DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Loveridge et al. (US 2012/0094178).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiao teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a negative electrode (“anode electrode”) (Abstract, [0003]). As illustrated in Figure 2, Xiao teaches that the negative electrode comprises a negative side current collector (20) (“anode current collector”) having a negative electrode active material layer (“anode active material layer”) formed on a surface thereof ([0006], [0019], [0057]-[0058]). As illustrated in Figures 1-2, Xiao teaches that the anode active material layer comprises an anode active material (10) and a binder (16), wherein Xiao teaches that said binder is bound not only to the surface of the anode active material, but also dispersed throughout the anode active material layer to hold components therein together ([0019], [0026]). Xiao teaches that the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide (“silicon oxide”) and/or silicon suboxide (alternatively, “silicon oxide”) ([0020]). Xiao teaches that binder can comprises materials such as CMC, SBR, and PAA ([0077]).
Xiao does not explicitly teach that the binder comprises SBR and NaCMC.
However, Jiang teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a negative electrode ([0002], [0014], [0051]-[0052]). Jiang teaches that the negative electrode comprises a silicon or silicon oxide based active material and a polymer binder ([0023], [0034]). Jiang teaches that the polymer binder comprises NaCMC and SBR therein ([0024]). Jiang teaches that the NaCMC and SBR are present in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1 ([0024]). Jiang teaches that the use of both NaCMC and SBR helps improve cycle and rate performance, product capacity utilization, and first cycle efficiency ([0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the binder of Xiao out of NaCMC and SBR in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1, as taught by Jiang, given that such a binder would help improve cycle and rate performance, product capacity utilization, and first cycle efficiency.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang, does not explicitly teach that the binder further comprises NaPAA.
However, Loveridge teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising an anode that comprises a a silicon-based active material layer thereon (Abstract, [0102]-[0104], [0128]). Loveridge teaches that the active material layer comprises especially 3-17 wt% of a binder such as NaPAA therein given that such a binder helps accommodate volume changes of silicon during charge and discharge, does not excessively swell in an electrolyte solution, and helps promote the formation of a more stable and less resistive SEI ([0041], [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to the binder of Xiao, as modified by Jiang, further include 3-17 wt% of NaPAA, as taught by Loveridge, given that the inclusion of such NaPAA would help further accommodate volume changes of silicon during charge and discharge and help promote the formation of a more stable and less resistive SEI.
Furthermore, given that the binder of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge includes NaCMC and SBR in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1, and includes only 3-17 wt% NaPAA, the content of SBR in the overall binder is considered to at least overlap with the claimed range of “greater than 60 wt%.” It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 2, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao teaches that the negative electrode active material layer comprises a conductive filler (18) (“conductive filler”) therein ([0031]).
Regarding Claim 8, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide (“silicon oxide”) and/or silicon suboxide (alternatively, “silicon oxide”). Furthermore, Xiao teaches that said anode active material comprises 30-95 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer ([0046]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 9, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide and/or silicon suboxide. Furthermore, Xiao teaches that said anode active material comprises 30-95 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer ([0046]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 10, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide and/or silicon suboxide. Furthermore, Xiao teaches that said anode active material comprises 30-95 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer ([0046]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 15, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), NaPAA is present in an amount of 3-17 wt%. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Loveridge et al. (US 2012/0094178) and Abdelsalam et al. (GB 2498803).
Regarding Claim 3, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
Xiao teaches that the conductive filler comprises, for example, carbon black, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, and combinations thereof ([0032]).
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the conductive filler comprises first particles along with second particles having an aspect ratio greater than 20.
