Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A) Claims 18, 25, 27, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by LV (US 2020/0344688 A1).
As per claim 18, LV discloses a method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, a service state of the terminal device (¶0049 and ¶0051, determining by STA (i.e. UE) the mode/state of the STA); in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a unicast service state (¶0049 and ¶0051, based on determining that STA is unicast mode), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the unicast service state, to detect a first wake-up information (¶0049 and ¶0051, based on mode of STA being unicast mode to detect first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information); in response to determining to detect the first wake-up information, detecting the first wake-up information (¶0051 and ¶0053, based on determining the first wake up channel information, detecting the first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information); and receiving first information in response to detecting the first wake-up information (¶0049 and ¶0051, receiving the amount of information (i.e. first information) in response to detecting the first wake up channel information).
As per claim 25 as applied to claim 18 above, LV discloses wherein the first information indicates detecting the first information (¶0049 and ¶0051, amount of information indicating to detect the first wake up channel information).
As per claim 27, LV discloses a method, comprising: determining, by a network device, a to-be-notified service type (¶0051 and ¶0064, determining by the AP (i.e. network node) notification of mode/type of service (i.e. to-be-notified service type); also see multicast/unicast wake up signal (i.e. to-be-notified service type)); and in response to determining, by the network device, that the to-be-notified service type is a unicast service (¶0049 and ¶0051, based on determining that mode is unicast mode), determining, by the network device based on the to-be-notified service type being the unicast service (¶0049 and ¶0051, determining by the AP based on the notification of mode/type of service being unicast mode), to send a first wake-up information and first information, wherein the first wake-up information corresponds to the first information (¶0049 and ¶0051, sending the first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information of the amount of information (i.e. first information) and the first wake-up channel information corresponds to the amount of information).
As per claim 32 as applied to claim 27 above, LV further discloses wherein the first information indicates service notification information (¶0064, service notification information).
As per claim 33 as applied to claim 32 above, LV teaches wherein the first information indicates a to-be-notified service type (¶0048-49 and ¶0051, first wake up information indicating specific type of response/notification), and wherein the to-be-notified service type comprises only a broadcast service or a multicast service (¶0048-49, multicast service type); the to-be-notified service type comprises a broadcast service, a multicast service, or a unicast service (¶0048-49, multicast and unicast service type); the to-be-notified service type comprises at least one of the following: a broadcast service, a multicast service, or a unicast service (¶0048-49, multicast and unicast service type); or the to-be-notified service type comprises at least one of the following: a broadcast service, at least one multicast service in a set of multicast services, or a unicast service, wherein each service in the set of multicast services is associated with one service attribute in a set of service attribute information.
As per claim 34, LV discloses a communication apparatus (Fig.3, STA 104), comprising a processor (Fig.3, processor 303), wherein the processor is coupled to a memory (Fig.3, memory 305), the memory is configured to store instructions, and when the instructions are run by the processor, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising: determining, by a terminal device, a service state of the terminal device (¶0049 and ¶0051, determining by STA (i.e. UE) the mode/state of the STA); in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a unicast service state (¶0049 and ¶0051, based on determining that STA is unicast mode), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the unicast service state, to detect a first wake-up information (¶0049 and ¶0051, based on mode of STA being unicast mode to detect first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information); in response to determining to detect the first wake-up information, detecting the first wake-up information (¶0051 and ¶0053, based on determining the first wake up channel information, detecting the first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information); and receiving first information in response to detecting the first wake-up information (¶0049 and ¶0051, receiving the amount of information (i.e. first information) in response to detecting the first wake up channel information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 19, 26, 28, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV (US 2020/0344688 A1) in view of ABDOLI (US 2021/0127450 A1).
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state, performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, not to detect the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information without detecting the first wake-up information.
In the same field of endeavor, ABDOLI teaches in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state (¶0253, in response to determining that UE is in multicast state), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, not to detect the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information without detecting the first wake-up information (¶0251-253, UE detecting DCI (i.e. first information), the UE is not required to receive or transmit (i.e. not to detect the first wake-up information) in the cell during a time duration from the end of the k.sup.th symbol of a slot where the UE receives the PDCCH until the beginning of a slot indicated by the slot offset value of the time domain resource assignment field in the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of ABDOLI in view LV in order to provide a new downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a new uplink (UL) BWP for communication in the RRC_INACTIVE state to allow the UE to reconnect to the network more rapidly.
As per claim 26 as applied to claim 25 above, LV teaches wherein the first information indicates a to-be-notified service type (¶0048-49 and ¶0051, first wake up information indicating specific type of response/notification), and wherein the to-be-notified service type comprises only a broadcast service or a multicast service (¶0048-49, multicast service type); the to-be-notified service type comprises a broadcast service, a multicast service, or a unicast service (¶0048-49, multicast and unicast service type); the to-be-notified service type comprises at least one of the following: a broadcast service, a multicast service, or a unicast service (¶0048-49, multicast and unicast service type); or the to-be-notified service type comprises at least one of the following: a broadcast service, at least one multicast service in a set of multicast services, or a unicast service, wherein each service in the set of multicast services is associated with one service attribute in a set of service attribute information.
