DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guglielmo, et. al. (US2024283077A1), in view of Lampe-Onnerud, et. al. (US 20210408575 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Guglielmo recites a system (see title of Guglielmo, namely Lithium-Ion Battery Charging System), comprising: a first battery module (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically.”); and a second battery module (see prior). Guglielmo at [Title, 35]. Guglielmo teaches “[0041] in contrast to the conventional lead-acid battery 160 , rechargeable assembly 10 includes a plurality of separable battery modules 300 ( 8 in the illustrated embodiment), each of which includes numerous lightweight lithium-ion battery cells therein. Most preferably, those numerous battery cells are of the LFP type.” This “plurality,” is preferably “three hundred, seventy two cells per module 300” but is not particularly limited. Id. at [0047]. Further, the modules comprise an integrated battery management system 700, and a Battery Operating System Supervisor (BOSS) module 600 which interfaces with the BMS systems, because “[0077] But for the control of BOSS module 600 , in such scenarios where the voltage in one module exceeds the others, the lower voltage battery modules would draw a current flow from the higher voltage modules into the lower voltage modules that would be only limited by resistance of the connectors, cells, bus bars, and bond wires. A large difference in voltage would cause high current flow to the battery module with lower voltage.” This system compensates for said voltage differences via disconnecting modules which produce a “voltage discrepancy.” This in turn strongly implies that this system suppresses negative consequences to voltage discrepancies, for example, due to defective cells or unequal voltage due to a greater number of working cells from module to module. However, Guglielmo is silent as to “a secondary battery module having more lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells than the first battery module”.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0018] battery systems that include a plurality of modules positioned within an enclosed space (e.g., a room, data center or storage system), wherein at least one of the modules includes a plurality of lithium ion cells and thermal insulator(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells, and wherein the battery systems offer a requisite level of safety by scaling the system such that the internally available volume of the enclosed space (measured in liters) is greater than about seventy (70) times the amp-hour (Ah) capacity of lithium ion cell(s) positioned therewithin, and associated methods for safe deployment of battery systems in enclosed spaces.” Lampe-Onnerud at [0018]. This includes module designs where “[0038] the plurality of Li-ion cells are lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells, and wherein each of the LFP cells has a capacity in a range of 10 Ah to 70 Ah” and wherein “[0088] The lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” Finally, Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0089] According to the present disclosure, at least one of the modules associated with the disclosed battery system includes thermal insulation material(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells . . .whereby the thermal insulation material(s) isolate potential temperature increases that may arise on a first side of the thermal insulation material(s) from transferring to lithium ion cell(s) on a second side of the thermal insulation material(s) to the extent necessary to propagate thermal runaway and/or ignition of the lithium ion cell(s) on the second side . . For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.) The groups/subsets of lithium ion cells may be equal in number within a given module, or may vary within a module.” Cumulatively, these indicate a) that the number of cells within a module may vary in size and number, and b) that there is an overall benefit to disposing thermal insulation materials between cells.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that the second battery module comprises more lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells than the first battery module, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 1 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches a plurality of modules, and a plurality of cells within said modules which may be “groups/subsets,” of cells, which may be equal in number or may vary. Lampe-Onnerud at [0087- 89]. Previously, this teaching was used to demonstrate varying the amount of cells is known in the art; this also corresponds to a first or second plurality of cells, which may “[0089]For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.),” demonstrating multiple portions formed by the positioning of cells. Id.
For this reason, it would be obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that the system comprises “a second battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells in a first portion of the second battery module and a second plurality of LFP battery cells in a second portion of the second battery module, a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells is equal to a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells; and the first battery module comprising a number of LFP battery cells equal to the first plurality of LFP battery cells”, because the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and a rearrangement of parts is obvious wherein the placement of a component is an obvious matter of design choice or would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B, C). Here, Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud demonstrate that groupings of LFP battery cells, and their relative sectioning off via thermal insulation within a module are known in the art and would produce a new and unexpected result and represent obvious matters of design choice. To further clarify, “duplicate” here is used to describe the relative number of cells being added to a group.
Claim 2 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches a plurality of modules, and a plurality of cells within said modules which may be “groups/subsets,” of cells, which may be equal in number or may vary. Lampe-Onnerud at [0087- 89]. Previously, this teaching was used to demonstrate varying the amount of cells is known in the art; this also corresponds to a first or second plurality of cells, which may “[0089]For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.),” demonstrating multiple portions formed by the positioning of cells. Id.
For this reason, it would be obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that system comprises “the second battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells in a first portion of the second battery module and a second plurality of LFP battery cells in a second portion of the second battery module; and the first plurality of LFP battery cells separated from the second plurality of LFP battery cells by a member extending across the second battery module,” because the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and a rearrangement of parts is obvious wherein the placement of a component is an obvious matter of design choice or would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B, C). Here, Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud demonstrate that groupings of LFP battery cells, and their relative sectioning off via thermal insulation within a module are known in the art and would produce a new and unexpected result and represent obvious matters of design choice. To further clarify, “duplicate” here is used to describe the relative number of cells being added to a group.
