DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1 “preparing a starch having [properties measured by measuring steps]” is understood to positively recite preparing a starch, but does not require performing the measuring steps.
A composition X with properties Y is met by a prior art teaching a composition X. See MPEP 2112.01.
Here, a composition (starch) having properties (e.g., a particular viscosity when measured using a particular method) is met by prior art that teaches the same composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that “Curry patent is silent regarding the claimed using of a rapid visco analyzer (RVA)”
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the claim does not require using of a rapid visco analyzer. Rather, the claim requires a composition (i.e., starch) that has certain properties (i.e., viscosity as measured by a rapid visco analyzer). Curry discloses the same composition and meets the claim.
If applicant intends for the claim to require the measuring steps, then the claim should positively recite the measuring steps. As recited in the claim, the measuring steps are used to describe the starch, but they are not positively recited steps in the method – they are not required to be performed.
As the claim is currently written, a person could infringe the claim by preparing a starch that has the properties and without performing the measuring steps. This is because the measuring steps are used to describe the viscosity of the starch in the claim.
If applicant intends for these measurement steps to have patentable weight as requires steps in the method claim, then the claim could be rewritten as:
-- preparing a starch having a value of 100 or less in an expression 1.000-7xT-9xn in which T represents a gelatinization peak temperature (°C) of the starch. and n represents a setback viscosity (mPa s) thereof,
to obtain the value –
Applicant argues the structure of a starch as claimed is not disclosed by Curry.
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the structure disclosed by the present application is starch and Curry also teaches starch. There is not disclosed structural difference between the claimed starch and Curry’s starch. Rather, Applicant claims a starch having properties measured by particular measurement steps.
Admittedly, this is not taught by Curry, however, the discovery of a new property in an otherwise old material (e.g., starch) is not novel. If the claimed starch is structural distinct, then whatever structural difference exists should be recited in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12286755 B2 in view of Curry (US4074959A)
In reference to claim 1 and 7 U.S. Patent No. US 12286755 B2 teaches a formed body producing method comprising: an accumulating step of accumulating a mixture including cellulose fibers and a binder, (depositing) the binder including starch particle configured to mutually bind the cellulose fibers when water is provided (moisturizing), and inorganic oxide particles, wherein the binder includes a composite particle in which the starch particle and the inorganic oxide particles are integrated such that the inorganic oxide particles are attached to the surface of the starch particle before the accumulating step, the inorganic oxide particles (claim 7) contain carbon, and the content of the carbon is 2% by mass or more relative to the mass of the inorganic oxide particles; a humidifying step of providing the accumulated mixture with water to facilitate a hydrogen bond between the cellulose fibers and the starch particle of the binder; and a forming step of obtaining a formed body by heating and applying pressure to the mixture provided with water (molding).
The claim does not recite depositing in air.
Curry discloses a method for manufacturing a molded body, comprising:
a deposition step of depositing a mixture containing fibers and a starch in air;
a moisturizing step of applying water to the mixture; and
a molding step of forming a molded body by heating and pressurizing the mixture to which the water is applied (“Dry fibres of
10% moisture content mechanical wood pulp mixed
with 4% dry starch are deposited on the wire 11 in an
air stream to form a random web of fibre and starch.
The web is sprayed with water by sprays 15 to provide
a moisture content of 35%. The moist web is consoli
dated by being subjected to hot pressing by passage
around the surface of a steam-heated cylinder 20 of
surface temperature 240° F. Two pressure nips are pro
vided by rollers 21 and 22 pressing against cylinder 20
with a pressure of 250 lb/linear inch.” [C3L1-9])
Curry demonstrates that the deposition of fiber and starch in air is known in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to form the formed body by depositing the materials in air.
A composition X with properties Y is met by a prior art teaching a composition X. See MPEP 2112.01.
Here, a composition (starch) having properties (e.g., a particular viscosity when measured using a particular method) is met by prior art that teaches the same composition.
In reference to claim 2-5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See quoted section of Curry, above, which teaches these claimed limitations.
