Response to Amendment
Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims on 11/20/2025.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al (US PUB. 20200318861, herein Kikuchi) in view of Sutherland et al (US PUB. 20160183408, herein Sutherland) in further view of Sakaguchi (US PUB. 20120255352).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi teaches A temperature control apparatus for adjusting a temperature of circulating liquid, supplying the circulating liquid to a load that is external, and controlling the temperature of the load to a predetermined temperature (0001 “temperature control apparatuses that control the temperature of a load to a desired temperature by supplying circulating liquid whose temperature is regulated to the load, and in particular, to a temperature control apparatus suitable for controlling the temperature of the load to a high temperature”), the temperature control apparatus comprising:
a circulation circuit, wherein the circulation circuit includes a main tank storing circulating liquid and including a heater configured to heat the circulating liquid, a discharge flow passage configured to connect the main tank to a circulating liquid discharge port configured to deliver the circulating liquid to the load, a circulation pump configured to deliver the circulating liquid from the main tank to the discharge flow passage, and a return flow passage configured to connect a circulating liquid return port configured to receive the circulating liquid returned from the load to the main tank (0008 “regulating circulating liquid having a boiling point higher than 100° C. to a temperature higher than 100° C. and supplying the circulating liquid to the load, wherein the temperature control apparatus includes a tank storing circulating liquid and including a heater for heating the circulating liquid, a discharge channel connecting the tank and a circulating-liquid ejection port for discharging the circulating liquid to the load, a circulation pump that pumps the circulating liquid from the tank to the discharge channel, a return channel connecting a circulating-liquid return port that receives the circulating liquid returned from the load and the tank, a heat exchanger including a first heat exchange channel through which the circulating liquid flows and a second heat exchange channel through which coolant for cooling the circulating liquid in the first heat exchange channel, a cooling circulation forward path for supplying the circulating liquid from the tank”);
a cooling circuit, wherein the cooling circuit includes a sub-tank storing the circulating liquid, a heat exchanger configured to cool the circulating liquid in the sub-tank by heat exchange with heat dissipating water, a first cooling flow passage configured to connect the sub-tank to the heat exchanger and guide the circulating liquid in the sub-tank to the heat exchanger, a cooling pump configured to deliver the circulating liquid in the sub-tank to the first cooling flow passage, and a second cooling flow passage configured to connect the heat exchanger to the sub-tank and guide the circulating liquid cooled by the heat exchanger to the sub-tank (0041 “circulating-liquid cooling circuit 5 includes a cooling circulation forward path 50 connecting the second chamber 20b of the main tank 20 in the tank unit 2 and a circulating-liquid inlet 42a (FIG. 2) of the heat exchanger 4 and a cooling circulation reverse path 51 connecting a circulating-liquid outlet 43a (FIG. 2) of the heat exchanger 4 and the main tank 20 in the tank unit 2. The circulating liquid in the main tank 20 is let flow into the heat exchanger 4 through the cooling circulation forward path 50 by the cooling pump 23a provided in the second chamber 20b of the main tank 20. The circulating liquid cooled by the heat exchanger 4 and flowing out of the heat exchanger 4 is returned to the main tank 20 through the cooling circulation reverse path”); and
a [processor] configured to control a flow rate of the circulating liquid
flowing through the cooling circuit (0026 “a control unit 7 that controls, for example, the temperature and the flow rate, of the circulating liquid flowing through the circulating-liquid ejection circuit 3 and the circulating-liquid cooling circuit”),
wherein the sub-tank is connected to the main tank such that when an amount of the circulating liquid in the main tank exceeds a predetermined amount, excessive circulating liquid is led from the main tank to the sub-tank (0033 “Part of the upper end of the main tank 20 communicates with the sub-tank 25 so that the circulating liquid exceeding the maximum capacity of the main tank 20 can be discharged into the sub-tank”),
wherein the second cooling flow passage of the cooling circuit includes a connecting flow passage that branches from the second cooling flow passage and that is connected to the circulation circuit (00041 0042),
wherein the circulation circuit includes a temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the circulating liquid flowing in the circulation circuit (0042 “cooling circulation reverse path 51 is provided with a third temperature sensor 54. The temperature sensor 54 is also electrically connected to the control unit 7. This allows, for example, the rotational speed of the cooling pump 23a to be controlled by the control unit 7 according to the temperature of the circulating liquid from the third temperature sensor 54”), and
wherein the [processor] controls an output of the cooling pump based on the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the temperature sensor so as to control the flow rate of the circulating liquid supplied from an inside of the cooling circuit to an inside of the circulation circuit through the connecting flow passage (0042 “cooling circulation reverse path 51 is provided with a third temperature sensor 54. The temperature sensor 54 is also electrically connected to the control unit 7. This allows, for example, the rotational speed of the cooling pump 23a to be controlled by the control unit 7 according to the temperature of the circulating liquid from the third temperature sensor 54”).
