DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2025/0007119 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and Remarks filed on 9 July 2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection dated 28 April 2026 have been entered and fully considered, respectively. Claims 17-19 have been canceled and claims 1-3, 5, 8, 11-13, and 15 have been amended. As such, claims 1-16 remain pending and under consideration on the merits.
Applicant’s arguments on Page 8 of the Remarks, directed to the rejection of claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Matsuura and the rejection of claims 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsuura in view of Okuda, have been fully considered.
Applicant's arguments are moot, as the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection over Matsuura, and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Matsuura in view of Okuda previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection are overcome and hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendments to claims 1 and 11.
New grounds of rejection are set forth below, necessitated by the amendments to the claims and made in view of newly cited prior art identified as a result of additional search and consideration completed by the undersigned Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2024/0258600 A1; “Kim”), in view of Kagami (US 2023/0420809 A1; “Kagami”) and Lee et al. (US 2022/0200101 A1; “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery cell (a battery cell) [element 120, 0058, FIGs. 1-4] comprising an electrode assembly (a stack) [element 123, 0058, FIG. 2]. The electrode assembly is formed by alternately stacking a plurality of positive electrode plates (C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector) [0058] and a plurality of negative electrode plates (A anode electrodes each including an anode current collector) [0058] and disposing a separator between the positive and negative electrode plates [0058], thereby including a plurality of separators (S separators) [0058]. Cell tabs extend from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates (an external tab extending from the cathode current collector; an external tab extending from the anode current collector) [0058].
The electrode assembly further includes a first busbar unit (a first internal terminal) [element 130, 0047-0049, FIGs. 1 and 4] including an inner surface adjacent to the stack, an outer surface opposing the inner surface, and a first slot extending between the inner surface and the outer surface (an inner surface adjacent to the stack, an outer surface opposing the inner surface, and a first slot extending between the inner surface and the outer surface) [0058, FIG.s 1-4], wherein the cell tabs that extend from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates and integrated into one electrode lead are inserted into, and extend entirely through, the first slot (portions of the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes or the A anode electrodes extend entirely through the first slot) [0058, FIG.s 1-4].
Kim remains silent regarding the C cathode electrodes each including a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector, the A anode electrodes each including an anode active layer arranged on the anode current collector, and the portions of the external tabs are folded and in contact with the outer surface of the first internal terminal, and laser welded to the outer surface of the first internal terminal.
Kagami is directed towards a battery comprising an electrode body [0043]. Kagami teaches that electrode body includes a positive electrode current collector, a positive electrode active material layer, an electrolyte layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector in this order in the thickness direction [0057-0060]. The battery includes a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab as current collector tabs [0061], and extend from a side surface of the electrode body while not overlapping the electrode active material layer [0061].
Lee is directed towards battery cells with electrode tabs arranged on opposite sides of the battery cells [0042-0045]. Lee teaches that the electrode tabs extend through slit-shape holes of a busbar plate [0050-0052, FIGs. 2-3B]. The electrode tabs that pass through the busbar holes are bent so as to come into contact with an outer surface of the busbar plate [0052, FIGs. 3A-3B]. The bent electrode tabs are fixedly positioned on the busbar plate through a welding method, e.g. laser welding [0052]. Some of the electrode tabs may be coupled to one surface of the busbar plate by bending the free end thereof in a first lateral direction, and some of the rest of the electrode tabs may be bent in a second lateral direction opposite to the first lateral direction [0052].
Kim, Kagami, and Lee each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Kim, so that each of the plurality of positive electrode plates have a positive electrode active material layer thereon and each of the plurality of negative electrode plates have a negative electrode active material layer thereon, in order to form a laminated electrode body, and in order for the plurality of positive electrode plates to be able to collect current from the positive electrode active material layer and for the plurality of negative electrode plates to be able to collect current from the negative electrode active material layer [Kagami, 0057, 0060]; and additionally to have the cell tabs that are integrated into one electrode lead and inserted into the first slot be bent and in contact with the outer surface of the first busbar unit and laser welded to the first busbar unit, in order to more reliably contact the cell tabs with the first busbar unit, to maximize space utilization within the limited space, and to realize a high-capacity battery [Lee, 0052].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Kim would have each of the plurality of positive electrode plates with positive electrode active material layer thereon and each of the plurality of negative electrode plates with a negative electrode active material layer thereon, with separators disposed between the plates, and the cell tabs extending from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates, wherein the cell tabs that are integrated into one electrode lead and inserted into the first slot are bent and in contact with the outer surface of the first busbar unit and laser welded to the first busbar unit, thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Kim teaches a second busbar unit (a second internal terminal) [Kim, element 140, 0047-0049, 0051, 0055, 0064, FIGs. 1, 3-4], including a second slot to receive the cell tabs of the other one of the positive electrode plates or negative electrode plates [Kim, 0047-0049, 0051, 0055, 0064, FIGs. 1, 3-4].
