DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christensen et al. (US 2011/0009849 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Christensen discloses A fluid connector assembly (Fig. 2), comprising: a first connector (20); a second connector (30) configured to couple with the first connector (shown in Fig. 3a), the second connector having a snap member (180/200) disposed on an end of the second connector (200); and a connecting mechanism (90) coupled to the second connector for detachably coupling the first connector and the second connector (Fig. 3b showing he connecting mechanism detached from the second connector), the connecting mechanism comprising: a body (90) having a channel extending therethrough (see Fig. 2 channel through element 90) for providing fluid communication between the first connector and the second connector; and at least one projection (see annotated Fig below) extending from an end of the body, wherein, when the connecting mechanism is coupled to the second connector (Fig. 3a), at least a portion of the connecting mechanism is positioned within an opening of the snap member (see Fig. 3a, showing the connecting mechanism within the arms 180 of the snap member) and secured by the at least one projection (200 sits along the end of 90 holding it in place), and wherein actuation of the snap member allows the connecting mechanism to be disconnected from the second connector (shown in Fig. 3b, [0016]).
With regard to claim 2, Christensen discloses wherein the connecting mechanism (90) remains coupled to the second connector by a threshold force (would be inherent to stay connected by some type of force), and wherein, when an external force greater than the threshold force is applied to at least one of the first connector and the second connector, the connecting mechanism is decoupled from the second connector (when a user squeezes on handles 210 of the second connector the normal threshold force that is exerted to hold the connecting mechanism is overcome such that the snap member expands radially outward thus releasing the second connector. Thus the force used to squeeze the handles 210 is necessarily greater than the threshold force [0016]).
With regard to claim 4, Christensen discloses wherein the snap member (180) includes at least one snap arm (see Fig. 3a and 3b showing arm 180) extending from an end of the snap member, and wherein actuation of the at least one snap arm allows for the connecting mechanism to be decoupled from the second connector ([0016]).
With regard to claim 5, Christensen discloses wherein the connecting mechanism further comprises a valve member (70/80) disposed within the channel, and wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the valve member is configured to allow fluid communication between the first connector and the second connector (shown in Fig. 3a), and wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled, the valve member is configured to prevent a flow of a fluid through the channel (shown in Fig. 3b).
With regard to claim 6, Christensen discloses wherein the at least one projection (see annotated Fig. above) extends outwardly with respect to a longitudinally extending central axis (extends along a longitudinal axis from the body of the connecting member), and wherein an exterior surface profile of the at least one projection corresponds to an interior profile of the opening of the snap member (see Fig. 3a, showing the projection fit against the arm of the snap member).
With regard to claim 7, Christensen discloses wherein at least a portion of the connecting mechanism couples to an exterior surface of the second connector (the connecting mechanism 90 is considered to couple with an exterior surface of the second connector via the snap member arm 190, claims do not recite how the connecting member is coupled or that the connecting mechanism must directly contact an outer surface of the second connector), wherein when a pulling force greater than a threshold force is applied to the second connector in a direction along a central longitudinal axis, the connecting mechanism actuates the snap member thereby resulting in the first connector and second connector being decoupled ([0016], when a user squeezes on handles 210 of the second connector the normal threshold force that is exerted to hold the connecting mechanism is overcome such that the snap member expands radially outward thus releasing the second connector. Thus the force used to squeeze the handles 210 is necessarily greater than the threshold force), and wherein at least a portion of the connecting mechanism remains coupled to the second connector when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled (between Fig. 3a and 3b, when the snap member is activated the first and second connectors are pulled apart, during this time a portion of the connecting mechanism would still be touching/coupled to the second connector as it is slid away from the second connector and prior to being full disconnected).
With regard to claim 8, Christensen discloses wherein the fluid connector assembly is a closed-system drug transfer device (Fig. 3a).
