CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for” in claims 17-21, the applicant’s specification paragraph 0084 shows, “With reference to FIGS. 1A-5, means for performing the operations of the method 500 may include a UE modem processor (e.g., the processor 212, 252) or another suitable processor (such as the processor 210, 214, 216, 218, 260) of a UE (such as the UE 120a-120e, 200, 320), referred to generally herein as a “processor”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9-12, 14, 16-20, 22, 24-28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANNEATH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0057503 A1) in view of JIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0422843 A1).
1, KANNEATH discloses a method of managing a communication link with a network, comprising: in response to receiving a connection reject message from a first communication network by a first network communication module [par 0003, To this end, the device requests connection establishment from the base station (e.g. by a RRC Setup Request message), and the base station either accepts or rejects the request (e.g. by a RRC Setup message or a RRC Reject message)],
starting in the first network communication module a first retry timer for a time period after which the first network communication module will send a service request to the first communication network [par 0005,0008,0109, the base station includes a parameter waitTime in the RRC Reject message to the device, and the device, upon reception thereof, starts timer T302 with a timer value corresponding to waitTime (which can be up to 16 seconds) so as to delay RRC setup repetitions by the RRC of the device until lapse of the timer T302. WaitTimeForMUSIM and/or disableExtendedWaitTimeForMUSIM, the waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime (i.e. corresponding timers or delays) will be applied only for the current USIM, namely the USIM from which the recent/actual connection request was issued. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses separate radio and baseband components, the multiple USIMs can (continue to) initiate connection establishment procedures independently. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses common radio and baseband components, when the connection request by one of the USIMs is rejected, the remaining USIM or USIMs can immediately re-/initiate a subsequent connection establishment procedure] ;
sending a value of the first retry timer from the first network communication module to a second network communication module [par 0013, 0112 there is provided a method comprising obtaining a connection rejection and a connection request inhibition time information in response to a connection request for a first universal subscriber identity module, and applying at least part of the connection request inhibition time information for a second universal subscriber identity module for inhibiting a connection request for the second universal subscriber identity module. Also, USIM-A associates/forwards waitTime and extendedWaitTime with/to USIM-B RRC.],
wherein the value of the first retry timer indicates an expiration time of the first timer [par 0005, 0017-0020, (timer value corresponding to waitTime), the connection request inhibition time information may comprise a wait time, and applying the connection request inhibition time information may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time and inhibiting a connection request while the timer is running, the connection request inhibition time information may comprise an extended wait time, and applying the connection request inhibition time information may comprise associating the extended wait time with one or more upper layers for inhibiting a connection request for a time corresponding to the extended wait time by the one or more upper layers];
starting a second retry timer in the second network communication module based on the value of the first retry timer [par 0075, For a wait time in the connection request inhibition time information, application at the connection control instance (e.g. the RRC instance) of the second USIM may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time at the connection control instance and inhibiting a connection request by the connection control instance, such as e.g. generation issuance, transmission, etc. of a connection request];
sending a service request from the second network communication module [par 0004, 0080, After such rejection, the device may again attempt connection setup by re-/initiating a subsequent connection establishment procedure so that signaling load (e.g. RRC signaling load) will increase, further aggravating network performance, e.g. the ‘call attempts per second’ KPI. For example, the connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, may be applied (at the first and/or second USIM) only for mobile originated calls or another particular type of connection, only if the subsequent connection request, which will be inhibited accordingly, is for establishment of a connection, the type of which is the same or has a particular relation to/with the type of connection for which the initial connection request was issued, or the like].
KANNEATH fail to show sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network; sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires.
In an analogous art JIN show sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network [para 0008, 0129, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, the disclosure considers a dual-USIM UE supporting two USIMs, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. Meanwhile, a single-USIM UE has a characteristic of transmitting or receiving a signal (or data) to only a base station associated with one USIM at a given period of time. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme]
sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires [0189, 0190, 0192, shows the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that it will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2. This may be through a standardized interface, but it may also be delivered through implementation-defined messages. Through the above procedure, the USIM 1 UE finds that the USIM 2 UE will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration may be necessary due to changes in UE capability. In operation 760, the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
2, KANNEATH and JIN disclose the method of claim 1, KANNEATH fail to show further comprising: in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module, sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module.
