DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/23 and 05/09/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-12, 15-16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathory Frota et al US 20210004581 in view of Piliouras 20090055915.
Regarding claim 1, Bathory Frota et al teaches a system for collecting information of fake identification documents and providing access thereto by a plurality of external systems (a document scanning system 700 employing a plurality of document scanners 100 (paragraph 0041), the system comprising:
a central controller having one or more processors coupled to one or more storage devices and one or more communication interfaces (one or more processors 204 are connected to a variety of storage devices such as SDRAM 206, 306 and flash memory 208, 308, a plurality of network and communication interfaces such as the Ethernet ports 202, 302, wireless interfaces 210, 310 (paragraph 0039 and fig 6). The processors may be included in one or more general-purpose or specific-purpose computer such as embedded computers that may become the document controller 100 or any of the above-described computers 200, 300 as a result of executing the instructions (paragraph 0162);
wherein the one or more communication interfaces of the central controller are further coupled to the plurality of external systems and to a plurality of scanners via one or more computer networks, wherein at least some of the scanners are located at different venues where identification documents of users of the different venues are being scanned (the system 700 includes a one or more document scanners 100 at each of a plurality of age-restricted venues 702 such as bars or clubs serving alcohol. Each document scanner 100 is positioned at a door or other ingress point where new patrons enter the venue 702 (paragraph 0041); and
by executing a plurality of software instructions loaded from the one or more storage devices, the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to:
receive a respective image data and metadata for each of a plurality of different identification documents scanned by the plurality of scanners via the one or more computer networks (the document scanner 100 detects a document 150 to be authenticated present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves ensuring that there is a document 150 present and that the document scanner 100 has clear pictures of the top and bottom sides of the document 150 for processing (image data). the document scanner 100 authenticates the type of the document 150 present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves determining that the document 150 is one of a plurality of known document types (meta data) supported by the document scanner 100 (paragraph 0046-0047) Note: when the document 150 is scanned, the image of document 150 and the type of document, which reads on meta data, is received via the document scanners that are networked (see rejection above and paragraph 0041-0043);
determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake (the document scanner 100 validates security features of the document 150. This step involves checking for features of certain types of documents 150 that are present or that change under different lighting conditions. Likewise, RFID data may be read and verified from the document as another security feature at this step (paragraph 0048);
Bathory-Frota et al fails to teach when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database
Piliouras 20090055915 teaches when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake (a minor may use a fake driver license to buy cigarettes, where the fake driver license was produced from a fake driver license template. When, for example computer implemented method 700 receives information relating to the fake driver license template (ACT 705), the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133); and
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database (the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133) Note: The FDC updates a database with the detected fake driver license so that the database can be access to detect fake ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bathory-Frota et al with when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database
The reason of doing so would be to accurately verify if a document is fake and to identify similar fake documents.
Regarding claim 2, Bathory-Frota further teaches comprising:
an analyst terminal coupled to the one or more communication interfaces of the central controller (The user devices 704 are coupled to the document scanners 100 via a local area network (LAN) 706 of each document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) or wireless via the Wi-Fi interfaces 210, 310 provided by one of the computers 200, 300 within the document scanner 100 (paragraph 0042). ;
wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least in part by sending the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents to the analyst terminal for display, thereby enabling a human analyst to analyze the respective image data and metadata (the document scanner 100 detects a document 150 to be authenticated present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves ensuring that there is a document 150 present and that the document scanner 100 has clear pictures of the top and bottom sides of the document 150 (image) for processing (paragraph 0046). the document scanner 100 authenticates the type of document, validates information on the document 150 and matches the fake variant with a type of document (meta data) (paragraphs 0046-0050). document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053); and
the one or more processors of the central controller (The processors may be included in one or more general-purpose or specific-purpose computer such as embedded computers that may become the document controller 100 or any of the above-described computers 200, 300 as a result of executing the instructions (paragraph 0162) are configured to receive information back from the analyst terminal about whether the particular one of the different identification documents is judged to be a fake by the human analyst (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 4, Bethory-Frota further teaches wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to send the respective image data and metadata received for all of the different identification documents to the analyst terminal for human analyst review (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 5, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches wherein, for each respective image data and metadata of the plurality of different identification documents received from the scanners, the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to automatically determine whether or not to send the respective image data and metadata to the analyst terminal for human analyst review (document scanner 100 authenticates the type of the document 150 present within the document scanning area 108 (paragraph 0047) (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053)
Regarding claim 7, Bathory-Frota et al in view of Piliouras further teaches wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to automatically notify the one or more of the external systems after adding the fake ID template to the database (Piliouras: When, for example computer implemented method 700 receives information relating to the fake driver license template (ACT 705), the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bathory-Frota et al with wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to automatically notify the one or more of the external systems after adding the fake ID template to the database
The reason of doing so would be to accurately verify if a document is fake and to identify similar fake documents.
