DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed on 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn due to amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed on 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0032952), herein after Kim.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (TWM617506U), herein after Chun with the publication date: 2021-09-21; attached is the human translation and Kim (US 2014/0032952).
Regarding claim 1, Chun discloses a charging method (abstract), adapted to an electronic device comprising a battery module (110, fig. 1), wherein the method comprises:
determining whether the electronic device is in a battery mode (determine the operating conditions of the electronic device, abstract; Note. the processor 140 determines the operating scenario of the electronic device100 (step S204), paragraph [0014] where the operating scenario can be any scenario where the battery power consumption is controlled and can be considered as a battery mode); and
in response to the electronic device being in the battery mode, determining a current system state of the electronic device and accordingly setting a corresponding power consumption threshold value (determine the operating conditions of the electronic device; adjust a new protection power consumption threshold value for the battery module based on the estimated power consumption and the determined operating conditions; Abstract, paragraph [0004]). and switching off a current transmission of the battery according to power consumption threshold value (In this way, when the power consumption of battery module 110 exceeds the new protection power consumption threshold, the control circuit of battery module 110 can suspend the power supply function of battery module 110, paragraph [0018]). Although Chun has discussed only the battery power modes, it does not explicitly discloses that wherein the battery mode refers to a power adapter is not inserted, and the electronic device is powered by the battery module.
Kim discloses an electronic apparatus to manage the power in the system. Kim further discloses plurality of the modes to manage the power in the system (fig. 5). Kim discloses the battery mode refers to a power adapter is not inserted, and the electronic device is powered by the battery module (When being switched from the adapter mode to the battery mode, a micro-computer of the conventional notebook computer receives a signal indicating that the adapter is disconnected therefrom according to a signal ADT3_SEL at a time 1; when the adapter is disconnected from the notebook computer that is being used with a sufficiently large load condition in the adapter mode, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the battery temporarily supplies a high electric power as indicated in a portion A due to use of the large loads. For several tens of milliseconds for which the system has been operated in the battery mode, paragraph [0008]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chun’s system to add the detection of the battery mode and adaptor mode as taught by Kim, in order to allows the electronic device to manage its power consumption according to power source and reduce excessive battery discharge.
Regarding claim 2, Chun further discloses wherein determining the current system state of the electronic device and accordingly setting the corresponding power consumption threshold value comprises:
determining whether the current system state is an operation mode (the processor 140 determines the operating scenario of the electronic device 100, paragraph [0014]); in response to the current system state being the operation mode, setting a first power consumption threshold value corresponding to the operation mode to a setting address of the battery module (the processor 140, which detects the power supply operation, can estimate the power consumption (wattage) of the power supply operation based on the type of external device. The SO mode is a normal mode that can perform actions. This is a non-power-saving scenario, paragraph [0013]-[0014]); and
in response to the current system state not being the operation mode, determining whether the current system state is a sleep mode (the processor 140 detects a power supply operation and determines that the operation scenario is S3 mode (where s3 mode is the sleep mode); paragraph [0014], [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Chun further discloses wherein determining the current system state of the electronic device and accordingly setting the corresponding power consumption threshold value further comprises:
in response to the current system state being the sleep mode, setting a second power consumption threshold value corresponding to the sleep mode to the setting address of the battery module, wherein the second power consumption threshold value is lower than the first power consumption threshold value (the processor 140 can adjust the initial protection threshold value corresponding to S3 mode to a new protection power consumption threshold value based on the power consumption estimated in S3 mode, paragraph [0016] where S3 is the power saving mode, thus, its setting power consumption threshold value would be less than the first threshold (paragraph [0014])); and
in response to the current system state not being the sleep mode, setting a third power consumption threshold value corresponding to a powered off mode to the setting address of the battery module, wherein the third power consumption threshold value is lower than the second power consumption threshold value (s5 mode is shutdown mode (considered to be powered off mode, paragraph [0014]); Note: the processor set the threshold for this mode would be less than the sleep mode threshold, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Chun further discloses wherein after accordingly setting the corresponding power consumption threshold value, the method further comprises: determining continuously whether a power consumption of the electronic device exceeds the corresponding power consumption threshold value in a set time; and switching off a current transmission of the battery module in response to the power consumption of the electronic device exceeding the corresponding power consumption threshold value in the set time (when the power consumption of battery module 110 exceeds the new protection power consumption threshold, the control circuit of battery module 110 can suspend the power supply function of battery module 110, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Chun in view of Kim discloses the charging method of claim 4. However, Chun is silent about in response to power adapter being inserted to withdraw the electronic device from the battery mode, turning on the current transmission of the battery module, and restoring a power consumption threshold value of the electronic device to a default value.
Kim discloses an electronic apparatus to manage the power in the system. Kim further discloses plurality of the modes to manage the power in the system (fig. 5). Kim discloses the power adaptor mode where in response to power adapter being inserted to withdraw the electronic device from the battery mode, turning on the current transmission of the battery module, and restoring a power consumption threshold value of the electronic device to a default value (paragraph [0061]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chun’s system to add the detection of the battery mode and adaptor mode as taught by Kim, in order to allows the electronic device to manage its power consumption according to power source and reduce excessive battery discharge.
Regarding claim 6, Chun discloses an electronic device (100, fig. 1), comprising:
a battery module (110, fig. 1), configured to power the electronic device (paragraph [0008]); and
a controller (130+140+120, fig. 1), coupled to the battery module and configured to determine whether the electronic device is in a battery mode(determine the operating conditions of the electronic device, abstract), wherein in response to the electronic device being in the battery mode, the controller determines a current system state of the electronic device and accordingly sets a corresponding power consumption threshold value (determine the operating conditions of the electronic device; adjust a new protection power consumption threshold value for the battery module based on the estimated power consumption and the determined operating conditions; Abstract, paragraph [0004]).
and switching off a current transmission of the battery according to power consumption threshold value (In this way, when the power consumption of battery module 110 exceeds the new protection power consumption threshold, the control circuit of battery module 110 can suspend the power supply function of battery module 110, paragraph [0018]). Although Chun only the battery power modes, it does not explicitly discloses that wherein the battery mode refers to a power adapter is not inserted, and the electronic device is powered by the battery module.
