DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species II: claims 12-14, drawn to a prismatic cell design, in the reply filed on 30 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application, claims 15-16 are withdrawn, and claims 1-14 and 17-20 are under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published
application US 2025/0007111 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 27 June 2023 and 23 February 2024 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, "one micrometer and two micrometers" constitutes In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested: “one micrometer [[and]] to two micrometers.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2024/0332490 A1; “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an electrode web (battery cell) [element 100, 0035-0036], comprising a cathode electrode (cathode) and an anode electrode (anode) [0036], wherein each include an electrode foil tab (foil tab) [element 200, 0032, 0036-0038, FIG. 2] coupled to its respective electrode [0038, FIG. 2]. The three dimensional electrode foil tab has a patterned surface (corrugated) [0040, 0043, FIG. 4], wherein the patterned surface includes, inter alia, valleys and bumps along an axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element (alternating peaks and troughs in a second plane along the length of the corrugated foil tab) [0041-0045, 0058-0059, 0071, FIGs. 2 and 4], thereby reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the battery cell defined by claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, Park further discloses that the cathode electrode foil tab is coupled to the cathode at a first end and to a first polarity terminal (first lead tab) at a second end [0036, 0082, FIGs. 2, 17, and 18], thereby reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, Park further discloses that the anode electrode foil tab is coupled to the anode at a first end and to a second polarity terminal (second lead tab) at a second end [0036, 0082, FIGs. 2, 17, and 18], thereby reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Park further discloses that the battery cell has, inter alia, a prismatic form factor (prismatic cell design) [0082, 0084, FIGs. 15 and 18].
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, Park further discloses that the electrode foil tabs are coupled directly to the cathode electrode or anode electrode without any intervening connecting structure [elements 1705 and 1710, 0082, FIGs. 17-19].
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, Park further discloses that the electrode foil tabs are coupled to the cathode electrode or anode electrode via a non-corrugated tab extending from the cathode electrode or the anode electrode [elements 1705 and 1710, 0082, FIGs. 17-19].
Regarding claim 17, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Park further discloses that the patterned surface, of which includes, inter alia, valleys and bumps, has an angular cross-section along the axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element (in the second plane) and/or (or combination of) a trapezoidal profile along the axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element (trapezoidal cross-section in the second plane) [0041-0043, 0069-0070, FIGs. 4, and 7-11].
Regarding claim 18, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Park further discloses that the patterned surface may be symmetrical or asymmetrical along the axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element [0043], thereby reading on the battery cell defined by each and every limitation of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses a system (system) comprising [0031-0032, FIGs. 16, 20, and 21] an electrode web, of which further includes a cathode electrode and an anode electrode [0036], wherein each include an electrode foil tab [element 200, 0032, 0036-0038, FIG. 2] coupled to its respective electrode [0038, FIG. 2]. The three dimensional electrode foil tab has a patterned surface [0040, 0043, FIG. 4], wherein the patterned surface includes, inter alia, valleys and bumps along an axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element [0041-0045, 0058-0059, 0071, FIGs. 2 and 4], thereby reading on the system defined by each and every limitation of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses an electric vehicle (vehicle) [element 1405] comprising a battery pack (battery pack) [element 1410] that is connected to an arrangement or network of electrical devices (electric motor) to power the electric vehicle [0078-0079, FIGs. 14 and 15]. The battery pack includes at least one battery cell [element 1420], of which is an electrode web comprising a cathode electrode and an anode electrode [0036], wherein each include an electrode foil tab [element 200, 0032, 0036-0038, FIG. 2] coupled to its respective electrode [0038, FIG. 2]. The three dimensional electrode foil tab has a patterned surface [0040, 0043, FIG. 4], wherein the patterned surface includes, inter alia, valleys and bumps along an axis parallel to a boundary of the patterned element [0041-0045, 0058-0059, 0071, FIGs. 2 and 4], thereby reading on the vehicle defined by each and every limitation of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Chen et al. (CN 110098409 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Chen”).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the battery cell of claim 3, as set forth above. Furthermore, Park discloses that the electrode foil tab has an uncoated region that is not coated with any battery active material layer [element 112, 0037, 0039].
Park remains silent regarding the first corrugated foil tab comprises an insulating coating on the first end of the first corrugated foil tab.
Chen is directed to a secondary battery cell including a current collector, of which further includes a current collector body and an electrode tab connected to the current collector body [0005, 0010, 0013]. Chen teaches that the electrode tab is provided with an insulating coating layer [0013, 0125], wherein the coating layer includes a polymer, inorganic particles, and a binder [0044-0045]. The inorganic particles may be, inter alia, an oxide [0022].
Park and Chen each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell electrode tab. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode electrode foil tab of Park such that the region with no battery active material layer, including a first end that is closest to the cathode side, is coated with the insulating coating layer of Chen in order to prevent the tab from breaking easily and to prevent a short circuit inside the battery due to the tab breaking, as well as, to improve the high voltage resistance of the battery cell [Chen, 0027, 0045, 0049, 0125].
