DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 2 , 10, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim s 2 , 10, 17 recite “ an heat pump” [sic]. This appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 7 (and 14) , the limitation “fourth pool heating unit” renders the claim indefinite, since it’s unclear if the scope of claim 7 covers four different pool heating units, or only 3 are required. Claim 7 depends from claim 1, and claim 1 recites or requires only a first and second pool heating unit that are respectively controlled by first and second signals. There is no recitation of a third pool heating unit. However, c laim 7 then jumps to a “fourth pool heating unit” without explicit recitation of a third pool heating unit, and ordinarily, a fourth instance of something would imply a third instance of that thing ( in this case a heating unit) For the purpose of examination, claims 7 and 14 will be interpreted to cover either the scope of 3 heating units, or 4. Applicant is advised to amend claims 7 and 14 so that the scope of the claims make it explicitly clear how many heating units are actually required (3 or 4) and consistent with the originally filed disclosure. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by Heng et al US20230213238 . Regarding claim 1, Heng et al US20230213238 discloses a pool heating system comprising: a first pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 112) ; a second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 114) , wherein the first pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit and the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (¶14) ; a processor ; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions (¶21 controller 116) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a first input parameter associated with an operation of the pool heating system (Fig. 3, 302, desired temperature from user) ; send, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the first pool heating unit to heat a first pool ( Fig. 3, 308, based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices) ; determine a second input parameter (304) ; and send, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable the second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (308, based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices) . Regarding claim 2, Heng further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (Fig. 3, 304) . Regarding claim 3, Heng further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (Claim 3, ¶28) . Regarding claim 5, Heng further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is integrated into the first pool heating unit or the second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, controller 116 is integrated in a common housing 110 with 112 and/or 114) . Regarding claim 6, Heng further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first input parameter or the second input parameter are received from a user mobile device (¶23, ¶24) . Regarding claim 8 , Heng et al US20230213238 discloses a method comprising: determining, by a processor (¶21 controller 116) , a first input parameter ( Fig. 3, 302, desired temperature from user) associated with an operation of a pool heating system comprising a first pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 112) and a second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 114) , wherein the first pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit and the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (¶14) ; sending, using the processor, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the first pool heating unit to heat a first pool (Fig. 3, 308 based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices) ; determining, by the processor, a second input parameter (Fig. 3, 304) ; and sending, using the processor, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable the second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (308, based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices, during routine operation of the device a signal to activate the second heater would necessarily occur) . Regarding claim 9, Heng further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (Fig. 3, 304) . Regarding claim 10, Heng further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (Claim 3, ¶28) . Regarding claim 12, Heng further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the processor is integrated into the first pool heating unit or the second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, controller 116 is integrated in a common housing 110 with 112 and/or 114) . Regarding claim 13, Heng further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first input parameter or the second input parameter are received from a user mobile device (¶23, ¶24) . Regarding claim 15, Heng et al US20230213238 discloses a pool heating unit comprising: a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions (¶21, controller 116) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a first input parameter associated with an operation of the pool heating apparatus (Fig. 3, 302, desired temperature from user) , wherein the pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 112) ; send, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the pool heating unit to heat a first pool (Fig. 3, 308, based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices) ; determine a second input parameter (Fig. 3, 304) ; and send, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable a second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (Fig. 3, 308, based on the inputs the controller activates one or both of the heating devices, during routine operation of the device a signal to activate the second heater would necessarily occur) , wherein the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 114, ¶14) . Regarding claim 16, Heng further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (Fig. 3, 304) . Regarding claim 17, Heng further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (Claim 3, ¶28) . Regarding claim 19, Heng further discloses the e pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the processor is integrated into the pool heating unit or the second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, controller 116 is integrated in a common housing 110 with 112 and/or 114) . Regarding claim 20, Heng further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the first input parameter or the second input parameter are received from a user mobile device (¶23, ¶24) . Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 ,18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Potucek et al. US20170285672 . Regarding claim 1, Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a pool heating system comprising: a first pool heating unit (Fig. 1, heater 28a) ; a second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, heater 28b) , wherein the first pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit and the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (¶22, ¶8) ; a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions (¶25, ¶26) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a first input parameter associated with an operation of the pool heating system (Fig. 7, at least 190) ; send, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the first pool heating unit to heat a first pool (Fig. 7, 194) ; determine a second input parameter (Fig. 10, ¶40, ¶43, ¶45, ¶47, ¶49) ; and send, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable the second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (¶43-¶45) . Regarding claim 2, Potucek further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (at least, Fig. 7, 190; ¶7) . Regarding claim 3 , Potucek