Claim 3 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches a plurality of modules, and a plurality of cells within said modules which may be “groups/subsets,” of cells, which may be equal in number or may vary. Lampe-Onnerud at [0087- 89]. Previously, this teaching was used to demonstrate varying the amount of cells is known in the art; this also corresponds to a first or second plurality of cells, which may “[0089]For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.),” demonstrating multiple portions formed by the positioning of cells. Id. Further, the term “isolated by” reads upon “separated from.”
For this reason, it would be obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that system comprises “a first plurality of LFP battery cells in a first portion of the second battery module, a second plurality of LFP battery cells in a second portion of the second battery module, a third plurality of LFP battery cells in a third portion of the second battery module, and a fourth plurality of LFP battery cells in a fourth portion of the second battery module; and the first plurality of LFP battery cells separated from the second plurality of LFP battery cells by a first member extending across the second battery module in a first direction (i.e., a thermal insulator of Lampe-Onnerud) and the second plurality of LFP battery cells separated from the third plurality of LFP battery cells by a second member extending across the second battery module in a second direction (another thermal insulator; because the insulator may “isolate” and “surround” the cells, this reads on at least three directions corresponding to x, y, and z),” because the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and a rearrangement of parts is obvious wherein the placement of a component is an obvious matter of design choice or would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B, C). Here, Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud demonstrate that groupings of LFP battery cells, and their relative sectioning off via thermal insulation within a module are known in the art and would produce a new and unexpected result and represent obvious matters of design choice. To further clarify, “duplicate” here is used to describe the relative number of cells being added to a group.
Claim 4 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more LFP battery cells within the second battery module than the first battery module.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that “the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells; and the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP battery cells, wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells is at least twice a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells”, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 5 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Guglielmo recites a battery system having eight modules (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically.”); Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more battery cells within the second module than the first.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that “a third battery module and a fourth battery module, each of the third battery module and the fourth battery module comprising a same number of LFP battery cells as the second battery module”, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 6 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” This reads upon, “the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells; and the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells.”
Claim 7 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” This reads upon, “the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP cylindrical battery cells; and the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP cylindrical battery cells.”
Claim 8 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Guglielmo recites a battery system having eight modules (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically.”); Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more battery cells within the second module than the first. Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” Taken together, this reads upon, “the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells; the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells; and wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells is greater than a number of the first plurality of LFP prismatic battery cells.”
Claim 9 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Guglielmo recites a battery system having eight modules (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically”) and a housing or support structure 106. Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more battery cells within the second module than the first. However, Guglielmo is silent as to “wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells in the housing of the second battery module is greater than a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells in the housing of the first battery module.”
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” Taken together, this reads upon, “the first battery module comprising a housing, the housing of the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells; the second battery module comprising a housing, housing of the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP battery cells; and wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells in the housing of the second battery module is greater than a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells in the housing of the first battery module.”
Claim 10 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Regarding the meaning of “bay,” at [0154] the specification describes the battery pack 202, having a cover 1602 which covers the components, “[0154] shaped or configured to hold the battery modules”, wherein “[0154] the cover 1602 can include bay (e.g. compartment) covers 1604, 1606 . . .” ; under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, a bay includes a compartment sized to hold the battery modules. Lampe Onnerud at Fig. 17 shows “[0312] Turning to FIGS. 17-19, schematic depictions of a first exemplary battery system 1000 are provided. Batteries 1002 are positioned within a trailer 1004 , i.e., an enclosed space, that includes hinged doors 1006 a , 1006 b . The trailer 1002 defines an internally available volume 1008 . The batteries 1002 are positioned on racks or in cabinets and include internal components/design features that are not visible including, inter alia, a plurality of modules, wherein at least one of the plurality of modules includes a plurality of Li-ion cells” which reads upon “the first battery module comprising a bay, the bay of the first battery module comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells; the second battery module comprising a bay, the bay of the second battery module comprising a second plurality of LFP battery cells; and wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells in the bay of the second battery module is greater than a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells in the bay of the first battery module.”
Fig. 17 of Lampe-Onnerud.
