DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112
Applicant has amended claims 13 and 20 to correct the antecedent basis issue. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 4 – 13 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bardy et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0153813). Applicant has amended the claims to include a retention hinge cut from a surface of the insertion tube and formed as a curve in an interior of the insertion tube. Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 30 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4 – 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bardy et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0153813 – previously cited) in view of Hochmuth et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0259736 – previously cited). The new rejection was necessitated by amendment
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 14 – 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bardy et al. in view of Hochmuth et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0259736).
Claim 1 was amended to include the limitation a conductive structure through which a monitor housed in the conductive structure is inductively rechargeable by a wireless device. These features are taught by Bardy in ¶ 62 – 63. Therefore, these amendments do not overcome the prior art.
Applicant argues that neither Bardy nor Hochmuth teach or disclose a retention hinge cut from a surface of a structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure as recited in independent claims 1 and 14. Applicant also argues that Fig. 3 of Hochmuth teaches a straight tongue that is bent at an angle rather than bell-curve shape with a crest and a smooth continuous curvature, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., bell-curve shape, crest, etc.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The phrase “formed as a curve” is broad. Applicant admits that Hochmuth teaches that the fixing element is punched from the material of the implantation needle and bent to obstruct the inner lumen (e.g. Hochmuth ¶ 89). By bending the material, it would necessarily be “formed as a curve.” The curve can be seen in Fig. 3 of Hochmuth reproduced below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bardy et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0153813 – previously cited) in view of Hochmuth et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0259736 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Bardy discloses an insertable physiological monitor injector tool (e.g. Fig. 1), comprising: a conductive structure through which a monitor housed in the conductive structure is inductively rechargeable by a wireless device (e.g. ¶ 63), but fails to teach a retention hinge cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure.
Hochmuth teaches it is known to use a retention hinge (e.g. 118 in Figs. 1-3) cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure (e.g. ¶ 88-90). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Bardy with the retention hinge as taught by Hochmuth, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing unwanted sliding toward the tip.
Regarding claim 2, Bardy discloses the structure comprises an insertion tube having a hollow elongated shape (e.g. ¶ 10).
Regarding claim 3, Bardy discloses at least one of: an elongated handle within which a recess is formed along a longitudinal axis and comprising an opening on a distal end, wherein the structure is housed in the recess; a stationary arbor affixed on a proximal end to a proximal end of the elongated handle and extends through the insertion tube when the insertion tube is in a retracted position; and a tab affixed to the insertion tube, wherein the tab can lock the insertion tube in an extended position (e.g. ¶ 12, 64).
Regarding claim 4, Bardy discloses an insertable physiological monitor injector tool, comprising: an elongated handle within which a recess is formed along a longitudinal axis and comprising an opening on a distal end (e.g. Figs. 1-15); an insertion tube comprising a hollow elongated shape that is movably positioned within the elongated handle, in the recess (e.g. ¶ 10); a stationary arbor affixed on a proximal end to a proximal end of the elongated handle and extends through the insertion tube when the insertion tube is in a retracted position; and a tab affixed to the insertion tube, wherein the tab can lock the insertion tube in an extended position (e.g. ¶ 12, 64), but fails to teach a retention hinge cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure.
Hochmuth teaches it is known to use a retention hinge (e.g. 118 in Figs. 1-3) cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure (e.g. ¶ 88-90). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Bardy with the retention hinge as taught by Hochmuth, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing unwanted sliding toward the tip.
Regarding claim 5, Bardy discloses an implantable physiological monitor placed within the insertion tube when the insertion tube is in the extended position (e.g. ¶ 10-13).
Regarding claim 6, Bardy discloses a channel (e.g. 12) is formed within a portion of the handle, on the proximal end, to allow movement of the tab (e.g. 18; ¶ 36-37).
Regarding claim 7, Bardy discloses the insertion tube is configured to retract into the handle via the recess upon movement of the tab in the channel towards a proximal end of the handle (e.g. Fig. 7 and ¶ 47-48).
Regarding claim 8, Bardy discloses the insertion tube is made from plastic (e.g. ¶ 39).
Regarding claim 9, Bardy discloses a proximal end of the insertion tube is sharpened (e.g. ¶ 36).
Regarding claim 10, Bardy discloses one or more sets of guides formed on an interior surface of the insertion tube and shaped to surround at least a portion of the insertion tube in the recess (e.g. ¶ 39).
Regarding claim 11, Bardy discloses a tip formed on a distal end of the insertion tube (e.g. ¶ 44-45).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Bardy discloses a notch formed on a proximal end of the insertion tube, wherein the button is affixed to the notch of the insertion tube (e.g. ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 14, Bardy discloses an insertable physiological monitor injector tool (e.g. Fig. 1), comprising: an elongated handle within which a recess is formed along a longitudinal axis and comprising an opening on a distal end, wherein the structure is housed in the recess; a stationary arbor affixed on a proximal end to a proximal end of the elongated handle and extends through the insertion tube when the insertion tube is in a retracted position; and a tab affixed to the insertion tube, wherein the tab can lock the insertion tube in an extended position (e.g. ¶ 12, 64), a structure through which a monitor housed in the structure is rechargeable (e.g. ¶ 63), but fails to teach a retention hinge cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure but fails to teach a retention hinge cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure.
Hochmuth teaches it is known to use a retention hinge (e.g. 118 in Figs. 1-3) cut from a surface of the structure and formed as a curve in an interior of the structure (e.g. ¶ 88-90). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Bardy with the retention hinge as taught by Hochmuth, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing unwanted sliding toward the tip.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Bardy discloses an incision tool comprising a handle and a blade affixed to a distal end of the handle, and a tunneller tool comprising a handle and a rod affixed to a distal end of the handle (e.g. ¶ 43).
Regarding claim 17, Bardy discloses the insertion tube is plastic (e.g. ¶ 39).
Regarding claim 18, Bardy discloses a tip formed on a distal end of the insertion tube (e.g. ¶ 44-45).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Bardy discloses a notch formed on a proximal end of the insertion tube, wherein the button is affixed to the notch of the insertion tube (e.g. ¶ 64).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796