Claims 1-6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11859346 B2 in view of Curry (US4074959A)
In reference to claim 1, US 11859346 B2 teaches a “formed body producing method comprising: an accumulating step of accumulating a mixture including fiber and starch, a humidifying step of providing the accumulated mixture with water, and a forming step of obtaining a formed body by heating and pressurizing the mixture provided with water” [Claim 1].
The claim does not recite depositing in air.
Curry discloses a method for manufacturing a molded body, comprising:
a deposition step of depositing a mixture containing fibers and a starch in air;
a moisturizing step of applying water to the mixture; and
a molding step of forming a molded body by heating and pressurizing the mixture to which the water is applied (“Dry fibres of
10% moisture content mechanical wood pulp mixed
with 4% dry starch are deposited on the wire 11 in an
air stream to form a random web of fibre and starch.
The web is sprayed with water by sprays 15 to provide
a moisture content of 35%. The moist web is consoli
dated by being subjected to hot pressing by passage
around the surface of a steam-heated cylinder 20 of
surface temperature 240° F. Two pressure nips are pro
vided by rollers 21 and 22 pressing against cylinder 20
with a pressure of 250 lb/linear inch.” [C3L1-9])
Curry demonstrates that the deposition of fiber and starch in air is known in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to form the formed body by depositing the materials in air.
A composition X with properties Y is met by a prior art teaching a composition X. See MPEP 2112.01.
Here, a composition (starch) having properties (e.g., a particular viscosity when measured using a particular method) is met by prior art that teaches the same composition.
In reference to claim 2-5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See quoted section of Curry, above, which teaches these claimed limitations.
In reference to claim 6 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See US 11859346 B2 at “starch is a particle having an average particle diameter of 1.0 μm or more and 30.0 μm or less.” [Claim 7]
Claims 1-7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. US 12138865 B2 in view of Curry (US4074959A)
In reference to claim 1, US 12138865 B2 teaches the claim except [see Claim 1 of US12138865] except that the US12138865 claim does not recite depositing in air.
Curry discloses a method for manufacturing a molded body, comprising:
a deposition step of depositing a mixture containing fibers and a starch in air;
a moisturizing step of applying water to the mixture; and
a molding step of forming a molded body by heating and pressurizing the mixture to which the water is applied (“Dry fibres of
10% moisture content mechanical wood pulp mixed
with 4% dry starch are deposited on the wire 11 in an
air stream to form a random web of fibre and starch.
The web is sprayed with water by sprays 15 to provide
a moisture content of 35%. The moist web is consoli
dated by being subjected to hot pressing by passage
around the surface of a steam-heated cylinder 20 of
surface temperature 240° F. Two pressure nips are pro
vided by rollers 21 and 22 pressing against cylinder 20
with a pressure of 250 lb/linear inch.” [C3L1-9])
Curry demonstrates that the deposition of fiber and starch in air is known in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to form the formed body by depositing the materials in air.
In reference to claim 2-5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See quoted section of Curry, above, which teaches these claimed limitations.
In reference to claim 6-7 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See claims 3-4 of US12138865.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Curry (US 4074959 A)
In reference to claim 1, Curry discloses a method for manufacturing a molded body, comprising:
a deposition step of depositing a mixture containing fibers and a starch in air;
a moisturizing step of applying water to the mixture; and
a molding step of forming a molded body by heating and pressurizing the mixture to which the water is applied (“Dry fibres of
10% moisture content mechanical wood pulp mixed
with 4% dry starch are deposited on the wire 11 in an
air stream to form a random web of fibre and starch.
The web is sprayed with water by sprays 15 to provide
a moisture content of 35%. The moist web is consoli
dated by being subjected to hot pressing by passage
around the surface of a steam-heated cylinder 20 of
surface temperature 240° F. Two pressure nips are pro
vided by rollers 21 and 22 pressing against cylinder 20
with a pressure of 250 lb/linear inch.” [C3L1-9])
A composition X with properties Y is met by a prior art teaching a composition X. See MPEP 2112.01.
Here, a composition (starch) having properties (e.g., a particular viscosity when measured using a particular method) is met by prior art that teaches the same composition.
In reference to claim 2-5 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See quoted section above, which teaches these claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744