Kim discloses an electronic apparatus to manage the power in the system. Kim further discloses plurality of the modes to manage the power in the system (fig. 5). Kim discloses the battery mode refers to a power adapter is not inserted, and the electronic device is powered by the battery module (When being switched from the adapter mode to the battery mode, a micro-computer of the conventional notebook computer receives a signal indicating that the adapter is disconnected therefrom according to a signal ADT3_SEL at a time 1, paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chun’s system to add the detection of the battery mode and adaptor mode as taught by Kim, in order to allows the electronic device to manage its power consumption according to power source and reduce excessive battery discharge.
Regarding claim 7, Chun further discloses wherein the controller determines whether the current system state is an operation mode, in response to the current system state being the operation mode (the processor 140 determines the operating scenario of the electronic device 100, paragraph [0014]), the controller sets a first power consumption threshold value corresponding to the operation mode to a setting address of the battery module(the processor 140, which detects the power supply operation, can estimate the power consumption (wattage) of the power supply operation based on the type of external device. The SO mode is a normal mode that can perform actions. This is a non-power-saving scenario, paragraph [0013]-[0014]), and in response to the current system state not being the operation mode, the controller determines whether the current system state is a sleep mode(the processor 140 detects a power supply operation and determines that the operation scenario is S3 mode (where s3 mode is the sleep mode); paragraph [0014], [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Chun further discloses wherein in response to the current system state being the sleep mode, the controller sets a second power consumption threshold value corresponding to the sleep mode to the setting address of the battery module, wherein the second power consumption threshold value is lower than the first power consumption threshold value (the processor 140 can adjust the initial protection threshold value corresponding to S3 mode to a new protection power consumption threshold value based on the power consumption estimated in S3 mode, paragraph [0016] where S3 is the power saving mode, thus, its setting power consumption threshold value would be less than the first threshold (paragraph [0014]));, and in response to the current system state not being the sleep mode, the controller sets a third power consumption threshold value corresponding to a powered off mode to the setting address of the battery module, wherein the third power consumption threshold value is lower than the second power consumption threshold value (s5 mode is shutdown mode (considered to be powered off mode, paragraph [0014]); Note: the processor set the threshold for this mode would be less than the sleep mode threshold, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, Chun further discloses wherein the controller determines continuously whether a power consumption of the electronic device exceeds the corresponding power consumption threshold value in a set time, the controller switches off a current transmission of the battery module in response to the power consumption of the electronic device exceeding the corresponding power consumption threshold value in the set time(when the power consumption of battery module 110 exceeds the new protection power consumption threshold, the control circuit of battery module 110 can suspend the power supply function of battery module 110, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Chun in view of Kim discloses the charging method of claim 9. However, Chun is silent about in response to power adapter being inserted to withdraw the electronic device from the battery mode, turning on the current transmission of the battery module, and restoring a power consumption threshold value of the electronic device to a default value.
Kim discloses an electronic apparatus to manage the power in the system. Kim further discloses plurality of the modes to manage the power in the system (fig. 5). Kim discloses the power adaptor mode where in response to power adapter being inserted to withdraw the electronic device from the battery mode, turning on the current transmission of the battery module, and restoring a power consumption threshold value of the electronic device to a default value (paragraph [0061]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chun’s system to add the detection of the battery mode and adaptor mode as taught by Kim, in order to allows the electronic device to manage its power consumption according to power source and reduce excessive battery discharge.
Regarding claim 11, Chun discloses a charging method (paragraph [0006]), adapted to an electronic device comprising a battery module (110, fig. 1), wherein the method comprises: determining whether the electronic device is in a battery mode(determine the operating conditions of the electronic device, abstract; Note. the processor 140 determines the operating scenario of the electronic device100 (step S204), paragraph [0014] where the operating scenario can be any scenario where the battery power consumption is controlled and can be considered as a battery mode); in response to the electronic device being in the battery mode, determining a current system state of the electronic device and accordingly setting a corresponding power consumption threshold value (determine the operating conditions of the electronic device; adjust a new protection power consumption threshold value for the battery module based on the estimated power consumption and the determined operating conditions; Abstract, paragraph [0004]); determining continuously whether a power consumption of the electronic device exceeds the corresponding power consumption threshold value in a set time (), switching off a current transmission of the battery module in response to the power consumption of the electronic device exceeding the corresponding power consumption threshold value in the set time (the battery power is suspended for 30 seconds, paragraph [0018]);
Kim discloses an electronic apparatus to manage the power in the system. Kim further discloses plurality of the modes to manage the power in the system (fig. 5). Kim discloses in response to a power adapter being inserted to withdraw the electronic device from the battery mode, turning on the current transmission of the battery module, and restoring a power consumption threshold value of the electronic device to a default value, wherein the battery mode refers to a power adapter is not inserted, and the electronic device is powered by the battery module (the notebook computer can sufficiently supply an electric power in an adapter mode in which an adapter is connected to the notebook computer. However, in a battery mode in which the adapter is not connected to the notebook computer, because of the limitation of the delivered electric power, the notebook computer operates with a lower electric power than in the adapter mode, thereby preventing the overload of the battery thereof, paragraph [0005], fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chun’s system to add the detection of the battery mode and adaptor mode as taught by Kim, in order to allow the electronic device to manage its power consumption according to power source and reduce excessive battery discharge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859