DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. In response to applicant’s amendment received on November 25, 2025, all requested changes to the claims have been entered.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on November 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue on pages 10-11 of the response that the disclosure of Smith does not disclose in its entirety at least, for example, the features of "generate a rectangular media frame based on the received set of data streams ... select, based on the determined set of first attributes, a sub-region from the generated rectangular media frame for respective data stream of the received set of data streams," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
The examiner disagrees. Specification of instant application disclose that “Herein, each data stream of the set of data streams 302A may correspond to a line of the image content. Each line of the image content may include the predefined number of contiguous data chunks.(para [0035]) . In order to receive video frame data multiple number of line are received. (for example HD video frame is characterized by 1920 *1080 pixels). Video frame itself can be interpreted as rectangular media frame.
Therefore, the disclosure of Smith does teach "generate a rectangular media frame based on the received set of data streams, as recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s argue on pages 12-13 of the response that the disclosure of Smith does not expressly or inherently describe “selecting a sub-region of a pixel stream based on a first color component, a second color component, and a third color component." as recited in amended independent claim 7.
The examiner disagrees. Paragraph [0051] of Smith state that In the case where the image features are color schemes, a suitable hash function may be a mathematical operation or combination of operations performed on the values (e.g., R values, G values, and B values) representing the color schemes of the video frame. So in order to compute the frame to frame color variation which is used for selection of sub region, each of color component should be used.
Therefore, the disclosure of Smith does teach " selecting a sub-region of a pixel stream based on a first color component, a second color component, and a third color component.", as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2019/0286911).
With respect to claim 1, Smith et al teach circuitry configured to (Fig. 2):
receive a set of data streams (pixels) associated with a media content, wherein each data stream (video) of the received set of data streams corresponds to a specific number of contiguous data chunks (lines of pixels, video frame typically have specific number of data, (for example HD video frame is characterized by 1920 *1080 pixels) of the media content (para [0021]);
generate a rectangular media frame based on the received set of data streams (para [0035], specified video frame sequences, Fig. 3, 4 and 5);
determine a set of first attributes associated with each contiguous data chunk of the plurality of contiguous data chunks for each data stream of the received set of data streams (para [0038] frame to frame color variance of first region and second region);
select, based on the determined set of first attributes a sub-region from the generated rectangular media frame, for a respective data stream of the received set of data streams(para [0038], a first region of a video frame having a relatively higher expected frame to frame color variance as compared to a second region of the video frame is selected);
determine, based on the selected sub-region, a fingerprint value associated with the respective data stream of the received set of data streams,(para [0021], a signature of a video may be based on a small number of pixels of each video frame of the video. That is, the image features may be pixel values (small number of pixels are selected as above)); and
store the determined fingerprint value on a storage device associated with the electronic device (Fig. 2 ref label 218).
With respect to claim 2, Smith et al teach that the selection of the sub-region is based on at least one of: an offset from a starting location in the generated rectangular media frame, a length of the sub-region in the generated rectangular media frame, or a width of the sub-region in the generated rectangular media frame (para [0037] near the center of the image).
With respect to claim 3, Smith et al teach that the media content includes at least one of an audio content, a video content, an image content, and a textual content (para [0021], video).
With respect to claim 4, Smith et al teach that the circuitry is further configured to: determine a set of second attributes associated with a specific number of a plurality of data chunks, for the respective data stream of the received set of data streams, wherein the specific number of the plurality of data chunk is associated with the selected sub region; and determine the fingerprint value for the respective data stream based on the determined set of second attributes (para [0036] the image features may be pixel values from a suitable subset or collection of pixels in a video frame. In the case of a grayscale image, the pixel values may describe the grayscale intensity values, and in the case of a color image, the pixel values may describe the Red-Green-Blue (RGB) or other color intensity values. To this end, a reasonable presumption being made by feature selection module 214 is that, if selected carefully, a small number of pixels of a video frame may be suitable for generating a unique signature of a video of a suitable length ).