Claim 12 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Guglielmo recites a battery system having eight modules (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically.”) Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that “the first battery module having a first plurality of LFP battery cells, each of the first plurality of LFP battery cells including a prismatic battery cell having a size defined by 28 mm to 31 mm by 205 mm to 210 mm by 170 mm to 180 mm; and the second battery module having a second plurality of LFP battery cells, each of the second plurality of LFP battery cells including a prismatic battery cell having the size defined by 28 mm to 31 mm by 205 mm to 210 mm by 170 mm to 180,” because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 12 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 13, Guglielmo teaches a system, comprising: a battery pack having: a first plurality of lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically” ; “[0041] in contrast to the conventional lead-acid battery 160 , rechargeable assembly 10 includes a plurality of separable battery modules 300 ( 8 in the illustrated embodiment), each of which includes numerous lightweight lithium-ion battery cells therein. Most preferably, those numerous battery cells are of the LFP type.”); a second plurality of LFP battery cells (the second module of Guglielmo); and a third plurality of LFP battery cells (the third module of Guglielmo). Guglielmo at [0035 – 42].
Guglielmo teaches “[0041] in contrast to the conventional lead-acid battery 160 , rechargeable assembly 10 includes a plurality of separable battery modules 300 ( 8 in the illustrated embodiment), each of which includes numerous lightweight lithium-ion battery cells therein. Most preferably, those numerous battery cells are of the LFP type.” This “plurality,” is preferably “three hundred, seventy two cells per module 300” but is not particularly limited. Id. at [0047]. Further, the modules comprise an integrated battery management system 700, and a Battery Operating System Supervisor (BOSS) module 600 which interfaces with the BMS systems, because “[0077] But for the control of BOSS module 600 , in such scenarios where the voltage in one module exceeds the others, the lower voltage battery modules would draw a current flow from the higher voltage modules into the lower voltage modules that would be only limited by resistance of the connectors, cells, bus bars, and bond wires. A large difference in voltage would cause high current flow to the battery module with lower voltage.” This system compensates for said voltage differences via disconnecting modules which produce a “voltage discrepancy.” This in turn strongly implies that this system suppresses negative consequences to voltage discrepancies, for example, due to defective cells or unequal voltage due to a greater number of working cells from module to module.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0018] battery systems that include a plurality of modules positioned within an enclosed space (e.g., a room, data center or storage system), wherein at least one of the modules includes a plurality of lithium ion cells and thermal insulator(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells, and wherein the battery systems offer a requisite level of safety by scaling the system such that the internally available volume of the enclosed space (measured in liters) is greater than about seventy (70) times the amp-hour (Ah) capacity of lithium ion cell(s) positioned therewithin, and associated methods for safe deployment of battery systems in enclosed spaces.” Lampe-Onnerud at [0018]. This includes module designs where “[0038] the plurality of Li-ion cells are lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells, and wherein each of the LFP cells has a capacity in a range of 10 Ah to 70 Ah” and wherein “[0088] The lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” Finally, Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0089] According to the present disclosure, at least one of the modules associated with the disclosed battery system includes thermal insulation material(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells . . .whereby the thermal insulation material(s) isolate potential temperature increases that may arise on a first side of the thermal insulation material(s) from transferring to lithium ion cell(s) on a second side of the thermal insulation material(s) to the extent necessary to propagate thermal runaway and/or ignition of the lithium ion cell(s) on the second side . . For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.) The groups/subsets of lithium ion cells may be equal in number within a given module, or may vary within a module.” Cumulatively, these indicate a) that the number of cells within a module may vary in size and number, and b) that there is an overall benefit to disposing thermal insulation materials between cells.
Regarding the meaning of “and the third plurality of LFP battery cells each comprise a double-wide cell arrangement,” double wide is described at [0143] of the present specification as “In the double-wide cell arrangement, the battery cells 1302 can be divided into two rows of battery cells. The two rows of battery cells can be next to each other (e.g., next to each other within the battery housing 315).” The previously cited “groups / subsets of two” indicate two rows, as further supported by Fig. 5.
Fig. 5 of Lampe-Onnerud.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that the each of the first plurality of LFP battery cells or the second plurality of LFP battery cells comprises more LFP battery cells than the third plurality of LFP battery cells, wherein the first plurality of LFP battery cells, the second plurality of LFP battery cells, and the third plurality of LFP battery cells each comprise a double-wide cell arrangement, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 13 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 13. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches a plurality of modules, and a plurality of cells within said modules which may be “groups/subsets,” of cells, which may be equal in number or may vary. Lampe-Onnerud at [0087- 89]. Previously, this teaching was used to demonstrate varying the amount of cells is known in the art; this also corresponds to a first or second plurality of cells, which may “[0089]For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.),” demonstrating multiple portions formed by the positioning of cells. Id.
For this reason, it would be obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that system comprises “a fourth plurality of LFP battery cells, the fourth plurality of LFP battery cells comprising more battery cells than the third plurality of LFP battery cells and an equal number of LFP battery cells to the first plurality of LFP battery cells and the second plurality of LFP battery cells,” because the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and a rearrangement of parts is obvious wherein the placement of a component is an obvious matter of design choice or would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B, C). Here, Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud demonstrate that groupings of LFP battery cells, and their relative sectioning off via thermal insulation within a module are known in the art and would produce a new and unexpected result and represent obvious matters of design choice. To further clarify, “duplicate” here is used to describe the relative number of cells being added to a group.