In an analogous art JIN show further comprising: in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module [par 0148, For reference, busy indication may be contained in resumeCause. In response thereto, the base station 2 605 may transmit an RRCReject or RRCRelease message to the USIM 2 UE],
sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module [par 0195, In operation 785, the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that the RRC connection with base station 2 has been released. This is so that the USIM 1 UE may deliver the corresponding information to base station 1 and receive service changes (790)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
3, KANNEATH and JIN provide the method of claim 2, further comprising sending a value of the second retry timer to the first communication module [KANNEATH par 0118, For example, lesser RRC signaling load (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM, i.e. its RRC instance, an RRC waitTime parameter, and lesser RRC signaling load for delay tolerant access (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM].
4. KANNEATH and JIN convey the method of claim 2, KANNEATH fail to show further comprising sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring.
In an analogous art JIN show further comprising sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring[par 0206, 0216, In operation 810, an USIM 1 UE 802 may be in an RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) by establishing an RRC connection with a base station 1 804. The UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
6, KANNEATH and JIN discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first network communication module and the second network communication module communicate via a communication interface [KANNEATH, par 0117, That is, the present disclosure provides for coordination between multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, in terms of connection control, such as e.g. RRC connection establishment. Such coordination is accomplished via an interface multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, which could also be used for sharing other (coordination-related) information, such as information relating to cell selection/reselection (e.g. enabling/realizing that the cell selection and reselection of a secondary USIM could follow the cell selection and reselection of a primary USIM)].
8, KANNEATH and JIN provides the method of claim 1, KANNEATH fail to show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network; the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network.
In analogous art JIN show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network [par 0073, 0129, The base station associated with each USIM may recognize the multi-USIM UE as one terminal per USIM UE rather than recognizing the multi-USIM UE as one terminal. For example, a base station 1 604 may recognize the USIM 1 UE 602 as one terminal, and a base station 2 605 may recognize the USIM 2 UE 603 as one terminal. A user terminal (new radio user equipment, hereinafter, NR UE or terminal) 315 accesses an external network via the NR NB 310 and NR CN 305. Herein, the NR CN 305 may be used interchangeably with 5G core network (5G CN) or 5G core (5GC)],
the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network[par 0004, 0008, In case where a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network needs to be devised. New radio unlicensed (NR-U) aimed at system operations conforming to various regulation-related requirements in unlicensed bands, new radio (NR) user equipment (UE) power saving, non-terrestrial network (NTN) which is UE-satellite direct communication for securing coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable, and positioning].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
9, KANNEATH teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to [par 0014, According to an example aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor],
in response to receipt of a connection reject message from a first communication network by a first network communication module [par 0003, To this end, the device requests connection establishment from the base station (e.g. by a RRC Setup Request message), and the base station either accepts or rejects the request (e.g. by a RRC Setup message or a RRC Reject message)],
start in the first network communication module a first retry timer for a time period after which the first network communication module will send a service request to the first communication network[par 0005,0008,0109, the base station includes a parameter waitTime in the RRC Reject message to the device, and the device, upon reception thereof, starts timer T302 with a timer value corresponding to waitTime (which can be up to 16 seconds) so as to delay RRC setup repetitions by the RRC of the device until lapse of the timer T302. WaitTimeForMUSIM and/or disableExtendedWaitTimeForMUSIM, the waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime (i.e. corresponding timers or delays) will be applied only for the current USIM, namely the USIM from which the recent/actual connection request was issued. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses separate radio and baseband components, the multiple USIMs can (continue to) initiate connection establishment procedures independently. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses common radio and baseband components, when the connection request by one of the USIMs is rejected, the remaining USIM or USIMs can immediately re-/initiate a subsequent connection establishment procedure] ;
send a value of the first retry timer from the first network communication module to a second network communication module, wherein the value of the first retry timer indicates an expiration time of the first timer[par 0013, 0112 there is provided a method comprising obtaining a connection rejection and a connection request inhibition time information in response to a connection request for a first universal subscriber identity module, and applying at least part of the connection request inhibition time information for a second universal subscriber identity module for inhibiting a connection request for the second universal subscriber identity module. Also, USIM-A associates/forwards waitTime and extendedWaitTime with/to USIM-B RRC.];
