DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species (b) in the reply filed on 5-11-26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement (applicant did not indicate that the election was with or without traverse), the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 2, 4, and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. With respect to claim 5, the species of claim 5 is Species (c) (paragraph 25 of instant specification).
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: power assembly in claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 10 are considered to be indefinite in that the claims indicate that a volume of the mounting cavity is reduced so as to squeeze liquid in the mounting cavity to flow back into the liquid storage cavity. However, the claims do not previously recited that the liquid was previously in the liquid storage cavity to afford reciting that it flows “back into” the liquid storage cavity.
Claim 10, the limitation “power supply assembly” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a
limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites
what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the
structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly
recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which
are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN113142673A).
Claim 1: Chen teaches a vaporization assembly (Abstract Lns1-2), comprising:
●a ferrule body (comprising at least air duct 400; oil cup 200; first sealing element 320)
having an inner cavity (para30 para36 Fig2 Fig3)
●vaporization body 500 adapted into the inner cavity and provided with liquid inlet holes
(those within oil-absorbing cotton 510) (para52 Fig3)
●a blocking portion protruding from a cavity wall of the inner cavity and arranged to
surround a periphery of vaporization body 500, the blocking portion being provided with at least one liquid-through clearance 310 (para30; Fig3 annotated below)
●wherein the ferrule body (item 320 of the ferrule body) is movable in a preset direction
(vertically) relative to vaporization body 500 – illustrated when viewing Figure 3 followed by Figure 4 – and comprises a pre-loading position (Fig3) and a conduction position (Fig4), wherein, when the ferrule body is located at the pre-loading position, the blocking portion partitions the inner cavity into liquid storage cavity 210 and a mounting cavity (comprising at least oil reserve 340) in the preset direction, the liquid inlet holes are located in the mounting cavity and isolated from liquid storage cavity 210 (para30 paras36-38; Fig3).
With respect to the claim limitation of “wherein, during a movement of the ferrule body from the pre-loading position to the conduction position, a volume of the mounting cavity is reduced so as to squeeze liquid in the mounting cavity to flow back into the liquid storage cavity via the at least one liquid-through clearance”, this limitation refers to a use of the claimed structure and is not considered to provide a structural limitation to the structure (vaporization assembly). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 3: the at least one liquid-through clearance 310 comprises at least two liquid-through clearances 310, the at least two liquid-through clearances 310 being uniformly arranged in a circumferential direction of the blocking portion (para38).
Claim 6: vaporization body 500 comprises a vaporization base, a surface of the vaporization base (heating wire 520) protrudes to form a limiting flange (portion of Fig2 annotated below; Fig3 annotated below). With respect to the claim limitation of “and the ferrule body abuts against the limiting flange in a limiting manner upon movement from the pre-loading position to the conduction position.”, this limitation refers to a use of the claimed structure and is not considered to provide a structural limitation to the structure (vaporization assembly).
Claim 7: the ferrule body is configured to move between the pre-loading position and the conduction position relative to the vaporization body 500 along an axis of the ferrule body – illustrated when viewing Figure 3 followed by Figure 4.
Claim 8: Chen teaches a vaporizer, comprising: the vaporization assembly of claim 1; and mouthpiece assembly 100 movably adapted onto the ferrule body (para30; Fig3).
Claim 9: with respect to the claim limitation of “the mouthpiece assembly is separated from the ferrule body when the ferrule body is located at the pre-loading position, and is configured to press the ferrule body in the preset direction when assembled on the ferrule body to provide a downward pressure for the ferrule body to move from the pre-loading position to the conduction position.” this limitation refers to a use of the claimed structure and is not considered to provide a structural limitation to the structure (vaporization assembly).
Claim 10: Chen teaches an electronic vaporization device, comprising: a power supply assembly; and the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the power supply assembly is electrically connected to the vaporizer (para56).
With respect to claimed power assembly, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Chen teaches a structure for the power assembly to
perform the same claimed function. Chen is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made record: Li teaches a movable ferrule body.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745