The cited prior art do not teach a processor and wherein the main tank is housed in the sub-tank, wherein the main tank and the sub-tank are formed as separate parts.
Sutherland teaches a processor (0016 “the controller is MODBUS capable controller processor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kikuchi with the teachings of Sutherland since Sutherland teaches a means for a processor that is able to provide a hybrid cooling system (abstract).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the main tank is housed in the sub-tank, wherein the main tank and the sub-tank are formed as separate parts.
Sakaguchi teaches wherein the main tank is housed in the sub-tank (0013 “the inner tank liquid circulating channel, the valve unit, and the load at the time of termination of the operation of the apparatus, and the inner tank is arranged at a position which does not come into contact with the first liquid even when the liquid level of the first liquid in the outer tank rises to the upper limit liquid level during the operation of the apparatus.”),
wherein the main tank and the sub-tank are formed as separate parts (0018 “the cyclically liquid feeding apparatus includes a large-capacity outer tank 1 including a first liquid F1 stored therein, a small-capacity inner tank 2 installed in the interior of the outer tank 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kikuchi and Sutherland with the teachings of Sakaguchi since it teaches a means for facilitating “a temperature adjustment of liquid in respective tanks and allow installation of the apparatus compactly at low cost” (0008).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 1.
Kikuchi teaches wherein the main tank includes an opening that leads the excessive circulating liquid out of the main tank to the sub-tank (0033 “Part of the upper end of the main tank 20 communicates with the sub-tank 25 so that the circulating liquid exceeding the maximum capacity of the main tank 20 can be discharged into the sub-tank”), and
wherein the main tank is connected to the sub-tank with the opening positioned higher than a bottom surface of the sub-tank (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 1.
Kikuchi teaches wherein the processor is configured to switch the cooling pump between a first power output range and a second power output range that is greater than the first power output range on the basis of the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the temperature sensor and drive the cooling pump (fig. 4, 0063 “method for controlling the cooling pump 23a and the circulation pump 24a according the set temperature of the circulating liquid using the control unit 7 will be described hereinbelow with reference to the graph in FIG. 4. In the present embodiment, a predetermined threshold temperature (75° C.) is set in the control unit 7 for the temperature of the circulating liquid to be delivered to the load. The fact that the delivery temperature of the circulating liquid is higher than the threshold temperature indicates that the temperature control apparatus 1 is in operation. The fact that the delivery temperature is lower than or equal to the threshold temperature indicates that the temperature control apparatus 1 is at idle (at rest)”,
and wherein as a result of the switching, during driving of the cooling pump in the first power output range, the circulating liquid in the cooling circuit is circulated in the cooling circuit without being supplied to the circulation circuit through the connecting flow passage (0066 “the cooling pump 23a, the rotational speed is further decreased once and is thereafter gradually increased at a predetermined timing before the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the temperature sensor 33 reaches the set temperature. Thereafter, the increase in the rotational speed is stopped at the point in time the measured temperature reaches the set temperature, so that the measured temperature and the set temperature are equalized. In this state, the rotational speed (lower than that in the first step) is maintained”) and, during driving of the cooling pump in the second power output range, the circulating liquid in the cooling circuit is supplied to the circulation circuit through the connecting flow passage while being circulated in the cooling circuit (0068 “cooling pump 23a, the rotational speed is decreased to the same rotational speed as that in the second step once concurrently therewith and is then gradually increased again at a predetermined timing before the measured temperature of the circulating liquid reaches the set temperature”, 0070 “the cooling pump 23a, the rotational speed is increased to a rotational speed higher than the idling rotational speed of the first step once concurrently therewith and is then gradually decreased at a predetermined timing before the measured temperature of the circulating liquid reaches the set temperature”).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 3.
