DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 8, “a careful reading of Kim reveals that the destination in Kim is always a user- input destination, never another charging station within a predetermined system. Indeed, Kim does not describe another charging station as a possible destination at all.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses the user input destination can be a charging station based on the state of charge of the battery (paragraph [0127]-[0128]). Here the examiner is equating the user input destination as a charging station. The applicant's further arguments on page 9-10 are same related to the user input destination and can be addressed in a similar way as noted above.
The applicant further argues on pages 11, “Kim does not explicitly disclose using vehicle weight as a parameter in determining predicted battery regeneration. Kim's tables (Figs. 3A-C) show inclination and speed as parameters, but not weight. The fact that weight affects regeneration as a general physics principle does not establish that Kim actually teaches using weight as a factor in the calculation.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses the controller 170 allows the motor to be operated as a generator by inertial energy (E=1/2m
v
2
) and allows the battery to be charged by the motor that performs the power generation function. The controller 170 may identify the charging amount by regenerative braking when charging the battery in the charging station based on the information about the road in the search route and the information in the second table and may control the charging of the battery based on the identified amount of regenerative braking (paragraph [0186]-[0187]). The paragraphs clearly show that the battery regeneration is also determined based on the parameter mass (weight) of the vehicle.
The applicant arguments are not persuasive; thus, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kim (US 2021/0001834).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for charging an electric vehicle in a charging station system (abstract) comprising a plurality of charging stations separated by predetermined routes with known topography, each one of the charging stations being located at a known altitude above sea level , the electric vehicle having a known weight and a pre-determined regeneration efficiency (a position receiver configured to receive information of current position; an input configured to receive information of a destination and user input; and a controller configured to search for a route from the charging station to the destination based on the position information of the charging station and the position information of the destination during the preparation of charging at the charging station, identify the inclination of the road in the searched route based on the road information stored in the storage, acquire the charging amount by regenerative braking based on the identified inclination of the road and the information of the table, and control the charging of the battery based on the acquired charging amount by the regenerative braking, paragraph [0011] where the destination can be another charging station and regeneration energy of the vehicle is already stored in the storage) the method comprising:
- performing a charging event of a battery of the electric vehicle using an external power source at a first charging station (The battery may be charged with power supplied from a charger placed in a parking lot or charging station. That is, the battery 151 may be a battery that can be charged and discharged, paragraph [0065]);
- stopping the charging event at a predetermined charging level below the nominally fully charged level (paragraph [0242], [0245]), the predetermined charging level being set to correspond to the predicted battery regeneration when driving the electric vehicle along a predetermined route from the first charging station to a second charging station(The vehicle acquires 215 the charging amount charging amount by regenerative braking based on the information of the road in the searched route from the charging station to the destination and the second table, identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, and controls 216 the charging of the battery based on the identified charging allowance amount, paragraph [0261]), wherein the predicted battery regeneration is determined by at least the known altitude of the first charging station (paragraph [0252]), the known topography of the predetermined route between the first and second charging stations (The information of the road in the searched route may include information on the type of road, the inclination of the road, the speed limit of the road, and the traffic information, paragraph [0262] where the type of the road give the information about the topography of the route), the weight of the electric vehicle and the pre-determined regeneration efficiency of the electric vehicle (identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, paragraph [0261], fig. 3: Note: the regeneration efficiency of a vehicle is highly dependent on its weight. Heavier vehicles possess more kinetic energy, allowing for higher absolute energy recovery during braking, but they also require more energy to accelerate, leading to lower overall efficiency. Thus, weight is inherent property linked with regeneration efficiency .
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the predicted battery regeneration is determined as the most limiting battery regeneration of the battery of the electric vehicle occurring somewhere along the predetermined route between the first and second charging stations (paragraph [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein the most limiting battery regeneration of the battery of the electric vehicle along the predetermined route between the first and second charging stations is determined to a point along the predetermined route at which the battery of the electric vehicle is predicted to be nominally fully charged ((paragraph [0242]-[0243])Note: the 3% is the vehicle regenerative energy and the vehicle is considered to be fully charged at the destination).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further discloses wherein the charging event is a first charging event and the predetermined charging level is a first predetermined charging level, the method further comprising:
- performing a second charging event of the battery of the electric vehicle using an external power source at the second charging station.