However, Abdelsalam teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising an anode, wherein the anode comprises an anode active material composition (Abstract, “Detailed Description of the Invention” at Pages 8-9). Abdelsalam teaches that the anode active material composition comprises a silicon-based active material, 0.25-20 wt% of first elongate carbon nanostructures, 0.25-20 wt% of second elongate carbon nanostructures, and 0.25-10 wt% of carbon black particles (“Composition” at Pages 22-23). Abdelsalam teaches that the first elongate carbon nanostructures are, for example, carbon nanofibers having an aspect ratio of 40-180, and teaches that the second elongate carbon nanostructures are, for example, MWCNTs having an aspect ratio of 200-500 (“Elongate carbon nanostructure materials” at Page 18, “Composition” at Pages 23-24). Abdelsalam teaches that the combination of said elongate nanostructures and said carbon black provides for excellent cyclability characteristics insofar as said elongate carbon nanostructures form short and long range conductive networks which provide space for silicon expansion and electrolyte access while providing a strong mechanical framework that can withstand volumetric expansion and contraction, while the carbon black particles provide for dispersed conductivity enhancements across the composition (“Composition” at Pages 23-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include, with respect to the negative electrode active material layer of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, 0.25-20 wt% of carbon nanofibers, 0.25-20 wt% of MWCNTs having an aspect ratio of 200-500 (“second particles having an aspect ratio greater than 20”), and 0.25-10 wt% of carbon black particles (“first particles”), as taught by Abdelsalam, given that such a combination of elongate nanostructures and carbon black particles provides for excellent cyclability characteristics insofar as the elongate carbon nanostructures would help form short and long range conductive networks which provide space for silicon expansion and electrolyte access while providing a strong mechanical framework that can withstand volumetric expansion and contraction, while the carbon black particles would help provide for dispersed conductivity enhancements across the negative electrode active material layer.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, does not explicitly teach that the carbon black particles have an aspect ratio of less than 2.
However, Jiang further teaches that the negative electrode comprises a carbonaceous conductive material ([0029]). Jiang teaches that the carbonaceous conductive material is 0.5 nm to 50 µm in all three directions, and in particular, that the carbonaceous conductive material is a uniform length in all three directions (e.g. 0.5 nm, 2 nm, 500 nm, 1 µm, etc. in all three directions) in order to ensure for sufficient conductivity characteristics without promoting an uneven particle distribution ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the carbon black particles of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, exhibit a uniform length in all three directions (and therefore an aspect ratio of 1 which is “an aspect ratio less than 2”), as taught by Jiang, in order to helps ensure for sufficient conductivity characteristics without promoting uneven particle distribution.
Regarding Claim 4, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), the carbon black particles comprise 0.25-10 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 5, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), the carbon black particles comprise 0.25-10 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 6, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), the “first particles” are carbon black particles and the “second particles” are MWCNTs.
Regarding Claim 7, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), the MWCNTs comprise 0.25-20 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Loveridge et al. (US 2012/0094178) and Buqa et al. (“Study of styrene butadiene rubber and sodium methyl cellulose as binder for negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries,” provided in the 06/27/23 IDS).
Regarding Claim 11, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the SBR comprises 1-6 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Buqa teaches silicon-based negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries (Abstract). Buqa teaches that the electrodes comprise a binder therein, wherein the binder ins a mixture of SBR and NaCMC (Last paragraph of “Introduction”). Buqa teaches that 1-2 wt% of SBR mixed with 1-2 wt% of NaCMC provides for good electrochemical performance of the silicon-based negative electrodes (“Conclusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include the SBR and NaCMC of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, each in amounts of 1-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material, given that that such respective amounts of SBR and NaCMC, when combined, would help provide for good electrochemical performance of the negative electrode.
Regarding Claim 12, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the SBR comprises 1.2-3 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Buqa teaches silicon-based negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries (Abstract). Buqa teaches that the electrodes comprise a binder therein, wherein the binder ins a mixture of SBR and NaCMC (Last paragraph of “Introduction”). Buqa teaches that 1-2 wt% of SBR mixed with 1-2 wt% of NaCMC provides for good electrochemical performance of the silicon-based negative electrodes (“Conclusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include the SBR and NaCMC of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, each in amounts of 1-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material, given that that such respective amounts of SBR and NaCMC, when combined, would help provide for good electrochemical performance of the negative electrode. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 13, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the NaCMC comprises 0.2-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Buqa teaches silicon-based negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries (Abstract). Buqa teaches that the electrodes comprise a binder therein, wherein the binder ins a mixture of SBR and NaCMC (Last paragraph of “Introduction”). Buqa teaches that 1-2 wt% of SBR mixed with 1-2 wt% of NaCMC provides for good electrochemical performance of the silicon-based negative electrodes (“Conclusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include the SBR and NaCMC of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, each in amounts of 1-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material, given that that such respective amounts of SBR and NaCMC, when combined, would help provide for good electrochemical performance of the negative electrode.