start a second retry timer in the second network communication module based on the value of the first retry timer[par 0075, For a wait time in the connection request inhibition time information, application at the connection control instance (e.g. the RRC instance) of the second USIM may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time at the connection control instance and inhibiting a connection request by the connection control instance, such as e.g. generation issuance, transmission, etc. of a connection request];
send a service request from the second network communication module [par 0004, 0080, After such rejection, the device may again attempt connection setup by re-/initiating a subsequent connection establishment procedure so that signaling load (e.g. RRC signaling load) will increase, further aggravating network performance, e.g. the ‘call attempts per second’ KPI. For example, the connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, may be applied (at the first and/or second USIM) only for mobile originated calls or another particular type of connection, only if the subsequent connection request, which will be inhibited accordingly, is for establishment of a connection, the type of which is the same or has a particular relation to/with the type of connection for which the initial connection request was issued, or the like];
KANNEATH fail to show send a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network, send a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires.
In an analogous art JIN show sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network [para 0008, 0129, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, the disclosure considers a dual-USIM UE supporting two USIMs, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. Meanwhile, a single-USIM UE has a characteristic of transmitting or receiving a signal (or data) to only a base station associated with one USIM at a given period of time. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme]
sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires [0189, 0190, 0192, shows the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that it will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2. This may be through a standardized interface, but it may also be delivered through implementation-defined messages. Through the above procedure, the USIM 1 UE finds that the USIM 2 UE will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration may be necessary due to changes in UE capability. In operation 760, the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
10. KANNEATH and JIN discloses the UE of claim 9, KANNEATH fail to show wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to receipt of a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module, send a connection failure message to the first network communication module.
In an analogous JIN show wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to receipt of a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module[par 0148, For reference, busy indication may be contained in resumeCause. In response thereto, the base station 2 605 may transmit an RRCReject or RRCRelease message to the USIM 2 UE],
send a connection failure message to the first network communication module[par 0195, In operation 785, the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that the RRC connection with base station 2 has been released. This is so that the USIM 1 UE may deliver the corresponding information to base station 1 and receive service changes (790)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
11. KANNEATH and JIN defines the UE of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to send a value of the second retry timer to the first communication module [KANNEATH par 0118, For example, lesser RRC signaling load (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM, i.e. its RRC instance, an RRC waitTime parameter, and lesser RRC signaling load for delay tolerant access (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM].
12. KANNEATH and JIN provide the UE of claim 10, KANNEATH fail to show wherein the processor is further configured to: send a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring.
In an analogous art JIN show wherein the processor is further configured to: send a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring [par 0206, 0216, In operation 810, an USIM 1 UE 802 may be in an RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) by establishing an RRC connection with a base station 1 804. The UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
14. KANNEATH and JIN provide the UE of claim 9, wherein the UE further comprises a communication interface configured to enable communication between the first network communication module and the second network communication module[KANNEATH, par 0117, That is, the present disclosure provides for coordination between multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, in terms of connection control, such as e.g. RRC connection establishment. Such coordination is accomplished via an interface multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, which could also be used for sharing other (coordination-related) information, such as information relating to cell selection/reselection (e.g. enabling/realizing that the cell selection and reselection of a secondary USIM could follow the cell selection and reselection of a primary USIM)].
16. KANNEATH and JIN describe the UE of claim 9, KANNEATH fail to show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network; the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network.
