DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 7/7/2026. Applicant amended claims 1-7 and 10, canceled claims 8-9 and added claim 12. Claims 1-7, and 10-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
Accordingly, Murai fails to teach or suggest "reselecting [a] target resource or selecting another target resource from among [] power storage devices to execute [] energy management within [a] target period such that none of the power storage devices reaches a target charging amount within the target period," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1 where the examiner uses Murai to teach claim language “reselecting the target resource or selecting another target resource from among the power storage devices to execute the energy management within the target period such that none of the power storage devices reaches a target charging amount (100 %) within the target period. (Fig. 2 [0088], Yes in step S03. Power reception continues when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 25 … when the current time reaches the end time (Td). Fig. 8a-b end time for EV1 is 7:00 in which none of the target devices reaches a target charging amount of 100%. Between period 1:00- 7:00 EV1-EV3 are charged simultaneously until EV1 reaches the end of its target period ([0088], [0166]-[0173] Fig. 8B). Therefore the method has reselected the current and other selected target resources (Fig. 2 -Yes in step S03…target resources EV1-EV3) from among the power storage devices).
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner Notes on claim interpretation
Regarding claim language “to execute the energy management” is intended use of the claim invention.
The claim recites executing the energy management includes:
charging the target resource … within the target period; and
reselecting the target resource or selecting another target resource from among the power storage devices … such that none of the power storage devices reaches a target charging amount within the target period”.
The claim language “to execute the energy management within the target period” appears redundant and is intended use.
Examine will interpret executing an energy management as:
charging the target resource within the target period; and
reselecting the target resource or selecting another target resource from among the power storage devices such that none of the power storage devices reaches a target charging amount within the target period”.
In regards to claim 12 which recites “wherein the target period is a period during which the target resource is restrained for the energy management”. Examiner interprets to “restrain” as to “prevent (someone or something) from doing something; keep under control or within limits”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murai (US 20220158470).
As to claim 1, Murai discloses an energy management method comprising: determining whether a current time is within a target period ([0087]-[0088] [0106] and Fig. 8A-8B where start time for charging vehicles start at the same time and ends at the specified end time acquired by vehicle condition acquisition device 22. As such the method determines the time period in which to start the charging process. Examiner identifies Start and end time of EV1 as “target period”); and executing energy management within the target period by a target resource selected from among a plurality of power storage devices (Fig. 2 S04-S06 and Fig. 9A-9B Electric power provided to EV1-EV3), wherein the executing the energy management includes: charging the target resource to execute the energy management within the target period (Fig. 2 S04- S06 [0080]-[0088][0166]-[0173] Fig. 8B where EV1-3 are charged “The electric vehicles (EV1, EV2, and EV3) that all start the electric power reception simultaneously at 1 a.m. ….”) and reselecting the target resource or selecting another target resource from among the power storage devices to execute the energy management within the target period such that none of the power storage devices reaches a target charging amount (100 %) within the target period. (Fig. 2 [0088], Yes in step S03. Power reception continues when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 25 … when the current time reaches the end time (Td). Fig. 8a-b end time for EV1 is 7:00 in which none of the target devices reaches a target charging amount of 100%. Between period 1:00- 7:00 EV1-EV3 are charged simultaneously until EV1 reaches the end of its target period ([0088], [0166]-[0173] Fig. 8B). Therefore the method has reselected the current and other selected target resources (Fig. 2 -Yes in step S03…target resources EV1-EV3) from among the power storage devices).
As to claim 2, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 1, wherein: the power storage devices are mounted on vehicles (Fig. 1 EV1-EV3); and the reselecting the target resource includes selecting the target resource or the selecting of another target resource by using remaining power storage amounts of the power storage devices and scheduled departure times of the vehicles ( [0088] And Fig. 2 (Yes in step S03). Power reception continues when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 25 does not reach a target value or when the current time reaches the end time (Td). [0078] end time is based on when the user plans to use the vehicle. As such the method has reselected the current selected target resource to continue charging based on the SOC and scheduled departure times of the vehicles).
