Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been fully considered, but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant argued that cited references failed to disclose wherein the ARI information comprises an ARI event associated with the media stream, and wherein the ARI event is embedded in a first media slice that is in a first media track of the media stream such that the ARI event presents in the first media slice, wherein the ARI event carries track switching information, wherein the first media track comprises a media representation.
However, Stockhammer(US.Pub.No.20230224532) et al show in fig.3 a system for embedding ARI information track 134 in the multimedia content 120 and the ARI contains switching information and finally, the system provides ARI track containing media presentation as disclosed in para. 0112; 0025;0078-0079;0091-0092;0106; 0067,0084. This action is made final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1; 3-14; 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stockhammer(US.Pub.No.20180288500) in view of Stockhammer(US.Pub.No.20220007086) and Stockhammer(US.Pub.No.20230224532).
Regarding claim 1, Stockhammer et al disclose a method for processing a media stream, the media stream comprising at least two media tracks( one or more CMAF tracks,0076-0077) , wherein the at least two media tracks are Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH) standard media track(the system is able to use DASH protocol; 0029; 0031;0076-0077) or a Common Media Application Format (CMAF) perform by a streaming client device, the method comprising(the system is able to encode or format bitstream according to Common Media Application Format; 0006-0007);
receiving media stream data comprising: a plurality of media chunks including a first media chunk and a second media chunk(the system is able to receive media stream having multiple media trunk; 0077); and Addressable Resource Index (ARI) information associated with the first media chunk(the system is able to use Addressable Resource Identifiers or Index; 0134;0037;0044);
receiving the first media chunk and the second media chunk via respective media track(see fig.8A and fig.8B; 0119-0120).
But did not explicitly disclose wherein the ARI information comprises an ARI event associated with the media stream, and wherein the ARI event is embedded in a first media slice that is in a first media track of the media stream such that the ARI event presents in the first media slice, wherein the ARI event carries track switching information, wherein the first media track comprises a media representation; determining track switching information based on the ARI information; determining, based on the track switching information, a switch to a different media track at the second media chunk is needed; wherein each of the first media chunk and the second media chunk is delivered to the streaming client device with a delivery delay that is no more than one chunk.
However, Stockhammer(20230224532) et al disclose wherein the ARI information comprises an ARI event associated with the media stream, and wherein the ARI event is embedded in a first media slice that is in a first media track of the media stream such that the ARI event presents in the first media slice(see fig.3 for embedding ARI information track 134 in the multimedia content 120; 0079; 0084), wherein the ARI event carries track switching information(the ARI contains switching information; 0067,0084; 0106), wherein the first media track comprises a media representation(the system provides ARI track containing media presentation; 0112; 0025;0078;0091-0092;0106).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20230224532) to modify Stockhammer by inserting ARI data or tags of Stockhammer(20230224532) in the system of Stockhammer data in media stream for the purpose of allowing contents providers to control access to video contents or webpages accordingly.
And Stockhammer(20220007086) et al disclose determining track switching information based on the ARI information(ARI data is used for switching; abstract; 0007-0009); determining, based on the track switching information, a switch to a different media track at the second media chunk is needed(the system can switch to a different media track based on the characteristics of the network;0030; 0058); wherein each of the first media chunk and the second media chunk is delivered to the streaming client device with a delivery delay that is no more than one chunk(the system is capable of managing latency and delay; 0290; 0016;0282).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20220007086) to modify Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) by providing options to switch to a plurality of media track for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 3, Stockhammer et al disclose wherein: the media stream follows a DASH standard(the system is able to use DASH protocol; 0029; 0031), and the first media slice is a segment in the media stream; or the media stream follows a CMAF format(one or more CMAF tracks,0076-0077), and the first media slice is a chunk in the media stream.