In an analogous art JIN show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network[par 0008, 0129, 0145, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, For example, a base station 1 604 may recognize the USIM 1 UE 602 as one terminal, and a base station 2 605 may recognize the USIM 2 UE 603 as one terminal. Operation 2: The USIM 2 UE 603 may not perform an RRC connection establishment procedure or RRC connection resume procedure with the base station 2 605, but may perform transmission to or reception from the base station 2 605, for example, the following operation. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme];
the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network[par 0004, 0008, In case where a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network needs to be devised. New radio unlicensed (NR-U) aimed at system operations conforming to various regulation-related requirements in unlicensed bands, new radio (NR) user equipment (UE) power saving, non-terrestrial network (NTN) which is UE-satellite direct communication for securing coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable, and positioning].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
17. KANNEATH teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for starting in a first network communication module a first retry timer for a time period after which the first network communication module will send a service request to a first communication network in response to receiving a connection reject message from the first communication network by the first network communication module[par 0005,0008,0109, the base station includes a parameter waitTime in the RRC Reject message to the device, and the device, upon reception thereof, starts timer T302 with a timer value corresponding to waitTime (which can be up to 16 seconds) so as to delay RRC setup repetitions by the RRC of the device until lapse of the timer T302. WaitTimeForMUSIM and/or disableExtendedWaitTimeForMUSIM, the waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime (i.e. corresponding timers or delays) will be applied only for the current USIM, namely the USIM from which the recent/actual connection request was issued. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses separate radio and baseband components, the multiple USIMs can (continue to) initiate connection establishment procedures independently. In a MUSIM device implementation which uses common radio and baseband components, when the connection request by one of the USIMs is rejected, the remaining USIM or USIMs can immediately re-/initiate a subsequent connection establishment procedure] ;
means for sending a value of the first retry timer from the first network communication module to a second network communication module[par 0013, 0112 there is provided a method comprising obtaining a connection rejection and a connection request inhibition time information in response to a connection request for a first universal subscriber identity module, and applying at least part of the connection request inhibition time information for a second universal subscriber identity module for inhibiting a connection request for the second universal subscriber identity module. Also, USIM-A associates/forwards waitTime and extendedWaitTime with/to USIM-B RRC.],
wherein the value of the first retry timer indicates an expiration time of the first timer[par 0005, 0017-0020, (timer value corresponding to waitTime), the connection request inhibition time information may comprise a wait time, and applying the connection request inhibition time information may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time and inhibiting a connection request while the timer is running, the connection request inhibition time information may comprise an extended wait time, and applying the connection request inhibition time information may comprise associating the extended wait time with one or more upper layers for inhibiting a connection request for a time corresponding to the extended wait time by the one or more upper layers];
means for starting a second retry timer in the second network communication module based on the value of the first retry timer[par 0075, For a wait time in the connection request inhibition time information, application at the connection control instance (e.g. the RRC instance) of the second USIM may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time at the connection control instance and inhibiting a connection request by the connection control instance, such as e.g. generation issuance, transmission, etc. of a connection request];
means for sending a service request from the second network communication module [par 0004, 0080, After such rejection, the device may again attempt connection setup by re-/initiating a subsequent connection establishment procedure so that signaling load (e.g. RRC signaling load) will increase, further aggravating network performance, e.g. the ‘call attempts per second’ KPI. For example, the connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, may be applied (at the first and/or second USIM) only for mobile originated calls or another particular type of connection, only if the subsequent connection request, which will be inhibited accordingly, is for establishment of a connection, the type of which is the same or has a particular relation to/with the type of connection for which the initial connection request was issued, or the like].
KANNEATH fail to show means for sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network, means for sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires.
In an analogous art JIN show means for sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network[para 0008, 0129, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, the disclosure considers a dual-USIM UE supporting two USIMs, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. Meanwhile, a single-USIM UE has a characteristic of transmitting or receiving a signal (or data) to only a base station associated with one USIM at a given period of time. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme]
means for sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires[0189, 0190, 0192, shows the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that it will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2. This may be through a standardized interface, but it may also be delivered through implementation-defined messages. Through the above procedure, the USIM 1 UE finds that the USIM 2 UE will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration may be necessary due to changes in UE capability. In operation 760, the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
18. KANNEATH and JIN define the UE of claim 17, KANNEATH fail to show further comprising: means for sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module.