With regard to claim 9, Christensen discloses A method of coupling a fluid connector assembly, the method comprising: providing a first connector (Fig. 2, element 20); providing a second connector (30) configured to couple to the first connector, the second connector having a snap member (190) disposed on an end of the second connector; providing a connecting mechanism (90) configured to couple the first connector and the second connector, the connecting mechanism comprising a body (90) and at least one projection extending from an end of the body (see annotated Fig above for claim 1); coupling an end of the connecting mechanism to the second connector such that at least a portion of connecting mechanism is disposed within an opening of the snap member (see Fig. 3a, showing 90 within the snap member 190 which is part of the second connector); and coupling the first connector to an opposite end of the connecting mechanism such that the first connector, the second connector, and coupling mechanism are in fluid communication (Fig. 3a).
With regard to claim 10, Christensen discloses wherein coupling the end of the connecting mechanism to the second connector includes positioning the at least one projection within the opening of the snap member (shown in Fig. 3a, the projections of 90 are within the opening of snap member 190) such that an exterior surface of the at least one projection abuts an interior surface of the snap member in a snap fit configuration (see Fig. 3a).
With regard to claim 11, Christensen discloses wherein decoupling the connecting mechanism from the second connector includes actuating the snap member to provide clearance between the at least one projection and the interior surface thereby allowing the connecting mechanism to be removed from the opening ([0016]).
With regard to claim 12, Christensen discloses wherein the connecting mechanism (90) remains coupled to the second connector by a threshold force (would be inherent to stay connected by some type of force), and wherein, when an external force greater than the threshold force is applied to at least one of the first connector and the second connector, the connecting mechanism is decoupled from the second connector (when a user squeezes on handles 210 of the second connector the normal threshold force that is exerted to hold the connecting mechanism is overcome such that the snap member expands radially outward thus releasing the second connector. Thus the force used to squeeze the handles 210 is necessarily greater than the threshold force [0016]).
With regard to claim 13, Christensen discloses wherein the connecting mechanism further comprises a valve member (70/80) disposed within the channel, and wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the valve member is configured to allow fluid communication between the first connector and the second connector (shown in Fig. 3a), and wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled, the valve member is configured to prevent a flow of a fluid through the channel (shown in Fig. 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (US 2011/0009849 A1).
With regard to claim 3, Christensen discloses an external force that is greater than the threshold force (see rejection of claim 2 above). Christensen does not explicitly disclose a pulling force of at least five pounds.
However, it would be prima facie obvious and within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pulling force to be at least five pounds as doing so would not alter the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (US 2011/0009849 A1) in view of Kopp et al. (US 2023/0092208 A1).
With regard to claim 14, Christensen discloses A fluid connector assembly (Fig. 2) comprising: a first connector (20); a second connector (30) configured to couple to the first connector (see Fig. 3a), the second connector is a closed system comprising a snap member (190/200) disposed having at least one arm projecting from an end of the snap member (see arm of 190 and also projection 200); a connecting mechanism (90) for detachably coupling the first connector and the second connector, the connecting mechanism comprising: a body (90) having a channel (see in Fig. 2, 90 is a hollow member that creates a channel) extending therethrough for providing fluid communication between the first connector and the second connector; a valve member (70/80) disposed within the channel for controlling a flow of fluids through the channel; and a second projection (see annotated drawing for claim 1 showing the projections) extending from a second end of the body for coupling to the second connector (as shown in Fig. 3a), wherein, when the connecting mechanism is coupled to the second connector, at least a portion of the connecting mechanism is positioned within an opening of the snap member (see Fig. 3a showing element 90 within the snap member arms (190) and secured by the second projection (second projection is friction fit within the arms of the snap member, further definition of how the second projection is secured would be needed to overcome the current rejection), and wherein, when a separating force exceeds a predetermined threshold, the connecting mechanism is decoupled from the second connector ([0016] when a user squeezes on handles 210 of the second connector the normal threshold force that is exerted to hold the connecting mechanism is overcome such that the snap member expands radially outward thus releasing the second connector. Thus the force used to squeeze the handles 210 is necessarily greater than the threshold force).