Claim 14 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 13. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” This reads upon, “the first plurality of LFP battery cells comprising one or more LFP prismatic battery cells; and the second plurality of LFP battery cells comprising one or more LFP prismatic battery cells.”
Claim 15 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 13. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” This reads upon, “the first plurality of LFP battery cells comprising one or more LFP cylindrical battery cells; and the second plurality of LFP battery cells comprising one or more LFP cylindrical battery cells.”
Claim 16 is obvious over Guglielmo, in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Guglielmo teaches a battery system having eight modules (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically.”) Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0088] the lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the system of modified Guglielmo, such that “each of the first plurality of LFP battery cells including a LFP prismatic battery cell having a size defined by 28 mm to 31 mm by 205 mm to 210 mm by 170 mm to 180 mm; and each of the third plurality of LFP battery cells including a LFP prismatic battery cell having the size defined by28mmto31mmby 205 mmto210mmby170mm to 180,” because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claim 17 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more LFP battery cells within the second battery module than the first battery module.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that “a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells is at least twice a number of the third plurality of LFP battery cells.”, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 18 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 19, Guglielmo teaches a method, comprising: providing a first battery for a battery pack (“[0035] Battery module assembly 10 has eight battery modules (“modules”) 300 arranged vertically” ; “[0041] in contrast to the conventional lead-acid battery 160 , rechargeable assembly 10 includes a plurality of separable battery modules 300 ( 8 in the illustrated embodiment), each of which includes numerous lightweight lithium-ion battery cells therein. Most preferably, those numerous battery cells are of the LFP type.”); and providing a second battery for the battery pack (see above). Guglielmo at [0035-41]. However, Guglielmo is silent as to “the second battery having more lithium iron phosphate cells than the first battery.”
Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0018] battery systems that include a plurality of modules positioned within an enclosed space (e.g., a room, data center or storage system), wherein at least one of the modules includes a plurality of lithium ion cells and thermal insulator(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells, and wherein the battery systems offer a requisite level of safety by scaling the system such that the internally available volume of the enclosed space (measured in liters) is greater than about seventy (70) times the amp-hour (Ah) capacity of lithium ion cell(s) positioned therewithin, and associated methods for safe deployment of battery systems in enclosed spaces.” Lampe-Onnerud at [0018]. This includes module designs where “[0038] the plurality of Li-ion cells are lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cells, and wherein each of the LFP cells has a capacity in a range of 10 Ah to 70 Ah” and wherein “[0088] The lithium ion cells may take various forms, including cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, pouch cells and variations thereon.” Finally, Lampe-Onnerud teaches “[0089] According to the present disclosure, at least one of the modules associated with the disclosed battery system includes thermal insulation material(s) positioned between adjacent lithium ion cells . . .whereby the thermal insulation material(s) isolate potential temperature increases that may arise on a first side of the thermal insulation material(s) from transferring to lithium ion cell(s) on a second side of the thermal insulation material(s) to the extent necessary to propagate thermal runaway and/or ignition of the lithium ion cell(s) on the second side . . For example, groups/subsets of a plurality of lithium ion cells may be surrounded by or otherwise isolated from adjacent lithium ion cell(s) by inter-positioning of thermal insulation material(s) (e.g., groups/subsets of two lithium ion cells, of three lithium ion cells, of four lithium ion cells, etc.) The groups/subsets of lithium ion cells may be equal in number within a given module, or may vary within a module.” Cumulatively, these indicate a) that the number of cells within a module may vary in size and number, and b) that there is an overall benefit to disposing thermal insulation materials between cells.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that it comprises a step of providing a second battery, the second battery having more lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells than the first battery module, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 19 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Guglielmo.
Modified Guglielmo was previously modified to comprise more LFP battery cells within the second battery module than the first battery module.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the system of Guglielmo, such that “providing the first battery comprising a first plurality of LFP battery cells; and providing the second battery comprising a second plurality of LFP battery cells, wherein a number of the second plurality of LFP battery cells is at least twice a number of the first plurality of LFP battery cells”, because Lampe-Onnerud teaches that the number of cells may vary, and because Guglielmo indicates that because of its BOSS / BMS systems, differences in voltage generated by the differing number of cells would be mitigated by the control systems of its battery. Further, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and the teachings of Guglielmo and Lampe-Onnerud indicate that a) modules having differing amounts of cells are known in the art and b) methods of managing or limiting the downsides of unequal amounts of cells within the respective modules are known.
Claim 20 is obvious over Guglielmo, further in view of Lampe-Onnerud.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725