In an analogous art JIN show further comprising: means for sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module[par 0148, 0195, For reference, busy indication may be contained in resumeCause. In response thereto, the base station 2 605 may transmit an RRCReject or RRCRelease message to the USIM 2 UE, In operation 785, the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that the RRC connection with base station 2 has been released. This is so that the USIM 1 UE may deliver the corresponding information to base station 1 and receive service changes (790)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
19. KANNEATH and JIN provides the UE of claim 18, further comprising means for sending a value of the second retry timer to the first communication module[KANNEATH par 0118, For example, lesser RRC signaling load (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM, i.e. its RRC instance, an RRC waitTime parameter, and lesser RRC signaling load for delay tolerant access (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM].
20. KANNEATH and JIN teaches the UE of claim 18, KANNEATH fail to show further comprising means for sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring.
In an analogous art JIN show further comprising means for sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring[par 0206, 0216, In operation 810, an USIM 1 UE 802 may be in an RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) by establishing an RRC connection with a base station 1 804. The UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
22. KANNEATH and JIN provide the UE of claim 17, wherein the first network communication module and the second network communication module communicate via a communication interface[KANNEATH par 0118, For example, lesser RRC signaling load (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM, i.e. its RRC instance, an RRC waitTime parameter, and lesser RRC signaling load for delay tolerant access (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM].
24. KANNEATH and JIN display the UE of claim 17, KANNEATH fail to show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network; the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network.
In an analogous art JIN show wherein: the first communication network is a terrestrial cellular communication network; the first network communication module is a terrestrial cellular communication module configured to communicate with the terrestrial cellular communication network[par 0008, 0129, 0145, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, For example, a base station 1 604 may recognize the USIM 1 UE 602 as one terminal, and a base station 2 605 may recognize the USIM 2 UE 603 as one terminal. Operation 2: The USIM 2 UE 603 may not perform an RRC connection establishment procedure or RRC connection resume procedure with the base station 2 605, but may perform transmission to or reception from the base station 2 605, for example, the following operation. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme];
the second communication network is a satellite communication network; and the second network communication module is a satellite communication module configured to communicate with the satellite communication network[par 0004, 0008, In case where a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network needs to be devised. New radio unlicensed (NR-U) aimed at system operations conforming to various regulation-related requirements in unlicensed bands, new radio (NR) user equipment (UE) power saving, non-terrestrial network (NTN) which is UE-satellite direct communication for securing coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable, and positioning].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
25. KANNEATH create a non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processing device in a user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising[par 0014, According to an example aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor],
: in response to receiving a connection reject message from a first communication network by a first network communication module[par 0003, To this end, the device requests connection establishment from the base station (e.g. by a RRC Setup Request message), and the base station either accepts or rejects the request (e.g. by a RRC Setup message or a RRC Reject message)],
starting in the first network communication module a first retry timer for a time period after which the first network communication module will send a service request to the first communication network[par 0075, For a wait time in the connection request inhibition time information, application at the connection control instance (e.g. the RRC instance) of the second USIM may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time at the connection control instance and inhibiting a connection request by the connection control instance, such as e.g. generation issuance, transmission, etc. of a connection request];
sending a value of the first retry timer from the first network communication module to a second network communication module wherein the value of the first retry timer indicates an expiration time of the first timer [par 0013, 0112 there is provided a method comprising obtaining a connection rejection and a connection request inhibition time information in response to a connection request for a first universal subscriber identity module, and applying at least part of the connection request inhibition time information for a second universal subscriber identity module for inhibiting a connection request for the second universal subscriber identity module. Also, USIM-A associates/forwards waitTime and extendedWaitTime with/to USIM-B RRC.],
starting a second retry timer in the second network communication module based on the value of the first retry timer[par 0075, For a wait time in the connection request inhibition time information, application at the connection control instance (e.g. the RRC instance) of the second USIM may comprise starting a timer with a timer value corresponding to the wait time at the connection control instance and inhibiting a connection request by the connection control instance, such as e.g. generation issuance, transmission, etc. of a connection request];
sending a service request from the second network communication module [par 0004, 0080, After such rejection, the device may again attempt connection setup by re-/initiating a subsequent connection establishment procedure so that signaling load (e.g. RRC signaling load) will increase, further aggravating network performance, e.g. the ‘call attempts per second’ KPI. For example, the connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, may be applied (at the first and/or second USIM) only for mobile originated calls or another particular type of connection, only if the subsequent connection request, which will be inhibited accordingly, is for establishment of a connection, the type of which is the same or has a particular relation to/with the type of connection for which the initial connection request was issued, or the like];
KANNEATH fail to show sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network; and sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires.
