DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim to priority to Foreign App. No. TW111148388 filed December 16, 2022.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16, filed June 27, 2023, are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “support device” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “and the user's nose is, or both of the user's nose and mouth are housed in the lower chamber”, ln 3-5 should read -- and the user's nose is, or both of the user's nose and mouth are, housed in the lower chamber--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “support device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 14, and claims 2, 4-5, 7-13, and 15-16 by dependency, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the element “waterproof sealing skirt”, ln 10 the term “waterproof” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the meets and bounds of the term “waterproof” because it is not an art recognized term. Based on the instant specification the waterproof sealing skirt can be, for example, be made from silicone (See Instant Specification: ¶ 0006). Therefore, for the purpose of this Office Action the element “waterproof sealing skirt” has been interpreted as being formed from silicone or other liquid impermeable materials that provide a seal against water.
Similar rational is applied to independent claim 14.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the lens modules are correspondingly located in the upper chamber.”, ln 1-2, the element lens module was initially introduced in claim 1 as singular. It is unclear whether “lens modules” is intended to reference the lens module of claim 1 of introduce a plurality of lens modules. Examiner believe Applicant’s intent for the lens modules is to reference the lens portion and support device of the lens module. Therefore, for the purpose of this Office Action the limitation has been interpreted as --wherein the lens module is correspondingly located in the upper chamber--, where the corresponding portions of the lens module are located in the upper chamber.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the retaining wall is at least partially continuous”, ln 3 the limitation at least partially continuous render the claim indefinite because the meets and bounds are not discernable. Specifically, the term continuous is defined as “Without stopping; without a break, cessation, or interruption”. Therefore, it is unclear how the retaining wall can be without a, cessation, or interruption practically.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barone et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0225311; hereinafter: “Barone”) in view of Shiue (U.S Pub. No. 2020/0156745).
Regarding Claim 1, Barone discloses a breathable mask, comprising a body (1, 2, 3; Fig. 1-13) and a breathing tube (104, 105; Fig. 1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 11), in which the breathing tube is in fluid communication with an interior of the body (Interior formed by the breathing tube; Fig. 1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 11; ¶¶ 0049, 0059); the body including: a main frame (1; Fig. 1-13); a lens module (2; Fig. 1-13) fitted in the main frame (¶¶ 0051, 0054, 0064); a waterproof sealing skirt (503; Fig. 1, 2, 4; ¶¶ 0048, 0056; Examiner notes: Barone discloses the waterproof sealing skirt made from rubber, a liquid impermeable material. See Above), at least partially fitted with the main frame and the lens module (Fig. 3, 7; ¶¶ 0047-0051, 0055, 0056), the waterproof sealing skirt being suitable for fitting on a user's face (¶¶ 0055, 0056, 0058, 0065); wherein the lens module has a lens portion (2; Fig. 1-13).
Barone does not specifically disclose the breathing mask wherein the lens module has a lens portion and a support device, the support device is integrally formed with the lens portion at a distance inward from an outermost edge of the lens portion, and is connected to a portion of the waterproof sealing skirt, so as to increase rigidity of a vicinity of the portion the waterproof sealing skirt.
Shiue teaches a breathing mask comprising the lens module (216, 217; Fig. 2, 5-7, 9, 12; ¶¶ 0037, 0038, 0043, 0044) has a lens portion (216; Fig. 2, 5, 6, 9, 12) and a support device (217; Fig. 7), the support device is integrally formed with the lens portion at a distance (A, Fig. A annotated below) inward from an outermost edge (B, Fig. A annotated below) of the lens portion (¶ 0043), and is connected to a portion (A, Fig. B annotated below) of a waterproof sealing skirt (214; Fig. 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12; ¶ 0044), so as to increase rigidity of a vicinity of the portion the waterproof sealing skirt (Examiner notes: Shiue discloses the waterproof sealing skirt directly contacting the support device, thereby increasing the rigidity of that portion of the water proof sealing skirt.) for the purpose of guiding water that penetrates away from the nose and mouth of the user to be drained (¶ 0043; Fig. 11).
Figure A, Adapted from Figure 7 of Shiue.