Regarding Claim 14, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the NaCMC comprises 0.3-1 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Buqa teaches silicon-based negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries (Abstract). Buqa teaches that the electrodes comprise a binder therein, wherein the binder ins a mixture of SBR and NaCMC (Last paragraph of “Introduction”). Buqa teaches that 1-2 wt% of SBR mixed with 1-2 wt% of NaCMC provides for good electrochemical performance of the silicon-based negative electrodes (“Conclusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include the SBR and NaCMC of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, each in amounts of 1-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material, given that that such respective amounts of SBR and NaCMC, when combined, would help provide for good electrochemical performance of the negative electrode. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Loveridge et al. (US 2012/0094178) and Momma et al. (US 2018/0145317).
Regarding Claim 16, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, does not explicitly teach that the lithium-ion battery comprises a battery cell enclosure including A of the negative electrodes, C positive electrodes, and S separators as claimed, wherein said electrodes and separators are arranged in a predetermined sequence in the battery cell enclosure.
However, Momma teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (Abstract, [0215]). As illustrated in Figures 12A-12B, Momma teaches that the battery comprises an exterior body (509) in which a plurality of anodes, cathodes, and separators are arranged in a predetermined sequence ([0223]-[0227]). Momma teaches that the exterior body enhances flexibility of the battery while also providing insulation ([0225]). Momma teaches that as opposed to including one anode/cathode/separator stack in the battery, the plurality of said stacks provides for at least high capacity characteristics ([0227]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the battery of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Loveridge, such that it comprises an exterior body in which a plurality of the negative electrode, a plurality of positive electrodes, and a plurality of separators are arranged in a predetermined sequence, as taught by Momma, given not only because the exterior body would help protect said electrodes and said separators from the external environment while helping provide flexibility and insulation, but also because said plurality of electrodes and separators would help provide for higher capacity characteristics.
Claims 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Abdelsalam et al. (GB 2498803).
Regarding Claim 17, Xiao teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a negative electrode (“anode electrode”) (Abstract, [0003]). As illustrated in Figure 2, Xiao teaches that the negative electrode comprises a negative side current collector (20) (“anode current collector”) having a negative electrode active material layer (“anode active material layer”) formed on a surface thereof ([0006], [0019], [0057]-[0058]). As illustrated in Figures 1-2, Xiao teaches that the anode active material layer comprises an anode active material (10) and a binder (16), wherein Xiao teaches that said binder is bound not only to the surface of the anode active material, but also dispersed throughout the anode active material layer to hold components therein together ([0019], [0026]). Xiao teaches that the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide (“silicon oxide”) and/or silicon suboxide (alternatively, “silicon oxide”) ([0020]). Xiao teaches that binder can comprises materials such as CMC, SBR, and PAA ([0077]).
Xiao does not explicitly teach that the binder comprises SBR and NaCMC.
However, Jiang teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a negative electrode ([0002], [0014], [0051]-[0052]). Jiang teaches that the negative electrode comprises a silicon or silicon oxide based active material and a polymer binder ([0023], [0034]). Jiang teaches that the polymer binder comprises NaCMC and SBR therein ([0024]). Jiang teaches that the NaCMC and SBR are present in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1 ([0024]). Jiang teaches that the use of both NaCMC and SBR helps improve cycle and rate performance, product capacity utilization, and first cycle efficiency ([0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the binder of Xiao out of NaCMC and SBR in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1, as taught by Jiang, given that such a binder would help improve cycle and rate performance, product capacity utilization, and first cycle efficiency.
Furthermore, given that the binder of Xiao, as modified by Jiang, includes NaCMC and SBR in a mass ratio of 1:99 to 99:1, the content of SBR in the overall binder is considered to at least overlap with the claimed range of “greater than 60 wt%.” It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Xiao, as modified by Jiang, does not explicitly teach that the conductive filler comprises first particles along with second particles having an aspect ratio greater than 20.
