Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuehbacher et al (DE 102020215450 A1) in view of Vanhee et al (US 20210305876 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kuehbacher teaches an electric motor comprising: a stator (fig. 1, stator 5); and a rotor (fig. 1, rotor 1) comprising: a rotor body (fig. 1, rotor body 4); and a centrifugal pump to flow a fluid in a channel extending axially through the rotor body from end to end (paragraph 22 “In each cooling path 12, when the rotor 1 rotates, a suction effect is achieved due to the centrifugal force acting on the air, which leads to a cooling air flow through the cooling path 12.”) and first and second end plates forming the centrifugal pump (paragraph 31 “The sections of the connecting channels 11 which are open in the respective first end plate 15 are covered by the respective second end plate 20 in order to form the connecting channels 11 as continuously closed by the interaction of two end plates 15, 20.”).
Kuehbacher does not teach “the first end plate having a first inlet into the rotor and a first outlet leading away from the rotor, the second end plate having a second inlet into the rotor and a second outlet leading away from the rotor, wherein the channel comprises i) a first channel extending between the first inlet and the second outlet, and ii) a second channel extending between the second inlet and the first outlet, and wherein a first flow through the first channel occurs in an opposite direction to a second flow through the second channel.”
Vanhee teaches the first end plate having a first inlet into the rotor and a first outlet leading away from the rotor (fig. 2, inlet 220), the second end plate having a second inlet into the rotor and a second outlet leading away from the rotor (fig. 2, outlet 218), wherein the channel comprises i) a first channel extending between the first inlet and the second outlet (fig. 2, first axial air conduit 212), and ii) a second channel extending between the second inlet and the first outlet (fig. 2, second axial air conduit 214), and wherein a first flow through the first channel occurs in an opposite direction to a second flow through the second channel (see figure 2, flow between first and second air conduits are in opposite directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the pump cooled rotor of Kuehbacher with the opposite channel flow of coolant of Vanhee in order to more efficiently cool the magnets thereby decreasing the damages of heat related stresses thereby increasing the motor lifespan.
With respect to claim 2, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the channel extends through a magnet hole in the rotor body (fig. 1, 4-5 cooling channel 10).
With respect to claim 3, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the channel is formed adjacent a magnet positioned in the magnet hole (fig. 1, 4-5 cooling channels a10 are formed adjacent to the magnets 8).
With respect to claim 5, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the channel is formed in a hole of the rotor body that does not contain a magnet (fig. 1, 4-5, internal cooling channels).
With respect to claim 6, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the rotor body is formed by laminates (paragraph 18 “The rotor 1 of an electrical machine 2 according to the invention comprises a rotor body 4, in particular a rotor laminated core, which is rotatable about a rotor axis 3.”), and wherein the laminates contain respective holes that form the channel (paragraph 20 “Internal cooling channels 9 and external cooling channels 10 are provided in the rotor body 4.”).
With respect to claim 7, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the electric motor includes first and second end plates forming the centrifugal pump (paragraph 31 “The sections of the connecting channels 11 which are open in the respective first end plate 15 are covered by the respective second end plate 20 in order to form the connecting channels 11 as continuously closed by the interaction of two end plates 15, 20.”), and wherein the first and second end plates are clocked with each other (paragraph 25 “According to the exemplary embodiment, pin-shaped positioning means 22 are provided on the first end plates 15, which, for example, interact in pairs with one of the through openings 21 of the respective second end plate 20 in a form-fitting manner. The positioning means 22 ensure that each first or second end plate 15, 20 is arranged in a defined position relative to the associated second or first end plate 15, 20.” Examiner is interpreting the positioning means as allowing for clocked positioning).
With respect to claim 8, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the electric motor includes first and second end plates forming the centrifugal pump (paragraph 31 “The sections of the connecting channels 11 which are open in the respective first end plate 15 are covered by the respective second end plate 20 in order to form the connecting channels 11 as continuously closed by the interaction of two end plates 15, 20.”), and wherein the first and second end plates are non- clocked with each other (paragraph 25 “According to the exemplary embodiment, pin-shaped positioning means 22 are provided on the first end plates 15, which, for example, interact in pairs with one of the through openings 21 of the respective second end plate 20 in a form-fitting manner. The positioning means 22 ensure that each first or second end plate 15, 20 is arranged in a defined position relative to the associated second or first end plate 15, 20.” Examiner is interpreting the positioning means as allowing for non-clocked positioning).
With respect to claim 9, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the first and second channels are formed by the laminates (paragraph 20 “Internal cooling channels 9 and external cooling channels 10 are provided in the rotor body 4.”).
With respect to claim 10, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the electric motor includes first and second end plates forming the centrifugal pump (paragraph 31 “The sections of the connecting channels 11 which are open in the respective first end plate 15 are covered by the respective second end plate 20 in order to form the connecting channels 11 as continuously closed by the interaction of two end plates 15, 20.”), wherein the channel comprises first and second channels formed by the laminates (paragraph 20 “Internal cooling channels 9 and external cooling channels 10 are provided in the rotor body 4.”), and wherein a first flow through the first channel occurs in a same direction as a second flow through the second channel (see figures 3, channels 9 and 10 allow for same directional flow on opposite sides of the rotor).