In an analogous art JIN show sending a service request from the second network communication module to a second communication network[para 0008, 0129, 0146, a terminal supporting multiple USIMs performs an operation related to dual connectivity configured to one network while maintaining RRC connection configuration with two networks, the disclosure considers a dual-USIM UE supporting two USIMs, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. Meanwhile, a single-USIM UE has a characteristic of transmitting or receiving a signal (or data) to only a base station associated with one USIM at a given period of time. The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme]
and sending a connection success message from the second network communication module to the first network communication module in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires[0189, 0190, 0192, shows the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that it will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2. This may be through a standardized interface, but it may also be delivered through implementation-defined messages. Through the above procedure, the USIM 1 UE finds that the USIM 2 UE will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration may be necessary due to changes in UE capability. In operation 760, the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
26.KANNEATH and JIN reveal the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25, KANNEATH fail to show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising: in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module, sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module.
In an analogous art JIN show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising: in response to receiving a connection reject message from the second communication network by the second network communication module[par 0148, For reference, busy indication may be contained in resumeCause. In response thereto, the base station 2 605 may transmit an RRCReject or RRCRelease message to the USIM 2 UE],
sending a connection failure message to the first network communication module [par 0195, In operation 785, the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that the RRC connection with base station 2 has been released. This is so that the USIM 1 UE may deliver the corresponding information to base station 1 and receive service changes (790)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
27. KANNEATH and JIN show the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 26, wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising sending a value of the second retry timer to the first communication module KANNEATH par 0118, For example, lesser RRC signaling load (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM, i.e. its RRC instance, an RRC waitTime parameter, and lesser RRC signaling load for delay tolerant access (e.g. in cell overload conditions) can be achieved by associating/forwarding with/to and applying at/by to another USIM].
28. KANNEATH and JIN illustrate the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 26, KANNEATH fail to show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring.
In an analogous art JIN show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising sending a connection request message from the first network communication module to the first communication network in response to the first retry timer expiring[par 0206, 0216, In operation 810, an USIM 1 UE 802 may be in an RRC connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) by establishing an RRC connection with a base station 1 804. The UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of KANNEATH and JIN because this provides a method for accurately delivering a corresponding UE capability to each network[JIN par 0008].
30, KANNEATH and JIN provide the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25, wherein the first network communication module and the second network communication module communicate via a communication interface[KANNEATH, par 0117, That is, the present disclosure provides for coordination between multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, in terms of connection control, such as e.g. RRC connection establishment. Such coordination is accomplished via an interface multiple USIMs of a MUSIM device, i.e. their connection control instances, which could also be used for sharing other (coordination-related) information, such as information relating to cell selection/reselection (e.g. enabling/realizing that the cell selection and reselection of a secondary USIM could follow the cell selection and reselection of a primary USIM)].
Claim(s) 5, 13, 21, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANNEATH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0057503 A1) in view of JIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0422843 A1) in further view of KUMAR et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0120585 A1).
5. KANNEATH and JIN demonstrate the method of claim 1, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show further comprising: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module, sending an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network.