However, Abdelsalam teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising an anode, wherein the anode comprises an anode active material composition (Abstract, “Detailed Description of the Invention” at Pages 8-9). Abdelsalam teaches that the anode active material composition comprises a silicon-based active material, 0.25-20 wt% of first elongate carbon nanostructures, 0.25-20 wt% of second elongate carbon nanostructures, and 0.25-10 wt% of carbon black particles (“Composition” at Pages 22-23). Abdelsalam teaches that the first elongate carbon nanostructures are, for example, carbon nanofibers having an aspect ratio of 40-180, and teaches that the second elongate carbon nanostructures are, for example, MWCNTs having an aspect ratio of 200-500 (“Elongate carbon nanostructure materials” at Page 18, “Composition” at Pages 23-24). Abdelsalam teaches that the combination of said elongate nanostructures and said carbon black provides for excellent cyclability characteristics insofar as said elongate carbon nanostructures form short and long range conductive networks which provide space for silicon expansion and electrolyte access while providing a strong mechanical framework that can withstand volumetric expansion and contraction, while the carbon black particles provide for dispersed conductivity enhancements across the composition (“Composition” at Pages 23-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include, with respect to the negative electrode active material layer of Xiao, as modified by Jiang, 0.25-20 wt% of carbon nanofibers, 0.25-20 wt% of MWCNTs having an aspect ratio of 200-500 (“second particles having an aspect ratio greater than 20”), and 0.25-10 wt% of carbon black particles (“first particles”), as taught by Abdelsalam, given that such a combination of elongate nanostructures and carbon black particles provides for excellent cyclability characteristics insofar as the elongate carbon nanostructures would help form short and long range conductive networks which provide space for silicon expansion and electrolyte access while providing a strong mechanical framework that can withstand volumetric expansion and contraction, while the carbon black particles would help provide for dispersed conductivity enhancements across the negative electrode active material layer.
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, does not explicitly teach that the carbon black particles have an aspect ratio of less than 2.
However, Jiang further teaches that the negative electrode comprises a carbonaceous conductive material ([0029]). Jiang teaches that the carbonaceous conductive material is 0.5 nm to 50 µm in all three directions, and in particular, that the carbonaceous conductive material is a uniform length in all three directions (e.g. 0.5 nm, 2 nm, 500 nm, 1 µm, etc. in all three directions) in order to ensure for sufficient conductivity characteristics without promoting an uneven particle distribution ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the carbon black particles of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, exhibit a uniform length in all three directions (and therefore an aspect ratio of 1 which is “an aspect ratio less than 2”), as taught by Jiang, in order to helps ensure for sufficient conductivity characteristics without promoting uneven particle distribution.
Regarding Claim 18, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 17, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 17), the “first particles” are carbon black particles and the “second particles” are MWCNTs, wherein the carbon black particles comprise 0.25-10 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer and the MWCNTs comprise 0.25-20 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 20, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 17, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 17), the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide (“silicon oxide”) and/or silicon suboxide (alternatively, “silicon oxide”). Furthermore, Xiao teaches that said anode active material comprises 30-95 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer ([0046]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2016/0006024), and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109301184, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Abdelsalam et al. (GB 2498803) and Buqa et al. (“Study of styrene butadiene rubber and sodium methyl cellulose as binder for negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries,” provided in the 06/27/23 IDS).
Regarding Claim 19, Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 17, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 17), the anode active material comprises silicon dioxide and/or silicon suboxide. Furthermore, Xiao teaches that said anode active material comprises 30-95 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer ([0046]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, does not explicitly teach that the SBR comprises 1-6 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer and the NaCMC comprises 0.2-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material layer.
However, Buqa teaches silicon-based negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries (Abstract). Buqa teaches that the electrodes comprise a binder therein, wherein the binder ins a mixture of SBR and NaCMC (Last paragraph of “Introduction”). Buqa teaches that 1-2 wt% of SBR mixed with 1-2 wt% of NaCMC provides for good electrochemical performance of the silicon-based negative electrodes (“Conclusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include the SBR and NaCMC of Xiao, as modified by Jiang and Abdelsalam, each in amounts of 1-2 wt% of the negative electrode active material, given that that such respective amounts of SBR and NaCMC, when combined, would help provide for good electrochemical performance of the negative electrode. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728