As to claim 3, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 2, wherein: the reselecting the target resource or the selecting of another target resource includes selecting a power storage device having an earlier charging time limit as the target resource with priority from among the power storage devices; the charging time limit of the power storage device is a time earlier by a remaining charging period of the power storage device than the scheduled departure time of the vehicle including the power storage device; and the remaining charging period of the power storage device is a period required to increase the remaining power storage amount of the power storage device to a target value ([0108], The element-receiving electric power of the electric vehicle EV1 at the end time (Td) of the electric power reception, which is the earliest among the three electric vehicles, …, so that the state of charge of the electric vehicle EV1 at the end time of the electric power reception (at 7 a.m.) could be increased to 93%. The other two electric vehicles (EV2 and EV3) each could reach the full charge before the end time of the electric power reception (at 9 a.m. and 11 a.m. )
As to claim 4, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 3, wherein the reselecting the target resource or the selecting of another target resource includes: determining whether the remaining charging period of the target resource selected based on the charging time limit is equal to or shorter than a predetermined period [0108] …the remaining time period by the end time of the electric power reception (T=Td−To) is decreased….; and reselecting the target resource from among the power storage devices when determination is made that the remaining charging period is equal to or shorter than the predetermined period ([0112] The degree of priority (β) is higher as the remaining time period (T) by the end time (Td) of the electric power reception is shorter. [0113] Since the degree of priority (β) can be set to be higher for the electric vehicle having the shorter remaining time period (T), a larger amount of the electric power can be allotted to the electric vehicle having the shorter remaining time period (T).
As to claim 5, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 2, wherein the reselecting the target resource or the selecting of another target resource includes: selecting a power storage device having the remaining power storage amount smaller than a predetermined first reference value as the target resource with priority from among the power storage devices vehicles ( Fig. 9A-9B where EV1-EV3 where SOC start is indicated); determining whether the remaining power storage amount of the target resource selected based on the remaining power storage amount is equal to or larger than a second reference value that is preset equal to or larger than the first reference value vehicles ( [0088] And Fig. 2 (Yes in step S03). Power reception continues when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 25 does not reaches a target value); and reselecting the target resource or the selecting of another target resource from among the power storage devices when determination is made that the remaining power storage amount is equal to or larger than the second reference value ([0088] And Fig. 2 (Yes in step S03) and Fig. 9B where EV1 charged until SOC is reached below 100% and above the initial start SOC).
As to claim 10, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 1 further comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program, the program causing a computer to execute the energy management method according to claim 1 ([0361] The power reception control device according to the respective embodiments and the modified examples thereof can be implemented by a microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, and an input-output unit. A computer program (a power reception control program) for causing the microcomputer to function as the power reception control device is installed on the microcomputer to be executed. The microcomputer thus functions as a plurality of information processing units included in the power reception control).
As to claim 11, Murai discloses a computer device comprising: the storage medium storing the program according to claim 10 ([0361]); and a processor configured to execute the program ([0361]).
As to claim 12, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 1, wherein the target period is a period during which the target resource is restrained for the energy management ([0078] For example, when the user, who returns home and starts charging the battery of the electric vehicle EV1 in its parking space…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murai (US 20220158470).
As to claim 6, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 1.
The embodiment of Murai (Fig. 8b) does not disclose/teach further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount when a difference between a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group and a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices
Murai teaches an embodiment further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount (100%) when a difference between a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group and a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices (Fig. 10B NO in step S03 in FIG. 2 and [0197]-[0203] where all three vehicles are fully charged between 1:00 and 11:00).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy management method of Murai to further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount when a difference between a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group and a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices in order to suitably share the electric power depending on the demand of the user of the respective power storage elements while leveling the state of charge of the respective power storage elements.
As to claim 7, Murai discloses the energy management method according to claim 1.
The embodiment of Murai (Fig. 8b) does not disclose/teach further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount when a value obtained by dividing a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group by a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices.
Murai teaches an embodiment further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount (100%) when a value obtained by dividing a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group by a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices (Fig. 10B NO in step S03 in FIG. 2 and [0197]-[0203] where all three vehicles are fully charged between 1:00 and 11:00).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy management method of Murai to further comprising allowing the power storage devices to reach the target charging amount when a value obtained by dividing a charging and discharging amount outputtable during the target period in a vehicle group by a charging and discharging amount necessary during the target period in the vehicle group is equal to or larger than a predetermined value, wherein vehicles included in the vehicle group include the power storage devices in order to suitably share the electric power depending on the demand of the user of the respective power storage elements while leveling the state of charge of the respective power storage elements ([0203]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859