further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (¶7) . Regarding claim 4 , Potucek further discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, heater 28c, ¶7) . Regarding claim 8 , Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a method comprising: determining, by a processor (¶25, ¶26) , a first input parameter ( Fig. 7, at least 190) associated with an operation of a pool heating system comprising a first pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 28a) and a second pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 28b) , wherein the first pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit and the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (¶22, ¶8) ; sending, using the processor, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the first pool heating unit to heat a first pool (Fig. 7, 194) ; determining, by the processor, a second input parameter (Fig. 10, ¶40, ¶43, ¶45, ¶47, ¶49) ; and sending, using the processor, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable the second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (¶43-¶45) . Regarding claim 9, Potucek further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (at least, Fig. 7, 190; ¶7) . Regarding claim 10, Potucek further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (¶7) . Regarding claim 11, Potucek further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the pool heating system further comprises a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 28c) . Regarding claim 15, Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a pool heating unit comprising: a processor; and a memory storing computer-executable instructions (¶25, ¶26) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a first input parameter associated with an operation of the pool heating apparatus (Fig. 7, at least 190) , wherein the pool heating unit is a first type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 28a) ; send, based on receiving the first input parameter, a first signal to enable the pool heating unit to heat a first pool (Fig. 7, 194) ; determine a second input parameter (Fig. 10, ¶40, ¶43, ¶45, ¶47, ¶49) ; and send, based on receiving the second input parameter, a second signal to enable a second pool heating unit to heat the first pool (¶43-¶45) , wherein the second pool heating unit is a second type of pool heating unit (Fig. 1, 28 b ) . Regarding claim 16, Potucek further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the first input parameter and the second input parameter comprise at least one of: solar capacity, ambient temperature, a water temperature of the first pool, a weather condition, humidity, time, or power grid demand response (at least, Fig. 7, 190; ¶7) . Regarding claim 17, Potucek further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, wherein the first type of pool heating unit and the second type of pool heating unit comprise at least one of: a gas pool heating unit, a heat pump, or a solar panel (¶7) . Regarding claim 18, Potucek further discloses the pool heating unit of claim 15, further comprising a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit Fig. 1, 28c) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heng et al US20230213238 in view of Potucek et al. US20170285672 . Regarding claim 4, Heng does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit. Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a pool heating system comprising first, second, and third pool heating units (Fig. 1, 28a, 28b, 28c, ¶7) thereby providing greater control, efficiency, and/or flexibility when heating pools (¶6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device with a third pool heater, as taught by Potucek , since doing so amounts to a known technique for improving similar devices and methods with the known predictable result of improving flexibility, efficiency, and/or control. Regarding claim 11, Heng does not expressly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the pool heating system further comprises a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit. Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a pool heating system comprising first, second, and third pool heating units (Fig. 1, 28a, 28b, 28c, ¶7) thereby providing greater control, efficiency, and/or flexibility when heating pools (¶6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device with a third pool heater, as taught by Potucek , since doing so amounts to a known technique for improving similar devices and methods with the known predictable result of improving flexibility, efficiency, and/or control. Regarding claim 18, Heng does not expressly disclose the pool heating unit of claim 15, further comprising a third pool heating unit, wherein the third pool heating unit is a third type of pool heating unit. Potucek et al. US20170285672 discloses a pool heating system comprising first, second, and third pool heating units (Fig. 1, 28a, 28b, 28c, ¶7) thereby providing greater control, efficiency, and/or flexibility when heating pools (¶6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device with a third pool heater, as taught by Potucek , since doing so amounts to a known technique for improving similar devices and methods with the known predictable result of improving flexibility, efficiency, and/or control. Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heng et al US20230213238 in view of Gallupe US20040230344. Regarding claim 7, Heng does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to send a third signal to enable a fourth pool heating unit to heat a second pool, wherein the second pool is at a different location than the first pool. Gallupe US20040230344 teaches a system and method for controlling swimming pool or spa heaters (abstract) wherein a central computer monitors and controls heater operations of heater of a plurality of pools at a plurality of locations (Fig. 2, ¶43) thereby allowing data logging, reports, and/or billing information over a plurality of sites (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method of the prior art to have a central computer or processor which monitors and controls heater operations of a plurality of pools at a plurality of locations, as taught by Gallupe , since doing so amounts to a known technique for controlling swimming pool or spa heaters with the known predictable result of allowing for the aggregating of data. Regarding claim 14, Heng does not expressly disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising sending a third signal to enable a fourth pool heating unit to heat a second pool, wherein the second pool is at a different location than the first pool. Gallupe US20040230344 teaches a system and method for controlling swimming pool or spa heaters (abstract) wherein a central computer monitors and controls heater operations of heater of a plurality of pools at a plurality of locations (Fig. 2, ¶43) thereby allowing data logging, reports, and/or billing information over a plurality of sites (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method of the prior art to have a central computer or processor which monitors and controls heater operations of a plurality of pools at a plurality of locations, as taught by Gallupe , since doing so amounts to a known technique for controlling swimming pool or spa heaters with the known predictable result of allowing for the aggregating of data. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Deepak Deean whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3347 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Th 10-4 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Hoang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 517-272-6460 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DEEPAK A DEEAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762