Regarding claim 9, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches a first scanner being one of the plurality of scanners coupled to the central controller (fig 6);
wherein the first scanner is configured to automatically send the respective image data and metadata of an identification document scanned by the first scanner to the central controller in response to the first scanner determining that the identification document is a fake (at least one of the primary computer 200 and the secondary computer 300 updates the results data to include an indication that the document 150 in the scanning area 108 is fake (paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 10, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches comprising:
a first scanner being one of the plurality of scanners coupled to the central controller (fig 6);
wherein the first scanner provides a user interface for a human operator of the first scanner to cause the first scanner to send the respective image data and metadata of an identification document scanned by the first scanner to the central controller regardless of whether or not the first scanner automatically determines the identification document to be a fake (A touch screen 112 is mounted on the outer surface of the enclosure 102 and provides a user interface (UI) for a user of the document scanner 100 such as a staff member of the venue who is responsible for authenticating identification (ID) documents by patrons prior to granting patrons access to the venue (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 11, Bathory-Frota teaches further comprising: a first scanner being one of the plurality of scanners coupled to the central controller;
wherein, in an audit mode, the first scanner is configured to send the respective image data and metadata for all identification documents scanned by the first scanner to the central controller (the computer 200, 300 performing this step determines whether the type 902 of the document 150 can now be determined based on features of one or more valid variants 904 that have been found (paragraph 0079). at least one of the primary computer 200 and the secondary computer 300 updates the results data to include an indication that the document 150 in the scanning area 108 is fake (paragraph 0081) Note: the results of all of the types of documents are sent from the computer 200, 300, therefore functioning in a audit mode).
Regarding claim 12, Bathory-Frota et al teaches wherein at least a part of the respective image data and metadata for each of the plurality of different identification documents includes one or more image files for either or both of a front and a back of an identification document scanned by one of the scanners (ID cards 150 have security features and biometric identification information on the front side of the card (i.e., the side of the card that includes the cardholder's picture). The 2D barcode is present on the back side of the card and is typically positioned along upper portion of the backside of the document 150 (paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 14, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches a central controller in a system for collecting information of fake identification documents and providing access thereto by a plurality of external systems (one or more processors 204 are connected to a variety of storage devices such as SDRAM 206, 306 and flash memory 208, 308, a plurality of network and communication interfaces such as the Ethernet ports 202, 302, wireless interfaces 210, 310 (paragraph 0039 and fig 6). The processors may be included in one or more general-purpose or specific-purpose computer such as embedded computers that may become the document controller 100 or any of the above-described computers 200, 300 as a result of executing the instructions (paragraph 0162), the central controller comprising: one or more communication interfaces;
one or more storage devices ((storage devices such as SDRAM 206, 306 and flash memory 208, 308 (paragraph 0036 and fig 6); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more storage devices and the one or more communication interfaces ((one or more processors 204 are connected to a variety of storage devices such as SDRAM 206, 306 and flash memory 208, 308 (paragraph 0036 and fig 6);
wherein the one or more communication interfaces are further coupled to the plurality of external systems and to a plurality of scanners via one or more computer networks, wherein at least some of the scanners are located at different venues where identification documents of users of the different venues are being scanned (the system 700 includes a one or more document scanners 100 at each of a plurality of age-restricted venues 702 such as bars or clubs serving alcohol. Each document scanner 100 is positioned at a door or other ingress point where new patrons enter the venue 702 (paragraph 0041); and
by executing a plurality of software instructions loaded from the one or more storage devices, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a respective image data and metadata for each of a plurality of different identification documents scanned by the plurality of scanners via the one or more computer networks (the document scanner 100 detects a document 150 to be authenticated present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves ensuring that there is a document 150 present and that the document scanner 100 has clear pictures of the top and bottom sides of the document 150 for processing (image data). the document scanner 100 authenticates the type of the document 150 present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves determining that the document 150 is one of a plurality of known document types (meta data) supported by the document scanner 100 (paragraph 0046-0047) Note: when the document 150 is scanned, the image of document 150 and the type of document, which reads on meta data, is received via the document scanners that are networked (see rejection above and paragraph 0041-0043);
determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake (the document scanner 100 validates security features of the document 150. This step involves checking for features of certain types of documents 150 that are present or that change under different lighting conditions. Likewise, RFID data may be read and verified from the document as another security feature at this step (paragraph 0048);
Bathory-Frota et al fails to teach when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database
Piliouras teaches when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake (a minor may use a fake driver license to buy cigarettes, where the fake driver license was produced from a fake driver license template. When, for example computer implemented method 700 receives information relating to the fake driver license template (ACT 705), the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133); and
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database (the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133) Note: The FDC updates a database with the detected fake driver license so that the database can be access to detect fake ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bathory-Frota et al with when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, add the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in the one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
provide access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database
The reason of doing so would be to accurately verify if a document is fake and to identify similar fake documents.
Regarding claim 15, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches wherein: the one or more communication interfaces are further coupled to an analyst terminal (the user devices 704 are coupled to the document scanners 100 via a local area network (LAN) 706 of each document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) or wireless via the Wi-Fi interfaces 210, 310 provided by one of the computers 200, 300 within the document scanner 100 (paragraph 0042). ;
the one or more processors are configured to determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least in part by sending the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents to the analyst terminal for display, thereby enabling a human analyst to analyze the respective image data and metadata (the document scanner 100 detects a document 150 to be authenticated present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves ensuring that there is a document 150 present and that the document scanner 100 has clear pictures of the top and bottom sides of the document 150 (image) for processing (paragraph 0046). the document scanner 100 authenticates the type of document, validates information on the document 150 and matches the fake variant with a type of document (meta data) (pargraphs 0046-0050). document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053); and
the one or more processors (The processors may be included in one or more general-purpose or specific-purpose computer such as embedded computers that may become the document controller 100 or any of the above-described computers 200, 300 as a result of executing the instructions (paragraph 0162) are configured to receive information back from the analyst terminal about whether the particular one of the different identification documents is judged to be a fake by the human analyst (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 16, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to send the respective image data and metadata received for all of the different identification documents to the analyst terminal for human analyst review (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 18, Bathory-Frota et al further teaches a method of collecting information of fake identification documents and providing access thereto by a plurality of external systems (a document scanning system 700 employing a plurality of document scanners 100 (paragraph 0041), the method comprising:
receiving, by a central controller, a respective image data and metadata for each of a plurality of different identification documents scanned by a plurality of scanners via one or more computer networks, wherein at least some of the scanners are located at different venues where identification documents of users of the different venues are being scanned (the system 700 includes a one or more document scanners 100 at each of a plurality of age-restricted venues 702 such as bars or clubs serving alcohol. Each document scanner 100 is positioned at a door or other ingress point where new patrons enter the venue 702 (paragraph 0041);
determining whether each of the different identification documents is a fake (the document scanner 100 validates security features of the document 150. This step involves checking for features of certain types of documents 150 that are present or that change under different lighting conditions. Likewise, RFID data may be read and verified from the document as another security feature at this step (paragraph 0048);
Bathory-Frota et al fails to teach when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, adding, by the central controller, the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
providing access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database;