In an analogous art KUMAR show further comprising: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module [par 0050, Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a service request message sent with allowed PDU session status IE to an AMF entity has failed and a retry timer has started. Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a CM state of a non-3GPP access network has moved a connected mode. The UE stops the retry timer and aborts a service request procedure over the 3GPP access network],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and KUMAR because to provide a method and system for handling registration and session management of non-3GPP access in a wireless communication system [KUMAR par 0009]
KENNEATH disclose sending an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network [fig 7, par 0115, 0117, Accordingly, there may not be an individual connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, in response to a connection rejection or connection establishment failure. The first USIM may apply default waitTime so as to inhibit the connection establishment for a standard-defined timer value, and/or the first USIM may share default waitTime with the second USIM (i.e. associate/forward default waitTime for application to/at the second USIM].
13. KANNEATH and JIN defines the UE of claim 9, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module, send an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network.
In an analogous art KUMAR show wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module[par 0050, Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a service request message sent with allowed PDU session status IE to an AMF entity has failed and a retry timer has started. Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a CM state of a non-3GPP access network has moved a connected mode. The UE stops the retry timer and aborts a service request procedure over the 3GPP access network],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and KUMAR because to provide a method and system for handling registration and session management of non-3GPP access in a wireless communication system [KUMAR par 0009]
KANNEATH show send an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network[fig 7, par 0115, 0117, Accordingly, there may not be an individual connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, in response to a connection rejection or connection establishment failure. The first USIM may apply default waitTime so as to inhibit the connection establishment for a standard-defined timer value, and/or the first USIM may share default waitTime with the second USIM (i.e. associate/forward default waitTime for application to/at the second USIM].
21. KANNEATH and JIN reveal the UE of claim 17, KANNEATH and JIN further comprising: means for sending an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network [fig 7, par 0115, 0117, Accordingly, there may not be an individual connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, in response to a connection rejection or connection establishment failure. The first USIM may apply default waitTime so as to inhibit the connection establishment for a standard-defined timer value, and/or the first USIM may share default waitTime with the second USIM (i.e. associate/forward default waitTime for application to/at the second USIM].
KANNEATH and JIN fail to show in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module.
In an analogous art KUMAR show in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module[par 0050, Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a service request message sent with allowed PDU session status IE to an AMF entity has failed and a retry timer has started. Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a CM state of a non-3GPP access network has moved a connected mode. The UE stops the retry timer and aborts a service request procedure over the 3GPP access network],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and KUMAR because to provide a method and system for handling registration and session management of non-3GPP access in a wireless communication system [KUMAR par 0009]
29. KANNEATH and JIN creates the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 25, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module,
In an analogous art KUMAR show wherein the stored processor-executable instructions are further configured to cause the processing device in the UE to perform operations further comprising: in response to the first retry timer expiring before the first network communication module receives any message from the second network communication module[par 0050, Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a service request message sent with allowed PDU session status IE to an AMF entity has failed and a retry timer has started. Further, the method includes detecting, by the UE, that a CM state of a non-3GPP access network has moved a connected mode. The UE stops the retry timer and aborts a service request procedure over the 3GPP access network],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and KUMAR because to provide a method and system for handling registration and session management of non-3GPP access in a wireless communication system [KUMAR par 0009]
KANNEATH show sending an abort message from the first network communication module to the second network communication module to inform the second network communication module to abort a service request process with the second communication network[fig 7, par 0115, 0117, Accordingly, there may not be an individual connection request inhibition time information, e.g. waitTime and/or extendedWaitTime, in response to a connection rejection or connection establishment failure. The first USIM may apply default waitTime so as to inhibit the connection establishment for a standard-defined timer value, and/or the first USIM may share default waitTime with the second USIM (i.e. associate/forward default waitTime for application to/at the second USIM].
8. Claim(s) 7, 15, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANNEATH et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0057503 A1) in view of JIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0422843 A1) in further view of Mac Donald et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20160344678 A1).
7. KANNEATH and JIN The method of claim 6, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show wherein the communication interface is managed by a unified messaging application.
In an analogous art MacDonald show wherein the communication interface is managed by a unified messaging application [par 0117, In some aspects, e.g., when the one or more recipient endpoints are registered with the unified messaging application, the list object may not require transformation. That is, as described above, the list object may be embedded in a message and presented within a conversation tab, or may be shared in an activity tab and/or a lists tab in a center pane of a user interface of the unified messaging platform].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and MacDonald because the unified messaging platform 105 may communicate with one or more third party messaging applications 116 and/or with one or more enterprise messaging applications 110b to exchange information and messages with external users. [MacDonald, par 0042]
15. KANNEATH and JIN disclose the UE of claim 14, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show wherein the UE further comprises a unified messaging application configured to manage the communication interface.