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, the modification set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Kim so that the cell tabs that are integrated into one electrode lead and inserted into the second slot are bent and in contact with the outer surface of the second busbar unit and laser welded to the second busbar unit, in order to more reliably contact the cell tabs with the second busbar unit and to realize a high-capacity battery [Lee, 0052].
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Kim further teaches that the first busbar unit includes N of the first slot, where N is an integer greater than one [Kim, FIGs. 1 and 4].
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Kim further teaches that the first busbar unit is "L"- shaped and includes a first portion and a second portion extending transversely relative to the first portion [Kim, element 130, 0051, FIGs. 1 and 4].
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, modified Kim further teaches that the battery cell has an outer casing (an enclosure) [Kim, element 122, 0045-0046], a first terminal unit in contact with the first busbar unit (a first external terminal in contact with the first internal terminal) [Kim, element 150, 0055, FIG. 1], and a second terminal unit in contact with the second busbar unit (a second external terminal in contact with the second internal terminal) [Kim, element 160, 0055, FIG. 1].
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2024/0258600 A1, cited to above), in view of Sato (JP 2009/146867 A; herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Sato”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a battery cell (a battery cell) [element 120, 0058, FIGs. 1-4] comprising an electrode assembly (a stack) [element 123, 0058, FIG. 2]. The electrode assembly is formed by alternately stacking a plurality of positive electrode plates (C cathode electrodes each including a cathode current collector) [0058] and a plurality of negative electrode plates (A anode electrodes each including an anode current collector) [0058] and disposing a separator between the positive and negative electrode plates [0058], thereby including a plurality of separators (S separators) [0058]. Cell tabs extend from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates (an external tab extending from the cathode current collector; an external tab extending from the anode current collector) [0058].
The electrode assembly further includes a first busbar unit (a first internal terminal) [element 130, 0047-0049, FIGs. 1 and 4] including an inner surface adjacent to the stack, an outer surface opposing the inner surface, and R closed-ended slots extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, wherein R is an integer greater than zero (an inner surface, an outer surface opposing the inner surface, and R closed-ended slots extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, where R is an integer greater than zero) [0058, FIG.s 1-4]. The cell tabs that extend from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates and integrated into one electrode lead are inserted into the first slot (portions of the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes or the A anode electrodes extend entirely through the first slot) [0058, FIG.s 1-4].
Kim remains silent regarding the C cathode electrodes each including a cathode active layer arranged on the cathode current collector, the A anode electrodes each including an anode active layer arranged on the anode current collector, and portions of the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes or the A anode electrodes are folded and in contact with the inner surface of the first internal terminal, and laser welded to the inner surface of the first internal terminal through at least one of the R closed-ended slots of the first internal terminal.