With respect to claim 11, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the channel comprises first and second channels formed by the laminates (paragraph 20 “Internal cooling channels 9 and external cooling channels 10 are provided in the rotor body 4.”).
With respect to claim 12, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the electric motor includes an end plate forming the centrifugal pump (paragraph 31 “The sections of the connecting channels 11 which are open in the respective first end plate 15 are covered by the respective second end plate 20 in order to form the connecting channels 11 as continuously closed by the interaction of two end plates 15, 20.”), wherein the centrifugal pump comprises an inlet formed in the end plate (fig. 3 , first end plate 15), the inlet aligned with the first channel (fig. 3, inlet 12.1), and an outlet formed in the end plate (fig. 3, outlet 12.2), the outlet aligned with the second channel (fig. 3, outlet 12.2 is at end of external cooling channel 10), wherein the centrifugal pump flows first fluid into the first channel and flows second fluid out of the second channel (paragraph 22 “The cooling path 12 runs between a path inlet 12.1 and a path outlet 12.2, wherein the path inlet 12.1 and the path outlet 12.2 of the same cooling path 12 are each located on the same end face of the rotor body 4, so that in each cooling path 12 a flow deflection is necessary, which is achieved by the respective connecting channel 11.”).
With respect to claim 13, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the inlet comprises a hole through the end plate (fig. 3, inlet 12.1), a recessed area in the end plate that does not abut the laminates (fig. 1, openings 21), the recessed area covering the first channel (fig. 1, area marked 9, 12, 21), and an outside peripheral lip that closes the recessed area (see figure 1 marked below).
With respect to claim 14, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches a rib that divides the recessed area to guide the fluid at the inlet (see figure 1 marked above).
With respect to claim 15, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches in the recessed area has substantially an arcuate shape (see figure 1 above, recessed area is substantially arcuate shaped).
With respect to claim 16, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the recessed area has substantially a wedge shape (see figure 1 above, recessed area is substantially wedge shaped).
With respect to claim 18, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the outlet comprises a recessed area in the end plate that does not abut the laminates (fig. 1, outlet 12.2), the recessed area covering the second channel (see figure 1, opening of plate at outlet 12.2 partially covers channel 10), and a recess in an outside peripheral lip of the end plate (see figure marked above).
With respect to claim 19, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the recessed area is symmetric about a radius of the rotor body (see figure 1, recessed area is symmetric).
With respect to claim 20, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the end plate comprises multiple pairs each including a respective inlet (fig.1, inlet 12.1) and a respective outlet (fig. 1, outlet 12.2), the multiple pairs distributed about a periphery of the end plate (see figure 1, multiple inlets and outlets).
With respect to claim 21, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches the end plate further comprises a site with material removed for rotor balancing (paragraph 25 “According to the exemplary embodiment, a second end disk 20, which is, for example, a metallic balancing disk, can be placed on each of the first end disks 15”).
With respect to claim 23, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kuehbacher further teaches n the fluid comprises at least one of air or oil (paragraph 21 “In the case of a rotor of a permanent magnet synchronous machine, the external cooling channels 10 can be designed such that the air flow is guided directly or indirectly past the permanent magnets 8 at a certain distance.”).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee in further view of Maekawa (US 20190181708 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the channel is formed between at least two magnets positioned in the magnet hole.”
Maekawa teaches the channel is formed between at least two magnets positioned in the magnet hole (fig. 2, holes 13b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the pump cooled rotor of Kuehbacher with the opposite cooling channels of Vanhee with the channel formed between magnets of Maekawa in order to more efficiently cool the magnets thereby decreasing the damages of heat related stresses thereby increasing the motor lifespan.
With respect to claim 17, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the inlet further comprises a scoop forming the hole.”
Maekawa teaches the inlet further comprises a scoop forming the hole (figs. 5-17, introduction member and paragraph 62 “the introduction member 16 may have a shape with a continuous cross section such as scoop, pipe, tunnel, arcade, and arch, for example.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the pump cooled rotor of Kuehbacher with the opposite cooling channels of Vanhee with the scoop shaped inlet of Maekawa in order to introduce more fluid into the system thereby increasing cooling efficiency thereby decreasing the damages of heat related stresses thereby increasing the motor lifespan.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee in view of Okouchi (US 20170310179 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Kuehbacher in view of Vanhee teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “an inlet for the channel is formed in a shaft of the rotor.”
Okouchi teachers an inlet for the channel is formed in a shaft of the rotor (paragraph 36 “refrigerant channel includes roughly a shaft interior refrigerant path 52 formed inside the rotary shaft 50 and a core interior refrigerant path formed inside the rotor core 12”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the pump cooled rotor of Kuehbacher with the opposite cooling channels of Vanhee with the channel inlet of Okouchi in order more fully cool the rotor thereby increasing cooling efficiency thereby decreasing the damages of heat related stresses thereby increasing the motor lifespan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834