However, while Christensen is designed on a first end of the body of the connecting mechanism is connected to the first connector (as shown in Fig. 3b), Christensen does not disclose a first projection.
Kopp teaches a similar connector assembly (Fig. 1, 4, 5) including a first connector (Fig. 4), a second connector (Fig. 1) with a snap member (22) and further teaching a connecting mechanism (52, shown in Fig. 4 and 5) which includes a first projection (53, fastening structure of which there are two [0063] extends from the mating coupling member side 52 toward the fluid connection member 51).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection mechanism of Christensen with the additional first projection on a first end opposite the second end to connect to the first connector as taught by Kopp for the purpose of providing an attachment point for connecting with the fluid connector ([0063]).
With regard to claim 15, Christensen discloses a separating force that is greater than the threshold force (see rejection of claim 14 above). Christensen does not explicitly disclose a pulling force of at least five pounds.
However, it would be prima facie obvious and within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pulling force to be at least five pounds as doing so would not alter the overall function of the device.
With regard to claim 16, Christensen discloses wherein the at least one arm (190, see Fig. 2) includes a first snap arm projecting from a first side (see Fig. 2 showing two snap arm on element 30, one of the top and one on the bottom) of the second connector and a second snap arm (on the bottom of 30 in Fig. 2) projecting from a second side of the second connector opposite the first side, and wherein actuation of the first snap arm and the second snap arm allows for the connecting mechanism to be decoupled from the second connector ([0016]).
With regard to claim 17, Christensen discloses wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the valve member is configured to allow fluid communication between the first connector and the second connector (shown in Fig. 3a), and wherein, when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled, the valve member is configured to prevent a flow of a fluid through the channel (shown in Fig. 3b).
With regard to claim 18, Christensen discloses wherein the second projection (see annotated Fig. above) extends outwardly with respect to a longitudinally extending central axis (extends along a longitudinal axis from the body of the connecting member), and wherein an exterior surface profile of the second projection corresponds to an interior profile of the opening of the snap member (see Fig. 3a, showing the projection fit against the arm of the snap member).
However, while Christensen is designed on a first end of the body of the connecting mechanism is connected to the first connector (as shown in Fig. 3b), Christensen does not disclose a first projection.
Kopp teaches a similar connector assembly (Fig. 1, 4, 5) including a first connector (Fig. 4), a second connector (Fig. 1) with a snap member (22) and further teaching a connecting mechanism (52, shown in Fig. 4 and 5) which includes a first projection (53, fastening structure of which there are two [0063] extends from the mating coupling member side 52 toward the fluid connection member 51). The first projection extends outwardly with respect to a longitudinally (see Fig. 4) extending central axis of the connecting mechanism.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection mechanism of Christensen with the additional first projection on a first end opposite the second end to connect to the first connector as taught by Kopp for the purpose of providing an attachment point for connecting with the fluid connector ([0063]).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (US 2011/0009849 A1) in view of Kopp et al. (US 2023/0092208 A1) and in further view of Field (US 2004/0082923 A1).
With regard to claim 19 and 20, Christensen/Kopp teach the claimed invention except for the ring.
Field teaches a connector assembly (Fig. 2 and 3) including a first connector (40), a second connector (50) having a snap member (53/54) that can be pushed inward similar to the snap member of Christensen. Field further teaches a ring member (60) slidably disposed on an exterior surface of the second connector (shown in Fig. 3) and a configured to acuate the snap member ([0020]). Field further teaches wherein, when a separating force exceeds a predetermined threshold, the ring member slides along the second connector until the ring member is disposed on the at least one arm thereby causes actuation of the snap member ([0020], ring 60 slides over the snap member 53 in order to squeeze the snap member and thereby actuating the snap member). The ring 60 of Field could be placed around the snap member of Christensen to assisting in activating the snap member.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Christensen/Kopp with the ring member as taught by Field for the purpose of assisting in activating the snap member ([0020]).
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783