DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-13 are amended in view of applicant’s response filed 5/28/2026. Claims 5 and 8 are canceled. Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-13 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 depends on canceled claim 8.
Claim 11 recites “A method of manufacturing of claim 10, …”, which seems to be missing “the extruded, forged or rolled product” between “A method of manufacturing” and “of claim 10, …”.
Claims 12 and 13 recite “A method of manufacturing of claim 1 comprising, …”, which seems to be missing “the extruded, forged or rolled product” between “A method of manufacturing” and “of claim 1 comprising, …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejection of claims 5-7 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments and persuasive arguments in the response filed 5/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magnusen et al. US 2003/0127165(Magnusen)
Magnusen teaches a hot rolled 6XXX aluminum alloy that applies to the claimed Al alloy as follows:
Al alloy (wt%)
Instant Application
Magnusen
[0006-0007]
Si
0.5-1.5
0.6-1.5
Mg
0.5-1.5
0.6-1.4
Cu
0.1-0.7
0.3-0.9
Zn
0.3-1.2
0.1-0.9
Cr
0.05-0.35
0.05-0.35
Fe
≤ 0.8
-
Mn
≤ 0.8
0.25-0.6
Zr
≤ 0.15
0.03-0.2
Ti
≤ 0.15
-
Other elements (Unavoidable impurities)
≤ 0.05 each, and
≤ 0.15 total
Impurities
Balance being Al
Balance being Al
Balance being Al
Regarding claims 1-2, 6 and 9, Magnusen further teaches that the rolled plate product can be up to 1 inch or more in thickness[0017]. Table 2 of Magnusen further teaches that the yield strengths in the mid 300 MPa, which reads on the claimed yield tensile strength.
The composition of Al alloy of Magnusen is significantly similar to the claimed Al alloy, wherein several alloying elements are present in amounts that significantly overlap the claimed alloying element amounts. The product thickness of Magnusen also overlaps the claimed product thickness. Therefore, a prima facie of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. The selection of claimed Al alloy composition and product thickness from the claimed Al alloy composition and product thickness would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since Magnusen teaches the same utilities in its disclosed alloy composition and product thickness.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Magnusen further teaches a method of manufacturing a hot rolled Al alloy comprising homogenizing a direct chill cast ingot[0009, 0052] at at least 950°F(510°C) for about 2-20 hours[0010], preheating to 850°F(454°C) and hot rolling the homogenized ingot[0012], cooling to room temperature[0013], solution heat treatment at a temperature of at least 1010°F(543°C)[0018], rapid cooling by water to room temperature[0018], stretching[0018] and artificially aging the Al alloy product at 375°F(191°C) for about 4 hours[0019] or at 350°F(177°C) for about 8 hours[0019].
Therefore, the process of Magnusen comprises the same steps as claimed method. The process conditions such as the duration of homogenization, preheating temperature, solution heat treatment temperature, and artificial aging temperature and duration as taught by Magnusen read on the claimed duration of homogenization, preheating temperature, solution heat treatment temperature, and artificial aging temperature and duration in the claimed method. The homogenization temperature as taught by Magnusen significantly overlaps the claimed homogenization temperature. A prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. The selection of claimed homogenization temperature from the homogenization temperature of Magnusen would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the homogenization temperature of Magnusen has the same utilities in the process of manufacturing the 6xxx series Al alloy as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, since Magnusen teaches a process comprising process steps that are either the same as claimed under process conditions or significantly similar to the claimed process conditions using the significantly the same starting Al alloy material, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the final property of the produced Al alloy of Magnusen to be significantly similar to claimed Al alloy product, including the B grade machinability as claimed.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magnusen et al. US 2003/012165(Magnusen) and further in view of EP 0826072(EP072).
The teachings of Magnusen are discussed in section 6 above. However, Magnusen does not explicitly teach that the hot working is done by extrusion rather than rolling.
EP072 teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-worked 6XXX Al alloy that is compositionally similar to the claimed Al alloy and the Al alloy of Magnusen. EP072 further teaches a method of manufacturing an Al alloy comprising homogenizing a direct chill cast ingot[0025] at about 950-1050°F(510-566°C) for about 2-20 hours[0018], hot working the homogenized ingot by extrusion, hot rolling or forging at 800-950°F(427-510°C), cooling [0020], solution heat treatment at a temperature 1000-1080°F(538-582°C)[0021], rapid cooling to room temperature[0023] and artificially aging the Al alloy product at 300-400°F(149-504°C) for 2-20 hours[0024].
Regarding claims 11 and 13, EP072 further teaches that hot rolling, extrusion or forging can be used in the hot working step depending on the type of product one wishes to produce[0019]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted hot rolling of Magnusen with extrusion depending on the type of product to be produced with expected success in light of the teaching of EP072.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Magnusen, and further in view of Koch et al. US 2001/0006606(Koch)
The teachings of Magnusen are discussed in section 6 above. However, Magnusen does not explicitly teach that the Al alloy includes greater than 75% or greater than 90% scrap as recited in claims 3-4.
Koch teaches a 6XXX aluminum alloy comprising at least 50% scrap(abstract), preferably at least 80% and ideally 100% scrap[0009].
Regarding claims 3-4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated ideally 100% scrap as the source of Al alloy as taught by Koch into the Al alloy of Magnusen since Magnusen teaches using scrap metal leads to relatively pure base material without high contents of undesirable accompanying elements[0007].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733