However, LV does not explicitly teach receiving the first information; and receiving service notification information when a first condition is met, wherein the first condition comprises that the service state matches the to-be-notified service type.
In the same field of endeavor, ABDOLI teaches receiving the first information; and receiving service notification information when a first condition is met, wherein the first condition comprises that the service state matches the to-be-notified service type (¶0210 and ¶0231, receiving paging DCI (i.e. first information) and notification of data/information transmission when the condition is met wherein the condition including unicast or multicast (i.e. service state) associated with the notification of data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of ABDOLI in view LV in order to provide a new downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a new uplink (UL) BWP for communication in the RRC_INACTIVE state to allow the UE to reconnect to the network more rapidly.
As per claim 28 as applied to claim 27 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the to-be-notified service type is a multicast service or a broadcast service, determining, based on the to-be-notified service type, not to send the first wake-up information; and sending the first information without sending the first wake-up information.
In the same field of endeavor, ABDOLI teaches response to determining that the to-be-notified service type is a multicast service or a broadcast service (¶0253, in response to determining that UE is in multicast state), determining, based on the to-be-notified service type, not to send the first wake-up information; and sending the first information without sending the first wake-up information (¶0251-253, UE detecting DCI (i.e. first information), the UE is not required to receive or transmit (i.e. not to send the first wake-up information) in the cell during a time duration from the end of the k.sup.th symbol of a slot where the UE receives the PDCCH until the beginning of a slot indicated by the slot offset value of the time domain resource assignment field in the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of ABDOLI in view LV in order to provide a new downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a new uplink (UL) BWP for communication in the RRC_INACTIVE state to allow the UE to reconnect to the network more rapidly.
As per claim 35 as applied to claim 34 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the service state of the communication apparatus is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state, performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the communication apparatus being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, not to detect the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information without detecting the first wake-up information.
In the same field of endeavor, ABDOLI teaches in response to determining that the service state of the communication apparatus is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state (¶0253, in response to determining that UE is in multicast state), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of communication apparatus being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, not to detect the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information without detecting the first wake-up information (¶0251-253, UE detecting DCI (i.e. first information), the UE is not required to receive or transmit (i.e. not to detect the first wake-up information) in the cell during a time duration from the end of the k.sup.th symbol of a slot where the UE receives the PDCCH until the beginning of a slot indicated by the slot offset value of the time domain resource assignment field in the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of ABDOLI in view LV in order to provide a new downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a new uplink (UL) BWP for communication in the RRC_INACTIVE state to allow the UE to reconnect to the network more rapidly.
B) Claims 20-21, 29, 31, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV (US 2020/0344688 A1) in view of HUANG (US 2023/0171699 A1).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 18 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state, performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, to detect a second wake-up signal; in response to determining to detect the second wake-up signal, detecting the second wake-up signal; and detecting the first information in response to detecting the second wake-up signal.
In the same field of endeavor, HUANG teaches in response to determining that the service state of the terminal device is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state (¶0111, determining that UE is in multicast session), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the terminal device being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, to detect a second wake-up signal; in response to determining to detect the second wake-up signal, detecting the second wake-up signal; and detecting the first information in response to detecting the second wake-up signal (¶0111 and ¶0146, UE being in multicast session to monitor or detect a second wake up signal and determining or detecting the information in response to monitoring the second wake-up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HUANG in view LV in order for providing a wake-up signal to user equipments (UEs) that support multiple multicast sessions to provide various types of communication content such as voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, and so on.
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 20 above, LV further teaches determining, based on the service state being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state (¶0049, based on the service state being multicast state), to detect the first wake-up information; in response to determining to detect the first wake-up information, detecting the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information in response to the detected first wake-up information (¶0051 and ¶0053, based on determining the first wake up channel information, detecting the first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information and receiving the amount of information (i.e. first information) in response to detecting the first wake up channel information).
As per claim 29 as applied to claim 27 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the to-be-notified service type is a multicast service or a broadcast service, determining, based on the to-be-notified service type being the multicast service or the broadcast service, to send a second wake-up information and the first information, wherein the second wake-up information corresponds to the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, HUANG teaches in response to determining that the to-be-notified service type is a multicast service or a broadcast service (¶0111, determining that UE is in multicast session), determining, based on the to-be-notified service type being the multicast service or the broadcast service, to send a second wake-up information and the first information, wherein the second wake-up information corresponds to the first information (¶0111 and ¶0146, UE being in multicast session to monitor or detect a second wake up signal and determining or detecting the information in response to monitoring the second wake-up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HUANG in view LV in order for providing a wake-up signal to user equipments (UEs) that support multiple multicast sessions to provide various types of communication content such as voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, and so on.
