DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 remain in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the terms “Dn and Dv” are unclear and confusing. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (2014/0255785).
Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches a silicon-graphene nanocomposite for electrochemical applications. The nano graphitic composite for use as an anode in a lithium-ion battery includes nanoparticles if an electroactive material and a plurality of graphene nanoplatelets (abstract). Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the electroactive material to include silicon [0019],[0078],[0087-0088] with a particle size of 10nm to 3 microns [0087],[0103] and the graphene to include graphitic particle/platelets having size of 30-220 nm [0089] which meet the claimed formulas M<N and 2<N<10 where M is the graphite particle size and N is the electrochemical/Si size as M is greater than N as shown in Figs. 1A-1C and .
Regarding claim 2, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the number of graphite particles W being more than 3, i.e. W>3.
Regarding claim 3, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene composite to meet the formula 3<N<10 as the silicon particle is 3-10 microns [0103].
Regarding claim 4, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the formular 0.1<M/N<0.99 as the graphene particles are smaller than the silicon particle.
Regarding claim 5, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the aspect ratio of the graphene particles to be 900/200=4.5 which meets the claims 3-10 aspect ratio.
Regarding claim 6, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches silicon content to be 5% to 90% and variation thereof [0085] and the content of carbon would balance to 100% making it 95% to 10%.
Regarding claim 7, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches graphite from petroleum or coal coke [0103] and silicon being elemental [0088].
Regarding claim 8, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene composite to be less than or equal to 30 microns [0087]-[0089].
Regarding claim 9, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene nanocomposite for use as anode in a lithium-ion battery application which meets the claimed electrode active material (abstract and [0109]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 10, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches a particle size distribution which would meet the claims formula 0.3<Dn10/Dv50<1.
Regarding claim 11, the Examiner takes the position that the claimed highest intensity values would be met as the materials and sizes are the same and hence one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the intensity values to be similar.
Regarding claim 13, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the claimed silicon and graphene particle sizes meeting the claimed formulas as well as using an organic carbon source (coal and tar pitch) while grinding and milling to produce the claimed materials [0104]-[0112].
Regarding claim 14, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the same carbon source (pitch/tar) and hence would have similar softening point of 200-250C [0104]-[0112].
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Do et al. (2014/0255785) teaches the silicon-graphene nanocomposite for use as anode in a lithium-ion battery application which meets the claimed electrochemical apparatus and electronic apparatus (abstract and [0109]-[0111]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (2014/0255785) in combination with CN 110797520.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Do et al. (2014/0255785) are incorporated here.
Do et al. (2014/0255785) fails to teach coating the silicon/graphene nanoparticle composite with a layer of metal oxide and a polymer layer.
CN 110797520 teaches negative electrode material including a silicon particle including graphene whereby the c particle is coated with MeOy layer with wt% of 0.001-0.9 wt% and a thickness of 1-800 nm as well as a polymer layer including carbon material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Do et al. (2014/0255785) silicon/graphene nanoparticle composite to include a metal oxide and polymer thereon as evidenced by CN 110797520 with the expectation of improved performance of the electrode material
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715