DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 4/8/26 has been considered and entered. Claims 2,4 and 5 have been canceled. Claims 1,3 and 6-16 remain in the application.
Considering the amendment filed 4/8/26, the 35 USC 112 rejection has been withdrawn. The 35 USC 103 rejections have been maintained for the reasons provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,6-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (2014/0255785).
Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches a silicon-graphene nanocomposite for electrochemical applications. The nano graphitic composite for use as an anode in a lithium-ion battery includes nanoparticles if an electroactive material and a plurality of graphene nanoplatelets (abstract). Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the electroactive material to include silicon [0019],[0078],[0087-0088] with a particle size of 10nm to 3 microns [0087],[0103] and the graphene to include graphitic particle/platelets having size of 30-220 nm [0089] which meet the claimed formulas M<N and 2<N<10 where M is the graphite particle size and N is the electrochemical/Si size as M is greater than N as shown in Figs. 1A-1C and .
Regarding claim 2, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the number of graphite particles W being more than 3, i.e. W>3.
Regarding claim 3, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene composite to meet the formula 3<N<10 as the silicon particle is 3-10 microns [0103].
Regarding claim 4, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the formular 0.1<M/N<0.99 as the graphene particles are smaller than the silicon particle.
Regarding claim 5, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the aspect ratio of the graphene particles to be 900/200=4.5 which meets the claims 3-10 aspect ratio.
Regarding claim 6, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches silicon content to be 5% to 90% and variation thereof [0085] and the content of carbon would balance to 100% making it 95% to 10%.
Regarding claim 7, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches graphite from petroleum or coal coke [0103] and silicon being elemental [0088].
Regarding claim 8, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene composite to be less than or equal to 30 microns [0087]-[0089].
Regarding claim 9, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene nanocomposite for use as anode in a lithium-ion battery application which meets the claimed electrode active material (abstract and [0109]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 10, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches a particle size distribution which would meet the claims formula 0.3<Dn10/Dv50<1.
Regarding claim 11, the Examiner takes the position that the claimed highest intensity values would be met as the materials and sizes are the same and hence one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the intensity values to be similar.
Regarding claim 13, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the claimed silicon and graphene particle sizes meeting the claimed formulas as well as using an organic carbon source (coal and tar pitch) while grinding and milling to produce the claimed materials [0104]-[0112].
Regarding claim 14, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the same carbon source (pitch/tar) and hence would have similar softening point of 200-250C [0104]-[0112].
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene nanocomposite for use as anode in a lithium-ion battery application which meets the claimed electrochemical apparatus and electronic apparatus (abstract and [0109]-[0111]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (2014/0255785) in combination with CN 110797520.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Do et al. (2014/0255785) are incorporated here.
Do et al. (2014/0255785) fails to teach coating the silicon/graphene nanoparticle composite with a layer of metal oxide and a polymer layer.
CN 110797520 teaches negative electrode material including a silicon particle including graphene whereby the particle is coated with MeOy layer with wt% of 0.001-0.9 wt% and a thickness of 1-800 nm as well as a polymer layer including carbon material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Do et al. (2014/0255785) silicon/graphene nanoparticle composite to include a metal oxide and polymer thereon as evidenced by CN 110797520 with the expectation of improved performance of the electrode material.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued the aspect ratio of 3 to 10 are primary particles of graphite and define a thick geometry as a rigid structural anchor and not a flexible coating as taught in Do et al. (2014/0255785).
The Examiner agrees in part. While this may true as argued, the claims fail to recite/capture this difference and hence the rejections are being maintained for the reasons provided in paper filed 1/13/26. Applicant argues “thick” particles would be physically unable to perform the “flexible wrapping” required by Do et al. (2014/0255785). Nothing in the claims recite limitation supporting this rational and hence the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims as written.
Applicant argued Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches away from the derived ratio of 4.5 as Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches more preferred aspect rations above 10.
It has been well settled that teachings of a reference are not limited to a preferred embodiment. In re Boe, 145. Criticality of the claimed 10 microns is argued but the claim recites a range well below this critical point and hence not commensurate in scope as well as being broad enough to read upon the prior art.
Applicant argued evidence of unexpected results with a silicon particle size (N) of 10 microns and points to Example 9 as well as the necessity of the carbonaceous matrix and points to Examples 2,4 and 5.
The claims are not commensurate in scope with the argument as the claim recites 2-10 microns and does not recite carbonaceous matrix hence the argument is not convincing. If Applicant were to amend the claims to be commensurate is scope with these arguments, the Examiner will reconsider his position.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712