Figure B, Adapted from Figure 12 of Shiue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the breathable mask of Barone to include the lens module having the lens portion and the support device, the support device is integrally formed with the lens portion at the distance inward from the outermost edge of the lens portion, and is connected to the portion of the waterproof sealing skirt, so as to increase rigidity of a vicinity of the portion the waterproof sealing skirt as taught by Shiue for the purpose of guiding water that penetrates away from the nose and mouth of the user to be drained (See Shiue: ¶ 0043; Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask wherein the waterproof sealing skirt has a partition (See Barone: 103; Fig. 1-6, 8-9, See Shiue: 230; Fig. 2) to separate the interior of the body into an upper chamber (See Barone: 203; Fig. 1, See Shiue: 232; Fig. 2) and a lower chamber (See Barone: 303; Fig. 1, 4, 5, See Shiue: 234; Fig. 2), when the user puts on the breathable mask, the partition is seated on the user's nose (See Barone: ¶ 0055, See Shiue: ¶ 0038), the user's eyes are housed in the upper chamber (See Barone: ¶ 0048, See Shiue: ¶ 0038), and both of the user's nose and mouth are housed in the lower chamber (See Barone: ¶ 0048, See Shiue: ¶ 0038).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask wherein the lens module is correspondingly located in the upper chamber (See Barone: 102; Fig. 2, 3, See Shiue: at 232; Fig. 2; Examiner notes: Barone discloses a portion of the lens portion correspondingly located in the upper chamber. See 112(b) interpretation above).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask wherein a one-way fluid communication is formed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber (See Barone: ¶ 0049), and only air in the upper chamber is allowed to enter the lower chamber through a one-way air intake valve (See Barone: 403; Fig. 1-4, 6, 8-9, See Shiue: 241; Fig. 2-8, 12) .
Regarding Claim 14, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask of claim 2 shown above, disclose an integrally formed lens module (See Barone: 2; Fig. 1-13, See Shiue: 216, 217; Fig. 2, 5-7, 9, 12; ¶¶ 0043, 0044), which is used on the breathable mask according to claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask wherein when the user wears the breathable mask, the lens module correspondingly shields the eyes of the user (See Barone: 102; Fig. 2, 3; ¶ 0048, See Shiue: at 232; Fig. 2; ¶ 0038).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified device of Barone discloses the breathing mask wherein when the user wears the breathable mask, the lens module correspondingly covers the user's eyes, nose and mouth (See Barone: at 102, at 602; Fig. 1-3, 7, 10-11; ¶ 0048, See Shiue: at 232, at 234; Fig. 2; ¶ 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 , 9-11, and 6-8 and 12-13 by dependency, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art of Barone and Shiue alone or in combination fail to disclose or render obvious the breathable mask:
“wherein the one-way air intake valve is a pivoting one-way valve; wherein the waterproof sealing skirt forms an exhaust passage extending along an outer periphery of the upper chamber, only allowing the lower chamber to be in fluid communication with an outside through the exhaust passage for air exhaled by the user to be discharged; and wherein the support device has a valve seat, and the exhaust passage has an entrance and an inner sidewall, in which the inner sidewall is provided with an air inlet and a swing-type diaphragm covering the air inlet near the entrance of the exhaust passage, and the pivoting one-way valve is thereby formed by the valve seat and the diaphragm which are separately arranged at two opposing sides of the air inlet.”, as recited in dependent claim 5
“wherein the one-way air intake valve is a pivoting one-way valve; wherein the support device has a valve seat, and the partition of the waterproof sealing skirt is provided with an air inlet and a swing-type diaphragm covering the air inlet; and wherein the pivoting one-way valve is thereby formed by the valve seat and the swing-type diaphragm which are respectively arranged on two opposing sides of the air inlet.”, as recited in dependent claim 9.
“wherein the one-way air inlet valve is a pivoting one-way valve; wherein the partition of the waterproof sealing skirt is provided with an air inlet and a swing-type diaphragm covering the air inlet, in which the swing-type diaphragm is arranged on an inner side of the air inlet, so as to form the pivoting one-way valve; wherein the waterproof sealing skirt is further formed with an exhaust passage, which extends along an outer periphery of the upper chamber, and only allows the lower chamber to be in fluid communication with an outside through the exhaust passage for air exhaled by the user to be discharged; and wherein the exhaust passage has an entrance and an inner sidewall, in which the supporting device has a first rib and a second rib, in which the first rib and the waterproof sealing skirt are embedded together above the pivoting one-way valve, whereas the second rib and the waterproof sealing skirt are embedded in the inner sidewall near the entrance of the exhaust passage, so as to strengthen the waterproof sealing skirt on which the pivoting one-way valve is located.”, as recited in dependent claim 10.
“wherein the one-way air intake valve is a mushroom-type one-way valve; wherein the waterproof sealing skirt is further formed with an exhaust passage, which extends along an outer periphery of the upper chamber, and only allows the lower chamber to be in fluid communication with an outside through the exhaust passage for air exhaled by the user to be discharged; wherein the support device has a valve seat, and the exhaust passage has an entrance and an inner sidewall which is provided with an air inlet close to the entrance of the exhaust passage, and wherein the mushroom-type one-way valve is formed by the valve seat which is installed on the air inlet, and is fixed with a diaphragm at a lower, central portion thereof to cover the air inlet.” , as recited in dependent claim 11.
Conclusion
/ELLIOT S RUDDIE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785