In an analogous art MacDonald show wherein the UE further comprises a unified messaging application configured to manage the communication interface[par 0117, In some aspects, e.g., when the one or more recipient endpoints are registered with the unified messaging application, the list object may not require transformation. That is, as described above, the list object may be embedded in a message and presented within a conversation tab, or may be shared in an activity tab and/or a lists tab in a center pane of a user interface of the unified messaging platform].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and MacDonald because the unified messaging platform 105 may communicate with one or more third party messaging applications 116 and/or with one or more enterprise messaging applications 110b to exchange information and messages with external users. [MacDonald, par 0042]
23. KANNEATH and JIN provide the UE of claim 22, KANNEATH and JIN fail to show wherein the communication interface is managed by a unified messaging application.
In an analogous art MacDonald show wherein the communication interface is managed by a unified messaging application[par 0117, In some aspects, e.g., when the one or more recipient endpoints are registered with the unified messaging application, the list object may not require transformation. That is, as described above, the list object may be embedded in a message and presented within a conversation tab, or may be shared in an activity tab and/or a lists tab in a center pane of a user interface of the unified messaging platform].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of KENNEATH, JIN, and MacDonald because the unified messaging platform 105 may communicate with one or more third party messaging applications 116 and/or with one or more enterprise messaging applications 110b to exchange information and messages with external users. [MacDonald, par 0042]
Response to Arguments
Applicant further submits that "operation 625" referred to by "operation 630" also fails to amount to the claimed features. For instance, the Office implied that Jin's "base station 1 604" is analogous to the claimed "first network communication module" and "base station 2 605" is analogous to the claimed "second network communication module." However, using such mappings, "operation 625" appears to relate only to the "USIM 2 UE 603," with the sole exception that "the USIM 1 UE 602 may need to continuously perform data transmission or reception to or from the base station 1 604." Jin, [0139].
Therefore, in Jin (individually or when combined with Kanneath), no "connection success message," or indeed any message, is passed between the UEs, let alone "in response to establishing a communication link with the second communication network before the second retry timer expires," as claimed.
For at least the reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Kanneath and Jin fails to disclose or make obvious all features of claim 1. The Kumar and Mac Donald references, alone or in combination with Kanneath and/or Jin, also fail to describe or make obvious the features of claim 1, and were not used in such a manner. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that claim 1 is in condition for allowance.
While differing in scope, independent claims 9, 17 and 25 recite features that are similar to distinguishing features of claim 1 discussed above. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that claims 9, 17 and 25 are also in condition for allowance for at least the same reasons. Accordingly, reconsideration of the independent claims and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are requested.
The examiner respectfully disagrees Jin figures 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, are similar to the applicants figure 5. In paragraph 0146, shows The USIM 2 UE 603 requests on-demand system information to acquire system information from the base station 2 605 or in an on-demand scheme. The second network module is interpreted as USIM 2 and the second network is interpreted as the base station 2.
The paragraphs 0189, 0190, 0192, shows the USIM 2 UE may inform the USIM 1 UE that it will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2. This may be through a standardized interface, but it may also be delivered through implementation-defined messages. Through the above procedure, the USIM 1 UE finds that the USIM 2 UE will attempt an RRC connection to base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration may be necessary due to changes in UE capability.
In operation 760, the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to stop the prohibit timer in operation and apply the configuration. The paragraphs show USIM2 the second communication module informs the USIM 1 the first module the RRC connection to base station 2, which is interpreted by examiner the connection success message, because it is shown wherein base station 2, and may notify base station 1 of this and at the same time inform that changes in DC and CA configuration. The paragraphs also show when the UE receives the RRC configuration from base station 1 the timer is stop, which means the communication link with base station 2 is established before the timer is expired.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468