Regarding claim 4, Stockhammer et al disclose wherein the ARI information provides characteristic information for at least one of: the first media slice in the first media track; and first parallel media slices that are in other media tracks of the media stream and are aligned with the first media slice; or a second media slice that is in the first media track and follows the first media slice; and second parallel media slices that are in the other media tracks of the media stream and are time aligned with the second media slice(the system can provide segments containing frames or slices of video data; 0089;0104).
Regarding claim 5, Stockhammer et al disclose wherein the characteristic information comprises at least one of: an offset of the first media slice of the first media track; a size of the first media slice of the first media track; an offset of each of the first parallel media slices; a size of the each of the first parallel media slices; a quality of the first media slice of the first media track; or a quality of the each of the first parallel media slices(byte offsets for the sub-segments,0101;0143;0131).
Regarding claim 6, Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) et al did not explicitly disclose wherein determining, based on the track switching information, the switch to the different media track at the second media chunk is needed comprises: determining, based on the characteristic information and a bandwidth available to the streaming client device, the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed.
However, Stockhammer(20220007086) et al disclose wherein determining, based on the track switching information, the switch to the different media track at the second media chunk is needed comprises: determining, based on the characteristic information and a bandwidth available to the streaming client device, the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed(the system can do bandwidth adaptation; 0030;0057-0058; 0053;0055).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20220007086) to modify Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) by providing options to switch to a plurality of media track for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Stockhammer et al disclose wherein the media stream is encoded and transmitted in real time(may be applied to live, streaming, real-time audio and video data,0041).
But did not explicitly disclose the ARI event is constructed without a consideration of the second media slice and the second parallel media slices.
However, Stockhammer(20220007086) et al disclose the ARI event is constructed without a consideration of the second media slice and the second parallel media slices(0007-0009;0032-0033).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20220007086) to modify Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) by providing options to switch to a plurality of media track for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) et al did not explicitly disclose wherein: the ARI event is received and the ARI event provides characteristic information for: the second media slice that is in the first media track and follows the first media slice; and second parallel media slices that are in the other media tracks of the media stream and are time aligned with the second media slice; and determining whether the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed comprises: selecting a target media slice that is next to one of the second parallel media slices based on an estimation using the characteristic information; and switching to the target media slice after the second media slice.
However, Stockhammer(20220007086) et al disclose wherein: the ARI event is received and the ARI event provides characteristic information for: the second media slice that is in the first media track and follows the first media slice(ARI track can include sample describing characteristics of chunks;0032-0033;0053;0055); and second parallel media slices that are in the other media tracks of the media stream and are time aligned with the second media slice( see fig.3 for processing data in parallel; 0260-0263) and determining whether the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed comprises: selecting a target media slice that is next to one of the second parallel media slices based on an estimation using the characteristic information(the system can provide estimation regarding selection of media slice based on the characteristics of the network; 0023;0080;0178); and switching to the target media slice after the second media slice(the system can switch to a different media track based on the characteristics of the network;0030; 0058;0060).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20220007086) to modify Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) by providing options to switch to a plurality of media track for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) et al did not explicitly disclose wherein: the ARI sample is received and the ARI sample provides characteristic information for: the first media slice in the first media track, and the first parallel media slices that are in other media tracks of the media stream and are time aligned with the first media slice; and determining whether the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed comprises: selecting one of the first parallel media slices based on the characteristic information; and switching to the one of the first parallel media slices.
However, Stockhammer(20220007086) et al disclose wherein: the ARI sample is received and the ARI sample provides characteristic information for: the first media slice in the first media track(the ARI track may include samples associated with chunks; 0032-0033), and the first parallel media slices that are in other media tracks of the media stream and are time aligned with the first media slice(see fig.3; 0260-0263); and determining whether the switch to the one of the other media tracks being needed comprises: selecting one of the first parallel media slices based on the characteristic information; and switching to the one of the first parallel media slices(the system can switch to a different media track based on the characteristics of the network;0030; 0058;0060; 0023;0080;0178).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to introduce the teachings of Stockhammer(20220007086) to modify Stockhammer and Stockhammer(20230224532) by providing options to switch to a plurality of media track for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425