As per claim 31 as applied to claim 29 above, HUANG further teaches wherein the second wake-up information belongs to a set of second wake-up information (¶0111, second wake up signal information belongs to set of wake up signals information), and the set of second wake-up information comprises at least two pieces of second wake-up information, wherein each piece of second wake-up information in the set of second wake-up information is associated with one service attribute in a set and indicates the first information (¶0027 and ¶0066, second wake up signal information associated with respective identifiers for each of the set of multicast sessions and a set of radio frequency spectrum resources (i.e. set of service attribute) and indicating the information), a set of service attribute information comprises set of the following: a set of service identity information, a set of service type information, a set of quality of service (QoS) requirement information, or a set of service notification frequency information, and the set of service attribute information comprises at least two pieces of service attribute information (¶0027 and ¶0066, identifiers for each of the set of multicast sessions and a set of radio frequency spectrum resources (i.e. at least two pieces of service attribute information)); and determining, based on the to-be-notified service type, to send a second wake-up information and the first information comprises: determining, based on the set of service attribute information, to send the first information and the second wake-up information associated with the service attribute information (¶0027, ¶00066 and ¶0104, determining based on identifiers for each of the set of multicast sessions and a set of radio frequency spectrum resources information to transmit DCI (i.e. first information) and the second wake up information associated with identifiers for each of the set of multicast sessions and a set of radio frequency spectrum resources).
As per claim 36 as applied to claim 34 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the service state of the communication apparatus is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state, performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the communication apparatus being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, to detect a second wake-up signal; in response to determining to detect the second wake-up signal, detecting the second wake-up signal; and detecting the first information in response to detecting the second wake-up signal.
In the same field of endeavor, HUANG teaches in response to determining that the service state of the communication apparatus is a multicast service state or a broadcast service state (¶0111, determining that UE is in multicast session), performing the following: determining, based on the service state of the communication apparatus being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state, to detect a second wake-up signal; in response to determining to detect the second wake-up signal, detecting the second wake-up signal; and detecting the first information in response to detecting the second wake-up signal (¶0111 and ¶0146, UE being in multicast session to monitor or detect a second wake up signal and determining or detecting the information in response to monitoring the second wake-up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HUANG in view LV in order for providing a wake-up signal to user equipments (UEs) that support multiple multicast sessions to provide various types of communication content such as voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, and so on.
As per claim 37 as applied to claim 36 above, LV further teaches determining, based on the service state being the multicast service state or the broadcast service state (¶0049, based on the service state being multicast state), to detect the first wake-up information; and detecting the first information in response to the detected first wake-up information (¶0051 and ¶0053, based on determining the first wake up channel information, detecting the first wake up channel and certain wake up signals may include wake up information and receiving the amount of information (i.e. first information) in response to detecting the first wake up channel information).
C) Claims 22-24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV (US 2020/0344688 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2020/0367168 A1).
As per claim 22 as applied to claim 18 above, LV does not explicitly disclose receiving a configuration information of the first wake-up information, wherein the configuration information of the first wake-up information is carried in system information.
In the same field of endeavor, HWANG teaches receiving a configuration information of the first wake-up information, wherein the configuration information of the first wake-up information is carried in system information (¶0224, receiving a configuration information of the WUS that is carried in system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HWANG in view LV in order to provide a method of transceiving a Wake-Up Signal (WUS) efficiently in a wireless communication system and apparatus therefor to improve reliability and latency.
As per claim 23 as applied to claim 18 above, LV does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first information is scrambled by paging-radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI).
In the same field of endeavor, HWANG teaches wherein the first information is downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first information is scrambled by paging-radio network temporary identity (P-RNTI) (¶0073-74 and ¶0106, information such as downlink control information and scrambled with an identifier (e.g. P-RNTI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HWANG in view LV in order to provide a method of transceiving a Wake-Up Signal (WUS) efficiently in a wireless communication system and apparatus therefor to improve reliability and latency.
As per claim 24 as applied to claim 18 above, LV does not explicitly disclose receiving a paging message.
In the same field of endeavor, HWANG teaches receiving a paging message (¶0045, receiving a paging message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HWANG in view LV in order to provide a method of transceiving a Wake-Up Signal (WUS) efficiently in a wireless communication system and apparatus therefor to improve reliability and latency.
As per claim 30 as applied to claim 27 above, LV does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that the to-be-notified service type comprises a broadcast service, determining, based on the to-be-notified service type, to send a third wake-up information and the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, HWANG teaches in response to determining that the to-be-notified service type comprises a broadcast service, determining, based on the to-be-notified service type, to send a third wake-up information and the first information (¶0054-56, multicast services (e.g., multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) to send wake-up signals (i.e. first, second, third, or more) information and DCI (i.e. first information)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of HWANG in view LV in order to provide a method of transceiving a Wake-Up Signal (WUS) efficiently in a wireless communication system and apparatus therefor to improve reliability and latency.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643