With respect to claim 5, Smith et al teach that the media content is verifiable based on the stored fingerprint value (para [0052], altered or changed or tampering).
With respect to claim 7, Smith et al teach that circuitry configured to (Fig. 2):
receive a set of pixel streams associated with an image wherein the image is associated with a media content (video), and each pixel stream of the set of pixel streams corresponds to a specific number of a plurality of contiguous pixels of the image(lines of pixels, video frame typically have specific number of data, (for example HD video frame is characterized by 1920 *1080 pixels) (para [0021]);
select a starting location within the received image (para [0038] when frame to frame color variance of first region and second region computed there should be starting location (eg (top left corner) );
determine each of a first color component, a second color component, and a third color component, wherein each of the first color component, second component and the third color component associated with the starting location (para [0038 and 0051], In the case where the image features are color schemes, a suitable hash function may be a mathematical operation or combination of operations performed on the values (e.g., R values, G values, and B values) representing the color schemes of the video frame. So in order to compute the frame to frame color variation which is used for selection of sub region, each of color component should be used);
select a sub-region for each pixel stream of the received set of pixel streams based on each of the determined first color component, the determined second color component, and the determined third color component (para [0038] and [0051], a collection of pixels in a region of a video frame having relatively higher expected frame to frame color variance is selected from which to obtain the image feature; In the case where the image features are color schemes, a suitable hash function may be a mathematical operation or combination of operations performed on the values (e.g., R values, G values, and B values) representing the color schemes of the video frame. So in order to compute the frame to frame color variation which is used for selection of sub region, each of color component should be used);
determine based on the selected sub-region, a fingerprint value associated with the respective pixel stream of the received set of pixel streams ,(para [0021], a signature of a video may be based on a small number of pixels of each video frame of the video. That is, the image features may be pixel values (small number of pixels are selected as above); and
store the determined fingerprint value on a storage device associated with the electronic device (Fig. 2 ref label 218).
With respect to claim 9, Smith et al teach that a size of the selected sub-region (tile) is based on the determined third color component (para [0023])
With respect to claim 10, Smith et al teach that a size of the selected sub-region corresponds to an offset of the selected starting location within the image (para [0037] near the center of the image).
With respect to claim 11, Smith et al teach that the circuitry is further configured to: determine a set of color components associated with each pixel of a specific number of plurality of pixels in the selected sub-region, for the respective pixel stream of the received set of pixel streams, and determine the fingerprint value for the respective pixel stream of the received set of pixel stream based on the determined set of color components associated with the specific number of plural pixels in the selected sub-region (para [0043])
With respect to claim 12, Smith et al teach that the media content is at least one of pre-recorded video content, live video content or image content (para [0021], video).
With respect to claim 13, Smith et al teach that the stored fingerprint value is used to verify whether the image is unchanged (para [0052], altered or changed or tampering).
Claim 15 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected as same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected as same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected as same reason as claim 4 above.
Claim 19 is rejected as same reason as claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2019/0286911) in view of Wang et al. (“Content-based image retrieval using block constrained fractal coding and nona-tree decomposition”, IEE Proc.-Vis. Image Signal Process., Vol. 147, No. I, February 2000)
Smith et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 6 respectively depend.
Smith et al. do not teach expressly that the selected sub-region corresponds to a fractal-geometry associated with the generated rectangular media frame.
Wang et al teach the selected sub-region corresponds to a fractal-geometry associated with the generated rectangular media frame (Fig. 2 and Page 10 right column, block-constrained fractal coding scheme).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have sub-region corresponds to a fractal-geometry associated with the generated rectangular media frame in the method of Smith et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to get shorter computing time and less storage space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wang et al with Smith et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
With respect to claim 14, claim 14 is rejected same reason as claim 6 above.
With respect to claim 20, claim 6 is rejected same reason as claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable of rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667