Sato is directed towards lithium-ion secondary batteries [0001] including a positive electrode plate with positive electrode active material coated on both sides of a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode plate with negative electrode active material coated on both sides of a negative electrode current collector stacked with a separator in between [0002, 0009, 0017]. Sato teaches current collection protrusions (tabs) that are housed inside a battery case [0004, 0010, FIGs. 1-2] and extend from the current collector [0017-0018, 0020, FIGs. 1-2] may be joined in a plurality of ring shapes to form current collector joints [0020, FIG.s 1-2] with an inner surface of an electrode current collector plate [0020, 0026-0028, FIGs. 1-2 and 6], wherein the joints are made by, inter alia laser welding [0021]. The current collector plate has a comb-like shape and/or a plurality of slits [0012, 0025-0029, FIG. 6]
Kim and Sato each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Kim, so that each of the plurality of positive electrode plates have a positive electrode active material layer thereon and each of the plurality of negative electrode plates have a negative electrode active material layer thereon, in order to form a laminated group of electrode plates [Sato, 0009, 0018]; and additionally to have the cell tabs of the positive electrode plates or of the negative electrode plates joined in a ring shape to form a current collector joint, made by laser welding, with an inner surface of the first busbar unit, in order to increase surface area of the joint, to maintain a strong and reliable connection, and to prevent internal short circuits [Sato, 0014, 0021, 0027-0028, FIGs. 1-2].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery cell of modified Kim would have each of the plurality of positive electrode plates with positive electrode active material layer thereon and each of the plurality of negative electrode plates with a negative electrode active material layer thereon, with separators disposed between the plates, and the cell tabs extending from respective plurality of positive electrode plates and plurality of negative electrode plates, wherein the cell tabs of the positive electrode plates or of the negative electrode plates are joined in a ring shape to form a current collector joint, made by laser welding, with an inner surface of the first busbar unit through at least one of the R closed-ended slots, wherein the first busbar unit has the inner surface, the outer surface opposing the inner surface, and R closed-ended slots extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, thereby, in totality, reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, modified Kim further teaches a second internal terminal including R slots (a second internal terminal including R slots) [Kim, element 140, 0047-0049, 0051, 0055, 0064, FIGs. 1, 3-4], wherein, in view of the modification set forth above in ¶23-25, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the electrode assembly of Kim, so that the cell tabs of the other one of the positive electrode plates or the negative electrode plates are folded and laser welded to an inner surface of the second internal terminal through at least one of the R slots of the second internal terminal, in order to realize a similar connection like that of the first internal terminal set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above (MPEP 2143(I)(F)), thereby increasing surface area of the joint, maintaining a strong and reliable connection, and preventing internal short circuits [Sato, 0014, 0021, FIGs. 1-2].
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, modified Kim further teaches R is greater than one [Kim, element 140, 0047-0049, 0051, 0055, 0064, FIGs. 1, 3-4], wherein, in view of the modification set forth above in ¶23-25, the cell tabs of the positive electrode plates or of the negative electrode plates would be folded and laser welded to an the inner surface of the first internal terminal through at least another one of the R closed-ended slots of the first internal terminal, as Sato teaches a plurality of ring shapes formed from current collector protrusions on both the positive electrode and negative electrode plates, that connect at different places with a same inner surface of respective current collector plates [Sato, 0018, 0020, FIG. 1], in order to increase surface area of the joint, to maintain a strong and reliable connection, and to prevent internal short circuits [Sato, 0014, 0021, 0027-0028].
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, modified Kim further teaches that the first busbar unit has an "L"- shape and includes a first portion and a second portion extending transversely relative to the first portion [Kim, element 130, 0051, FIGs. 1 and 4].
Regarding claim 15, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, the modification set forth above in ¶23-25 reads on the external tabs defined by claim 15. The cell tabs of the positive electrode plates or the negative electrode plates protrude and fold in opposite directions, in order to form a ring shape [Sato, 0020, FIG. 1], thereby reading on include first external tabs and second external tabs that are folded in first and second directions, as claimed. Additionally, the cell tabs would still be laser welded to the inner surface of the first internal terminal through the at least one of the R closed-ended slots of the first internal terminal, in order to increase surface area of the joint, to maintain a strong and reliable connection, and to prevent internal short circuits [Sato, 0014, 0021, 0027-0028].
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, modified Kim further teaches that the battery cell has an outer casing (an enclosure) [Kim, element 122, 0045-0046], a first terminal unit in contact with the first busbar unit (a first external terminal in contact with the first internal terminal) [Kim, element 150, 0055, FIG. 1], and a second terminal unit in contact with the second busbar unit (a second external terminal in contact with the second internal terminal) [Kim, element 160, 0055, FIG. 1].
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kagami and Lee as applied to claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Counts et al. (US 2022/0328942 A1, cited to in previous action; “Counts”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Kagami and Lee (hereinafter “modified Kim”) teaches the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Modified Kim remains silent regarding the external tabs of the one of the C cathode electrodes or the A anode electrodes are divided into N groups that are inserted through the N first slots, respectively, and are folded and laser welded to the outer surface of the first internal terminal.
