DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites: “analyzing the one or more odor-causing substances” which is considered to be mental processes because they encompass functions that can be performed in the human mind, such as reading an instrument output or interpreting data.
The judicial exception does not integrate the abstract idea into any particular practical application because the only use of the analysis is a “controlling” of an operating condition in the unit, which is a generic and high-level recitation of a use of the abstract idea, that amounts to generically linking the exception to the particular environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are directed towards a generic controlling operation, which only amounts to nothing more than well-understood, routine, and conventional elements in the art of flue gas separations, particularly evidenced by the art cited below.
The remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on claim 1 and further failing to integrate the exceptions or recite any additional elements that amount to anything more than well-understood, routine, and conventional elements in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2014/0199224) in view of Scoggins (NPL, 1970).
Regarding claim 1, Larsson (US 2014/0199224) teaches –
A method of monitoring type and amount of one or more an odor-causing substances in a flue gas, and of controlling an operating condition in an odor removal unit, the method comprising (title):
providing a flue gas comprising the one or more odor-causing substances (Figs. 1 and 7, flue gas F; par. 93);
introducing the flue gas into the odor removal unit to produce a gas phase stream (par. 93), wherein the gas-phase stream has a reduced number of odor-causing substances compared to the flue gas (par. 96);
dissolving a portion of the gas-phase stream in a solvent to produce a liquid-phase stream, wherein the liquid-phase stream has the reduced number of odor-causing substances dissolved therein (par. 95); and
measuring a property of the liquid-phase stream (sulfur dioxide sensor 105, par. 93);
analyzing the one or more odor-causing substances based on the measured absorbance to obtain an analysis result (par. 96); and
controlling the operating condition in the odor removal unit based on the analysis result (claim 4 discloses controlling the contact zone performance based on a measured and compared analysis result).
Larsson appears to be silent with regards to measuring specifically an absorbance of the liquid-phase stream.
Scoggins (NPL, 1970) (Cited on IDS, already present in file wrapper) discloses an odor control method (see abstract, p. 1091) including an absorption analysis of a liquid with spectrophotometry using light at 276 nm (see fig. 1, “Results and Discussion” par. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Larsson such that there the absorbance is measured as taught by Scoggins to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to use a known effective analysis technique to arrive at a successful monitoring method. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including known analysis techniques for known gas detection applications, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Larsson further teaches the one or more odor-causing substances comprises sulfur dioxide (par. 97).
Regarding claim 3, Larsson further teaches the flue gas is introduced into a bottom of the odor removal unit, and the odor removal unit comprises a scrubber, a combustion device, an adsorption device, or a combination thereof (Fig. 1 shows this, the device is a scrubber, par. 97).
Regarding claim 4, Larsson further teaches the odor removal unit is the scrubber, and water is supplied to the top of the scrubber (par. 26).
Regarding claim 5, Larsson further teaches the solvent comprises water, an aqueous solution, an organic solvent, or a combination thereof (par. 26).
Regarding claim 6, Larsson is set forth above with regards to claim 5, but appears to be silent with regards to an NaOH or sulfuric acid solution.
Scoggins (NPL, 1970) (Cited on IDS, already present in file wrapper) discloses an odor control method (see abstract, p. 1091) including a solvent including NaOH (“Results and Discussion” par. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Larsson such that the aqueous solution comprises an NaOH solution as taught by Scoggins to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to use a known effective solvent to arrive at a successful monitoring method. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including known solvents for known applications, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 7-8, Scoggins further teaches an odor control method (see abstract, p. 1091) including an analysis with spectrophotometry using light at 276 nm (see fig. 1, “Results and Discussion” par. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Larsson such that there the absorbance is measured in a wavelength range of 170 – 280 nm as taught by Scoggins to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to use a known effective analysis technique to arrive at a successful monitoring method. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including known analysis techniques for known gas detection applications, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2014/0199224) in view of Scoggins (NPL, 1970) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Schroeter (US 3,152,251).
Regarding claim 10, modified Larsson appears to be silent with regards to a removing of solids.
Schroeter (US 3,152,251) teaches that in order to provide reliable sampling of a solution, the solution should be filtered prior to analysis (col. 3 ln 37-51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Larsson such that the solids are removed from the liquid-phase stream before measuring the absorbance as taught by Schroeter to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to provide the most reliable sampling possible to arrive at an improved monitoring method.
Regarding claim 11, modified Larsson further teaches the removing of solids is accomplished by filtration (col. 3 ln 37-51 of Schroeter).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the 101 rejection of claim 1 are persuasive and that rejection is withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments directed towards the abstract idea recited in former claim 9, now included in claim 1 per Applicant’s amendment, are not persuasive. “Analyzing” is a mental process that can be performed in the human mind as set forth above, and the only application of the mental process amounts to a mere “apply it”.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the 102 rejections are moot as the claims are no longer rejected under 102 as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards Kwan are moot as the reference is not relied upon anywhere in this rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards Schroeter and Scoggins are not persuasive because the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim. The claim requires monitoring “one or more odor-causing substances”, and does not recite any limitation directed towards the substances being known or unknown. Furthermore, absorbance analysis of a liquid stream would necessarily identify the characteristics of the stream, whether the identity of the substances are known or not.
Any alleged deficiencies of the prior art have been remedied by the newly cited Larsson, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, particularly in view of Scoggins.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1758