wherein the connecting flow passage branches from the second cooling flow passage of the cooling circuit and extends upward (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 3.
Kikuchi teaches wherein the temperature sensor is a first temperature sensor provided in the discharge flow passage (0012 “temperature control apparatus according to the present invention, preferably, the temperature control apparatus includes a discharge-side temperature sensor”),
wherein the processor compares a preset target temperature with the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the first temperature sensor (0013 “the control unit is configured, when the set temperature is increased by the temperature setting unit, to decrease the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually increase the rotational speed, and when the set temperature is decreased, to increase the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually decrease the rotational speed, and when the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the discharge-side temperature sensor s equal to the set temperature, to maintain the rotational speed at that time”),
wherein if the measured temperature measured by the first temperature sensor is lower than the target temperature, the processor drives the cooling pump in the first power output range, and wherein if the measured temperature measured by the first temperature sensor is higher than the target temperature, the processor drives the cooling pump in the second power output range (0013 “the control unit is configured, when the set temperature is increased by the temperature setting unit, to decrease the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually increase the rotational speed, and when the set temperature is decreased, to increase the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually decrease the rotational speed, and when the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the discharge-side temperature sensor s equal to the set temperature, to maintain the rotational speed at that time”).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 5.
Kikuchi teaches wherein the measured temperature measured by the first temperature sensor is lower than the target temperature, the processor further controls the heater and heats the circulating liquid in the main tank (0039 “circulating liquid to be returned to the main tank 20 through the bypass channel 37, thereby maintaining the circulating state. The pressure sensors 32 and 34 and the temperature sensors 33 and 35 are electrically connected to the control unit 7. This allows, for example, the heater, the cooling pump, and the circulation pump, to be appropriately controlled on the basis of the measured values from these sensors”, 0034 “first chamber 20a of the main tank 20, a heater 22a that heats the circulating liquid under the control of the control unit 7 is provided in the range from the vicinity of the upper end of the first partition wall 21a to the vicinity of the bottom of the tank”).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The temperature control apparatus according to Claim 5.
Kikuchi teaches wherein the connecting flow passage includes a second temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the circulating liquid, and wherein during driving of the cooling pump in the second power output range, the processor calculates a temperature difference between the target temperature and the measured temperature measured by the second temperature sensor, compares the temperature difference with a preset reference value, and decreases the output of the cooling pump within the second power output range with increasing temperature difference from the reference value (claim 7 “when the set temperature is increased by the temperature setting unit, to decrease the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually increase the rotational speed, and when the set temperature is decreased, to increase the rotational speed of the cooling pump once and thereafter gradually decrease the rotational speed, and when the temperature of the circulating liquid measured by the discharge-side temperature sensor is equal to the set temperature, to maintain the rotational speed at that time”, 0039).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kikuchi et al (US PUB. 20200318861, herein Kikuchi) in view of Sutherland et al (US PUB. 20160183408, herein Sutherland) in further view of Sakaguchi (US PUB. 20120255352).
Applicant argues on pages 8 and 9 that the cited prior art does not teach the amendments to the claims. Examiner agrees but due to further search and consideration, Sakaguchi was introduced. Sakaguchi teaches an inner and outer tank which are formed as separate parts as claimed (0013 0018).
Applicant then argues on page 9 that the cited prior art does not teach first cooling passage, cooling pump and second cooling passage. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Kikuchi teaches circulating-liquid cooling circuit (0041), cooling pump 23a (0041) and a cooling circulation reverse path (0041 0042). These correspond to the argued limitations.
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected along with its dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116