Piliouras teaches when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, adding, by the central controller, the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake (a minor may use a fake driver license to buy cigarettes, where the fake driver license was produced from a fake driver license template. When, for example computer implemented method 700 receives information relating to the fake driver license template (ACT 705), the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133); and
providing access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database (the FDC service may update a database to store, for example, details of the template so that future fake driver licenses made from the same false template can be detected (paragraph 0133) Note: The FDC updates a database with the detected fake driver license so that the database can be access to detect fake ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bathory-Frota et al with when determining that a particular one of the different identification documents is a fake, adding, by the central controller, the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents as a fake ID template to a database stored in one or more storage devices, whereby, over time, the database accumulates a plurality of fake ID templates as more and more of the different identification documents scanned by the scanners are confirmed fake;
providing access to the database by the plurality of external system over the one or more computer networks such that each of the plurality of external systems is able to retrieve the plurality of fake ID templates from the database;
The reason of doing so would be to accurately verify if a document is fake and to identify similar fake documents.
Regarding claim 19, Bathory-Frota et al teaches wherein determining whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least comprises: sending the respective image data and metadata for the particular one of the different identification documents from the central controller to an analyst terminal for display, thereby enabling a human analyst to analyze the respective image data and metadata (the document scanner 100 detects a document 150 to be authenticated present within the document scanning area 108. This step involves ensuring that there is a document 150 present and that the document scanner 100 has clear pictures of the top and bottom sides of the document 150 (image) for processing (paragraph 0046). the document scanner 100 authenticates the type of document, validates information on the document 150 and matches the fake variant with a type of document (meta data) (pargraphs 0046-0050). document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053); and
receiving information back from the analyst terminal about whether the particular one of the different identification documents is judged to be a fake by the human analyst (document scanner 100 (analyst terminal) processes and outputs results. This step involves displaying output on the touchscreen 112 informing a staff member of whether or not the patron and their associated document 150 have passed the verification process and can be permitted entry to the venue 702 (paragraph 0053).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathory Frota et al US 20210004581 in view of Piliouras 20090055915 further in view of Ross et al US 20210103760.
Regarding claim 6, Bathory-Frota et al in view of Piliouras teach all of the limitations of claim 1
Bathory-Frota et al in view of Piliouras fails to teach wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least in part by running an authentication algorithm to check the respective image data and metadata received by one of the scanners according to one or more of the fake ID templates in the database;
Ross et al teaches wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least in part by running an authentication algorithm to check the respective image data and metadata received by one of the scanners according to one or more of the fake ID templates in the database (Ross et al: system scans the object, block 404, and creates an authentication image 450 that includes at least one authentication region. The authentication region (or regions) may be determined automatically by the system, or by utilizing the authentication region definitions defined in a stored Object Feature Template 406 as noted earlier. Either way, the process next extracts features from the authentication region(s), block 408, and a digital fingerprint is created. The features of the object are then analyzed, block 420, and examined for attributes indicative of a counterfeit, block 402. Methods may be applied to the features by running programs that are listed in the Object Feature Template that check features for signs of counterfeiting. Features can also be statistically compared to features of other objects of the same class that are stored in the database using Bayesian algorithms to find suspect variations that the standard methods may not catch (paragraph 0090-0091)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bathory-Frota et al in view of Piliouras with wherein the one or more processors of the central controller are configured to determine whether each of the different identification documents is a fake at least in part by running an authentication algorithm to check the respective image data and metadata received by one of the scanners according to one or more of the fake ID templates in the database
The reason of doing so would be to accurately verify if a document is fake and to identify similar fake documents.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 13, 17 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
November 1, 2025
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 11/04/2025