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified by Chen, in the rejection of claim 4 above, teaches the insulating coating of claim 5. The coating layer includes a polymer, inorganic particles, and a binder [0044-0045], wherein the inorganic particles may be, inter alia, an oxide [0022], thereby reading on a ceramic material of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified by Chen, in the rejection of claim 4 above, teaches the insulating coating of claim 6. Chen further teaches the coating layer preferably has a thickness of 0.5-10 μm [0052], of which overlaps with the claimed thickness range, about 5 micrometers to 40 micrometers, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the battery cell of claim 3, as set forth above. Furthermore, Park discloses that the electrode foil tab has an uncoated region that is not coated with any battery active material layer [element 112, 0037, 0039].
Park remains silent regarding the first corrugated foil tab comprises a polymer coating on the second end of the first corrugated foil tab, the polymer coating including one or more of: a thermoplastic, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyurethane, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR), a polytetrafluoroethylene/butyl rubber blend, a nylon-6/polypropylene blend, and a urethane/acrylate interpenetrating polymer network.
Chen is directed to a secondary battery cell including a current collector, of which further includes a current collector body and an electrode tab connected to the current collector body [0005, 0010, 0013]. Chen teaches that the electrode tab is provided with an insulating coating layer [0013, 0125], wherein the coating layer includes a polymer, inorganic particles, and a binder [0044-0045]. Further, the polymer may be, inter alia, polyurethane (polyurethane) [0021].
Park and Chen each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an electrode tab for a battery cell. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode electrode foil tab of Park such that the region with no battery active material layer, including a second end that is closest to the first polarity terminal, is coated with the insulating coating layer of Chen, of which comprises a polymer, i.e. polyurethane, in order to prevent the tab from breaking easily and to prevent a short circuit inside the battery due to the tab breaking, as well as, to improve the high voltage resistance of the battery cell [Chen, 0027, 0045, 0049, 0125].
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified by Chen in the rejection of claim 7 above, teaches the battery cell of claim 8. Chen further teaches a weight ratio of polymer, inorganic particles, and binder in the coating layer is (60-80):(10-30):(5-15) [0051], and the coating layer preferably has a thickness of 0.5-10 μm [0052]. Chen exemplifies the coating layer in totality having a thickness of 2 μm [Examples 1-3 and 8-14, Table 1], therefore through calculation, the polymer portion within the coating layer may contribute a thickness of 1.2-1.6 μm, of which is within the claimed thickness range, about one micrometer to two micrometers (see claim objection above for claim interpretation).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Yoshida (US 2025/0257430 A1; “Yoshida”).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the battery cell of claim 1, set forth above.
Park remains silent regarding the corrugated foil tab comprises copper and at least one of: about one to two percent by mass of tin, about 0.1 to 0.2 percent by mass of zinc, and about 0.2 to 0.5 percent by mass of magnesium.
Yoshida is directed to an aluminum alloy sheet for a tab [0002]. Yoshida teaches an alloy sheet for a tab comprising, inter alia, copper [0023, 0040], and zinc in a content of 0.25 mass% or less [0039], of which is identical to the lower bound of, and encompasses the upper bound of the claimed range of about 0.1 to 0.2 percent by mass, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Park and Yoshida each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------electrode foil tabs. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode foil tab of Park so that it has a composition comprising copper and zinc in a content of 0.25 mass% or less in order to ensure both high tab-bending strength and high toughness [Yoshida, 0016].
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the battery cell of claim 1, set forth above.
Park remains silent regarding the corrugated foil tab comprises aluminum and at least one of: about 0.1 to 0.4 percent by mass of iron, and about 0.1 to 0.5 percent by mass of silicon.
Yoshida is directed to an aluminum alloy sheet for a tab [0002]. Yoshida teaches an alloy sheet for a tab comprising, inter alia, aluminum [0023, 0040], and iron in a content of 0.30-0.70 mass% [0028-0029], of which is identical to the lower bound of, and encompasses the upper bound of the claimed range of about 0.1 to 0.4 percent by mass, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Park and Yoshida each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------electrode foil tabs. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode foil tab of Park so that it has a composition comprising aluminum and iron in a content of 0.30-0.70 mass% in order to ensure both high tab-bending strength and high toughness [Yoshida, 0016].
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Imano et al., US 2021/0305662 A1 – teaches a tab extending from a current collector, having various shapes [0068]. Additionally, an insulating tab [element 20a] may be composed of a resin such as polyethylene terephthalate, or a ceramic, and may have various shapes [0092-0097]. The thickness of the insulating tab is 0.1 μm – 2 mm [0093].
Myeong et al., KR 102515054 B1 – teaches an insulating layer on positive electrode tabs and on negative electrode tabs [English machine translation, 0006, 0039], wherein the insulating layer may comprise polyimide, a ceramic, or polyethylene terephthalate [0041], and have a thickness of 20-30 μm [0041].
Zhang et al., CN 218996753 U – teaches folded tabs [English machine translation, 0003], having an adhesive layer and in contact with a ceramic layer [0010], wherein the adhesive layer is a polymer material [0035].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782