor with the addition of a flexible diaphragm within a hardened bell structure is on the patient side of the compressor, as taught by Hanson, for the purpose of providing an alternate compression and decompression structure having the predictable results of providing compression and decompression to a user.
Regarding claim 19, Karve discloses a decompression element 118 on a patient side of a compressor 120 (abstract, fig. 1b), but is silent regarding wherein at least one of the at least one compressors has a flexible diaphragm within a hardened bell structure on a patient side of the compressor, and wherein application of positive pressure above the diaphragm augments compression, and application of negative pressure above the diaphragm augments sternal decompression.
However, Hanson teaches a compressor having a flexible diaphragm (66 [0035]) within a hardened (has a solid structure) bell structure (22 and 18) on a patient side of the compressor, and wherein the hardened bell structure with the flexible diaphragm is configured to attach to the patient when negative pressure is applied above the diaphragm [0032-0033][0054], so that the bell structure with the flexible diaphragm can be used to pull on the chest of the patient ([0032-0033][0054-0055] at least somewhat due to the adhesive maintaining the device’s location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Karve's compressor with the addition of a flexible diaphragm within a hardened bell structure is on the patient side of the compressor, as taught by Hanson, for the purpose of providing an alternate compression and decompression structure having the predictable results of providing compression and decompression to a user.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karve, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Schock et al. (5,490,820).
Regarding claim 21, Karve is silent regarding that the location on the thorax that is displaced by the constrictor changes adaptively based on measurement of a biomarker. However, in fig. 3 Schock teaches that the location on the thorax that is displaced by the constrictor changes adaptively based on measurement of a biomarker (Col. 11, ll. 11-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Karve's constrictor bladders with inflation that changes adaptively based on measurement of a biomarker, as taught by Schock, for the purpose of synchronizing chest compressions (anterior bladder inflation) with cardiac diastole, to raise aortic pressure and cardiac output (Col. 11, ll. 11-25 Schock).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim 7 further recites “a suction cup” not found in the instant claim. Therefore, any infringement over patented claim would result in infringement over current claims.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 19/192,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim 8 further recites “a suction cup” not found in the instant claim. Therefore, any infringement over patented claim would result in infringement over current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Freeman et al. (2014/0052032) directed to compression and ventilation system, Flood (2011/0098611) directed towards a compression and ventilation system and Newman et al. (4,424,806) directed towards a compression and ventilation system.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785