Counts is directed towards a battery cell including an electrode pack with a plurality of anode electrodes and a plurality of cathode electrodes arranged in electrode groups [0025, 0037, 0039-0040, 0043, 0046, FIGs. 1, 4, 7-17], wherein respective anode and cathode tab groups are inserted through a plurality of slots and bent/folded to an outer surface of a bar [0040, 0043, 0047, 0050, FIG. 17].
Kim, Kagami, Lee, and Counts each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of modified Kim, so that the cell tabs that are inserted into the first slot, bent, and in contact with the outer surface of the first busbar unit and laser welded to the first busbar unit, are further divided into N groups, like that of Counts, and are inserted through additional N first slots in order to divide the cell tabs into smaller groupings so that the additional N first slots may better accommodate each grouping of cell tabs [Counts, 0029-0030, 0039, 0044, 0046, 0048].
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Modified Kim remains silent regarding the external tabs of the C cathode electrodes or the A anode electrodes are separated into a first group and a second group, folded in first and second directions, respectively, and laser welded to the outer a-surface of the first internal terminal on opposite sides of the first slot.
Counts is directed towards a battery cell including an electrode pack with a plurality of anode electrodes and a plurality of cathode electrodes arranged in, for example two electrode groups [0025, 0037, 0039-0040, 0043, 0046, FIGs. 1, 4, 7-17], wherein respective anode and cathode tab groups are inserted through a plurality of slots and bent/folded to an outer surface of a bar [0040, 0043, 0047, 0050, FIG. 17].
As stated in ¶11 above, Lee teaches that some of the electrode tabs may be coupled to one surface of the busbar plate by bending the free end thereof in a first lateral direction, and some of the rest of the electrode tabs may be bent in a second lateral direction opposite to the first lateral direction [Lee, 0050, 0052].
Kim, Kagami, Lee, and Counts each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of modified Kim, so that the cell tabs that are inserted into the first slot, bent, and in contact with the outer surface of the first busbar unit and laser welded to the first busbar unit, are further divided into two groups, like that of Counts in order to divide the cell tabs into smaller groupings [Counts, 0029-0030, 0039, 0044, 0046, 0048], and so that the two groups that are inserted into the first slot are folded in two directions that are opposite each other, in order to ensure a reliable connection between the cell tabs and the first busbar unit and to maximize space utilization within the limited space [Lee, 0052].
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kagami and Lee as applied to claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Oda (JPH1125951A; herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Oda”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Kagami and Lee (hereinafter “modified Kim”) teaches the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Modified Kim remains silent regarding the N first slots are open-ended.
Oda is directed towards a battery comprising an electrode group [0007]. Oda teaches that the electrode group includes electrode plates connected to electrode tabs [0007] with a current collecting comb having a plurality of rows of slits arranged in parallel to each other and interposed between the electrode tabs [0007-0008, FIGs. 1-2 and 4-5]. The current collecting comb includes long slits [element 3, 0008, FIG. 5] that are opened to one side.
Kim, Kagami, Lee, and Oda each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of modified Kim, so that the N first slots are opened to one side, like that of Oda, in order for the cell tabs to be easily inserted into the first busbar unit and so that the connection area between the cell tabs and the first busbar unit may be increased [Oda, 0008].
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Modified Kim remains silent regarding the first slot is open-ended.
Oda is directed towards a battery comprising an electrode group [0007]. Oda teaches that the electrode group includes electrode plates connected to electrode tabs [0007] with a current collecting comb having a plurality of rows of slits arranged in parallel to each other and interposed between the electrode tabs [0007-0008, FIGs. 1-2 and 4-5]. The current collecting comb includes long slits [element 3, 0008, FIG. 5] that are opened to one side.
Kim, Kagami, Lee, and Oda each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery cell including a stack. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of modified Kim, so that the first slot is opened to one side, like that of Oda, in order for the cell tabs to be easily inserted into the first busbar unit and so that the connection area between the cell tabs and the first busbar unit may be increased [Oda, 0008].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR l.136(a).
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782