- stopping the second charging event at a second predetermined charging level below the nominally fully charged level, the second predetermined charging level being set to correspond to the predicted battery regeneration when driving the electric vehicle along a predetermined route from the second charging station to a third charging station, wherein the predicted battery regeneration is determined by at least the known altitude of the second charging station, the known topography of the predetermined route between the second and third charging stations, the weight of the electric vehicle and the known regeneration efficiency of the electric vehicle (figs. 3A-C; shows the plurality of the destinations (chagrining station) where the method steps repeat as discussed in claim 1, fig. 5; paragraph [0207]-[0212]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a charging station system comprising a plurality of charging stations separated by predetermined routes with known topography, each one of the charging stations being located at a known altitude above sea level and being configured to charge an electric vehicle having a known weight and a pre-determined regeneration efficiency(a position receiver configured to receive information of current position; an input configured to receive information of a destination and user input; and a controller configured to search for a route from the charging station to the destination based on the position information of the charging station and the position information of the destination during the preparation of charging at the charging station, identify the inclination of the road in the searched route based on the road information stored in the storage, acquire the charging amount by regenerative braking based on the identified inclination of the road and the information of the table, and control the charging of the battery based on the acquired charging amount by the regenerative braking, paragraph [0011] where the destination can be another charging station and regeneration energy of the vehicle is already stored in the storage; Note: the regeneration efficiency of a vehicle is highly dependent on its weight. Heavier vehicles possess more kinetic energy, allowing for higher absolute energy recovery during braking, but they also require more energy to accelerate, leading to lower overall efficiency. Thus, weight is inherent property linked with regeneration efficiency), each charging station comprising an external power source configured to perform a charging event of a battery of the electric vehicle(The battery may be charged with power supplied from a charger placed in a parking lot or charging station. That is, the battery 151 may be a battery that can be charged and discharged, paragraph [0065]); and to stop the charging event at a predetermined charging level below the nominally fully charged level(paragraph [0242], [0245]), the predetermined charging level being set to correspond to the predicted battery regeneration when driving the electric vehicle along a predetermined route from the first charging station to a second charging station(The vehicle acquires 215 the charging amount charging amount by regenerative braking based on the information of the road in the searched route from the charging station to the destination and the second table, identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, and controls 216 the charging of the battery based on the identified charging allowance amount, paragraph [0261]), wherein the predicted battery regeneration is determined by at least the known altitude of the first charging station(paragraph [0252]), the known topography of the predetermined route between the first and second charging stations(The information of the road in the searched route may include information on the type of road, the inclination of the road, the speed limit of the road, and the traffic information, paragraph [0262] where the type of the road give the information about the topography of the route), the weight of the electric vehicle and the pre-determined regeneration efficiency of the electric vehicle(identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, paragraph [0261], fig. 3: Note: the regeneration efficiency of a vehicle is highly dependent on its weight. Heavier vehicles possess more kinetic energy, allowing for higher absolute energy recovery during braking, but they also require more energy to accelerate, leading to lower overall efficiency. Thus, weight is inherent property linked with regeneration efficiency).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a charging station of a charging station system including at least a secondary. charging station being separated to the charging station by predetermined routes with known topography ((a position receiver configured to receive information of current position; an input configured to receive information of a destination and user input; and a controller configured to search for a route from the charging station to the destination based on the position information of the charging station and the position information of the destination during the preparation of charging at the charging station, paragraph [0011] where the destination is another charging station), the charging station being located at a known altitude above sea level and being configured to charge an electric vehicle having a known weight and a pre-determined regeneration efficiency (paragraph [0029] where the regeneration efficiency is predetermined as shown in fig. 3A-C), the charging station comprising an external power source configured to perform a charging event of a battery of the electric vehicle and to stop the charging event at a predetermined charging level below the nominally fully charged level(paragraph [0242], [0245]), the predetermined charging level being set to correspond to the predicted battery regeneration when driving the electric vehicle along a predetermined route from the charging station to the secondary charging station(The vehicle acquires 215 the charging amount charging amount by regenerative braking based on the information of the road in the searched route from the charging station to the destination and the second table, identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, and controls 216 the charging of the battery based on the identified charging allowance amount, paragraph [0261]), wherein the predicted battery regeneration is determined by at least the known altitude of the charging station(paragraph [0252]), the known topography of the predetermined route between the charging station and the secondary charging station(The information of the road in the searched route may include information on the type of road, the inclination of the road, the speed limit of the road, and the traffic information, paragraph [0262] where the type of the road give the information about the topography of the route), the weight of the electric vehicle and the pre-determined regeneration efficiency of the electric vehicle(identifies the charging allowance corresponding to the charging amount acquired by the regenerative braking, paragraph [0261], fig. 3: Note: the regeneration efficiency of a vehicle is highly dependent on its weight. Heavier vehicles possess more kinetic energy, allowing for higher absolute energy recovery during braking, but they also require more energy to accelerate, leading to lower overall efficiency. Thus, weight is inherent property linked with regeneration efficiency).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium carrying a computer program comprising instructions to cause the charging station to execute the steps of claim 1 when the computer program is run on a computer (paragraph [0303]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0001834) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kraeling et al. (US 2023/0339354 A1), herein after Kraeling, (the rejection is relied on the similar disclosure disclose in non-provisional application: 63/333,352 with the filing date: 04/21/2022)
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim discloses a controller 170 to controlling the whole method step. However, Kim does not discloses that the controller is an off-board controller.
Kraeling discloses the predetermined charging level is determined off-board the electric vehicle (off board controller 102, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method to have the off board controller as taught by Kraeling, in order to have faster, high-power DC charging, reduce vehicle weight, and provide flexibility by not being limited by onboard space.
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Kraeling discloses the method of claim 4. Kraeling further discloses wherein the predetermined charging level is determined by a control unit at the first charging station (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method to have the off board controller as taught by Kraeling, in order to have faster, high-power DC charging, reduce vehicle weight, and provide flexibility by not being limited by onboard space.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Kraeling discloses the method of claim 5. Kraeling further discloses the method further comprising: - retrieving the weight (paragraph [0032]) and the pre-determined regeneration efficiency of the electric vehicle, by the control unit of the charging station (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method to have the off board controller as taught by Kraeling, in order to have faster, high-power DC charging, reduce vehicle weight, and provide flexibility by not being limited by onboard space.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Kim discloses the plurality of the destinations with respect to distance (figs. 3A-C). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second charging station is the charging station among the plurality of charging stations being located closest to the first charging station.
Kraeling discloses wherein the second charging station is the charging station among the plurality of charging stations being located closest to the first charging station (the change in the trip plan may be to direct the vehicle system to stop and recharge at a closer charging station along the route than planned, such as based at least in part on the charging rate of the closer charging station, paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method to have the closest destination as a second charging station as taught by Kraeling, in order to have the benefits of cost savings, infrastructure efficiency, and user convenience.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Kraeling discloses the method of claim 7. Kraeling further discloses wherein the predetermined route between the first and the second charging stations is the route among a plurality of possible predetermined routes with the shortest distance (paragraph [0055] the closest one has the shortest distance).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method to have the closest destination as a second charging station as taught by Kraeling, in order to have the benefits of cost savings, infrastructure efficiency, and user convenience.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859